$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
View map of 515 Mason St., 515 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bad Coach
Business
Salinas, CA
Aug 10, 2009

Great location to shopping

enjoyable and relaxing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Jul 26, 2009

Stressful hotel experience

The location was good ,very close to Union Square. The parking area was under construction.The bell captain/valet service was good. The management staff seemed helpful, but really were not. We had a Marriott rewards package that included breakfast for two and 4 movie tickets. Initially,they were not honoring this Orbitz/Marriott reward. I called Orbitz customer service twice to intervene. What would have been a nice hotel stay ended up a stressful one. The room was nice with good city view, the bathroom was fine except a problem with bath tub drain not working. Next, I will be staying at another hotel. I highly recommend Orbitz customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore
Jul 19, 2009

SF

Great hotel in a great location. Close to everything we wanted to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
N. California
Jul 13, 2009

weekwnd trip

We thought the hotel was great and had awesome staff. They were very helpful and helped us with all of our needs. Our only regret is that we wish we would of gotten a hotel closer to the fisherman's wharf. The hotel is located close to union square shopping. The only down side we found is, the money that we saved on our hotel room was lost in transportation down to the wharf.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping and dinig are with in close walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Apr 22, 2009

San Fran

Though we did not spend any aminities of the hotel it was one of many good hotel we stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield
Dec 31, 2008

Easy and Comfortable

The hotel was nicely situated a block from Union Square - so convenient but not quite as crowded right around the hotel. The room was quite nice, and the staff was helpful with a number of small requests for help. The lobby bar is set up in an unusual way, but it worked for us. There are all manner of seating areas - tables, couches, and even little areas with a tv, table and chairs, as if set up for an informal meeting. We spent a comfortable happy hour in one of these areas - private and relaxing for a hotel bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're willing to wheel or carry your bag a few blocks from the Powell street station (Powell & Market), the BART is an easy an cheap way to get to the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange
Dec 30, 2008

Great Location for dining and shopping

The JW Marriott was the perfect location for shopping, dining, Chinatown and all local transportation. Check-in was very quick and easy. The glass elevators that run up the center of the property were very fast. The concierge was very helpful. The rooms were fairly large for San Francisco and very well appointed. There was a scale in the bathroom which was a first for us. A nice large plasma TV was in the room and the bed was very comfortable. The maid service usually came before noon and keep the room very clean. We had a deluxe room and were on the 15th floor with a fairly nice view. I will stay at this property again when I return to San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to try Sears Fine Dining for breakfast. They are the best. Get there before 8:30 or you will wait in a long line.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Nov 23, 2008

Reasonable at great price

I thoroughly enjoyed my weekend in San Fran, largely because of my stay at the JW Marriott. I'd definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fullerton, *
Oct 5, 2008

Welcome Relief

The JW Marriott on Post was a great choice. For the last 18 years our foursome has gone shopping for long weekends. This was our first stay at the JW but we will go back. The hotel has been redecorated since it was the Pan Pacific. It's warm, modern and the rooms are generous. Our beds were comfortable and we heard very little street noise. The bath was luxurious and had seperate tub and shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It is centrally located to Union Square and we were 1/2 block away from a car rental agency.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 28, 2008

Nice, clean, good location

Great hotel...close to Union Square, big, clean rooms...staff kept it clean and check in/out was easy. Room was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square shopping is close...lots of great restaurants close by too. Easy to get any where from this location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top