$289 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
515 Mason Street, 515 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
37 reviews
Fantastic location

Stayed in the Junior Suite......Very nice. The location is fantastic for great restaurants.... See full review

  • Sully4
  • Jul 21, 2014
Great weekend launch point

The JW was great! Everyone was really helpful. Our room was surprisingly spacious for a city hotel.... See full review

  • Bella Su
  • Feb 23, 2014
The JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square exudes sophistication and elegance from the cultural heart of the City by the Bay. From the moment of arrival, guests to our luxury San Francisco hotel near Union Square will get a sense of the architecturally stunning style, and world-class service that distinguishes us. Retreat to well-appointed guest rooms that offer the comforts of home while spoiling with pillow-top mattresses, Herman Miller Aeron chairs, Bose radios, 42-inch HDTVs and available 24-hour personal butler service. Work out in our state-of-the-art fitness center, or indulge in the culinary creations showcased at Level Three Restaurant and Bar. Our dedicated planners and catering team make business meetings and weddings something to remember in 13,320 square feet of modern space. Our San Francisco luxury hotel near Union Square affords convenience to Moscone Center, Market Street, Financial District and Orpheum Theatre as well as popular restaurants, boutiques and tourist attractions.

Hotel Map

37.7883 -122.4105
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, NE; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi

Dining

Level III Restaurant
Take dining to the next level at one of the most sophisticated restaurants near Union Square SF. The restaurant at our luxury San Francisco hotel offers sharable dishes and handcrafted cocktails in a casual but sleek environment.
Level III Bar
Unwind with a custom cocktail created by our courteous bartenders while savoring light snacks in the eclectic bar at our restaurant in Union Square SF. Wines from Northern California regions can be enjoyed at the bar flanked by a cozy fireplace.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 37
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sully4
Fremont, California
Jul 21, 2014

Fantastic location

Stayed in the Junior Suite......Very nice. The location is fantastic for great restaurants. ....clubs....or just walking around Union Square. .....highly recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Atticus052
Los Angeles
Feb 19, 2013

Hair in the shower.

So the staff was friendly, the room was nice, cleanliness, not so much. Upon going in the (very small) shower the first morning, my wife noticed hair stuck to the shower wall from the previous occupants. That morning I went down and asked them to send someone up specifically to clean the shower the shower, came back the following evening and the hair was still there. I returned again to the lobby the following morning and again requested they send someone to clean the shower, and returned the following afternoon to find the hair stuck to the wall still there. After a third time and asking to speak to the manager they sent someone up that night and the shower was finally cleaned. The second issue I had was with the billing, in short, the hotel placed a $2300 hold on my bank account for my $837 reservation when they (the hotel) couldn't get a hold of Orb. When I called 5 minutes later, Orb had no issues finding my reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

About 3/4 of a mile from the hotel is Frienze By Night, best Italian food in the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rita T.
Maryland
Aug 24, 2012

Excellent hotel

I opted for guaranteed comfort over a "quaint" character hotel and this place delivered. Very clean, elegant, comfy room, and we got the top floor with a view - foggy of course!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Scala's around the corner on Powell.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VErtigop
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308, USA
Sep 21, 2011

I cancel my trip

I did cancel my trip because my girlfriend had a car accident and the hotel did not allow me to reschedule my reservation at another day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Denver traveler
Denver, CO, USA
Sep 7, 2011

Girlfriend and I were very Impressed.

loved the 42" flat screen t.v. The staff were verY helpful and friendly, room service was a half an hour late but stiLl hot and tastey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Scoma's on the wharf

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mexico
Jun 20, 2011

Nice hotel, bad service

The hotel has an incredibly great location, so close to Union Square. The facilities are nice, not an extremely finest hotel but pretty acceptable. The only problem comes with the service. Employees seem not to have advocacy to customers requests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the Shopping District at Union Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Corel
Mexico
Apr 25, 2011

Muy Bueno!!!

The location is really great. The hotel is comfortable, clean, very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hotel it is 1 block from Union Square and very close to Market Street. Woking distance to Macy's, Nike Town, GAP, Apple Store, Bloomingdales, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Oct 19, 2010

Top rate

The hotel was clean, beautiful. Definitely more business oriented, but what I would expect from a more expensive hotel downtown. All staff extremely friendly and courteous. Would have liked a refrid.in the room though, because ice was four floors down and didn't want to take time to call rm service for ice. No complimentary coffee near lobby which would have been nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

While you need to ride a cable car once for the experience, they were quite crowded on the weekend and we had to wait a long time to get on one. Take a cab! We did this three times and all cab drivers gave us a great "tour" of the city with different perspectives and interesting info. The cost was not that bad either.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Paul, MN
Aug 14, 2009

Wouldn't Recommend JW Marriott

This 20 floor hotel is close to union square. We paid extra for the city view room which was on the 19th floor. Stayed Monday August 10th left the morning of Thursday August 13th. In summary: Good: • Great city view (paid extra for this) • Close to Union Square Bad: • Only 2 of the 4 elevators were working (again on the 19th floor of a 20 floor hotel) many customers complained about this as the elevators were VERY slow. We didn't see anyone working on them during our stay. • A/C was way too noisy and had a hard time keeping the room cool. • Called to see where the ice dispenser was located at and was advised the "Butler" would be glad to bring some up…..THE BUTLER NEVER SHOWED. • Day prior to leaving complained to the manager about service and advised of things which hadn't work in the room (bath fan and light) and had shuttle set up for return to airport pick up at 8:30 the next morning….Next morning found out pick up was never set up and had to scramble to get a pickup with the new manager. No documentation of the things that needed to be fixed. • Pictures on line are better than the actual room. When we booked a month in advance of our trip the rating was 4.8 out of 5.0. 1-2 weeks prior to leaving the rating was at 4.4 out of 5.0. Would NEVER recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bad Coach
Salinas, CA
Aug 10, 2009

Great location to shopping

enjoyable and relaxing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search