$265 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 25, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
515 Mason Street, 515 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
37 reviews
Fantastic location

Stayed in the Junior Suite......Very nice. The location is fantastic for great restaurants.... See full review

  • Sully4
  • Jul 21, 2014
Great weekend launch point

The JW was great! Everyone was really helpful. Our room was surprisingly spacious for a city hotel.... See full review

  • Bella Su
  • Feb 23, 2014
Discover the JW lifestyle at JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square. Distinguished among Union Square hotels, our luxurious guest rooms provide the comforts of home with the world-class amenities you expect. From lush pillow-top mattresses, ergonomic Herman Miller Aeron chairs and available 24-hour personal butler service, we pride ourselves on exuding the sophistication and elegance of our City by the Bay. From our state-of-the-art fitness center, to culinary creations showcased at Level Three Restaurant and Bar, to over 13,000 square feet of modern event space, no detail was forgotten in the stunning style that is JW Marriott. With a team of dedicated caterers, wedding/event planners and housekeepers, our San Francisco Union Square hotel's attentive staff is devoted to providing exceptional service from the moment of arrival to final goodbyes. So whether traveling for business, celebrating happily-ever-after or vacationing, you deserve to stay in one of the best hotels in Union Square, San Francisco.

Hotel Map

37.7883 -122.4105
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, NE; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi

Dining

Level III Restaurant
Take dining to the next level at one of the most sophisticated restaurants near Union Square SF. The restaurant at our luxury San Francisco hotel offers sharable dishes and handcrafted cocktails in a casual but sleek environment.
Level III Bar
Unwind with a custom cocktail created by our courteous bartenders while savoring light snacks in the eclectic bar at our restaurant in Union Square SF. Wines from Northern California regions can be enjoyed at the bar flanked by a cozy fireplace.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield
Dec 31, 2008

Easy and Comfortable

The hotel was nicely situated a block from Union Square - so convenient but not quite as crowded right around the hotel. The room was quite nice, and the staff was helpful with a number of small requests for help. The lobby bar is set up in an unusual way, but it worked for us. There are all manner of seating areas - tables, couches, and even little areas with a tv, table and chairs, as if set up for an informal meeting. We spent a comfortable happy hour in one of these areas - private and relaxing for a hotel bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're willing to wheel or carry your bag a few blocks from the Powell street station (Powell & Market), the BART is an easy an cheap way to get to the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange
Dec 30, 2008

Great Location for dining and shopping

The JW Marriott was the perfect location for shopping, dining, Chinatown and all local transportation. Check-in was very quick and easy. The glass elevators that run up the center of the property were very fast. The concierge was very helpful. The rooms were fairly large for San Francisco and very well appointed. There was a scale in the bathroom which was a first for us. A nice large plasma TV was in the room and the bed was very comfortable. The maid service usually came before noon and keep the room very clean. We had a deluxe room and were on the 15th floor with a fairly nice view. I will stay at this property again when I return to San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to try Sears Fine Dining for breakfast. They are the best. Get there before 8:30 or you will wait in a long line.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Nov 23, 2008

Reasonable at great price

I thoroughly enjoyed my weekend in San Fran, largely because of my stay at the JW Marriott. I'd definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fullerton, *
Oct 5, 2008

Welcome Relief

The JW Marriott on Post was a great choice. For the last 18 years our foursome has gone shopping for long weekends. This was our first stay at the JW but we will go back. The hotel has been redecorated since it was the Pan Pacific. It's warm, modern and the rooms are generous. Our beds were comfortable and we heard very little street noise. The bath was luxurious and had seperate tub and shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It is centrally located to Union Square and we were 1/2 block away from a car rental agency.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 28, 2008

Nice, clean, good location

Great hotel...close to Union Square, big, clean rooms...staff kept it clean and check in/out was easy. Room was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square shopping is close...lots of great restaurants close by too. Easy to get any where from this location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 25, 2008

Best location

Most of the staff very helpful and try to please. Concierge exceptional. He gave us excellent recommendations for dining and other things. Housekeeping very accomodating. They brought what we asked for quickly and with a smile. Robes supplied. Large closet. Walk to everyplace, safe and pretty area, 1 block from Union Square. Close but away from the commotion. Nice lobby. Hotel, clean, pleasant, nice place to return to after long day. Comfortable size room. Long vanity w/plenty of room for 2 females to put their nonsense out. Only 2 negatives: 1)w/2 people in a room there is a shortage of drawers. Take out the builtin magazine rack and put in 2 more drawers. 2) Shower floor slippery. Good value. Recommend highly for couples, girlfriends, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything within walking distance. Get a MuniPass only for days you plan to ride cable car. Otherwise, pay individually for trips on tram or bus. Take advantage of tours to wine country, Monterey, Carmel, etc. They really enhance experience

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Martha Patricia
Business
Mexico City
Apr 14, 2008

very comfortable

The JW Marriott vas very very comfortable and pretty. I liked the larger and modern bathroom. The location was very good, it was only one block to the restaurants, cable cars and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to any place you like for dining or shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top