$152 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

4 stars
888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
97 reviews
Great Experience

Our visit in InterContinental San Francisco was short but truly brilliant. Next time I will choose... See full review

  • Friendy
  • Oct 21, 2014
Great modern hotel!

The design is sleek, the rooms are very spacious and have high ceilings, and the hotel is in... See full review

  • Maude Knows
  • Oct 8, 2014
Downtown hotel with an extensive grappa cocktail selection at Bar 888
The InterContinental San Francisco towers over the city, providing one of the newest upscale hotel destinations in the Bay Area. A Michelin-rated restaurant, chic bar, luxurious spa and spacious guest rooms and suites make the hotel a top choice for both business and vacation travel. Rising 32 stories over the South of Market (SoMa) neighborhood, the InterContinental San Francisco hotel provides state-of-the-art meeting and event spaces, as well as convenient access to the Moscone Center and AT&T Park. 
Highlights

  • 24-hour fitness and wellness center
  • Michelin-rated restaurant focuses on seasonal, sustainable cuisine
  • Within walking distance of the Moscone Center
  • Rooms offer spectacular views of the city or the bay

Rooms
All 550 rooms and suites at the InterContinental San Francisco feature rich wood and marble furnishings, spacious work areas, flat-panel TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply) and floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the city or San Francisco Bay. Pets are welcome (fees apply). 
Features
The I-Spa at InterContinental San Francisco invites guests to pamper themselves. The signature I-Spa customized massage begins with a conversation between client and therapist to create a customized treatment protocol, and a blend of essential oil and sound therapies is created for each individual. 
Dining

The Michelin-rated Luce restaurant -- located in the lobby of the InterContinental San Francisco -- serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in a sleek, urban setting. Seasonal, sustainable ingredients are sourced from the farms surrounding San Francisco for dishes such as the farmer's market omelet with goat cheese and baby tomato, and guinea hen with white asparagus. Luce has been recognized as one of the nation's top restaurants by Esquire magazine and Haute Living magazine.

 

Bar 888 at the InterContinental San Francisco offers one of the finest selections of grappa and grappa cocktails in the country. Try the Moscone Pear: Dimmi Herbal-infused Grappa liqueur shaken with fresh pear puree, freshly squeezed lime and lemon juice, and a grape garnish.
Transportation

  • BART stop (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (11.3 mi/18.2 km)

Attractions

  • Westfield San Francisco Centre (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Center (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Yerba Buena Gardens (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Contemporary Jewish Museum (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • AT&T Park (0.8 mi/1.3 km)

Business

  • Business center staffed from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.
  • 43,000 square feet of function space
  • 21 meeting rooms, two ballrooms and three outdoor terraces

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • SoMa: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • SoMa: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.9 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.3 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.4 mi
  • Japantown: 1.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.4 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.8 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.8 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.8 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.9 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.9 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.9 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.9 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 2 mi
  • Lands End: 2.4 mi

Dining

Luce
This Michelin rated hotel restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner in a sleek, urban setting just off of the main lobby is the stage for artisanal California cuisine with world influences. Created with high end, sustainable and seasonal ingredients,
54 Mint
54 Mint is the type of restaurant that makes you feel like you've discovered a gem. A casual Italian restaurant tucked away in the Mint Plaza around the corner from the hotel, chef uses local fish, meat, and produce, but everything ealse comes from Italy.
Oola
Chef owned and operated, Ola Fendert describes his food as " San Francsico Cuisine", but everyone else just describes it as delicious. The roasted beet and watermelon salad, ginger soy glazed baby back ribs, and loaded hamburger are standouts on an alrea
LuLu
LuLu's offers a seasonal Provencal style menu featuring wood fired oven, rotisserie and grilled specialties. The 'family style' cuisine is served in an impressive warehouse dining space. LuLu features an award winning wine list and a wine bar offering ove
Fang
Peter Fang's eponymous restaurant is an "only in San Francisco" experience. Chef Fang works the front of the house tirelessly, asking patrons what type of meat they like, what type of sauce and vegetables they prefer, and then he goes into the kitchen and
Lark Creek Steak
San Francisco celebrity chef Bradley Ogden and partner Ismael Macias have created an American classic steak house that offers upscale dining in a casual atmosphere. Because they are chefs and not just butchers, everything on the menu is worth a try. There
Pazzia
Great Italian food served in a trattoria setting close to the hotel. Excellent pasta, meat and fish dishes made with fresh, local ingredients; and a Roman style pizza that will make your mouth water. A bottle of wine, tiramisu and an espresso later and y
BlueStem Brasserie
Hip, vibrant ambiance and fresh local ingrediants are just some of the highlights of this trendy California Bistro. Located just a few blocks from the hotel, this is a favorite of both locals and out of town guest alike. Finally a restaurant that tastes l

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (97)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 97
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mr. travelman
Business
Columbus, Oh
Jun 4, 2012

intercontinental - San Francisco

the hotel was very nice in most aspects. 2 negatives only: the pool is not great by any means, but its san fran so i didn't swim anyways; and the sounds of downtown san fran at night can be heard in the room at times. free shoe shines were very nice though. very close to Moscone Center for the conference and easily walked to Union Square and westfield mall for shopping and eating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

take a 7 minute walk to the Levi's store. I'm tall and they custom made Levis to fit me. They even re-hemmed my old Levis. Roy's was also a very good seafood restaurant I happened upon. Its a bit pricey (but your staying at the intercontinental) but nice food and people. Always carry a wind breaker while walking San Fran!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Martin Boston
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 26, 2013

Excellent Hotel

I stayed for a mixed business and personal trip, and found the hotel to be excellent. Everything is very clean and new looking. The staff are courteous and helpful. The gym is great. The restaurant serves amazing food; I had breakfast several mornings and a burger at the bar one night. There is no "scene" here, the bar is mostly just guests, but for the weekend I had in mind that was perfect. Wifi is not free in your room and valet is expensive, so factor those into your budget, but the level of service is appropriate for the pricing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Novella for a younger bar crowd.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterey, CA
Sep 6, 2009

San Francisco Intercontinental Hotel

This is my first time staying at the Intercontinental Hotel in San Francisco. We usually stay at a local boutique hotel because we like the feel and the service is usually better. However, I was attending a conference at the Moscone Center (less than half a block away!) and we decided on the Intercontinental. I do a fair amount of travel and I have to say I was impressed! I can't emphasize enough how great the staff was and how accomodating, especially having an infant. Everyone was polite, friendly, and helpful from the doorman to the porter to the concierge to the valet. The hotel met our expectations and then some. Our view was also quite impressive, able to see the SF Bay and beyond. It helped that the weather was cooperative which can be hit or miss for this time of year. We didn't use a lot of amenities but we were able to get a mini-fridge for a small additional cost to help with the baby and they offered without asking to put a crib in the room, but we had brought our own. Thank you Interncontinental.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The concierge was very helpuful in finding dinner locations each night we were there and we enjoyed each within a short walk of the hotel near Union Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
coolblast
Business
Costa Mesa, CA
Dec 13, 2010

Great 5-day stay

I attended a business conference in San Francisco. The hotel and room were superb as well as the friendly staff. It was just perfect. Made the whole trip worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to shopping centers and eating places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Awards. Trophies & Treasures
Business
Santa Clarita, CA
Jan 10, 2011

Upscale, friendly and helpful

Everyone was very accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westmount
May 25, 2008

Great location - close to great shopping at Union Square

We were delightfully surprised with an upgrade to a wonderful corner King suite. Our first impressions of a wonderful, new and modern hotel carried through to the final moment of departure. The staff are well trained to make sure your stay is a premium experience. The breakfast buffet is one of the best I have ever had with a selection of exotic fruits, salmon and locks and turkey link sausages. (low fat) My wife loves shopping and this hotel is conveniently located near Union Square. Would I come again .. in a heartbeat but I would take the train link from the airport as parking set us back 45$, which we thought was a little steep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wyomissing, *
Jul 23, 2008

Great room and comfort

Hotel ammenities are a ala carte for most things including internet services, business center, and the Club Level even though I upgraded to the superior room in the club level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Within walking distance of the downtown financial/business area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicago Booth Phil
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 10, 2010

Excellent Experience, Great Price

The Intercontinental was perfectly located for my business needs and happened to be just close enough to AT & T Park to allow me to experience some Giants mania during the first two games of the World Series (which they soon won) without getting bowled over by happy fans. I was a short cab ride from friends in the Mission and a short walk from Market Street, where there are plenty of shops, restaurants and tourist spots. The new convention center is next door, and a new mall behind the center. I got all my questions answered, an excellent room service breakfast while I worked, splendid view of the bay and a relatively quiet, professional atmosphere in the hotel. For the price, it couldn't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Both AT & T Park and the Ferry Building at the end of Market Street are reasonable walks (8-10 blocks) for able-bodied folks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Dec 3, 2010

Great Hotel

One of the best hotels I've stayed in San Francisco. Comfortable beds, which are necessary after a long day of business meetings. Super friendly staff that will assist with anything you need and one of the best restaurants (and well priced) in the city! On the corner is a nice Irish pub, The Chieftain, which is a great and safe place to experience the locals. Walking distance to a great mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cheiftain is just on the corner with good drink and a great lunch without a large price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Abush
Business
Boston
Jun 7, 2010

superb

simple, modern and restrained

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

close to Market and Powell St

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top