$160 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

4 stars
888 HOWARD STREET, SAN FRANCISCO, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
97 reviews
Post-cruise SFO getaway

We stayed 2 nights after an alaska cruise. The hotel is pretty new for city. We had a high floor... See full review

  • Ken College Dad
  • Aug 3, 2014
Pleasant Stay

Even though the President was in the city, the staff was very accommodating and friendly. See full review

  • jaklian
  • Jul 27, 2014
Downtown hotel with an extensive grappa cocktail selection at Bar 888
The InterContinental San Francisco towers over the city, providing one of the newest upscale hotel destinations in the Bay Area. A Michelin-rated restaurant, chic bar, luxurious spa and spacious guest rooms and suites make the hotel a top choice for both business and vacation travel. Rising 32 stories over the South of Market (SoMa) neighborhood, the InterContinental San Francisco hotel provides state-of-the-art meeting and event spaces, as well as convenient access to the Moscone Center and AT&T Park. 
Highlights

  • 24-hour fitness and wellness center
  • Michelin-rated restaurant focuses on seasonal, sustainable cuisine
  • Within walking distance of the Moscone Center
  • Rooms offer spectacular views of the city or the bay

Rooms
All 550 rooms and suites at the InterContinental San Francisco feature rich wood and marble furnishings, spacious work areas, flat-panel TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply) and floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the city or San Francisco Bay. Pets are welcome (fees apply). 
Features
The I-Spa at InterContinental San Francisco invites guests to pamper themselves. The signature I-Spa customized massage begins with a conversation between client and therapist to create a customized treatment protocol, and a blend of essential oil and sound therapies is created for each individual. 
Dining

The Michelin-rated Luce restaurant -- located in the lobby of the InterContinental San Francisco -- serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in a sleek, urban setting. Seasonal, sustainable ingredients are sourced from the farms surrounding San Francisco for dishes such as the farmer's market omelet with goat cheese and baby tomato, and guinea hen with white asparagus. Luce has been recognized as one of the nation's top restaurants by Esquire magazine and Haute Living magazine.

 

Bar 888 at the InterContinental San Francisco offers one of the finest selections of grappa and grappa cocktails in the country. Try the Moscone Pear: Dimmi Herbal-infused Grappa liqueur shaken with fresh pear puree, freshly squeezed lime and lemon juice, and a grape garnish.
Transportation

  • BART stop (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (11.3 mi/18.2 km)

Attractions

  • Westfield San Francisco Centre (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Center (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Yerba Buena Gardens (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Contemporary Jewish Museum (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • AT&T Park (0.8 mi/1.3 km)

Business

  • Business center staffed from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.
  • 43,000 square feet of function space
  • 21 meeting rooms, two ballrooms and three outdoor terraces

Hotel Map

37.7819 -122.4048
Nearby airports
Coit Tower, (SJC), 47.00, MI, N; Alcatraz, (OAK), 19.00, MI, NW; San Jose International Airport, (SFO), 13.70, MI, N;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • SoMa: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • SoMa: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.9 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1 mi
  • Nob Hill: 1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.3 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.4 mi
  • Japantown: 1.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.4 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.8 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.8 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.8 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.9 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.9 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.9 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.9 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 2 mi

Dining

Luce
This Michelin rated hotel restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner in a sleek, urban setting just off of the main lobby is the stage for artisanal California cuisine with world influences. Created with high end, sustainable and seasonal ingredients,
54 Mint
54 Mint is the type of restaurant that makes you feel like you've discovered a gem. A casual Italian restaurant tucked away in the Mint Plaza around the corner from the hotel, chef uses local fish, meat, and produce, but everything ealse comes from Italy.
Oola
Chef owned and operated, Ola Fendert describes his food as " San Francsico Cuisine", but everyone else just describes it as delicious. The roasted beet and watermelon salad, ginger soy glazed baby back ribs, and loaded hamburger are standouts on an alrea
LuLu
LuLu's offers a seasonal Provencal style menu featuring wood fired oven, rotisserie and grilled specialties. The 'family style' cuisine is served in an impressive warehouse dining space. LuLu features an award winning wine list and a wine bar offering ove
Fang
Peter Fang's eponymous restaurant is an "only in San Francisco" experience. Chef Fang works the front of the house tirelessly, asking patrons what type of meat they like, what type of sauce and vegetables they prefer, and then he goes into the kitchen and
Lark Creek Steak
San Francisco celebrity chef Bradley Ogden and partner Ismael Macias have created an American classic steak house that offers upscale dining in a casual atmosphere. Because they are chefs and not just butchers, everything on the menu is worth a try. There
Pazzia
Great Italian food served in a trattoria setting close to the hotel. Excellent pasta, meat and fish dishes made with fresh, local ingredients; and a Roman style pizza that will make your mouth water. A bottle of wine, tiramisu and an espresso later and y
BlueStem Brasserie
Hip, vibrant ambiance and fresh local ingrediants are just some of the highlights of this trendy California Bistro. Located just a few blocks from the hotel, this is a favorite of both locals and out of town guest alike. Finally a restaurant that tastes l

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (97)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 97
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tonybagofdounuts
Fairfield, CA, USA
Jan 9, 2012

Night in town

Awesome rooms, staff, and best of all the rates. TB

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jul 14, 2011

Great stay!

The hotel was great altogether, the room was impeccable and the staff really helpful and attentive from the moment we arrived. The rates were a bit above other four star hotels in the area, but it was totally worth it! One of the best hotels experineces for me, and I'm quite a traveller!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LaniFromAus
Brisbane, Australia
Sep 7, 2012

Wonderful - Luxury in SF - AMAZING SLEEP!

Very happy to stay for a week at the Intercontinental SF. Got what we paid for, which was a room on 25th floor with a bay view. Room was superbly appointed with all the trappings. The location was pretty good, we were trepidatious about being in SOMA, but it really was not a problem (coming from two females 25yo and 19yo - we never felt unsafe). The staff were very obliging, bringing us wine coolers with ice with a smile on their face. Great service. Our favourite thing about this hotel was the BEDS - Oh my Goodness, we thought we'd died and gone to heaven. Had the best sleep in this hotel than anywhere else we stayed in our month-long trip in the USA. Pillowy and soft, like a cloud. Loved that. Also was great having small details like ipod dock/charger beside the beds, good hairdryer etc. Makes being away from home much easier. The hotel was a bit pricey, but you certainly get what you pay for. Our only small complaint was the $15 per day charge for Wi-Fi, we thought this was a rort so we didn't use it, and used our phones to access the internet instead, much more economical. We didn't get to use the pool/sauna/spa as we were just too busy, but having them there was a bonus lol. Overall, we had absolutely no problem with this Hotel and would recommend it for those who can afford to pay a bit more!! Great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bangkok BBQ in Chinatown - 10 minute walk from the hotel, opposite Walgreens. Delicious food that's AMAZING value. So cheap and yummy.

Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
riun79
Washington, DC
Jul 25, 2014

Great Weekend Getaway

Excellent location in SOMA close to downtown attractions. Wonderful staff who were extremely friendly and attentive with a very knowledgeable concierge desk. Arrived before check-in expecting to leave our luggage and come back, but was quickly checked in to our room without having to wait.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandy2244
New York
Apr 7, 2014

San Francisco

The personnel was very nice and friendly, room was clean and made every day. Found it a bit pricey, but then again it's San Francisco, the most expensive city in the world. Food was very expensive. The only bad review will be that they charged my card every day and withheld the money even when I was not making any extra room charges. I'm still waiting for them to refund the money back to my card. I found it unnecessary for them to charge my card over $500 in 3 days when the trip was already paid for and no extra charges were made to the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Cable cars are expensive buy a 3 day pass and you can go every where all day long. Or walk, bring comfortable shoes and a good city map. You will enjoy it, and treat your self to a foot massage when done.

Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jesus price superstar
Yay area
Oct 7, 2012

Fun Friday in the city

A great value! Under 200 for two doubles in Soma is really clutch. Tried to charge me 8 bucks for a water bc we moved (not drank) it. Other than that great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Three blocks down. Temple night club. It was pretty fun

Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 6, 2008

Beautiful hotel/ridiculous prices.

The Intercontinental is a beautiful hotel, the rooms were fabulous, very clean, very comfortable. The food offered in the hotel is very upscale but ridiculously priced. We were told to sit in the bar because it was more casual. So apparently regardless of how much money you spend, you're only welcome in the lounge/restaurant area if you look like a lot of money. I will not be visiting again anytime soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

There was shopping (fairly) nearby, alot to look at if you don't mind taking the walk. It's certainly better to walk than rent a car!

Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jul 10, 2010

Great location for the price

The hotel was very nicely appointed. It was a 10 minute walk from Union Square and about 15 from Chinatown. The room was very clean and the views were very decent from the 12th floor where we stayed. The only negative was the mini-fridge. The hotel filled it with their own (pricy) stuff and left about a square inch for the guest's things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

A cab taken anywhere around the city costs $10 or less.

Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Heavy Hitter
Memphis, TN
Jul 14, 2014

Great hotel, great location

The hotel was exceptionally clean and the staff was incredibly helpful with any all requests. The location of the hotel is good in that it allows quick access to the SOMA neighborhood (where it is located) in addition to the Financial District and Union Square. Any other destinations are also easily reachable by cable car, which are only a few blocks away. Overall, this is a great hotel with a great staff, great rooms, and great amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to book a reservation early at Boulevard!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search