$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

King George Hotel

3 stars
View map of 334 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for King George Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
227 out of 227
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fi
Business
Europe
Jun 29, 2011

The only thing good is the location

The location of the hotel was great however our stay was awful. When we arrived on the Friday morning the elevators were not working and had not been fixed when we left on the Monday. This meant we had to walk up the narrow winding stairs to our room. The rooms are tiny and it was difficult to get to sleep as you can hear the noise of other rooms plumbing while in your own room. The pipes are very noisey. The curtains in our room would not pull closed for us so we mentioned it to the staff. When we arrived back later, the curtains were pinned together with a safety pin, stil leaving a gap allowing sunlight in in the early hours of the morning. The staff were nice but overall we did not enjoy our stay. We loved San Fran but hated the hotel and feel we did not get value for our money at all. I would only recommend staying there for one night only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LA native
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 24, 2011

Not bad not great.

The staff is incredible nice and very helpful. The internet connection didn't wok well and the elevator wasn't working. Other than that everything was status quo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City
Jun 14, 2011

Can't Complain

The hotel was decent. It was a fine accomodation for what I needed which was a comfortable reliable place to stay. The hotel was located in such an area that I was able to walk many places and cabs were inexpensive. One downside is that with the convenience of Union Square catering to tourists, many of the convenient stores are expensive (I bought a bottle of champagne on the corner for $20, which I paid $7 for at Safeway). The area is a tourists trap and there is an overwhelming amount of homeless people begging at nearly every trun within a block radius or so. The hotel staff was friendly, but I didn't require much. The room was small, but I expected that. It wasn't the most fabulous hotel, but it was better than a Holiday Inn or Motel 6. It is perfectly fine, but if you need something more fancy, the Westin St. Francis is acorss the street. I got the feeling this hotel was standard issue for the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great food around, and 24 hour diners just s stone throw away - one next door and another directly across the street. I ate quite well and for not much money in the area on a few ocassions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Plymouth, Michigan
May 27, 2011

Great location and a small hotel

The King George is in great location. We explored China Town and the Union Square area easily, and we were close to the cable car turnaround. Compared to previous stays in San Francisco this was the best location by far!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just lots and lots of great restaurants of all types nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Busy trav
Business
San Diego
Apr 21, 2011

Handy

Can't beat the location, close to everything, and within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots within walking distance; try Max's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
R. duke
Business
san diego
Apr 10, 2011

good location good people

The staff was friendly. good location. Good food next store, even better bars and hot-spots within a couple blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dark Star
Business
Boulder Coloradp
Mar 25, 2011

Great location at a great price...online

The staff was really helpful. We had to change our room after the second day because we had reserved a king room online, but only a queen was available until Sunday. Both rooms were small and quirky...we liked them. It was terrific to find a hotel that allowed smoking...Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Mar 22, 2011

Great time, great deal!

One block off Union Square in a safe neighborhood, the King George Hotel treated us like royalty. We visited family, and the restaurants, diners and sights in the area served well for meeting up with them. We relaxed in the cozy hotel bar in the evening, and the staff was friendly and helpful with directions. A cash machine and computers with Internet service were handy, and, best of all, the room and bathroom were spotless! (It was a very small room, though, but we expected that for the good price in the heart of the city.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The diner across the street, the Pine-something, had the best Belgian waffle, omelets and coffee you could want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nyc
Mar 10, 2011

great hotel

great hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Destrehan, LA
Feb 22, 2011

Great Location

Centrally located and within easy walking distance to many sights and tourist attractions. Our first time to SF and enjoyed being in center of town. I was concerned about other postings complaining about the thinness of the walls and they are true. Bring earplugs, especially for the noise in the hallways from those late nighters. Room was small but comfortable. Staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top