$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 7, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

King George Hotel

3 stars
View map of 334 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for King George Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
226 out of 226
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LF55
Business
Houston, TX
Nov 1, 2012

Lovely hotel

Preftect location and confortable stay. A quaint nice hotel with a British flavor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
770Dave
Business
Los angeles
Jun 26, 2012

Really good

Location and very clean. At a good price I recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ray and Steve
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 26, 2012

Good stay.

Our stay was overall good. A little confusion with our room key at first (walked in on a couple) but quickly sorted out. We received an apology that felt sincere and the problem was fixed immediately. The walls could've been thicker, too much noise from outside and neighbors could be heard, not unbearable just too much for my taste. I would recommend this hotel to a friend. The color scheme of the whole could use some modernization.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SF Party Girl
Business
Rohnert Park
Jun 4, 2012

Quiant Hotel in SF

The King George is a cute little place with its Brittish charm, but I got an unpleasant surprise when I opened the door and saw how small our (2 twin bed) room was. The pictures online must not have made that clear. Otherwise our stay was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr K Conference Traveler
Business
Lynch Station, VA
Jun 4, 2012

Good for the money

Easy access to the conference center and the staff were very accommodating and gracious. Our room the first night was beside the elevator and on the front street -- definitely too noisy if you are from a quiet town. Spoke to the front desk person and he readily moved us to a room away from the elevator and front street for our next five nights, upgrading us in the process at no additional cost. Free access to computers and a printer in the lobby was very convenient for printing out driving directions for the next part of our vacation. The downside was the smell of urine and constant presence of begging homeless people on the street, but that was typical of this entire area of town. Even with that, still felt safe walking around at night due to the constant volume of tourists in the area. Very convenient to the trolley and several bus stops too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You don't need to go to the trolley turnaround and wait in the long line to hop on the trolley. Buy your passport at the turnaround if you are going to ride the trolley several times (one way trip $6; unlimited passport ~$26) then go up a stop or two and hop on the trolley there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael W Dirt McGirt
Business
Buffalo, NY
May 16, 2012

Convenient hotel

Decent size rooms, very comfortable bed in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Rye -- it's a nice cocktail bar 4 blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BenSA
Business
San Antonio, TX
May 6, 2012

A nice place in just the right spot

The King George was an excellent buy, especially compared with my meeting hotel, which was one block away and would have charged nearly $400 a night for a single. The room at King George was small but adequate and perfectly neat and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tennislover
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Apr 15, 2012

Quiet comfort little hotel

Stay in the hotel for four nights and it is in good location, and close to many good restaurant and sightseeing sites. The room service is timely and the staff is very nice. one thing I have to say is the facility is a little bit old, may need a renovation. when you adjust the temperature of the shower, it is very slow and always overshot. Room is quiet and clean. Price is acceptable and worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there is two Thai restaurant nearby and you should like it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dennis.de
Business
San Diego, Kalifornien, Vereinigte Staaten
Apr 10, 2012

nice place

very nice hotel, perfect location, friendly & helpful staff, cozy rooms and nice city - little problems but nothing that influence my decision not to stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

uncle vito's pizza. good food and inexpensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
afii58
Business
Jacksonville, FL, USA
Mar 26, 2012

great value

the hotel is quaint (old..lol) but very clean and well maintain. Staff is very helpful and friendly.Rooms are small but very clean, housekeeping was excellent..stayed 3 days. Only thing was could hear everything, everything outside, (not from other rooms), but from the street. but value and location was great, highly recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SeanDev
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Mar 9, 2012

Unbearably loud neighboring establishments

Nice staff, building cleanliness and repair is okay, but nearby bars will play very loud drums all night (3am most nights, 6am one night I was there). Impossible to sleep with the volume of that stuff. Not worth throwing away money on a hotel room you can't sleep in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top