$214 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Kensington Park Hotel

3 stars
450 Post St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
126 reviews
Awesome solo Feb trip

I stayed at the Kensington Park Hotel for four nights mid-February. I was a solo female traveller,... See full review

  • lulutastic
  • Feb 24, 2014
Great day and nite

From the moment we arrived the staff took the time to make our short stay a wonderful... See full review

  • ch3no2
  • Feb 3, 2014
Union Square hotel offers fine dining, eclectic design and free Wi-Fi
A fantastic location, great value and elegant design make the Kensington Park Hotel one of San Francisco's most popular choices. Innovative coastal cuisine is the theme at Farallon, the on-site restaurant that features richly imagined undersea elements. Guest rooms at the Kensington Park Hotel reveal a hint of English-garden inspiration while also maintaining an eclectic vibe that's distinctly San Francisco. Complimentary afternoon tea and sherry service help guests feel welcomed and cared for. 
Highlights

  • Complimentary tea and sherry served each evening in the grand lobby
  • Unbeatable location one block from Union Square
  • Top-ranked Farallon restaurant, including preferred seating for hotel guests
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Valet parking with in/out privileges (fees apply)

Location
Just one block from the Kensington Park Hotel, Union Square is San Francisco's premier shopping and theater district. From major department stores to one-of-a-kind boutiques, both fashionistas and casual shoppers can easily spend a full day at the city's central retail hub and community gathering area. 
Rooms
Room design at the Kensington Park Hotel combines Queen Anne decor and whimsical elements for an atmosphere that's both fun and cozy. Look for upholstered headboards, mahogany armoires, flat-panel TVs, bubble lamps and chairs covered in animal-print fabrics. Some rooms overlook Nob Hill and Union Square. Wi-Fi Internet access is complimentary in all rooms. 
Features
The Kensington Park Hotel lobby combines elements of a California mission and a classic English parlor with pleasantly striking effect: Glistening chandeliers stand out against exposed ceiling beams. A piano is situated in the corner of a marble lobby. Wireless Internet access is complimentary. Guests receive complimentary access to a fitness center nearby.
Dining
Inspired by a love of sailing, fishing and diving, Farallon restaurant inside the Kensington Park Hotel creates an undersea fantasy environment enhanced by original architectural elements and custom details like suspended jellyfish lights. Coastal cuisine highlights both freshwater and saltwater delicacies complemented by a bounty of farm-fresh produce. Farallon has been named one of the best new restaurants in the country by the James Beard Foundation and Bon Appetit magazine.
Transportation

  • BART stop (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (11.7 mi/18.9 km)

Attractions

  • Union Square (One block)
  • Chinatown (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Moscone Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1.5 mi/2.3 km)

Business

  • 24-hour business center
  • The Sherwood Room accommodates up to 75 guests
  • Dedicated meeting coordinator
  • Full catering services available
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access

Policies and fees
  • Kensington Park Hotel is a pet-friendly hotel. Dogs only, one per room, maximum 40 pounds, $25 USD non-refundable pet cleaning fee charged at check-in. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7885 -122.4094
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
San Francisco Airport (SFO)
Area description
The best address at Union Square. Just steps from all of the city's best shopping. The Powell Street cable car is only 1/2 block away. Many fine restaurants, art galleries and theaters in the immediate area. Easy access to the financial district, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown, Civic Center and public transport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kensington Park Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Kensington Park Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Two Double
Our Deluxe Guestrooms all come with a Serta Perfect Sleeper mattress, cream tufted headboard and premium linens. 36" flat screen TV, mahogany furniture, plush armchair, ceiling fan, black-out drapes, light-up makeup mirror, writing desk, two telephones and complimentary high-speed wireless internet access.
Deluxe King or Queen Room
Our Deluxe Guestrooms all come with a Serta Perfect Sleeper mattress, cream tufted headboard and premium linens. 36" flat screen TV, mahogany furniture, plush armchair, ceiling fan, black-out drapes, light-up makeup mirror, writing desk, two telephones and complimentary high-speed wireless internet access.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our Meeting Room accommodates up to 40 people theater and 25 people classroom style.

Dining

Farallon
Serving upscale seafood, Open for Lunch and Dinner, located adjacent to the lobby.
Jelly Fish Bar
Located in the Farallon Restaurant. Great place to enjoy a cocktail before dinner or after an evening out on the town.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (126)

Ratings and reviews for Kensington Park Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rain0215
california
Jan 6, 2014

comfy hotel!!

we had a great trip and would recommend this hotel. such a good location. its only 2 block away from union square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hotel Stayer Person
San Francisco, California
Dec 12, 2013

Nice Stay

Great location. Classic feel. Very helpful hotel staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cfitz822
San Diego, CA
Oct 29, 2013

Would stay here again, but NOT in the summer (no air conditioning)

Great location, great bed, great overall. My husband and I stayed here for a couple days in October, and we loved it. Thankfully, there was a chill in the air because this hotel has no air conditioner, but this did not effect our stay at all. It's not cheap (we paid $515 for 2 nights#, but I guess there's a premium for the FANTASTIC location #right in Union Square#. Since we were seeing a concert at the Warfield one night it was just perfect. Since it was my husband's birthday they also gave us a free bottle of wine and a room with a slight view of Union Square. We loved it- would stay here again #hopefully for less $?). Take note, the rooms are not huge or luxurious, but they are indeed very nice. It's no Wynn, but it's perfect for San Fran.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anne senior traveler
Kentucky
Oct 28, 2013

convenient and friendly

The hotel has that vintage " faded elegance" sort of charm. The staff was helpful with directions and suggestions. The trolly stop on the corner is wonerful-- buy a multiple- day muni pass which also works for busses. Our room was small, but quiet and clean. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Spend an entire day exploring Golden Gate park from the the conservatory of flowers on the south east end to the shore on the north beach end.

Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bbelle
Florida
Oct 28, 2013

Quirky Boutique Hotel

I loved this quirky boutique hotel, although some may not. It did not take itself seriously, mixing a lot of different styles in this old Elks Lodge setting, but I thought it brought a lot of interest and charm. The location can't be beat. Right in the mix of Union Square, so easy access to everything -- shopping, dining, walking, touring -- you name it. I must mention that the shower was the best I've had in even high-end hotels. Lots of hot water and great water pressure. However, two things that I didn't care for: 1. I think it was time to get new beds. I could feel the springs in my mattress, and 2. My room was on the 5th floor on the street side. WAY TOO NOISY outside from morning to night. Stay on the back side of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring lots of money or credit cards. This is a shopping paradise with every designer shop you can imagine and then some!

Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pbac
Ireland
Aug 4, 2013

Sight seeing trip

Hotel has great location but the use of gym at another hotel. Staff extremely helpful and friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NewY
Business
New York, NY
Jun 30, 2013

Great experience for first trip with infant!

Kensington was able to accomodate us with getting a crib as well as a small fridge with freezer for me! Both were essential to ensure my infant was comfortable and able to feed on breast milk while I was at conference. The staff were always extremely friendly and the location is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TR in Tuscaloosa
Tusccaloosa
Jun 26, 2013

Kensington Park's a good hotel

Kensington Park has a great location...just half a block from Union Square...just half a block from Sears, the best breakfast in San Francisco. Our room was on the 6th floor...and a bit small...but very comfortable. The staff is wonderful...very helpful! The only problem...valet parking...it's expensive and very slow! Overall, however, Kensington Park is a good hotel in a great place at a pretty good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TR in Tuscaloosa
Tusccaloosa
Jun 20, 2013

Kensington Park is old but in great location

We had a very nice, but small room at the Kensington Park Hotel for a week. The staff was outstanding. The location is superb...just half a block from Union Square...just over half a block from our new favorite breakfast spot, Sears. The hotel is old but kept in good condition. The only negative is the valet parking situation...took more than 45 minutes on one occasion...very slow for a very expensive service. Overall, we had a very enjoyable time at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sears is a GREAT place for breakfast...we ate there six straight days. Just go out the front door of the hotel, turn left...and turn left at the corner...look for the Sears sign.

Review of Kensington Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cadadj
Vacaville, CA
May 28, 2013

Good for a weekend in the City

I think the Kensington Park is the perfect place to stay for a weekend. Walking distance to restaurants, shows and shopping. Staff was friendly and helpful. Bed was comfortable. I'd stay there again, especially for a weekend in SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

You can order from Morton's in room in the evening if you've had a busy day out and about. Food is delivered in about 20 minutes.

Back to menu Return to top