$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
View map of 515 Mason St., 515 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston, tx
Mar 22, 2010

not at the price I originally paid

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Jan 21, 2010

Great location [...]

The service was excellent, all interaction with the staff was exceptional. All employees were polite and helpful. The rooms were very tastfully decorated and comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jen and Sarah's Mom
Business
Allentown, Pa
Oct 21, 2009

Terrific Place to Crash.

I traveled with my 2 adult daughters who ran the Nike Women Marathron on October 18th 2009. Ice, soda and snack machines on the floors would have been nice. This was much better than the "W" in New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a 7 day pass and use local transit, it was very easy to get to most places. If you have never been there before take one of the city tours, it's a little pricey but worth the money. Do that first day then go back to the areas your most interested in spending more time. It will also help avoid unsafe areas.

Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Paul, MN
Aug 14, 2009

Wouldn't Recommend JW Marriott

This 20 floor hotel is close to union square. We paid extra for the city view room which was on the 19th floor. Stayed Monday August 10th left the morning of Thursday August 13th. In summary: Good: • Great city view (paid extra for this) • Close to Union Square Bad: • Only 2 of the 4 elevators were working (again on the 19th floor of a 20 floor hotel) many customers complained about this as the elevators were VERY slow. We didn't see anyone working on them during our stay. • A/C was way too noisy and had a hard time keeping the room cool. • Called to see where the ice dispenser was located at and was advised the "Butler" would be glad to bring some up…..THE BUTLER NEVER SHOWED. • Day prior to leaving complained to the manager about service and advised of things which hadn't work in the room (bath fan and light) and had shuttle set up for return to airport pick up at 8:30 the next morning….Next morning found out pick up was never set up and had to scramble to get a pickup with the new manager. No documentation of the things that needed to be fixed. • Pictures on line are better than the actual room. When we booked a month in advance of our trip the rating was 4.8 out of 5.0. 1-2 weeks prior to leaving the rating was at 4.4 out of 5.0. Would NEVER recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bad Coach
Business
Salinas, CA
Aug 10, 2009

Great location to shopping

enjoyable and relaxing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Jul 26, 2009

Stressful hotel experience

The location was good ,very close to Union Square. The parking area was under construction.The bell captain/valet service was good. The management staff seemed helpful, but really were not. We had a Marriott rewards package that included breakfast for two and 4 movie tickets. Initially,they were not honoring this Orbitz/Marriott reward. I called Orbitz customer service twice to intervene. What would have been a nice hotel stay ended up a stressful one. The room was nice with good city view, the bathroom was fine except a problem with bath tub drain not working. Next, I will be staying at another hotel. I highly recommend Orbitz customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore
Jul 19, 2009

SF

Great hotel in a great location. Close to everything we wanted to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
N. California
Jul 13, 2009

weekwnd trip

We thought the hotel was great and had awesome staff. They were very helpful and helped us with all of our needs. Our only regret is that we wish we would of gotten a hotel closer to the fisherman's wharf. The hotel is located close to union square shopping. The only down side we found is, the money that we saved on our hotel room was lost in transportation down to the wharf.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping and dinig are with in close walking distance.

Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Apr 22, 2009

San Fran

Though we did not spend any aminities of the hotel it was one of many good hotel we stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield
Dec 31, 2008

Easy and Comfortable

The hotel was nicely situated a block from Union Square - so convenient but not quite as crowded right around the hotel. The room was quite nice, and the staff was helpful with a number of small requests for help. The lobby bar is set up in an unusual way, but it worked for us. There are all manner of seating areas - tables, couches, and even little areas with a tv, table and chairs, as if set up for an informal meeting. We spent a comfortable happy hour in one of these areas - private and relaxing for a hotel bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're willing to wheel or carry your bag a few blocks from the Powell street station (Powell & Market), the BART is an easy an cheap way to get to the airport.

Back to menu Return to top