$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

4 stars
View map of 888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
103 out of 103
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gdmagic
Business
Honolulu, HI
Oct 21, 2010

Great hotel. perfect service.

Rooms were nice and clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Couldn't ask for more. Would be a great place to stay for business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Aug 5, 2008

Downtown Luxery

As soon as I had set my eyes on the contemporary 33 story glass tower I knew this was the right place for me. Valet parking and check-in were easy. The room was beautiful with a great view over the city. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I ever had. The bathroom was very stylish and the bathrobe was a nice touch, so was the morning newspaper. The Sunday Brunch at the hotel restaurant was delicious, the service was friendly and the concierges recommendations for outside activities were excellent. Downtown shopping was within walking distance. All in all it was an excellent experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown is within comfortable walking distance and really quite fascinating.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
64 Red Mustang
Business
San Diego County, CA
Jan 4, 2010

Would Stay Here Again

We arrived to the hotel before noon, knowing we probably could get checked in but we would just store our luggage and start sightseeing. We were shocked as there able to give us our keys right away. I had booked a superior King because I noted the floors you might be booked on were from 12 - 24th. I did not make any requests at the front desk but we were given a room on the 24th floor looking at the bay. I enjoyed being up that high to get an unobstructed view. I also thought that being up higher would muffle the street noise...which was partially the case..you can not escape the sounds of sirens even with higher floors. The room was clean, spacious and the windows provide a great view as they are floor to ceiling. We did not dine at the restaurant or use the pool so I am not able to provide any comments on those items. We did get assistance a few times from the concierge desk. They were extremely helpful with our requests from sightseeing, shops to airport transportation. The hotel is an easy walk to Union Square. There are restaurants, bars and shops between the hotel and Union Square. We have stayed in SF several times before and though this hotel may not have been the most convenient location as compared to the other properties I have stayed at... I would not hesitate to go back to the Intercontinental again. It was overall a very positive experience. The only slightly annoying thing that happened was on our day of check out...the check out time is supposed to be noon. It was around 1030 and we had just gotten back to our room from breakfast. We had the Do Not Disturb light on and we were packing up our luggage. We kept hearing someone saying housekeeping, housekeeping. We thought she was working her way down the hall. My husband finally went to the door and she was just standing outside of our room saying that. Granted we needed to be out of the room within an hour and a half...it was just bothersome that the do not disturb obviously did not mean anything. I just think she might have checked with the front desk to see if we had checked out and accidently forgotten to turn off the do not disturb before she chose to ignore our request. Beside that one little thing, everyone else at the property was very accommodating and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Toadz1
Business
Denver, CO
Sep 22, 2009

"The Best Service and a great location"

A fantastic hotel with a staff that knew what we wanted before we did. The location is within an easy walk to the cable car and bus transportation. Union Square also was within an easy walk. The concierge with one exception directed us to great restaurants. Fabulous experience...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Abush
Business
Boston
Jun 7, 2010

superb

simple, modern and restrained

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

close to Market and Powell St

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mesquite
Oct 19, 2008

Great For Wedding Anniversary

This hotel was very luxurious. The was large and had all the amenities. Everything was great. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chowchilla, CA
Jul 11, 2010

Fancy Hotel

The location is fantastic. Located right next to a parking garage and right next to the Moscone and Metreon. A couple of short blocks to the Westfield Mall which is a couple of blocks away from union square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square and Westfield Mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Guerneville, CA
Jan 31, 2011

Great, luxurious place to stay

The Hotel is really nicely designed and beautiful. The staff was courteous and accommodating. They gave us a complementary upgrade. The room (for a big city hotel) was large and had a beautiful walk-in shower. We had room service which was also of very high quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Order room service...it was expensive, but really delicious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterey, CA
Sep 6, 2009

San Francisco Intercontinental Hotel

This is my first time staying at the Intercontinental Hotel in San Francisco. We usually stay at a local boutique hotel because we like the feel and the service is usually better. However, I was attending a conference at the Moscone Center (less than half a block away!) and we decided on the Intercontinental. I do a fair amount of travel and I have to say I was impressed! I can't emphasize enough how great the staff was and how accomodating, especially having an infant. Everyone was polite, friendly, and helpful from the doorman to the porter to the concierge to the valet. The hotel met our expectations and then some. Our view was also quite impressive, able to see the SF Bay and beyond. It helped that the weather was cooperative which can be hit or miss for this time of year. We didn't use a lot of amenities but we were able to get a mini-fridge for a small additional cost to help with the baby and they offered without asking to put a crib in the room, but we had brought our own. Thank you Interncontinental.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The concierge was very helpuful in finding dinner locations each night we were there and we enjoyed each within a short walk of the hotel near Union Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central Ohio
Nov 16, 2010

Great Hotel

I was really pleased with this hotel. We arrived about 3 hrs earlier than check-in, and pleasantly surprised that our room was ready. They even placed us on a higher floor with a better view. Lobby was clean and inviting and seemed secure and safe. The room was very comfortable and accomodating, guest services called to ask if we needed anything. Three magazines and a San Franscisco guide book were available to read. Other reviews have said rooms are small, but I do not agree, this was the perfect size for the 2 of us. The bed and linens were very soft and comfy, feather-like. The bathroom had good amenities: a scale, hair dryer, mending kit, enough towels, robes, shoe-shine cloth, toiletries. It was clean and the shower was large-sized. No tub, but I prefer just a shower. I visited the concierge who was very helpful. They had print-outs of restaurants and sites they recommended as well as how to get to these places by public transportation (SF does have good transit/bus system, easy to navigate and figure out). It's also an option to email concierge ahead of your stay. If you are going for weekend or holiday and want to hit some of the more touristy/popular areas, you may want to do this because some restaurants and attractions don't have availability if you wait until the last second. Also, get the concierge's card; you can call them during the day if you decide to change plans. I did not use the spa or fitness center, but I checked them out and would have used had I more time on our trip. These areas were clean and quiet. Fitness center was a very good size and seemed to have ample machines. Also did not visit the bar or restaurant. We did order room service one night and was satisfied. The hotel location was good, I thought. Close enough to walk to Union square and the trolley/bus terminal (Powell station), but not right in the middle of the hustle and bustle. We did not have any problems walking back to our hotel at night, either. The Powell station area is busy, and watch for people trying to get "tips" and handouts in this area, though. Overall, I was really pleased with this hotel. I thought is was very very nice, and affordable. The staff was great and friendly. It was comfortable for when we wanted to rest, but close enough to the action and transit spots that we could go out and see everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Union street shops (Cow hollow). We went on Monday, so some shops were closed, but is not at all busy/crazy like union square and is smaller. It's in a nice neighborhood. Has a good mix of popular retail (like nine west and starbucks) and boutiques and bistros. Take the bus, don't walk unless you want to go up and down the very steep hills. The bus we took went through China Town, so you could easily visit both places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top