$233 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

4 stars
888 HOWARD STREET, SAN FRANCISCO, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
146 reviews
Good

Everything is perfect, food, service, location . But TV program is not free See full review

  • Tian201407
  • Jul 7, 2014
good stay

I enjoyed the stay in this hotel. Well located, clean and modern rooms, excelent view of the city. See full review

  • industrial
  • Jul 3, 2014
Downtown hotel with an extensive grappa cocktail selection at Bar 888
The InterContinental San Francisco towers over the city, providing one of the newest upscale hotel destinations in the Bay Area. A Michelin-rated restaurant, chic bar, luxurious spa and spacious guest rooms and suites make the hotel a top choice for both business and vacation travel. Rising 32 stories over the South of Market (SoMa) neighborhood, the InterContinental San Francisco hotel provides state-of-the-art meeting and event spaces, as well as convenient access to the Moscone Center and AT&T Park. 
Highlights

  • 24-hour fitness and wellness center
  • Michelin-rated restaurant focuses on seasonal, sustainable cuisine
  • Within walking distance of the Moscone Center
  • Rooms offer spectacular views of the city or the bay

Rooms
All 550 rooms and suites at the InterContinental San Francisco feature rich wood and marble furnishings, spacious work areas, flat-panel TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply) and floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the city or San Francisco Bay. Pets are welcome (fees apply). 
Features
The I-Spa at InterContinental San Francisco invites guests to pamper themselves. The signature I-Spa customized massage begins with a conversation between client and therapist to create a customized treatment protocol, and a blend of essential oil and sound therapies is created for each individual. 
Dining

The Michelin-rated Luce restaurant -- located in the lobby of the InterContinental San Francisco -- serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in a sleek, urban setting. Seasonal, sustainable ingredients are sourced from the farms surrounding San Francisco for dishes such as the farmer's market omelet with goat cheese and baby tomato, and guinea hen with white asparagus. Luce has been recognized as one of the nation's top restaurants by Esquire magazine and Haute Living magazine.

 

Bar 888 at the InterContinental San Francisco offers one of the finest selections of grappa and grappa cocktails in the country. Try the Moscone Pear: Dimmi Herbal-infused Grappa liqueur shaken with fresh pear puree, freshly squeezed lime and lemon juice, and a grape garnish.
Transportation

  • BART stop (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (11.3 mi/18.2 km)

Attractions

  • Westfield San Francisco Centre (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Center (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Yerba Buena Gardens (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Contemporary Jewish Museum (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • AT&T Park (0.8 mi/1.3 km)

Business

  • Business center staffed from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.
  • 43,000 square feet of function space
  • 21 meeting rooms, two ballrooms and three outdoor terraces

Hotel Map

37.7819 -122.4048
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 13.70, MI, N; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 47.00, MI, N; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 19.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • SoMa: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • SoMa: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.9 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1 mi
  • Nob Hill: 1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.3 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.4 mi
  • Japantown: 1.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.4 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.8 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.8 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.8 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.9 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.9 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.9 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.9 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 2 mi

Dining

Luce
This Michelin rated hotel restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner in a sleek, urban setting just off of the main lobby is the stage for artisanal California cuisine with world influences. Created with high end, sustainable and seasonal ingredients,
54 Mint
54 Mint is the type of restaurant that makes you feel like you've discovered a gem. A casual Italian restaurant tucked away in the Mint Plaza around the corner from the hotel, chef uses local fish, meat, and produce, but everything ealse comes from Italy.
Oola
Chef owned and operated, Ola Fendert describes his food as " San Francsico Cuisine", but everyone else just describes it as delicious. The roasted beet and watermelon salad, ginger soy glazed baby back ribs, and loaded hamburger are standouts on an alrea
LuLu
LuLu's offers a seasonal Provencal style menu featuring wood fired oven, rotisserie and grilled specialties. The 'family style' cuisine is served in an impressive warehouse dining space. LuLu features an award winning wine list and a wine bar offering ove
Fang
Peter Fang's eponymous restaurant is an "only in San Francisco" experience. Chef Fang works the front of the house tirelessly, asking patrons what type of meat they like, what type of sauce and vegetables they prefer, and then he goes into the kitchen and
Lark Creek Steak
San Francisco celebrity chef Bradley Ogden and partner Ismael Macias have created an American classic steak house that offers upscale dining in a casual atmosphere. Because they are chefs and not just butchers, everything on the menu is worth a try. There
Pazzia
Great Italian food served in a trattoria setting close to the hotel. Excellent pasta, meat and fish dishes made with fresh, local ingredients; and a Roman style pizza that will make your mouth water. A bottle of wine, tiramisu and an espresso later and y
BlueStem Brasserie
Hip, vibrant ambiance and fresh local ingrediants are just some of the highlights of this trendy California Bistro. Located just a few blocks from the hotel, this is a favorite of both locals and out of town guest alike. Finally a restaurant that tastes l
Bar 888
Located on the lobby level, Bar 888 offers one of the finest selections of grappa and grappa cocktails in the country. Offering over 120 hand-selected grappas to taste, Bar 888 also offers an innovative selection of grappa-based cocktails, along with a ca

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (146)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
146 out of 146
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jul 14, 2011

Great stay!

The hotel was great altogether, the room was impeccable and the staff really helpful and attentive from the moment we arrived. The rates were a bit above other four star hotels in the area, but it was totally worth it! One of the best hotels experineces for me, and I'm quite a traveller!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
daltay2812
San Francisco, CA, USA
Feb 21, 2012

A Perfect 25th Anniversary Stay

What a delight! This was our 4th stay at this hotel and it gets better each time. The hotel is in a perfect location for all of the sights of San Francisco. From the moment we stepped into the hotel the staff was so sincere and caring. They wanted our anniversary to be special. They upgraded our room to the 29th floor with spectacular views of the Bay. After we had settled in there came a knock at the door and surprise a bottle of Champane was delivered. We were delighted. The room was beautiful, clean, clean, and more clean. Thank you so much InterContinental.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dotties True Blue Cafe on 6th Street is the best around for Breakfast. Get there early before the crowds.

Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Martin Boston
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 26, 2013

Excellent Hotel

I stayed for a mixed business and personal trip, and found the hotel to be excellent. Everything is very clean and new looking. The staff are courteous and helpful. The gym is great. The restaurant serves amazing food; I had breakfast several mornings and a burger at the bar one night. There is no "scene" here, the bar is mostly just guests, but for the weekend I had in mind that was perfect. Wifi is not free in your room and valet is expensive, so factor those into your budget, but the level of service is appropriate for the pricing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Novella for a younger bar crowd.

Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
64 Red Mustang
San Diego County, CA
Jan 4, 2010

Would Stay Here Again

We arrived to the hotel before noon, knowing we probably could get checked in but we would just store our luggage and start sightseeing. We were shocked as there able to give us our keys right away. I had booked a superior King because I noted the floors you might be booked on were from 12 - 24th. I did not make any requests at the front desk but we were given a room on the 24th floor looking at the bay. I enjoyed being up that high to get an unobstructed view. I also thought that being up higher would muffle the street noise...which was partially the case..you can not escape the sounds of sirens even with higher floors. The room was clean, spacious and the windows provide a great view as they are floor to ceiling. We did not dine at the restaurant or use the pool so I am not able to provide any comments on those items. We did get assistance a few times from the concierge desk. They were extremely helpful with our requests from sightseeing, shops to airport transportation. The hotel is an easy walk to Union Square. There are restaurants, bars and shops between the hotel and Union Square. We have stayed in SF several times before and though this hotel may not have been the most convenient location as compared to the other properties I have stayed at... I would not hesitate to go back to the Intercontinental again. It was overall a very positive experience. The only slightly annoying thing that happened was on our day of check out...the check out time is supposed to be noon. It was around 1030 and we had just gotten back to our room from breakfast. We had the Do Not Disturb light on and we were packing up our luggage. We kept hearing someone saying housekeeping, housekeeping. We thought she was working her way down the hall. My husband finally went to the door and she was just standing outside of our room saying that. Granted we needed to be out of the room within an hour and a half...it was just bothersome that the do not disturb obviously did not mean anything. I just think she might have checked with the front desk to see if we had checked out and accidently forgotten to turn off the do not disturb before she chose to ignore our request. Beside that one little thing, everyone else at the property was very accommodating and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Dec 3, 2010

Great Hotel

One of the best hotels I've stayed in San Francisco. Comfortable beds, which are necessary after a long day of business meetings. Super friendly staff that will assist with anything you need and one of the best restaurants (and well priced) in the city! On the corner is a nice Irish pub, The Chieftain, which is a great and safe place to experience the locals. Walking distance to a great mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cheiftain is just on the corner with good drink and a great lunch without a large price.

Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Guerneville, CA
Jan 31, 2011

Great, luxurious place to stay

The Hotel is really nicely designed and beautiful. The staff was courteous and accommodating. They gave us a complementary upgrade. The room (for a big city hotel) was large and had a beautiful walk-in shower. We had room service which was also of very high quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Order room service...it was expensive, but really delicious.

Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, TX
Aug 5, 2008

Downtown Luxery

As soon as I had set my eyes on the contemporary 33 story glass tower I knew this was the right place for me. Valet parking and check-in were easy. The room was beautiful with a great view over the city. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I ever had. The bathroom was very stylish and the bathrobe was a nice touch, so was the morning newspaper. The Sunday Brunch at the hotel restaurant was delicious, the service was friendly and the concierges recommendations for outside activities were excellent. Downtown shopping was within walking distance. All in all it was an excellent experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown is within comfortable walking distance and really quite fascinating.

Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WLM
Newburyport, MA
Jun 20, 2009

sweetness....

This is a great homebase for a stay in San Francisco. It's a couple of blocks from Union Square. The beds were fantastic. And considering it's in downtown San Fran, the price was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

walk up the steps to Coit Tower. It's a good workout and the views along the way are as good as the views once you get to the top.

Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas City, MO
Oct 3, 2010

This is the place to stay

The staff and the location is why I would recommend this hotel. The concierge was incredibly helpful in planning day trips throughout the city and we couldn't have had a better room. On the last day the concierge suggested we check with the doorman to see if a town car was available to take us to the airport. It was and was a wonderful way to end a trip in which we felt that we were treated as royalty. We will definitely be staying at the Intercontinental again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicago Booth Phil
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 10, 2010

Excellent Experience, Great Price

The Intercontinental was perfectly located for my business needs and happened to be just close enough to AT & T Park to allow me to experience some Giants mania during the first two games of the World Series (which they soon won) without getting bowled over by happy fans. I was a short cab ride from friends in the Mission and a short walk from Market Street, where there are plenty of shops, restaurants and tourist spots. The new convention center is next door, and a new mall behind the center. I got all my questions answered, an excellent room service breakfast while I worked, splendid view of the bay and a relatively quiet, professional atmosphere in the hotel. For the price, it couldn't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Both AT & T Park and the Ferry Building at the end of Market Street are reasonable walks (8-10 blocks) for able-bodied folks.

Back to menu Return to top