$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 31, 2014

JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
515 Mason Street, 515 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
62 reviews
Fantastic location

Stayed in the Junior Suite......Very nice. The location is fantastic for great restaurants.... See full review

  • Sully4
  • Jul 21, 2014
Great weekend launch point

The JW was great! Everyone was really helpful. Our room was surprisingly spacious for a city hotel.... See full review

  • Bella Su
  • Feb 23, 2014
The JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square exudes sophistication and elegance from the cultural heart of the City by the Bay. From the moment of arrival, guests to our luxury San Francisco hotel near Union Square will get a sense of the architecturally stunning style, and world-class service that distinguishes us. Retreat to well-appointed guest rooms that offer the comforts of home while spoiling with pillow-top mattresses, Herman Miller Aeron chairs, Bose radios, 42-inch HDTVs and available 24-hour personal butler service. Work out in our state-of-the-art fitness center, or indulge in the culinary creations showcased at Level Three Restaurant and Bar. Our dedicated planners and catering team make business meetings and weddings something to remember in 13,320 square feet of modern space. Our San Francisco luxury hotel near Union Square affords convenience to Moscone Center, Market Street, Financial District and Orpheum Theatre as well as popular restaurants, boutiques and tourist attractions.

Hotel Map

37.7883 -122.4105
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, NE; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi

Dining

Level III Restaurant
Take dining to the next level at one of the most sophisticated restaurants near Union Square SF. The restaurant at our luxury San Francisco hotel offers sharable dishes and handcrafted cocktails in a casual but sleek environment.
Level III Bar
Unwind with a custom cocktail created by our courteous bartenders while savoring light snacks in the eclectic bar at our restaurant in Union Square SF. Wines from Northern California regions can be enjoyed at the bar flanked by a cozy fireplace.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (62)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 62
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bella Su
Boston, MA
Feb 23, 2014

Great weekend launch point

The JW was great! Everyone was really helpful. Our room was surprisingly spacious for a city hotel. Room service was delicious. The whole hotel is beautiful. We will absolutely go back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveler 10
Boston, MA, USA
Aug 21, 2011

Marriot material , not JW material

The overall experience was good , the location of the hotel is close to Union Square , just 2 blocks away . The building is a little bit old , its not what a JW Marriot usually offers , but the rooms were ok , specially the bathrooms , which were very clean and spacious . The hotel doesnt offer many amenities regarding public spaces , just a medium lobby and a small restaurant where you can have breakfast . Breakfast was ok , a little expensive , about 25 dollars per person , but there are certainly better places where you can eat. The concierge service was great and the staff were very polite and willing to help at all times. So to resume this review , the hotel is ok , comfortable , but i guess that for the price of it you can get a way better deal .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Harris restaurant , one of the most famous local restaurants . Great steaks ! If you want to go for breakfast go to chestnut street by the palace of fine arts , a great posh district with many shops , restaurants , parks and incredible views of the golden gate . (Must do)

Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveler 10
Boston, MA, USA
Aug 21, 2011

Marriot material , not JW material

The overall experience was good , the location of the hotel is close to Union Square , just 2 blocks away . The building is a little bit old , its not what a JW Marriot usually offers , but the rooms were ok , specially the bathrooms , which were very clean and spacious . The hotel doesnt offer many amenities regarding public spaces , just a medium lobby and a small restaurant where you can have breakfast . Breakfast was ok , a little expensive , about 25 dollars per person , but there are certainly better places where you can eat. The concierge service was great and the staff were very polite and willing to help at all times. So to resume this review , the hotel is ok , comfortable , but i guess that for the price of it you can get a way better deal .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Harris restaurant , one of the most famous local restaurants . Great steaks ! If you want to go for breakfast go to chestnut street by the palace of fine arts , a great posh district with many shops , restaurants , parks and incredible views of the golden gate . (Must do)

Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
calexico,ca
Aug 8, 2011

perfect location. perfect service.

we have a lot of fun, a taste a very good things

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
calexico,ca
Aug 8, 2011

perfect location. perfect service.

we have a lot of fun, a taste a very good things

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Twentysomething traveling with parents
Boston, MA
Mar 18, 2011

Good stay

It was a good experience overall. The hotel is close to Union Square but far enough from the crowds and busy stores. It was definitely a good sanctuary after walking around the city. Facilities/decors are a little dated. However, management makes an effort to keep things clean and comfortable. We had booked a double standard room but with just an extra $30/night, we upgraded to a King suite. Room was spacious. Bathroom was a little old but still clean. Service was great. The bell service was prompt and the staff was friendly. We heard strange whistling sounds when we first checked in. After a call to maintenance, they were able to locate the source (something to do with the wind) and fixed it in no time. We couldn't detect the WiFi but Ethernet worked just fine (with a surcharge of $12.95/day). Given the scandalously high hotel rates in SF, J.W. Marriott proved to be a good, practical and comfortable option for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Twentysomething traveling with parents
Boston, MA
Mar 18, 2011

Good stay

It was a good experience overall. The hotel is close to Union Square but far enough from the crowds and busy stores. It was definitely a good sanctuary after walking around the city. Facilities/decors are a little dated. However, management makes an effort to keep things clean and comfortable. We had booked a double standard room but with just an extra $30/night, we upgraded to a King suite. Room was spacious. Bathroom was a little old but still clean. Service was great. The bell service was prompt and the staff was friendly. We heard strange whistling sounds when we first checked in. After a call to maintenance, they were able to locate the source (something to do with the wind) and fixed it in no time. We couldn't detect the WiFi but Ethernet worked just fine (with a surcharge of $12.95/day). Given the scandalously high hotel rates in SF, J.W. Marriott proved to be a good, practical and comfortable option for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
houston, tx
Mar 22, 2010

not at the price I originally paid

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
houston, tx
Mar 22, 2010

not at the price I originally paid

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jen and Sarah's Mom
Allentown, Pa
Oct 21, 2009

Terrific Place to Crash.

I traveled with my 2 adult daughters who ran the Nike Women Marathron on October 18th 2009. Ice, soda and snack machines on the floors would have been nice. This was much better than the "W" in New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a 7 day pass and use local transit, it was very easy to get to most places. If you have never been there before take one of the city tours, it's a little pricey but worth the money. Do that first day then go back to the areas your most interested in spending more time. It will also help avoid unsafe areas.

Back to menu Return to top