$140 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 3, 2015

King George Hotel

3 stars
View map of 334 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for King George Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
245 out of 245
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
heatherS75
Miami, FL, USA
Mar 8, 2012

San Francisco in a Day

We only have 2 days left in California after having spent 5 days in Napa. We decided to spend the last two days at the King George. BOY, it couldn't get any better. Our room, though on the first floor and facing a wall, was perfect. I have been to the city many times and know that value hotels, even expensive hotels, don't always have great views and are often very VERY small. This room was on the smaller side, but perfect for us. It clearly has been remodeled recently. The bathroom was beautiful and very clean. Eco friendly amenities were a nice touch. The bed was very comfortable and the desk/ overhead coffee bar perfect for cramped quarters. The staff were very helpful and quick to serve. The front desk assisted with directions and reservations to restaurants, though they also have a full time concierge to help with that. The location was also wonderful. A starbucks right around the corner, great Irish Pub, and Union Square was in spitting distance. It really was ideal for our needs. I would stay here again, anytime, with any amount of time. For the rate, you can't get any better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the hotel was a little Chinese Ramen Noodle restaurant. YUM! Cheap and delicious. But the place is super small so be prepared to wait!

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Disney Boyfriend
Business
Oregon
Feb 18, 2013

King George: pretty good

Not bad. Great central location for Union Square shoppers. Walls a bit thin. Lots of loud noise from the street below, but that can't be helped. Nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Willis Goldbeck
Business
Washington DC
Feb 17, 2013

Good short term alternative

Perfect location and affordability make this a good selection. Staff very nice. Hot water only part of the time and heat which would not turn off or down were two problems that detracted from an otherwise fine experience. My recommendation, below, would depend on learning that these problems had been fixed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mama Mary
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 17, 2013

Family getaway

overall the hotel is convenient to all the shops n restaurants. The room was clean n beds were comfortable enough. Just remind the maid service not to make too much noise early in the morning. They may not realize some people like to sleep at 8 a.m. afterall it is holiday. Thanks but the hotel is a thumbs up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Huli
Business
Stockton,ca
Feb 17, 2013

King George hotel

Great room! Very close to where we were headed. I Would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bella Super Mom
Business
Sacramento, Ca
Dec 27, 2012

Wonderful weekend trip

The best location possible and the price could not have been better. The staff was helpful and friendly. The rooms are confortable and the place is like an old victorian place. Our favorite restaurants were just a few blocks away like Kuleto's and Le Colonial.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Quarterly Visiter
Business
Hoboken, NJ
Dec 14, 2012

Great place to stay

I've stayed here three times for a week at a time each. The internet isn't the best, but it is free. Shower hot water was flakey on me in 1 of the rooms, but has been fine in the other 2 I've stayed in. Other than that everything has been great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Egbok
Business
Nevada City
Dec 3, 2012

If You're Looking for Value

We stayed here for 8 nights in a one-room king. We have zero complaints. The hotel is very clean, and the staff friendly. The WiFi is spot on and free. Our bed is very, very comfortable. Every morning there is great coffee available for free in the lobby until 10 AM. Oh, yes, we're a couple of blocks from Union Square so walking to see the sights (North Beach, Nob Hill, Ferry Building, etc.) is not a problem. Would I stay here again? Absolutely YES!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AliSac
Business
Sacramento, CA
Nov 19, 2012

good location, average hotel

This is what we should have expected at this price - a small room with thin walls, but clean and in a great location. If you don't want to spend too much time in the hotel room itself, this is a fine place. The bathroom was nice - airy and bright.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Getting a cab in this area is really tough at busy times - plan ahead if you have to be somewhere at a certain time.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LF55
Business
Houston, TX
Nov 1, 2012

Lovely hotel

Preftect location and confortable stay. A quaint nice hotel with a British flavor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RebeccaWH.
Business
Arcadia, CA
Oct 26, 2012

Great location, decent hotel.

nothing fancy, small rooms, but clean and great location. very nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top