$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

King George Hotel

3 stars
View map of 334 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for King George Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
227 out of 227
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
heatherS75
Miami, FL, USA
Mar 8, 2012

San Francisco in a Day

We only have 2 days left in California after having spent 5 days in Napa. We decided to spend the last two days at the King George. BOY, it couldn't get any better. Our room, though on the first floor and facing a wall, was perfect. I have been to the city many times and know that value hotels, even expensive hotels, don't always have great views and are often very VERY small. This room was on the smaller side, but perfect for us. It clearly has been remodeled recently. The bathroom was beautiful and very clean. Eco friendly amenities were a nice touch. The bed was very comfortable and the desk/ overhead coffee bar perfect for cramped quarters. The staff were very helpful and quick to serve. The front desk assisted with directions and reservations to restaurants, though they also have a full time concierge to help with that. The location was also wonderful. A starbucks right around the corner, great Irish Pub, and Union Square was in spitting distance. It really was ideal for our needs. I would stay here again, anytime, with any amount of time. For the rate, you can't get any better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the hotel was a little Chinese Ramen Noodle restaurant. YUM! Cheap and delicious. But the place is super small so be prepared to wait!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Egbok
Business
Nevada City
Dec 3, 2012

If You're Looking for Value

We stayed here for 8 nights in a one-room king. We have zero complaints. The hotel is very clean, and the staff friendly. The WiFi is spot on and free. Our bed is very, very comfortable. Every morning there is great coffee available for free in the lobby until 10 AM. Oh, yes, we're a couple of blocks from Union Square so walking to see the sights (North Beach, Nob Hill, Ferry Building, etc.) is not a problem. Would I stay here again? Absolutely YES!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AliSac
Business
Sacramento, CA
Nov 19, 2012

good location, average hotel

This is what we should have expected at this price - a small room with thin walls, but clean and in a great location. If you don't want to spend too much time in the hotel room itself, this is a fine place. The bathroom was nice - airy and bright.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Getting a cab in this area is really tough at busy times - plan ahead if you have to be somewhere at a certain time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LF55
Business
Houston, TX
Nov 1, 2012

Lovely hotel

Preftect location and confortable stay. A quaint nice hotel with a British flavor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RebeccaWH.
Business
Arcadia, CA
Oct 26, 2012

Great location, decent hotel.

nothing fancy, small rooms, but clean and great location. very nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TCRunner
Business
Visalia, CA
Oct 25, 2012

Made for a good Marathon Weekend Trip

The staff was very courteous and helpful. I especially liked the protein bars and gatorade they had set out on race morning, that was a really special touch. I did not like that our room was TINY-I mean barely enough room to walk around the queen bed and the ceilings were LOW, like i could put my whole hand, palm and all, on the ceiling and I'm only 5'7". Although, the bathroom was spacious and the toiletries were nice. There was also a candy dish but all it had were empty wrappers-weird. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to stay very close to Union Square, but who isn't too tall or wanting to do much more than sleep in their hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dingdong1981
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 16, 2012

Old, small, dingy

Was expecting a very nice place but was instead confronted with a very strange experience. The one elevator for the nine floors was extremely slow and sometimes took up to ten minutes. I tried taking the spiral staircase once but it is pretty dizzying from nine floors up. Staff though very friendly, had great difficulty with the English language. Rooms are Very small without air conditioning or water pressure. Clearly the building is very old and there probably is not much that can be done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dany R
Business
New York City
Oct 2, 2012

Great Value Hotel

Clean hotel in a great location close to lots of transportation. The rooms are nothing special, but they get the job done and the staff was friendly. The elevator was slow, but no big deal really. Overall, this place is great in the essentials but doesn't offer too much beyond that. But for the price you're paying, there is nothing to complain about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
True Budget Traveller
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Sep 17, 2012

Great hotel location

I was pleasantly surprised about my stay at the hotel. My room was clean, on the small side but sufficient. The blanket was very thin though. My room window faced the alley, which was a bit noisy due to the trash dumping. The ceiling fan was great since there was no a/c. Location was fantastic and convenient. So close to Union Square shopping, Chinatown, Ferry Building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the F trolley to Fisherman's Wharf...about a 10 minute ride and cost $2 round trip. Take the trolley at Market and Powell to Pier 39.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
13twelve
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Sep 17, 2012

Convenient, quiet, average hotel.

Its a regular, reasonable priced hotel with friendly staff in a great location in San Francisco. I'd stay again and I would recommend to friends. No problems to report, an all round pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't bother getting on the cable car at the terminus, instead get on them a block or so in - getting the cable car from Union Square saves a huge wait at a terminus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SDSkippy
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 5, 2012

Eh... Could be better...

The bathroom had mold, the bed was uncomfortable and the toilet seat was wobbly. On the bright side, there were no bed bugs. It is San Francisco, so I expected the rooms to be expensive and get less for what I paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top