$195 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Kensington Park Hotel

3 stars
450 Post St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
125 reviews
Awesome solo Feb trip

I stayed at the Kensington Park Hotel for four nights mid-February. I was a solo female traveller,... See full review

  • lulutastic
  • Feb 24, 2014
Great day and nite

From the moment we arrived the staff took the time to make our short stay a wonderful... See full review

  • ch3no2
  • Feb 3, 2014
Union Square hotel offers fine dining, eclectic design and free Wi-Fi
A fantastic location, great value and elegant design make the Kensington Park Hotel one of San Francisco's most popular choices. Innovative coastal cuisine is the theme at Farallon, the on-site restaurant that features richly imagined undersea elements. Guest rooms at the Kensington Park Hotel reveal a hint of English-garden inspiration while also maintaining an eclectic vibe that's distinctly San Francisco. Complimentary afternoon tea and sherry service help guests feel welcomed and cared for. 
Highlights

  • Complimentary tea and sherry served each evening in the grand lobby
  • Unbeatable location one block from Union Square
  • Top-ranked Farallon restaurant, including preferred seating for hotel guests
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Valet parking with in/out privileges (fees apply)

Location
Just one block from the Kensington Park Hotel, Union Square is San Francisco's premier shopping and theater district. From major department stores to one-of-a-kind boutiques, both fashionistas and casual shoppers can easily spend a full day at the city's central retail hub and community gathering area. 
Rooms
Room design at the Kensington Park Hotel combines Queen Anne decor and whimsical elements for an atmosphere that's both fun and cozy. Look for upholstered headboards, mahogany armoires, flat-panel TVs, bubble lamps and chairs covered in animal-print fabrics. Some rooms overlook Nob Hill and Union Square. Wi-Fi Internet access is complimentary in all rooms. 
Features
The Kensington Park Hotel lobby combines elements of a California mission and a classic English parlor with pleasantly striking effect: Glistening chandeliers stand out against exposed ceiling beams. A piano is situated in the corner of a marble lobby. Wireless Internet access is complimentary. Guests receive complimentary access to a fitness center nearby.
Dining
Inspired by a love of sailing, fishing and diving, Farallon restaurant inside the Kensington Park Hotel creates an undersea fantasy environment enhanced by original architectural elements and custom details like suspended jellyfish lights. Coastal cuisine highlights both freshwater and saltwater delicacies complemented by a bounty of farm-fresh produce. Farallon has been named one of the best new restaurants in the country by the James Beard Foundation and Bon Appetit magazine.
Transportation

  • BART stop (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (11.7 mi/18.9 km)

Attractions

  • Union Square (One block)
  • Chinatown (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Moscone Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1.5 mi/2.3 km)

Business

  • 24-hour business center
  • The Sherwood Room accommodates up to 75 guests
  • Dedicated meeting coordinator
  • Full catering services available
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access

Policies and fees
  • Kensington Park Hotel is a pet-friendly hotel. Dogs only, one per room, maximum 40 pounds, $25 USD non-refundable pet cleaning fee charged at check-in. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7885 -122.4094
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
San Francisco Airport (SFO)
Area description
The best address at Union Square. Just steps from all of the city's best shopping. The Powell Street cable car is only 1/2 block away. Many fine restaurants, art galleries and theaters in the immediate area. Easy access to the financial district, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown, Civic Center and public transport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kensington Park Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Kensington Park Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Two Double
Our Deluxe Guestrooms all come with a Serta Perfect Sleeper mattress, cream tufted headboard and premium linens. 36" flat screen TV, mahogany furniture, plush armchair, ceiling fan, black-out drapes, light-up makeup mirror, writing desk, two telephones and complimentary high-speed wireless internet access.
Deluxe King or Queen Room
Our Deluxe Guestrooms all come with a Serta Perfect Sleeper mattress, cream tufted headboard and premium linens. 36" flat screen TV, mahogany furniture, plush armchair, ceiling fan, black-out drapes, light-up makeup mirror, writing desk, two telephones and complimentary high-speed wireless internet access.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our Meeting Room accommodates up to 40 people theater and 25 people classroom style.

Dining

Farallon
Serving upscale seafood, Open for Lunch and Dinner, located adjacent to the lobby.
Jelly Fish Bar
Located in the Farallon Restaurant. Great place to enjoy a cocktail before dinner or after an evening out on the town.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for Kensington Park Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rocketjayy
Stockton, CA
Jan 28, 2013

Great escape

The Kensington is not only clean, comfortable and perfectly located but the staff is what makes it stand apart from other boutique hotels. Everyone is so friendly and helpful, very willing to please the guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John and Meg
Norfolk
May 14, 2013

Our Stay

We wanted a quiet hotel next to the action, in San Francisco. Our action was sights in a big city, eg, walking around China town. Entertainment in the the square, seats and a programme of music, Union Square. Ease of transport to other interesting places that are within a few miles, the Cable Car system. The availability of things further afield, a bus to the Golden Gate Bridge and then on to Muir Woods. At the end of a day out, or a morning or just the afternoon, whenever we returned there was the peace and quiet of our hotel, and a pleasant greeting from the staff. It just seemed to take us in and we began to feel rested. A favorite of ours became the afternoon coffee and sherry, served at reasonable times and the occasional musical entertainment. It was with regret we said goodbye to staff who looked after our room and those in the foyer with their greetings and ever helpful attitude. When we return we have already selected our hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Magnificent trees, such a wonderful sight

Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 22, 2008

Very Friendly ,Great location

We had a great stay at the Kensington!! The staff was very friendly and knowledgable about the city. If I had to sum this up in 3 words it would be, friendly, location, affordable!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Montebello, Ca.
Jul 24, 2011

A great experience!

I loved staying at this hotel. It was clean, beautiful, and decently priced. The amenities were great. The beds were very comfortable. I slept so well. I will stay there again in the future. I I suggest trying this hotel as I was quite happy with it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 7, 2007

Great location/value

The hotel was just a half block from Union Square, and the room rate was a real value. The entire staff was very courteous. They let me into my room in the morning because I arrived early. They held my bags graciously after I checked out because I was not leaving until later. They checked out the closing time of a store for me, and offered me a shopping savings coupon for that store. They even suggested a men's clothing sale near-by. The staff even offered to help me find certain activities and restaurants, but I already knew what and where I was going. The room was spacious by my standards, and very well maintained. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Theater, dining and shopping are all near-by, and very good. I suggest the well established Sears restaurant, especially for breakfast. Very San Francisco, and within a block's walk.

Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Montebello, Ca.
Jul 24, 2011

A great experience!

I loved staying at this hotel. It was clean, beautiful, and decently priced. The amenities were great. The beds were very comfortable. I slept so well. I will stay there again in the future. I I suggest trying this hotel as I was quite happy with it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco CA
Jun 7, 2010

[...]

Great location, walking distance to many places, or to transportation to get there. Staff was very helpful and friendly. I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a MUNI pass (google it). For 7 days its around $25 and will take you anywhere you want to go in the city on bus, subway, cable cars.

Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
San Francisco enthusiast!
Bloomington, IN
Apr 20, 2011

Great hotel - very nice staff!

This hotel is in a perfect location in a beautiful city - close to shopping, the cable car and bart, and restaurants. We walked everywhere. The staff was so nice and attentive. It was perfect really!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The shopping is close and great! If possible, travel during the week. It is very crowded Friday-Sunday.

Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenkate
Fairfield, CA
Jan 6, 2014

Quick Getaway

The staff was terrific. Joshua is very personable. The lobby has a relaxing feel and the tea and sherry are a nice touch. Room was clean and bedding very comfortable. Can't ask for a better location to shopping and Union Square. We really enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Grab some cheesecake and enjoy back in your room.

Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 7, 2007

Great location/value

The hotel was just a half block from Union Square, and the room rate was a real value. The entire staff was very courteous. They let me into my room in the morning because I arrived early. They held my bags graciously after I checked out because I was not leaving until later. They checked out the closing time of a store for me, and offered me a shopping savings coupon for that store. They even suggested a men's clothing sale near-by. The staff even offered to help me find certain activities and restaurants, but I already knew what and where I was going. The room was spacious by my standards, and very well maintained. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Theater, dining and shopping are all near-by, and very good. I suggest the well established Sears restaurant, especially for breakfast. Very San Francisco, and within a block's walk.

Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gramma
Alexandria, VA, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Great way to end our trip

My husband's niece recommended we stay near Union Square, and this was our pick. It was a perfect location--an easy walk to public transportation, wonderful restaurants, and fantastic stores. The room was clean, spacious, comfortable, and nicely decorated, and the staff were friendly and helpful. A thoughtful, unusual touch was an upholstered bench in the elevator. It came in handy after a long day of walking up and down the hills of the city. Our only suggestion would be to put more computers for guests in the business center. We would happily stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're looking for a quiet, attractive restaurant with delicious food, try the Daily Grill, 347 Geary St.

Back to menu Return to top