$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 23, 2014

Kensington Park Hotel

3 stars
450 Post St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
126 reviews
Awesome solo Feb trip

I stayed at the Kensington Park Hotel for four nights mid-February. I was a solo female traveller,... See full review

  • lulutastic
  • Feb 24, 2014
Great day and nite

From the moment we arrived the staff took the time to make our short stay a wonderful... See full review

  • ch3no2
  • Feb 3, 2014
Union Square hotel offers fine dining, eclectic design and free Wi-Fi
A fantastic location, great value and elegant design make the Kensington Park Hotel one of San Francisco's most popular choices. Innovative coastal cuisine is the theme at Farallon, the on-site restaurant that features richly imagined undersea elements. Guest rooms at the Kensington Park Hotel reveal a hint of English-garden inspiration while also maintaining an eclectic vibe that's distinctly San Francisco. Complimentary afternoon tea and sherry service help guests feel welcomed and cared for. 
Highlights

  • Complimentary tea and sherry served each evening in the grand lobby
  • Unbeatable location one block from Union Square
  • Top-ranked Farallon restaurant, including preferred seating for hotel guests
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Valet parking with in/out privileges (fees apply)

Location
Just one block from the Kensington Park Hotel, Union Square is San Francisco's premier shopping and theater district. From major department stores to one-of-a-kind boutiques, both fashionistas and casual shoppers can easily spend a full day at the city's central retail hub and community gathering area. 
Rooms
Room design at the Kensington Park Hotel combines Queen Anne decor and whimsical elements for an atmosphere that's both fun and cozy. Look for upholstered headboards, mahogany armoires, flat-panel TVs, bubble lamps and chairs covered in animal-print fabrics. Some rooms overlook Nob Hill and Union Square. Wi-Fi Internet access is complimentary in all rooms. 
Features
The Kensington Park Hotel lobby combines elements of a California mission and a classic English parlor with pleasantly striking effect: Glistening chandeliers stand out against exposed ceiling beams. A piano is situated in the corner of a marble lobby. Wireless Internet access is complimentary. Guests receive complimentary access to a fitness center nearby.
Dining
Inspired by a love of sailing, fishing and diving, Farallon restaurant inside the Kensington Park Hotel creates an undersea fantasy environment enhanced by original architectural elements and custom details like suspended jellyfish lights. Coastal cuisine highlights both freshwater and saltwater delicacies complemented by a bounty of farm-fresh produce. Farallon has been named one of the best new restaurants in the country by the James Beard Foundation and Bon Appetit magazine.
Transportation

  • BART stop (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (11.7 mi/18.9 km)

Attractions

  • Union Square (One block)
  • Chinatown (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Moscone Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1.5 mi/2.3 km)

Business

  • 24-hour business center
  • The Sherwood Room accommodates up to 75 guests
  • Dedicated meeting coordinator
  • Full catering services available
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access

Policies and fees
  • Kensington Park Hotel is a pet-friendly hotel. Dogs only, one per room, maximum 40 pounds, $25 USD non-refundable pet cleaning fee charged at check-in. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7885 -122.4094
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
San Francisco Airport (SFO)
Area description
The best address at Union Square. Just steps from all of the city's best shopping. The Powell Street cable car is only 1/2 block away. Many fine restaurants, art galleries and theaters in the immediate area. Easy access to the financial district, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown, Civic Center and public transport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kensington Park Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Kensington Park Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Two Double
Our Deluxe Guestrooms all come with a Serta Perfect Sleeper mattress, cream tufted headboard and premium linens. 36" flat screen TV, mahogany furniture, plush armchair, ceiling fan, black-out drapes, light-up makeup mirror, writing desk, two telephones and complimentary high-speed wireless internet access.
Deluxe King or Queen Room
Our Deluxe Guestrooms all come with a Serta Perfect Sleeper mattress, cream tufted headboard and premium linens. 36" flat screen TV, mahogany furniture, plush armchair, ceiling fan, black-out drapes, light-up makeup mirror, writing desk, two telephones and complimentary high-speed wireless internet access.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our Meeting Room accommodates up to 40 people theater and 25 people classroom style.

Dining

Farallon
Serving upscale seafood, Open for Lunch and Dinner, located adjacent to the lobby.
Jelly Fish Bar
Located in the Farallon Restaurant. Great place to enjoy a cocktail before dinner or after an evening out on the town.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (126)

Ratings and reviews for Kensington Park Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vmworld attendee
arkansas
Sep 2, 2012

great stay for my wife and I

Hotel is perfectly situated by Union Square and close to cable cars and great food.only negative is it is a tad noisy if you are a light sleeper due to deliveries and trash pickup around midnight to 2am to other stores, etc.everything else was amazingly positive. The staff was awesome from the second we walked in the doors.we loved our room and had decent view of city.area is very clean with a great fusion of people and culture.will definitely stay here again. Also if you need a ride from the airport and plan on a cab, they can schedule for a towncar or suburban for the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

To see the city, get tickets from the hotel for the hop on hop off tour bus.we loved being able to stop and walk around and then hop on the bus that runs almost every 10 minutes so.we spent time at the wharf, hight-ashbury district, and other areas and loved the tour.

Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dalca
Business
Palm Desert, CA
Aug 12, 2012

Super!

I always experience a positive experience at this hotel. The staff is very accomodating. The rooms are nice. Perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Happy Hour is the best bargain in that location.

Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SUKU
UK
Aug 1, 2012

Excellent City location

Hotel very central to Union Square, shopping, restaurants and China Town. Hotel very clean and staff very friendly and helpful regarding directions, places to visit etc. Hotel is an old (by American standards) building and therefore furniture & furnishings are quite dated. Beds could also be more comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gtao Feo
San Diego
Jul 19, 2012

Great location

The hotel is very close to shopping, theater and ttransportation. The professional staff is very helpful especially the full time Concierge. I particularly enjoyed the piano player in the lobby. It is a very good hotel for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Farallon Restaurant in the hotel has great food and an excellent and convenient Happy Hour.

Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jr. High Teacher
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Jun 12, 2012

Right in the Heart of San Francisco

Great location adjacent to Union Square with many designer stores, cable cars, and hop off and on buses. Staff extremely helpful and accomodating. Boutique hotel, not run of the mill chain. Great bedding, robes, slippers. Served sherry and tea in the afternoon. It was a nice little luxury for us as we spent the weekend watching our son compete in the Escape from Alcatraz Triathlon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We took one of the many "hop off and hop on" tours to orient ourselves to our surroundings. Lots of good info about the city. The tickets were good for 48 hours.

Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
miss jeska
huntington beach, ca
Jun 5, 2012

Pleasant stay

Very clean and mellow. The beds were too small ( full size was given for 2 adults) but location and staff were great. I need a bigger bed though, which would make me think twice about staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay anywhere in Union Square! Many places to shop, dine, and enjoy night life. Also, get a shuttle to the airport at the end of your trip, do not pay for a cab.

Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I want another vacation
Business
New Jersey, USA
Mar 20, 2012

Hotel for conference

I recently got back from a conference as the Moscone Center and stayed at this hotel. It was very affordable and only about a 15 minute walk to the convention center. It was also walkable to Chinatown, Union Square, shopping, and the cable car boarding. In the afternoon there was free sherry and tea in the lobby. It is about a $12 cab ride to Fisherman's Wharf, and a $6 cable ride to the same area. One evening there was a piano and guitar player during the 4-7 happy hour time. The hotel was cute and old fashioned looking. I would highly recommend it and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A few blocks away there is a dueling piano bar - I would highly recommend.

Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
humboldt
Eureka, CA
Mar 7, 2012

Good hotel - beds could be more comfortable

The service was excellent - bed was not so excellent. But, overall location good & liked staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loree124
Modesto, CA
Dec 6, 2011

A New Holiday Tradition!

We were very pleased with our stay at the Kensington Park Hotel. The staff was extremely accomodating and personable. The room was decorated beautifully and as most other reviewers have stated, the bed very comfortable. We were in town without a car and were able to walk to everything we wanted to see in Union Square. The complimentary hot tea and sherry in the evenings was a nice touch. We had a terrific view as well. No air conditioning and a bit stuffy in the evening. While the window opened, the noise below prevented it. There is a beautiful ceiling fan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great and inexpensive breakfasts at Honey Honey Crepery and Lori's Diner.

Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
marciaa
Stockton
Dec 5, 2011

girls yearly shopping trip

My sisters and I take a Xmas shopping trip to SF every year and try to stay at a different hotel each time. Location is great for 4 women walking around late at night cause we always try to hit the night spots the are very close to union square. We have always felt safe in this area. Beds we wonderful . This building has lots of history, and a lot still going on there. We enjoyed our experience and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fallon was wonderful and right next door to hotel. Mortons steak house and lefty O'douls were great too

Back to menu Return to top