$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

4 stars
View map of 888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
103 out of 103
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
jackson, ms
Nov 21, 2010

intercontinental on howard st

Well decorated, modern style, friendly staff, convenient parking and cab service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cliff house--- on cliff where u watch the pacific waves crash beneath u.... Modern design... Great place for cocktails and watch the sun set over ocean

Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central Ohio
Nov 16, 2010

Great Hotel

I was really pleased with this hotel. We arrived about 3 hrs earlier than check-in, and pleasantly surprised that our room was ready. They even placed us on a higher floor with a better view. Lobby was clean and inviting and seemed secure and safe. The room was very comfortable and accomodating, guest services called to ask if we needed anything. Three magazines and a San Franscisco guide book were available to read. Other reviews have said rooms are small, but I do not agree, this was the perfect size for the 2 of us. The bed and linens were very soft and comfy, feather-like. The bathroom had good amenities: a scale, hair dryer, mending kit, enough towels, robes, shoe-shine cloth, toiletries. It was clean and the shower was large-sized. No tub, but I prefer just a shower. I visited the concierge who was very helpful. They had print-outs of restaurants and sites they recommended as well as how to get to these places by public transportation (SF does have good transit/bus system, easy to navigate and figure out). It's also an option to email concierge ahead of your stay. If you are going for weekend or holiday and want to hit some of the more touristy/popular areas, you may want to do this because some restaurants and attractions don't have availability if you wait until the last second. Also, get the concierge's card; you can call them during the day if you decide to change plans. I did not use the spa or fitness center, but I checked them out and would have used had I more time on our trip. These areas were clean and quiet. Fitness center was a very good size and seemed to have ample machines. Also did not visit the bar or restaurant. We did order room service one night and was satisfied. The hotel location was good, I thought. Close enough to walk to Union square and the trolley/bus terminal (Powell station), but not right in the middle of the hustle and bustle. We did not have any problems walking back to our hotel at night, either. The Powell station area is busy, and watch for people trying to get "tips" and handouts in this area, though. Overall, I was really pleased with this hotel. I thought is was very very nice, and affordable. The staff was great and friendly. It was comfortable for when we wanted to rest, but close enough to the action and transit spots that we could go out and see everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Union street shops (Cow hollow). We went on Monday, so some shops were closed, but is not at all busy/crazy like union square and is smaller. It's in a nice neighborhood. Has a good mix of popular retail (like nine west and starbucks) and boutiques and bistros. Take the bus, don't walk unless you want to go up and down the very steep hills. The bus we took went through China Town, so you could easily visit both places.

Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los angeles
Nov 15, 2010

Solid buiness hotel

Comfortable stay with a friendly and attentive staff. Good gym facility with an excellent lap pool. The restaurant has a very good reputation though I did not have a chance to eat there myself. The location is very convenient..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Slanted Door. Need to make reservations ahead of time.

Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicago Booth Phil
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 10, 2010

Excellent Experience, Great Price

The Intercontinental was perfectly located for my business needs and happened to be just close enough to AT & T Park to allow me to experience some Giants mania during the first two games of the World Series (which they soon won) without getting bowled over by happy fans. I was a short cab ride from friends in the Mission and a short walk from Market Street, where there are plenty of shops, restaurants and tourist spots. The new convention center is next door, and a new mall behind the center. I got all my questions answered, an excellent room service breakfast while I worked, splendid view of the bay and a relatively quiet, professional atmosphere in the hotel. For the price, it couldn't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Both AT & T Park and the Ferry Building at the end of Market Street are reasonable walks (8-10 blocks) for able-bodied folks.

Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
WiserMomma
Business
West hills, CA
Nov 2, 2010

Expensive parking

We enjoyed the view from our room but other than that..hotel experience was disappointing! Airconditioning was so bad..so hot inside the room because AC is unreliable! Please fix! Water supply also was ridiculous! It would take you an hour or two in the shower because water is too slow or almost to nothing! Lastly, the parking is overpriced at 53 + tax ??? It will cost u the same as your accomodation jst for 2nyts parking in the hotel!! Better find another hotel with free guest parking and stay in their suite room coz it's the same price!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Look for a hotel with minimal charge for parking or free hotel guest parking or else you will end up paying $60 per night for parking! Money should be for dining or shopping not for parking!!

Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gdmagic
Business
Honolulu, HI
Oct 21, 2010

Great hotel. perfect service.

Rooms were nice and clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Couldn't ask for more. Would be a great place to stay for business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Oct 3, 2010

This is the place to stay

The staff and the location is why I would recommend this hotel. The concierge was incredibly helpful in planning day trips throughout the city and we couldn't have had a better room. On the last day the concierge suggested we check with the doorman to see if a town car was available to take us to the airport. It was and was a wonderful way to end a trip in which we felt that we were treated as royalty. We will definitely be staying at the Intercontinental again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, Ca
Aug 30, 2010

Pleasantly calming and relaxing

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is new and with modern contemporary decor. Very Nice! The price was reasonable. View of the city. Comfortable beds, large tub, nice amenities, walking distance to the mall, restaurants, and entertainment. I would select this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Westfield mall is just around the block.

Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 4, 2010

well done, mostly!

All good except that they charge 2 bucks for the once complimentary coffee on your wait out the door in the morning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chowchilla, CA
Jul 11, 2010

Fancy Hotel

The location is fantastic. Located right next to a parking garage and right next to the Moscone and Metreon. A couple of short blocks to the Westfield Mall which is a couple of blocks away from union square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square and Westfield Mall

Back to menu Return to top