$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 25, 2014

JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
515 Mason Street, 515 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
37 reviews
Fantastic location

Stayed in the Junior Suite......Very nice. The location is fantastic for great restaurants.... See full review

  • Sully4
  • Jul 21, 2014
Great weekend launch point

The JW was great! Everyone was really helpful. Our room was surprisingly spacious for a city hotel.... See full review

  • Bella Su
  • Feb 23, 2014
Discover the JW lifestyle at JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square. Distinguished among Union Square hotels, our luxurious guest rooms provide the comforts of home with the world-class amenities you expect. From lush pillow-top mattresses, ergonomic Herman Miller Aeron chairs and available 24-hour personal butler service, we pride ourselves on exuding the sophistication and elegance of our City by the Bay. From our state-of-the-art fitness center, to culinary creations showcased at Level Three Restaurant and Bar, to over 13,000 square feet of modern event space, no detail was forgotten in the stunning style that is JW Marriott. With a team of dedicated caterers, wedding/event planners and housekeepers, our San Francisco Union Square hotel's attentive staff is devoted to providing exceptional service from the moment of arrival to final goodbyes. So whether traveling for business, celebrating happily-ever-after or vacationing, you deserve to stay in one of the best hotels in Union Square, San Francisco.

Hotel Map

37.7883 -122.4105
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, NE; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi

Dining

Level III Restaurant
Take dining to the next level at one of the most sophisticated restaurants near Union Square SF. The restaurant at our luxury San Francisco hotel offers sharable dishes and handcrafted cocktails in a casual but sleek environment.
Level III Bar
Unwind with a custom cocktail created by our courteous bartenders while savoring light snacks in the eclectic bar at our restaurant in Union Square SF. Wines from Northern California regions can be enjoyed at the bar flanked by a cozy fireplace.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 19, 2010

Top rate

The hotel was clean, beautiful. Definitely more business oriented, but what I would expect from a more expensive hotel downtown. All staff extremely friendly and courteous. Would have liked a refrid.in the room though, because ice was four floors down and didn't want to take time to call rm service for ice. No complimentary coffee near lobby which would have been nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

While you need to ride a cable car once for the experience, they were quite crowded on the weekend and we had to wait a long time to get on one. Take a cab! We did this three times and all cab drivers gave us a great "tour" of the city with different perspectives and interesting info. The cost was not that bad either.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston, tx
Mar 22, 2010

not at the price I originally paid

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Jan 21, 2010

Great location [...]

The service was excellent, all interaction with the staff was exceptional. All employees were polite and helpful. The rooms were very tastfully decorated and comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jen and Sarah's Mom
Business
Allentown, Pa
Oct 21, 2009

Terrific Place to Crash.

I traveled with my 2 adult daughters who ran the Nike Women Marathron on October 18th 2009. Ice, soda and snack machines on the floors would have been nice. This was much better than the "W" in New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a 7 day pass and use local transit, it was very easy to get to most places. If you have never been there before take one of the city tours, it's a little pricey but worth the money. Do that first day then go back to the areas your most interested in spending more time. It will also help avoid unsafe areas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Paul, MN
Aug 14, 2009

Wouldn't Recommend JW Marriott

This 20 floor hotel is close to union square. We paid extra for the city view room which was on the 19th floor. Stayed Monday August 10th left the morning of Thursday August 13th. In summary: Good: • Great city view (paid extra for this) • Close to Union Square Bad: • Only 2 of the 4 elevators were working (again on the 19th floor of a 20 floor hotel) many customers complained about this as the elevators were VERY slow. We didn't see anyone working on them during our stay. • A/C was way too noisy and had a hard time keeping the room cool. • Called to see where the ice dispenser was located at and was advised the "Butler" would be glad to bring some up…..THE BUTLER NEVER SHOWED. • Day prior to leaving complained to the manager about service and advised of things which hadn't work in the room (bath fan and light) and had shuttle set up for return to airport pick up at 8:30 the next morning….Next morning found out pick up was never set up and had to scramble to get a pickup with the new manager. No documentation of the things that needed to be fixed. • Pictures on line are better than the actual room. When we booked a month in advance of our trip the rating was 4.8 out of 5.0. 1-2 weeks prior to leaving the rating was at 4.4 out of 5.0. Would NEVER recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bad Coach
Business
Salinas, CA
Aug 10, 2009

Great location to shopping

enjoyable and relaxing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Jul 26, 2009

Stressful hotel experience

The location was good ,very close to Union Square. The parking area was under construction.The bell captain/valet service was good. The management staff seemed helpful, but really were not. We had a Marriott rewards package that included breakfast for two and 4 movie tickets. Initially,they were not honoring this Orbitz/Marriott reward. I called Orbitz customer service twice to intervene. What would have been a nice hotel stay ended up a stressful one. The room was nice with good city view, the bathroom was fine except a problem with bath tub drain not working. Next, I will be staying at another hotel. I highly recommend Orbitz customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore
Jul 19, 2009

SF

Great hotel in a great location. Close to everything we wanted to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
N. California
Jul 13, 2009

weekwnd trip

We thought the hotel was great and had awesome staff. They were very helpful and helped us with all of our needs. Our only regret is that we wish we would of gotten a hotel closer to the fisherman's wharf. The hotel is located close to union square shopping. The only down side we found is, the money that we saved on our hotel room was lost in transportation down to the wharf.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping and dinig are with in close walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Apr 22, 2009

San Fran

Though we did not spend any aminities of the hotel it was one of many good hotel we stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top