$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
View map of 515 Mason St., 515 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Twentysomething traveling with parents
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 18, 2011

Good stay

It was a good experience overall. The hotel is close to Union Square but far enough from the crowds and busy stores. It was definitely a good sanctuary after walking around the city. Facilities/decors are a little dated. However, management makes an effort to keep things clean and comfortable. We had booked a double standard room but with just an extra $30/night, we upgraded to a King suite. Room was spacious. Bathroom was a little old but still clean. Service was great. The bell service was prompt and the staff was friendly. We heard strange whistling sounds when we first checked in. After a call to maintenance, they were able to locate the source (something to do with the wind) and fixed it in no time. We couldn't detect the WiFi but Ethernet worked just fine (with a surcharge of $12.95/day). Given the scandalously high hotel rates in SF, J.W. Marriott proved to be a good, practical and comfortable option for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Biloxi, Ms
Feb 3, 2011

very nice

everyone at hotel was eager to help and very informative. had very enjoyable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nyg
Business
ny
Jan 21, 2011

Solid Hotel

If you are staying in or around Union Sq I would definitely stay at the JW Marriott. Excellent accomodation, friendly staff, the rooms are ideal spacious and modern, and the rate was under $300 per night. The only down side is that room service ends at 11pm. Overall, i recommend this hotel and will stay here the next time I am in town. You should note that if you book marriott hotel thru [...]you will not get credit for your rewards program :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bodine
Business
chico,CA
Oct 21, 2010

service was excellent, they get it

Hotel rooms are hotel rooms even in nice places..are they clean yada yada yada...But service in an expensive hotel is what makes it worth the extra expence..this place delivers...When you call te desk,bellman etc they respond...our TV went out about 8-9 pm during the national league playoff..and 20 minutes later a repairman was in the room ( from home)...whomever is the manager of this place gets it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

one block from union square

Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bodine
Business
chico,CA
Oct 21, 2010

service was excellent, they get it

Hotel rooms are hotel rooms even in nice places..are they clean yada yada yada...But service in an expensive hotel is what makes it worth the extra expence..this place delivers...When you call te desk,bellman etc they respond...our TV went out about 8-9 pm during the national league playoff..and 20 minutes later a repairman was in the room ( from home)...whomever is the manager of this place gets it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

one block from union square

Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 19, 2010

Top rate

The hotel was clean, beautiful. Definitely more business oriented, but what I would expect from a more expensive hotel downtown. All staff extremely friendly and courteous. Would have liked a refrid.in the room though, because ice was four floors down and didn't want to take time to call rm service for ice. No complimentary coffee near lobby which would have been nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

While you need to ride a cable car once for the experience, they were quite crowded on the weekend and we had to wait a long time to get on one. Take a cab! We did this three times and all cab drivers gave us a great "tour" of the city with different perspectives and interesting info. The cost was not that bad either.

Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston, tx
Mar 22, 2010

not at the price I originally paid

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Jan 21, 2010

Great location [...]

The service was excellent, all interaction with the staff was exceptional. All employees were polite and helpful. The rooms were very tastfully decorated and comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jen and Sarah's Mom
Business
Allentown, Pa
Oct 21, 2009

Terrific Place to Crash.

I traveled with my 2 adult daughters who ran the Nike Women Marathron on October 18th 2009. Ice, soda and snack machines on the floors would have been nice. This was much better than the "W" in New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a 7 day pass and use local transit, it was very easy to get to most places. If you have never been there before take one of the city tours, it's a little pricey but worth the money. Do that first day then go back to the areas your most interested in spending more time. It will also help avoid unsafe areas.

Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Paul, MN
Aug 14, 2009

Wouldn't Recommend JW Marriott

This 20 floor hotel is close to union square. We paid extra for the city view room which was on the 19th floor. Stayed Monday August 10th left the morning of Thursday August 13th. In summary: Good: • Great city view (paid extra for this) • Close to Union Square Bad: • Only 2 of the 4 elevators were working (again on the 19th floor of a 20 floor hotel) many customers complained about this as the elevators were VERY slow. We didn't see anyone working on them during our stay. • A/C was way too noisy and had a hard time keeping the room cool. • Called to see where the ice dispenser was located at and was advised the "Butler" would be glad to bring some up…..THE BUTLER NEVER SHOWED. • Day prior to leaving complained to the manager about service and advised of things which hadn't work in the room (bath fan and light) and had shuttle set up for return to airport pick up at 8:30 the next morning….Next morning found out pick up was never set up and had to scramble to get a pickup with the new manager. No documentation of the things that needed to be fixed. • Pictures on line are better than the actual room. When we booked a month in advance of our trip the rating was 4.8 out of 5.0. 1-2 weeks prior to leaving the rating was at 4.4 out of 5.0. Would NEVER recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top