$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
View map of 515 Mason St., 515 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fun girl
Business
Covington, GA, USA
Sep 30, 2011

Girls getaway

The hotel was in the best location for all of our fun. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were kept very clean. Had problems with internet service but was reinbursed for it at the end.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VErtigop
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308, USA
Sep 21, 2011

I cancel my trip

I did cancel my trip because my girlfriend had a car accident and the hotel did not allow me to reschedule my reservation at another day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Denver traveler
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Sep 7, 2011

Girlfriend and I were very Impressed.

loved the 42" flat screen t.v. The staff were verY helpful and friendly, room service was a half an hour late but stiLl hot and tastey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Scoma's on the wharf

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveler 10
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Aug 21, 2011

Marriot material , not JW material

The overall experience was good , the location of the hotel is close to Union Square , just 2 blocks away . The building is a little bit old , its not what a JW Marriot usually offers , but the rooms were ok , specially the bathrooms , which were very clean and spacious . The hotel doesnt offer many amenities regarding public spaces , just a medium lobby and a small restaurant where you can have breakfast . Breakfast was ok , a little expensive , about 25 dollars per person , but there are certainly better places where you can eat. The concierge service was great and the staff were very polite and willing to help at all times. So to resume this review , the hotel is ok , comfortable , but i guess that for the price of it you can get a way better deal .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Harris restaurant , one of the most famous local restaurants . Great steaks ! If you want to go for breakfast go to chestnut street by the palace of fine arts , a great posh district with many shops , restaurants , parks and incredible views of the golden gate . (Must do)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
calexico,ca
Aug 8, 2011

perfect location. perfect service.

we have a lot of fun, a taste a very good things

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico
Jun 20, 2011

Nice hotel, bad service

The hotel has an incredibly great location, so close to Union Square. The facilities are nice, not an extremely finest hotel but pretty acceptable. The only problem comes with the service. Employees seem not to have advocacy to customers requests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the Shopping District at Union Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Corel
Business
Mexico
Apr 25, 2011

Muy Bueno!!!

The location is really great. The hotel is comfortable, clean, very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hotel it is 1 block from Union Square and very close to Market Street. Woking distance to Macy's, Nike Town, GAP, Apple Store, Bloomingdales, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Simi Valley CA
Apr 22, 2011

Nice location

Great location, great service, the people was very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Twentysomething traveling with parents
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 18, 2011

Good stay

It was a good experience overall. The hotel is close to Union Square but far enough from the crowds and busy stores. It was definitely a good sanctuary after walking around the city. Facilities/decors are a little dated. However, management makes an effort to keep things clean and comfortable. We had booked a double standard room but with just an extra $30/night, we upgraded to a King suite. Room was spacious. Bathroom was a little old but still clean. Service was great. The bell service was prompt and the staff was friendly. We heard strange whistling sounds when we first checked in. After a call to maintenance, they were able to locate the source (something to do with the wind) and fixed it in no time. We couldn't detect the WiFi but Ethernet worked just fine (with a surcharge of $12.95/day). Given the scandalously high hotel rates in SF, J.W. Marriott proved to be a good, practical and comfortable option for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Biloxi, Ms
Feb 3, 2011

very nice

everyone at hotel was eager to help and very informative. had very enjoyable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top