$104 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

King George Hotel

3 stars
334 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
209 reviews
Perfect spot

The staff is friendly and outgoing. It's a perfect small hotel close to everything. It is older so... See full review

  • Jewels58
  • Jul 25, 2014
Great, old feeling hotel

I usually stay between three and only three hotels in San Francisco. The King George is among one... See full review

  • jemwatso
  • Mar 17, 2014
Stately boutique hotel near Union Square
Considering its name and the British flag flying out front, it's no surprise that the King George Hotel near San Francisco's Union Square district has a decidedly European flair. Decorative touches are subtle but continue this theme: chess boards in every room, coats of arms, and more. All guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access. The on-site restaurant, Winston's Bar and Lounge, even serves imported beer.
Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access
  • Hop on any one of the city's cable cars down the street
  • Union Square shopping is only a four-block walk from the hotel
Rooms

Accommodations -- 141 rooms and 12 suites in all -- vary in size and configuration but come standard with flat-screen televisions, pillow-top mattresses, MP3 docking stations and in-room safes. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access as well as nightly turndown service.

Features

The King George Hotel, a free-standing structure, dates back to 1914 and has been renovated numerous times since. It also is now a certified member of the California Green Lodging Program.

All guests have access to a nearby Club One Health Club (fees apply), a full-service facility with spa, pool and fitness center. The hotel also offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

Grab a pint (what else?) at Winston's Bar & Lounge, a kitschy-but-lovable bar on the ground floor. The pub no longer serves food, but the scene is still lively on weekend nights.

Valet and self-parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/30 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (15 mi/25 km)
  • Cable car stops (3 blocks)
  • BART (6 blocks/1 km)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square (3 blocks)
  • Theater District (4 blocks)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • AT&T Park (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Golden Gate Park (6 mi/10 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center in lobby
  • Intimate 500-square-foot meeting room
Policies and Fees
  • The hotel accepts reservations for guests under 18 years old given that parent/legal guardian guarantees payment for all charges. If legally emancipated, guests can present documents that prove emancipation and the ability to shoulder expenses at the hotel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed King George Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

King George Hotel Rooms

Standard Room with One Queen Bed
Standard Room One Queen bed is furnished with English Tudor furniture, writing desk, ceiling fans and a comfortable queen bed with full duvet and Scotland wool throw blankets. Each room is equipped Complimentary wireless Internet Access. Also, all rooms have private baths, remote control flat screen televisions, telephones with voice mail and data ports, safes, ironing equipment, hairdryers and electronic door locks. Non smoking. 24-hour room service and same day valet laundry service is also available.
Standard Room with Two Twin Beds
Standard Room with Two Twin Beds is furnished with English Tudor furniture, writing desk, ceiling fans and a comfortable queen bed with full duvet and Scotland wool throw blankets. Each room is equipped complimentary wireless Internet Access. Also, all rooms have private baths, remote control flat screen televisions, telephones with voice mail and data ports, safes, ironing equipment, hairdryers and electronic door locks. Non smoking. 24-hour room service and same day valet laundry service is also available.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The King George Hotel has a perfect ground level meeting room to host your business. The meeting room is equipped with complimentary high speed wireless internet access for presentations. And, an arrangement of foods & beverages are available for your working lunch or on-site event! It is truly the BEST place on Union Square to hold a meeting for 40 or less people.

Dining

Winston's Bar & Lounge
Wine and champagne lounge serving specialty beers and appetizers Evening hours 5 pm to 10 pm Enjoy our selective bottled wines at smashing prices!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (209)

Ratings and reviews for King George Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, MD
Aug 1, 2011

Review of King George Hotel

I just used the hotel as my 'base camp' for spending a few days in San Francisco. It was perfect - good clean room, friendly and helpful staff, great location. It'd be nice if there were two elevators, and the signal strength on the wireless internet was low, but these were very, very minor issues. I'll definitely stay at the hotel again if back in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 7, 2011

Great location at a good price

While the King George Hotel's best feature may be its location right near Union Square, theaters and great restaurants, it was itself a pleasant surprise. I got a very good airfare/hotel deal and was surprised at what a nice hotel it was. It was clean, the staff was friendly and because it is in an old building, it had a lot of atmosphere. The rooms are small, but for me that matters little since I tend not to linger in hotel rooms. This hotel had what I wanted in the staff, rooms and location. It was also a very green hotel, which is a nice benefit. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

In addition to nearby theater, shopping and restaurants, I wanted to get out and enjoy the beautiful weather. Just up the street from the hotel was a place to rent bikes called Blazing Saddles for my ride across the Golden Gate bridge to Sausalito.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fi
Business
Europe
Jun 29, 2011

The only thing good is the location

The location of the hotel was great however our stay was awful. When we arrived on the Friday morning the elevators were not working and had not been fixed when we left on the Monday. This meant we had to walk up the narrow winding stairs to our room. The rooms are tiny and it was difficult to get to sleep as you can hear the noise of other rooms plumbing while in your own room. The pipes are very noisey. The curtains in our room would not pull closed for us so we mentioned it to the staff. When we arrived back later, the curtains were pinned together with a safety pin, stil leaving a gap allowing sunlight in in the early hours of the morning. The staff were nice but overall we did not enjoy our stay. We loved San Fran but hated the hotel and feel we did not get value for our money at all. I would only recommend staying there for one night only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LA native
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 24, 2011

Not bad not great.

The staff is incredible nice and very helpful. The internet connection didn't wok well and the elevator wasn't working. Other than that everything was status quo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City
Jun 14, 2011

Can't Complain

The hotel was decent. It was a fine accomodation for what I needed which was a comfortable reliable place to stay. The hotel was located in such an area that I was able to walk many places and cabs were inexpensive. One downside is that with the convenience of Union Square catering to tourists, many of the convenient stores are expensive (I bought a bottle of champagne on the corner for $20, which I paid $7 for at Safeway). The area is a tourists trap and there is an overwhelming amount of homeless people begging at nearly every trun within a block radius or so. The hotel staff was friendly, but I didn't require much. The room was small, but I expected that. It wasn't the most fabulous hotel, but it was better than a Holiday Inn or Motel 6. It is perfectly fine, but if you need something more fancy, the Westin St. Francis is acorss the street. I got the feeling this hotel was standard issue for the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great food around, and 24 hour diners just s stone throw away - one next door and another directly across the street. I ate quite well and for not much money in the area on a few ocassions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Plymouth, Michigan
May 27, 2011

Great location and a small hotel

The King George is in great location. We explored China Town and the Union Square area easily, and we were close to the cable car turnaround. Compared to previous stays in San Francisco this was the best location by far!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just lots and lots of great restaurants of all types nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Busy trav
Business
San Diego
Apr 21, 2011

Handy

Can't beat the location, close to everything, and within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots within walking distance; try Max's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
R. duke
Business
san diego
Apr 10, 2011

good location good people

The staff was friendly. good location. Good food next store, even better bars and hot-spots within a couple blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dark Star
Business
Boulder Coloradp
Mar 25, 2011

Great location at a great price...online

The staff was really helpful. We had to change our room after the second day because we had reserved a king room online, but only a queen was available until Sunday. Both rooms were small and quirky...we liked them. It was terrific to find a hotel that allowed smoking...Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Mar 22, 2011

Great time, great deal!

One block off Union Square in a safe neighborhood, the King George Hotel treated us like royalty. We visited family, and the restaurants, diners and sights in the area served well for meeting up with them. We relaxed in the cozy hotel bar in the evening, and the staff was friendly and helpful with directions. A cash machine and computers with Internet service were handy, and, best of all, the room and bathroom were spotless! (It was a very small room, though, but we expected that for the good price in the heart of the city.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The diner across the street, the Pine-something, had the best Belgian waffle, omelets and coffee you could want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top