$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Kensington Park Hotel

3 stars
450 Post St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
125 reviews
Awesome solo Feb trip

I stayed at the Kensington Park Hotel for four nights mid-February. I was a solo female traveller,... See full review

  • lulutastic
  • Feb 24, 2014
Great day and nite

From the moment we arrived the staff took the time to make our short stay a wonderful... See full review

  • ch3no2
  • Feb 3, 2014
Union Square hotel offers fine dining, eclectic design and free Wi-Fi
A fantastic location, great value and elegant design make the Kensington Park Hotel one of San Francisco's most popular choices. Innovative coastal cuisine is the theme at Farallon, the on-site restaurant that features richly imagined undersea elements. Guest rooms at the Kensington Park Hotel reveal a hint of English-garden inspiration while also maintaining an eclectic vibe that's distinctly San Francisco. Complimentary afternoon tea and sherry service help guests feel welcomed and cared for. 
Highlights

  • Complimentary tea and sherry served each evening in the grand lobby
  • Unbeatable location one block from Union Square
  • Top-ranked Farallon restaurant, including preferred seating for hotel guests
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Valet parking with in/out privileges (fees apply)

Location
Just one block from the Kensington Park Hotel, Union Square is San Francisco's premier shopping and theater district. From major department stores to one-of-a-kind boutiques, both fashionistas and casual shoppers can easily spend a full day at the city's central retail hub and community gathering area. 
Rooms
Room design at the Kensington Park Hotel combines Queen Anne decor and whimsical elements for an atmosphere that's both fun and cozy. Look for upholstered headboards, mahogany armoires, flat-panel TVs, bubble lamps and chairs covered in animal-print fabrics. Some rooms overlook Nob Hill and Union Square. Wi-Fi Internet access is complimentary in all rooms. 
Features
The Kensington Park Hotel lobby combines elements of a California mission and a classic English parlor with pleasantly striking effect: Glistening chandeliers stand out against exposed ceiling beams. A piano is situated in the corner of a marble lobby. Wireless Internet access is complimentary. Guests receive complimentary access to a fitness center nearby.
Dining
Inspired by a love of sailing, fishing and diving, Farallon restaurant inside the Kensington Park Hotel creates an undersea fantasy environment enhanced by original architectural elements and custom details like suspended jellyfish lights. Coastal cuisine highlights both freshwater and saltwater delicacies complemented by a bounty of farm-fresh produce. Farallon has been named one of the best new restaurants in the country by the James Beard Foundation and Bon Appetit magazine.
Transportation

  • BART stop (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (11.7 mi/18.9 km)

Attractions

  • Union Square (One block)
  • Chinatown (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Moscone Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1.5 mi/2.3 km)

Business

  • 24-hour business center
  • The Sherwood Room accommodates up to 75 guests
  • Dedicated meeting coordinator
  • Full catering services available
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access

Policies and fees
  • Kensington Park Hotel is a pet-friendly hotel. Dogs only, one per room, maximum 40 pounds, $25 USD non-refundable pet cleaning fee charged at check-in. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7885 -122.4094
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
San Francisco Airport (SFO)
Area description
The best address at Union Square. Just steps from all of the city's best shopping. The Powell Street cable car is only 1/2 block away. Many fine restaurants, art galleries and theaters in the immediate area. Easy access to the financial district, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown, Civic Center and public transport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kensington Park Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Kensington Park Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Two Double
Our Deluxe Guestrooms all come with a Serta Perfect Sleeper mattress, cream tufted headboard and premium linens. 36" flat screen TV, mahogany furniture, plush armchair, ceiling fan, black-out drapes, light-up makeup mirror, writing desk, two telephones and complimentary high-speed wireless internet access.
Deluxe King or Queen Room
Our Deluxe Guestrooms all come with a Serta Perfect Sleeper mattress, cream tufted headboard and premium linens. 36" flat screen TV, mahogany furniture, plush armchair, ceiling fan, black-out drapes, light-up makeup mirror, writing desk, two telephones and complimentary high-speed wireless internet access.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi

Dining

Farallon
Serving upscale seafood, Open for Lunch and Dinner, located adjacent to the lobby.
Jelly Fish Bar
Located in the Farallon Restaurant. Great place to enjoy a cocktail before dinner or after an evening out on the town.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our Meeting Room accommodates up to 40 people theater and 25 people classroom style.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for Kensington Park Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 125
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
armineh
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 9, 2007

very frindly staff

the hotel was great, but the room given to us had a horrible view, facing the neighboors roof.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the shopping, dining and local transportation very convenent.

Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 12, 2008

More than I expected....

Beautiful hotel. Very accomadating staff. Within walking distance to Chinatown and lots of other shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Took a taxi to the Wharf, saw Lombard St. along the way and a good view of the city for only about $15.00. one way.

Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
armineh
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 9, 2007

very frindly staff

the hotel was great, but the room given to us had a horrible view, facing the neighboors roof.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the shopping, dining and local transportation very convenent.

Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 12, 2008

More than I expected....

Beautiful hotel. Very accomadating staff. Within walking distance to Chinatown and lots of other shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Took a taxi to the Wharf, saw Lombard St. along the way and a good view of the city for only about $15.00. one way.

Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hong Kong
Oct 15, 2009

Value for Money

Nicely located hotel for shoppers. Rooms are neat and tidy. Staff are very friendly and quick to lend a helping hand. If travelling in groups or two or more from the hotel to the SF airport, take a taxi and skip the bus service recommended by the hotel. The bus is more expensive per head than other similar service providers. It also has to make several stops before going to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Aug 24, 2010

An enjoyable experience.

Having stayed in the Union Square area before, I was pleased to find that this hotel was so spacious. Many of the remodeled older hotels feel very cramped. It was a wee bit noisy due to automatic doors that tended to slam but on the whole a very pleasant stay. The staff was extremely helpful. I would stay here again. I was pleased to be high up in the hotel and would probably suggest that when booking directly. We used the valet service and found that easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
marciaa
Stockton
Dec 5, 2011

girls yearly shopping trip

My sisters and I take a Xmas shopping trip to SF every year and try to stay at a different hotel each time. Location is great for 4 women walking around late at night cause we always try to hit the night spots the are very close to union square. We have always felt safe in this area. Beds we wonderful . This building has lots of history, and a lot still going on there. We enjoyed our experience and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fallon was wonderful and right next door to hotel. Mortons steak house and lefty O'douls were great too

Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Aug 24, 2010

An enjoyable experience.

Having stayed in the Union Square area before, I was pleased to find that this hotel was so spacious. Many of the remodeled older hotels feel very cramped. It was a wee bit noisy due to automatic doors that tended to slam but on the whole a very pleasant stay. The staff was extremely helpful. I would stay here again. I was pleased to be high up in the hotel and would probably suggest that when booking directly. We used the valet service and found that easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hotel Stayer Person
San Francisco, California
Dec 12, 2013

Nice Stay

Great location. Classic feel. Very helpful hotel staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Jane
Des Moines, Iowa
Oct 7, 2011

On vacation

The hotel's location was great and easily accessible to the cable cars and other public transportation. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful with any questions or requests we had. Although our room faced the street it was not very noisy and we were told we could change rooms if it was a problem. It is a little worn around the edges but the rooms were clean and we had no concerns.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top