$155 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

Kensington Park Hotel

3 stars
450 Post St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
81 reviews
Awesome solo Feb trip

I stayed at the Kensington Park Hotel for four nights mid-February. I was a solo female traveller,... See full review

  • lulutastic
  • Feb 24, 2014
Great day and nite

From the moment we arrived the staff took the time to make our short stay a wonderful... See full review

  • ch3no2
  • Feb 3, 2014
Union Square hotel offers fine dining, eclectic design and free Wi-Fi
A fantastic location, great value and elegant design make the Kensington Park Hotel one of San Francisco's most popular choices. Innovative coastal cuisine is the theme at Farallon, the on-site restaurant that features richly imagined undersea elements. Guest rooms at the Kensington Park Hotel reveal a hint of English-garden inspiration while also maintaining an eclectic vibe that's distinctly San Francisco. Complimentary afternoon tea and sherry service help guests feel welcomed and cared for. 
Highlights

  • Complimentary tea and sherry served each evening in the grand lobby
  • Unbeatable location one block from Union Square
  • Top-ranked Farallon restaurant, including preferred seating for hotel guests
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Valet parking with in/out privileges (fees apply)

Location
Just one block from the Kensington Park Hotel, Union Square is San Francisco's premier shopping and theater district. From major department stores to one-of-a-kind boutiques, both fashionistas and casual shoppers can easily spend a full day at the city's central retail hub and community gathering area. 
Rooms
Room design at the Kensington Park Hotel combines Queen Anne decor and whimsical elements for an atmosphere that's both fun and cozy. Look for upholstered headboards, mahogany armoires, flat-panel TVs, bubble lamps and chairs covered in animal-print fabrics. Some rooms overlook Nob Hill and Union Square. Wi-Fi Internet access is complimentary in all rooms. 
Features
The Kensington Park Hotel lobby combines elements of a California mission and a classic English parlor with pleasantly striking effect: Glistening chandeliers stand out against exposed ceiling beams. A piano is situated in the corner of a marble lobby. Wireless Internet access is complimentary. Guests receive complimentary access to a fitness center nearby.
Dining
Inspired by a love of sailing, fishing and diving, Farallon restaurant inside the Kensington Park Hotel creates an undersea fantasy environment enhanced by original architectural elements and custom details like suspended jellyfish lights. Coastal cuisine highlights both freshwater and saltwater delicacies complemented by a bounty of farm-fresh produce. Farallon has been named one of the best new restaurants in the country by the James Beard Foundation and Bon Appetit magazine.
Transportation

  • BART stop (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (11.7 mi/18.9 km)

Attractions

  • Union Square (One block)
  • Chinatown (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Moscone Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1.5 mi/2.3 km)

Business

  • 24-hour business center
  • The Sherwood Room accommodates up to 75 guests
  • Dedicated meeting coordinator
  • Full catering services available
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access

Policies and fees
  • Kensington Park Hotel is a pet-friendly hotel. Dogs only, one per room, maximum 40 pounds, $25 USD non-refundable pet cleaning fee charged at check-in. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Kensington Park Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Two Double
Our Deluxe Guestrooms all come with a Serta Perfect Sleeper mattress, cream tufted headboard and premium linens. 36" flat screen TV, mahogany furniture, plush armchair, ceiling fan, black-out drapes, light-up makeup mirror, writing desk, two telephones and complimentary high-speed wireless internet access.
Deluxe King or Queen Room
Our Deluxe Guestrooms all come with a Serta Perfect Sleeper mattress, cream tufted headboard and premium linens. 36" flat screen TV, mahogany furniture, plush armchair, ceiling fan, black-out drapes, light-up makeup mirror, writing desk, two telephones and complimentary high-speed wireless internet access.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kensington Park Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7885 -122.4094
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
San Francisco Airport (SFO)
Area description
The best address at Union Square. Just steps from all of the city's best shopping. The Powell Street cable car is only 1/2 block away. Many fine restaurants, art galleries and theaters in the immediate area. Easy access to the financial district, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown, Civic Center and public transport.

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our Meeting Room accommodates up to 40 people theater and 25 people classroom style.

Dining

Farallon
Serving upscale seafood, Open for Lunch and Dinner, located adjacent to the lobby.
Jelly Fish Bar
Located in the Farallon Restaurant. Great place to enjoy a cocktail before dinner or after an evening out on the town.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for Kensington Park Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
miss jeska
huntington beach, ca
Jun 5, 2012

Pleasant stay

Very clean and mellow. The beds were too small ( full size was given for 2 adults) but location and staff were great. I need a bigger bed though, which would make me think twice about staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay anywhere in Union Square! Many places to shop, dine, and enjoy night life. Also, get a shuttle to the airport at the end of your trip, do not pay for a cab.

Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
I want another vacation
Business
New Jersey, USA
Mar 20, 2012

Hotel for conference

I recently got back from a conference as the Moscone Center and stayed at this hotel. It was very affordable and only about a 15 minute walk to the convention center. It was also walkable to Chinatown, Union Square, shopping, and the cable car boarding. In the afternoon there was free sherry and tea in the lobby. It is about a $12 cab ride to Fisherman's Wharf, and a $6 cable ride to the same area. One evening there was a piano and guitar player during the 4-7 happy hour time. The hotel was cute and old fashioned looking. I would highly recommend it and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A few blocks away there is a dueling piano bar - I would highly recommend.

Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
humboldt
Eureka, CA
Mar 7, 2012

Good hotel - beds could be more comfortable

The service was excellent - bed was not so excellent. But, overall location good & liked staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Loree124
Modesto, CA
Dec 6, 2011

A New Holiday Tradition!

We were very pleased with our stay at the Kensington Park Hotel. The staff was extremely accomodating and personable. The room was decorated beautifully and as most other reviewers have stated, the bed very comfortable. We were in town without a car and were able to walk to everything we wanted to see in Union Square. The complimentary hot tea and sherry in the evenings was a nice touch. We had a terrific view as well. No air conditioning and a bit stuffy in the evening. While the window opened, the noise below prevented it. There is a beautiful ceiling fan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great and inexpensive breakfasts at Honey Honey Crepery and Lori's Diner.

Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
marciaa
Stockton
Dec 5, 2011

girls yearly shopping trip

My sisters and I take a Xmas shopping trip to SF every year and try to stay at a different hotel each time. Location is great for 4 women walking around late at night cause we always try to hit the night spots the are very close to union square. We have always felt safe in this area. Beds we wonderful . This building has lots of history, and a lot still going on there. We enjoyed our experience and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fallon was wonderful and right next door to hotel. Mortons steak house and lefty O'douls were great too

Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Brian'99
Business
Charlottesville, VA, USA
Dec 3, 2011

Wonderful Boutique Hotel

I enjoyed my experience very much. Great staff and service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Traveling Jane
Des Moines, Iowa
Oct 7, 2011

On vacation

The hotel's location was great and easily accessible to the cable cars and other public transportation. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful with any questions or requests we had. Although our room faced the street it was not very noisy and we were told we could change rooms if it was a problem. It is a little worn around the edges but the rooms were clean and we had no concerns.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Emjay
Gainesville, FL, USA
Sep 4, 2011

Great place to stay for a week in the city

Great location with easy access to every sort of transportation imaginable. Low key but helpful staff made for a comfortable and quiet feel to lobby area. Room was clean and although not large, it was not at all cramped . Asked for and got a room on an upper floor to mitigate road noise. (Those cable cars run til 12:30 and the party scene continues on long after that.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Try Mama's in North Beach for breakfast/brunch. The berry bread french toast and eggs benedict, YUM! Also, the steamed pork buns from Out the Back Door at the Ferry Building were wonderful. While you are there, pick up some organic fruit from the S/T/Th Farmers Markets to have your room!

Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Gramma
Alexandria, VA, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Great way to end our trip

My husband's niece recommended we stay near Union Square, and this was our pick. It was a perfect location--an easy walk to public transportation, wonderful restaurants, and fantastic stores. The room was clean, spacious, comfortable, and nicely decorated, and the staff were friendly and helpful. A thoughtful, unusual touch was an upholstered bench in the elevator. It came in handy after a long day of walking up and down the hills of the city. Our only suggestion would be to put more computers for guests in the business center. We would happily stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're looking for a quiet, attractive restaurant with delicious food, try the Daily Grill, 347 Geary St.

Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Montebello, Ca.
Jul 24, 2011

A great experience!

I loved staying at this hotel. It was clean, beautiful, and decently priced. The amenities were great. The beds were very comfortable. I slept so well. I will stay there again in the future. I I suggest trying this hotel as I was quite happy with it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top