$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

4 stars
View map of 888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
99 reviews
Great experience

Hotel is wonderful, breakfast was excellent. Kids enjoyed the pool, and concierge even helped me... See full review

  • Lisa C.
  • Feb 27, 2015
visiting the city

I enjoyed the hotel. very fancy. I would come again and stay here. See full review

  • Lucero P.
  • Feb 13, 2015
Downtown hotel with an extensive grappa cocktail selection at Bar 888
The InterContinental San Francisco towers over the city, providing one of the newest upscale hotel destinations in the Bay Area. A Michelin-rated restaurant, chic bar, luxurious spa and spacious guest rooms and suites make the hotel a top choice for both business and vacation travel. Rising 32 stories over the South of Market (SoMa) neighborhood, the InterContinental San Francisco hotel provides state-of-the-art meeting and event spaces, as well as convenient access to the Moscone Center and AT&T Park. 
Highlights

  • 24-hour fitness and wellness center
  • Michelin-rated restaurant focuses on seasonal, sustainable cuisine
  • Within walking distance of the Moscone Center
  • Rooms offer spectacular views of the city or the bay

Rooms
All 550 rooms and suites at the InterContinental San Francisco feature rich wood and marble furnishings, spacious work areas, flat-panel TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply) and floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the city or San Francisco Bay. Pets are welcome (fees apply). 
Features
The I-Spa at InterContinental San Francisco invites guests to pamper themselves. The signature I-Spa customized massage begins with a conversation between client and therapist to create a customized treatment protocol, and a blend of essential oil and sound therapies is created for each individual. 
Dining

The Michelin-rated Luce restaurant -- located in the lobby of the InterContinental San Francisco -- serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in a sleek, urban setting. Seasonal, sustainable ingredients are sourced from the farms surrounding San Francisco for dishes such as the farmer's market omelet with goat cheese and baby tomato, and guinea hen with white asparagus. Luce has been recognized as one of the nation's top restaurants by Esquire magazine and Haute Living magazine.

 

Bar 888 at the InterContinental San Francisco offers one of the finest selections of grappa and grappa cocktails in the country. Try the Moscone Pear: Dimmi Herbal-infused Grappa liqueur shaken with fresh pear puree, freshly squeezed lime and lemon juice, and a grape garnish.
Transportation

  • BART stop (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (11.3 mi/18.2 km)

Attractions

  • Westfield San Francisco Centre (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Center (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Yerba Buena Gardens (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Contemporary Jewish Museum (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • AT&T Park (0.8 mi/1.3 km)

Business

  • Business center staffed from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.
  • 43,000 square feet of function space
  • 21 meeting rooms, two ballrooms and three outdoor terraces

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • SoMa: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • SoMa: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.9 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.3 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.4 mi
  • Japantown: 1.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.4 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.8 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.8 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.8 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.9 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.9 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.9 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.9 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 2 mi
  • Lands End: 2.4 mi

Dining

Luce
This Michelin rated hotel restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner in a sleek, urban setting just off of the main lobby is the stage for artisanal California cuisine with world influences. Created with high end, sustainable and seasonal ingredients,
54 Mint
54 Mint is the type of restaurant that makes you feel like you've discovered a gem. A casual Italian restaurant tucked away in the Mint Plaza around the corner from the hotel, chef uses local fish, meat, and produce, but everything ealse comes from Italy.
Oola
Chef owned and operated, Ola Fendert describes his food as " San Francsico Cuisine", but everyone else just describes it as delicious. The roasted beet and watermelon salad, ginger soy glazed baby back ribs, and loaded hamburger are standouts on an alrea
LuLu
LuLu's offers a seasonal Provencal style menu featuring wood fired oven, rotisserie and grilled specialties. The 'family style' cuisine is served in an impressive warehouse dining space. LuLu features an award winning wine list and a wine bar offering ove
Fang
Peter Fang's eponymous restaurant is an "only in San Francisco" experience. Chef Fang works the front of the house tirelessly, asking patrons what type of meat they like, what type of sauce and vegetables they prefer, and then he goes into the kitchen and
Lark Creek Steak
San Francisco celebrity chef Bradley Ogden and partner Ismael Macias have created an American classic steak house that offers upscale dining in a casual atmosphere. Because they are chefs and not just butchers, everything on the menu is worth a try. There
Pazzia
Great Italian food served in a trattoria setting close to the hotel. Excellent pasta, meat and fish dishes made with fresh, local ingredients; and a Roman style pizza that will make your mouth water. A bottle of wine, tiramisu and an espresso later and y
BlueStem Brasserie
Hip, vibrant ambiance and fresh local ingrediants are just some of the highlights of this trendy California Bistro. Located just a few blocks from the hotel, this is a favorite of both locals and out of town guest alike. Finally a restaurant that tastes l

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
May 25, 2009

DO NOT STAY HERE

Too frustrated to comment... For starters, when we arrived they said that the only way to get a King Bed was to pay $40 a more per night and upgrade our room. We explained that we did not have the money to do so and that we were there on our 1 year anniversary, but that did not help. After asking for a manager, we were offered to wait an hour and have a king bed in the standard room available. WHY WAS THAT NOT OFFERED ORIGINALLY?The room we were given was on the 6th floor, next to the pool and club. NOISY and smelled like chlorine. We had an amazing view of a sign picturing hawaii saying "You could be here," way to rub it in... The sirens going by every 30 minutes were great also. Thank you for putting us on the street... I guess we should have expected the sirens being that the hotel is 1 block away from 6th street, a [*] heaven. We called for service 5 times in the 2 days that we were there. Each time had to wait at least 45 minutes, which was great when we had things to do. Also, for $28/person, they should have an omelet station at their "world class" buffet.When we complained about everything listed (and more) upon checkout, the lady seemed like she cared and told us that she would make it up to us if we ever came back. We're not stupid enough to find out.I will add that the clubhouse and bellman both had friendly employees. Everyone else there should be forced out onto 6th street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TJ Tomas
Business
Sacrament Ca
Jul 29, 2013

SF Giant Game Family Weekend Getaway

Checking in process was absolutely the worst experience. Ritz & Hyatt so much more accomodating Card keys fails to work on club floor --- and hotel gave little to no information regarding its location. Staff failed to check one time on our welfare or apologize for check in difficulties - Would not stay again at any price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
WiserMomma
Business
West hills, CA
Nov 2, 2010

Expensive parking

We enjoyed the view from our room but other than that..hotel experience was disappointing! Airconditioning was so bad..so hot inside the room because AC is unreliable! Please fix! Water supply also was ridiculous! It would take you an hour or two in the shower because water is too slow or almost to nothing! Lastly, the parking is overpriced at 53 + tax ??? It will cost u the same as your accomodation jst for 2nyts parking in the hotel!! Better find another hotel with free guest parking and stay in their suite room coz it's the same price!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Look for a hotel with minimal charge for parking or free hotel guest parking or else you will end up paying $60 per night for parking! Money should be for dining or shopping not for parking!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
vicj
Business
Taiwan
Aug 26, 2011

worst sound insulation ever.

The room was okay, but the sound insulation was very very bad. We can hear people talking, laughing and using the closet in the room next to ours, and it was loud. When someone closes the door on the same floor, our bed and the head board shakes and wakes us up at midnight. The in-room dining was good, the fitness center was good, the location was great. But we just couldn't sleep at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jedy On The Spot
Business
Edmond, OK
May 1, 2010

Comfortable but not accomadating

Our stay at the InterContinental San Francisco hotel wasn't horrible, but wasn't something that stood out to us by any means. The hotel room itself was probably a 4 star rating, but the staff, and friendliness of the staff were that of a hotel that rates anywhere between 1-4, nothing special. Although this doesn't apply to the staff, they did charge us for any local calls that we made from the hotel, starting out at $1.60 per call, just a little more info about the hotel. We did enjoy a couple meals from the menu in our hotel room, and they were great. All in all it was ok, just expect them to be anything but friendly to you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Find the mall that is in the Market area, the food court was amazing, and there is a small grocery stoor that has a yummy salad bar, and fresh fruit

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Behnoush
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Apr 2, 2012

family getaway

It was good but room service was so expensive and always had delay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

best place for long walk but not around a hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Happy Icebear
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 12, 2013

Meh

I've been fascinated by this hotel since I moved to SF. Saw SW on rooms and wanted to try it out. Like many customers I got a view but not a good view. That was okay but the shower with no water pressure was not. Room service very limited. Food was average but decent. I found nothing really special about the hotel except the dramatic windows. Furniture was crammed into the space and the bathtub was hardly in keeping with a five star international hotel chain. Back to boutiques.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Consider parking yourself at one of the garages. No worse than valet if all day and you son't have to wait for them to answer the phone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ana D.
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 7, 2013

Parking.

The hotel was okay. The thing that was a big surprise was the amount of money needed to pay for the parking. Enough money was paid for the hotel room itself without having to pay for parking that should be provided for at no cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mimi and Daddad
Business
Bedford,TX
Jul 21, 2013

Disappointed on a one day trip

I picked the hotel because of a special price. Upon checking in and being assigned a room on the 11th floor, we asked if we could have a higher floor. We were told no because of our special This was not indicated when we made our reservation. The room was nothing special (small and crowded) considering the amount of money were we spending, and the view was terrible. We could see a giant promo of movie on the side of a building and construction cranes. The valet parking was ridicuously expensive. We went walking aournd the area,. It was okay, especially if you want to go shopping. However, not caring about shopping we were sorry we had picked this area stay. There was a nice park nearby at the Moscone center. We went to the hotel bar for a drink and snack, but chose not to eat at the restaurant, We sure wish we had stayed at another hotel on Lombard street that we had stayed at previously. It was much cheaper and had fabulous views of the Golden Gate Bridge. oh well.....next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Scomo's seafood restaurant. It was in the Fisherman's Wharf area. Fabulous food and service. Even thoug it's ot the far away, we would take a taxi instead of driving if we were going again from this distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia
May 29, 2009

Comfortable enough

Comfortable room, walking distance to shopping but not in a central location - got the feeling of being just outside where things were happening. Fee for internet was $15/day - which tells me they expect business travelers, not vacationers. So, I'd recommend it if you're able to stay there on the company's dime. Not worth it if you're visiting San Francisco with the family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Broke my purse and needed another one fast. The "Container Store" was just a couple of blocks away on 4th Street towards Market Street. Open early and had exactly what I needed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top