$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 21, 2015 Check-out: May 22, 2015

King George Hotel

3 stars
View map of 334 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for King George Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
240 out of 240
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jkmackie
Business
providence ri
Apr 25, 2010

excellent value

The rooms may be on the small side but the hotel is quaint, clean and nicely decorated. The best part about the king george is the staff, everyone we spoke to was friendly and helpful and went above and beyond. The location is close to transportion, restaurants, and shopping which was great. The only downside, and it is no fault of the king george, is after dark the area has a considerable number of vagrants which can be intimidating but there are plenty of other tourists around as long as you are not too far off ther beaten track.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to info center and get city passes. They are good for a ton of museums and attractions and allow you unlimited muni bus, trolly and cable cars all over the city

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisiana
Jul 6, 2010

Nice stay

Nice historic hotel to visit San Francisco. Close to BART station (direct to the airport). Rooms are cosy and neat, though walls can be a little thin depending on your neighbors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Cable Car Barn & Museum (Free and instructive)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Apr 18, 2010

Surprising good for the price

Surprisingly clean and hospitable for the price. Unexpected pluses where Q-tips, cotton balls, and a jar of mints in the room that were all refilled each day. Room was small, but quaint. Concierge and staff with knowledgeable and helpful. Would recommend the hotel and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 15, 2009

Great Location but a little small

Great location. 3 to 4 blocks away from the powell BART. It's a little small, but def worth the stay for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bloomington
Jun 12, 2009

Great location for the price

The hotel was located in a great spot. Close to everything. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traditional Traveler
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Oct 31, 2009

Fabulous location

This hotel is located within a half block of many expensive hotels - JW Marriott, The Handlery, Hotel Nikko - as well as 2 blocks from the MUNI, Bart and the cable car turnaround. Rooms are small but have everything one needs. You need to be creative to plug in your laptop and phone charger at the same time. Free wifi in guest room but if you forgot your laptop you will have to pay to use the computers in the lobby. Coffee maker in room and coffee and tea in lobby in the mornings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you come by car the hotel charges $29 per night. One half block in either direction you can park in a garage for $21.60/night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hilton Head Island
Aug 3, 2009

Business trip 5 night stay

For the price, it was well worth it. I just needed a place to sleep due to long business hours while there and it was clean and quiet. Every staff member was pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 7, 2011

Great location at a good price

While the King George Hotel's best feature may be its location right near Union Square, theaters and great restaurants, it was itself a pleasant surprise. I got a very good airfare/hotel deal and was surprised at what a nice hotel it was. It was clean, the staff was friendly and because it is in an old building, it had a lot of atmosphere. The rooms are small, but for me that matters little since I tend not to linger in hotel rooms. This hotel had what I wanted in the staff, rooms and location. It was also a very green hotel, which is a nice benefit. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

In addition to nearby theater, shopping and restaurants, I wanted to get out and enjoy the beautiful weather. Just up the street from the hotel was a place to rent bikes called Blazing Saddles for my ride across the Golden Gate bridge to Sausalito.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fay and Jason Thrifty Travelers
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 27, 2010

Absolutely Lovely Hotel Great Location

The King George was a great choice. The price is perfect, the location is awesome. The hotel is old, so small rooms were expected, but they do very well fitting in the necessities. The best thing was the staff. They were very friendly and extremely helpful. We stayed 9 nights here and were put in the smallest room our first night. Upon check-in they told us we could switch to a bigger room the next day if we would like. They held our bags and moved them into the new room for us while we were out. Also, when we checked out, they held our bags all day until we needed to leave for our flight. It really was a great vacation and the King George played a huge part in that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not drive or get a car in San Francisco. Parking is outrageous. Most hotels do not have parking and if they do its between $30 and $60 per night. We walked everywhere, took public transit which is fantastic, and only rented a car one day to travel to wine country.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Sep 11, 2009

Great San Francisco Character!

The room and bathroom were a little on the small size but the character of the hotel makes up for all of that! There is no a/c in this hotel which I was little nervous about and I don't know if that's normal or not but the weather was cool enough that I actually pulled out an extra blanket to keep me warm. Because of the location, it would have been noisy if we had had to open to window to keep cool. The staff here were wonderful, too! So helpful and proper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Even though we aren't into the nightlife, this would be a great location if you are. Every night while heading back to our hotel there were so many people out and about at restaurants and clubs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top