$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 23, 2014

Kensington Park Hotel

3 stars
450 Post St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
126 reviews
Awesome solo Feb trip

I stayed at the Kensington Park Hotel for four nights mid-February. I was a solo female traveller,... See full review

  • lulutastic
  • Feb 24, 2014
Great day and nite

From the moment we arrived the staff took the time to make our short stay a wonderful... See full review

  • ch3no2
  • Feb 3, 2014
Union Square hotel offers fine dining, eclectic design and free Wi-Fi
A fantastic location, great value and elegant design make the Kensington Park Hotel one of San Francisco's most popular choices. Innovative coastal cuisine is the theme at Farallon, the on-site restaurant that features richly imagined undersea elements. Guest rooms at the Kensington Park Hotel reveal a hint of English-garden inspiration while also maintaining an eclectic vibe that's distinctly San Francisco. Complimentary afternoon tea and sherry service help guests feel welcomed and cared for. 
Highlights

  • Complimentary tea and sherry served each evening in the grand lobby
  • Unbeatable location one block from Union Square
  • Top-ranked Farallon restaurant, including preferred seating for hotel guests
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Valet parking with in/out privileges (fees apply)

Location
Just one block from the Kensington Park Hotel, Union Square is San Francisco's premier shopping and theater district. From major department stores to one-of-a-kind boutiques, both fashionistas and casual shoppers can easily spend a full day at the city's central retail hub and community gathering area. 
Rooms
Room design at the Kensington Park Hotel combines Queen Anne decor and whimsical elements for an atmosphere that's both fun and cozy. Look for upholstered headboards, mahogany armoires, flat-panel TVs, bubble lamps and chairs covered in animal-print fabrics. Some rooms overlook Nob Hill and Union Square. Wi-Fi Internet access is complimentary in all rooms. 
Features
The Kensington Park Hotel lobby combines elements of a California mission and a classic English parlor with pleasantly striking effect: Glistening chandeliers stand out against exposed ceiling beams. A piano is situated in the corner of a marble lobby. Wireless Internet access is complimentary. Guests receive complimentary access to a fitness center nearby.
Dining
Inspired by a love of sailing, fishing and diving, Farallon restaurant inside the Kensington Park Hotel creates an undersea fantasy environment enhanced by original architectural elements and custom details like suspended jellyfish lights. Coastal cuisine highlights both freshwater and saltwater delicacies complemented by a bounty of farm-fresh produce. Farallon has been named one of the best new restaurants in the country by the James Beard Foundation and Bon Appetit magazine.
Transportation

  • BART stop (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (11.7 mi/18.9 km)

Attractions

  • Union Square (One block)
  • Chinatown (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Moscone Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1.5 mi/2.3 km)

Business

  • 24-hour business center
  • The Sherwood Room accommodates up to 75 guests
  • Dedicated meeting coordinator
  • Full catering services available
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access

Policies and fees
  • Kensington Park Hotel is a pet-friendly hotel. Dogs only, one per room, maximum 40 pounds, $25 USD non-refundable pet cleaning fee charged at check-in. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Kensington Park Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Two Double
Our Deluxe Guestrooms all come with a Serta Perfect Sleeper mattress, cream tufted headboard and premium linens. 36" flat screen TV, mahogany furniture, plush armchair, ceiling fan, black-out drapes, light-up makeup mirror, writing desk, two telephones and complimentary high-speed wireless internet access.
Deluxe King or Queen Room
Our Deluxe Guestrooms all come with a Serta Perfect Sleeper mattress, cream tufted headboard and premium linens. 36" flat screen TV, mahogany furniture, plush armchair, ceiling fan, black-out drapes, light-up makeup mirror, writing desk, two telephones and complimentary high-speed wireless internet access.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kensington Park Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7885 -122.4094
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
San Francisco Airport (SFO)
Area description
The best address at Union Square. Just steps from all of the city's best shopping. The Powell Street cable car is only 1/2 block away. Many fine restaurants, art galleries and theaters in the immediate area. Easy access to the financial district, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown, Civic Center and public transport.

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our Meeting Room accommodates up to 40 people theater and 25 people classroom style.

Dining

Farallon
Serving upscale seafood, Open for Lunch and Dinner, located adjacent to the lobby.
Jelly Fish Bar
Located in the Farallon Restaurant. Great place to enjoy a cocktail before dinner or after an evening out on the town.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (126)

Ratings and reviews for Kensington Park Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 126
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lulutastic
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Feb 24, 2014

Awesome solo Feb trip

I stayed at the Kensington Park Hotel for four nights mid-February. I was a solo female traveller, and always felt safe and well cared-for in the lap of history and luxury at this hotel. From the attentive concierges to the always-cheerful caretaker, Thai, endlessly cleaning to maintain a spotless building, the service in this hotel was second to none. Complimentary morning coffee and tea, afternoon sherry and tea, as well as a piano and guitar player entertaining in the beautiful lobby (don't forget to look up at the amazing details in the beamed ceiling!), rounded out the perks at this property. Spacious bathroom, good water pressure, LCD TV on a swivel wall mount, and a comfortable bed and sheets made for a great place to unwind at the end of a long day. Its location a half-block from Powell ensured that I was about one minute from the bustle, dining and shopping of Union Square. Amazing coffee at La Taza next door, and a block from the delicious breakfast fare at Honey Honey, and just a few minutes' walk to the bus and cable car, I couldn't have asked for a more convenient launching ground for exploring the city. Cautious of safety, I was happy to find that KP is in a well-lit area with plenty of pedestrian traffic, and a valet stationed out front at Farallon (the attached high-end seafood restaurant) each night helped me feel secure when walking back to the building. The historic building, with beautifully decorated common areas and my own comfortable and well appointed guest room, made me so glad that I booked at a boutique property with tons of character rather than at one of the chain hotels nearby. I was lucky to catch a play at the SF Playhouse one evening, attached to the hotel, which made getting ready in my room and arriving at the venue without once setting foot outside a snap. The Kensington Park Hotel was a central feature of my first trip to San Francisco, and played an important role in the wonderful vacation I enjoyed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Buy a discount ticket for a play in the SF Playhouse, which is attached to the hotel and accessible from within the same building. You'll get a discount off your ticket for being a guest at the Kensington Park Hotel, or walk three minutes to the TIX booth at Union Square to see if there are any 50%-off tickets available. Also, the room key gets you a $5 discount at the California Academy of Sciences (although it shows an expiry date of 12/31/13, it still worked for me when scanned at the ticket counter at the Cal Academy).

Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bbelle
Florida
Oct 28, 2013

Quirky Boutique Hotel

I loved this quirky boutique hotel, although some may not. It did not take itself seriously, mixing a lot of different styles in this old Elks Lodge setting, but I thought it brought a lot of interest and charm. The location can't be beat. Right in the mix of Union Square, so easy access to everything -- shopping, dining, walking, touring -- you name it. I must mention that the shower was the best I've had in even high-end hotels. Lots of hot water and great water pressure. However, two things that I didn't care for: 1. I think it was time to get new beds. I could feel the springs in my mattress, and 2. My room was on the 5th floor on the street side. WAY TOO NOISY outside from morning to night. Stay on the back side of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring lots of money or credit cards. This is a shopping paradise with every designer shop you can imagine and then some!

Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cadadj
Vacaville, CA
May 28, 2013

Good for a weekend in the City

I think the Kensington Park is the perfect place to stay for a weekend. Walking distance to restaurants, shows and shopping. Staff was friendly and helpful. Bed was comfortable. I'd stay there again, especially for a weekend in SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

You can order from Morton's in room in the evening if you've had a busy day out and about. Food is delivered in about 20 minutes.

Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Okc
Sep 9, 2009

Great location

Good experience. Old hotel with small rooms. Great location in union square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Okc
Sep 9, 2009

Great location

Good experience. Old hotel with small rooms. Great location in union square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bill on a budget
Palm Desert, California
Dec 30, 2012

A daisy amongst orchids.

Great location by Union Square. Vintage San Francisco hotel, not fancy but neat and clean. Courteous staff. Good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lefty O'Douls

Back to menu Return to top