$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
View map of 515 Mason St., 515 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VErtigop
Couples
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308, USA
Sep 21, 2011

I cancel my trip

I did cancel my trip because my girlfriend had a car accident and the hotel did not allow me to reschedule my reservation at another day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Denver traveler
Couples
Denver, CO, USA
Sep 7, 2011

Girlfriend and I were very Impressed.

loved the 42" flat screen t.v. The staff were verY helpful and friendly, room service was a half an hour late but stiLl hot and tastey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Scoma's on the wharf

Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveler 10
Family
Boston, MA, USA
Aug 21, 2011

Marriot material , not JW material

The overall experience was good , the location of the hotel is close to Union Square , just 2 blocks away . The building is a little bit old , its not what a JW Marriot usually offers , but the rooms were ok , specially the bathrooms , which were very clean and spacious . The hotel doesnt offer many amenities regarding public spaces , just a medium lobby and a small restaurant where you can have breakfast . Breakfast was ok , a little expensive , about 25 dollars per person , but there are certainly better places where you can eat. The concierge service was great and the staff were very polite and willing to help at all times. So to resume this review , the hotel is ok , comfortable , but i guess that for the price of it you can get a way better deal .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Harris restaurant , one of the most famous local restaurants . Great steaks ! If you want to go for breakfast go to chestnut street by the palace of fine arts , a great posh district with many shops , restaurants , parks and incredible views of the golden gate . (Must do)

Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
calexico,ca
Aug 8, 2011

perfect location. perfect service.

we have a lot of fun, a taste a very good things

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Corel
Couples
Mexico
Apr 25, 2011

Muy Bueno!!!

The location is really great. The hotel is comfortable, clean, very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hotel it is 1 block from Union Square and very close to Market Street. Woking distance to Macy's, Nike Town, GAP, Apple Store, Bloomingdales, etc.

Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Simi Valley CA
Apr 22, 2011

Nice location

Great location, great service, the people was very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Twentysomething traveling with parents
Family
Boston, MA
Mar 18, 2011

Good stay

It was a good experience overall. The hotel is close to Union Square but far enough from the crowds and busy stores. It was definitely a good sanctuary after walking around the city. Facilities/decors are a little dated. However, management makes an effort to keep things clean and comfortable. We had booked a double standard room but with just an extra $30/night, we upgraded to a King suite. Room was spacious. Bathroom was a little old but still clean. Service was great. The bell service was prompt and the staff was friendly. We heard strange whistling sounds when we first checked in. After a call to maintenance, they were able to locate the source (something to do with the wind) and fixed it in no time. We couldn't detect the WiFi but Ethernet worked just fine (with a surcharge of $12.95/day). Given the scandalously high hotel rates in SF, J.W. Marriott proved to be a good, practical and comfortable option for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Biloxi, Ms
Feb 3, 2011

very nice

everyone at hotel was eager to help and very informative. had very enjoyable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nyg
Business
ny
Jan 21, 2011

Solid Hotel

If you are staying in or around Union Sq I would definitely stay at the JW Marriott. Excellent accomodation, friendly staff, the rooms are ideal spacious and modern, and the rate was under $300 per night. The only down side is that room service ends at 11pm. Overall, i recommend this hotel and will stay here the next time I am in town. You should note that if you book marriott hotel thru [...]you will not get credit for your rewards program :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chicago, IL
Oct 19, 2010

Top rate

The hotel was clean, beautiful. Definitely more business oriented, but what I would expect from a more expensive hotel downtown. All staff extremely friendly and courteous. Would have liked a refrid.in the room though, because ice was four floors down and didn't want to take time to call rm service for ice. No complimentary coffee near lobby which would have been nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

While you need to ride a cable car once for the experience, they were quite crowded on the weekend and we had to wait a long time to get on one. Take a cab! We did this three times and all cab drivers gave us a great "tour" of the city with different perspectives and interesting info. The cost was not that bad either.

Back to menu Return to top