$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

King George Hotel

3 stars
View map of 334 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for King George Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
241 out of 241
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Quarterly Visiter
Business
Hoboken, NJ
Dec 14, 2012

Great place to stay

I've stayed here three times for a week at a time each. The internet isn't the best, but it is free. Shower hot water was flakey on me in 1 of the rooms, but has been fine in the other 2 I've stayed in. Other than that everything has been great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dennis.de
Business
San Diego, Kalifornien, Vereinigte Staaten
Apr 10, 2012

nice place

very nice hotel, perfect location, friendly & helpful staff, cozy rooms and nice city - little problems but nothing that influence my decision not to stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

uncle vito's pizza. good food and inexpensive.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
afii58
Business
Jacksonville, FL, USA
Mar 26, 2012

great value

the hotel is quaint (old..lol) but very clean and well maintain. Staff is very helpful and friendly.Rooms are small but very clean, housekeeping was excellent..stayed 3 days. Only thing was could hear everything, everything outside, (not from other rooms), but from the street. but value and location was great, highly recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SeanDev
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Mar 9, 2012

Unbearably loud neighboring establishments

Nice staff, building cleanliness and repair is okay, but nearby bars will play very loud drums all night (3am most nights, 6am one night I was there). Impossible to sleep with the volume of that stuff. Not worth throwing away money on a hotel room you can't sleep in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
heatherS75
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Mar 8, 2012

San Francisco in a Day

We only have 2 days left in California after having spent 5 days in Napa. We decided to spend the last two days at the King George. BOY, it couldn't get any better. Our room, though on the first floor and facing a wall, was perfect. I have been to the city many times and know that value hotels, even expensive hotels, don't always have great views and are often very VERY small. This room was on the smaller side, but perfect for us. It clearly has been remodeled recently. The bathroom was beautiful and very clean. Eco friendly amenities were a nice touch. The bed was very comfortable and the desk/ overhead coffee bar perfect for cramped quarters. The staff were very helpful and quick to serve. The front desk assisted with directions and reservations to restaurants, though they also have a full time concierge to help with that. The location was also wonderful. A starbucks right around the corner, great Irish Pub, and Union Square was in spitting distance. It really was ideal for our needs. I would stay here again, anytime, with any amount of time. For the rate, you can't get any better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the hotel was a little Chinese Ramen Noodle restaurant. YUM! Cheap and delicious. But the place is super small so be prepared to wait!

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nailjunky
Business
Santa Cruz, CA, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Great Location!

Stayed here for New Year's. Hotel is in a great location. Near shopping and lots of restaurants. Room was very clean but very small but that is to be expected for a Boutique Hotel. The Staff was really nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had breakfast at Max's. I recommend the Crab Cake Benedict. The Crab Cake had lumps of crab meat in it, which was nice because sometimes crab cakes are more bread than meat.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scott Z
Business
northern CA
Jan 1, 2012

nice and cozy for two..

the staff were wonderful and extremely helpful with the hotel as well as the surroundings. unfortunately, we had no water and found out we we came in for the evening at 12 midnight, maintenance came immediately and could not remedy the situation. they gave us another room to shower and did not charge us for parking which would have been another $40.00. I would stay again but check the water first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

SF is always entertaining!

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mac123
Business
Connecticut
Oct 27, 2011

Not for a good night of sleep

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who is interested in a restful night of sleep. I stayed two nights and through both of them fitfully endured the drumming of a nearby street performer until well after 3:00 a.m. The shell of the building is not tight enough to keep this type of noise from penetrating, even on one of the highest floors. The hotel staff were courteous when presented with this complaint (on both nights) but confessed that there was little that they could do. You will be happier with another choice of hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JimmyP
Business
Guangzhou, China
Sep 27, 2011

There are better values in SF

Room was clean, but small, to be expected in historic hotel. Coffee maker on an old dresser in the closet was less than attractive. Location was close to Union Sq, but on the wrong side, a block from the Tenderloin. No bar or restaurant on site, had to leave the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
travels quite often
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Sep 25, 2011

Great hotel in a great location

Why pay the high prices of most hotels in the Union Square area when you can book King George Hotel! It is the perfect location, clean, comfortable and an excellent staff. We would not choose anything else for our next trip to San Francisco!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach Blanket Babylon!

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
xyzabc
Business
Fairfield, CT, USA
Sep 12, 2011

nice stay in San Francisco

Hotel is a block from Union Square near the shopping area and the Powell street cable car. Our room was small, but it had a walk in closet and a nice bathroom. The room was clean and all furnishings were in good condition. The staff was always attentive to our requests. The lobby and bar are cozy. The only limitation we found was a small elevator for the number of people using it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top