$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

4 stars
888 HOWARD STREET, SAN FRANCISCO, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
148 reviews
Pleasant Stay

Even though the President was in the city, the staff was very accommodating and friendly. See full review

  • jaklian
  • Jul 27, 2014
Great Weekend Getaway

Excellent location in SOMA close to downtown attractions. Wonderful staff who were extremely... See full review

  • riun79
  • Jul 25, 2014
Downtown hotel with an extensive grappa cocktail selection at Bar 888
The InterContinental San Francisco towers over the city, providing one of the newest upscale hotel destinations in the Bay Area. A Michelin-rated restaurant, chic bar, luxurious spa and spacious guest rooms and suites make the hotel a top choice for both business and vacation travel. Rising 32 stories over the South of Market (SoMa) neighborhood, the InterContinental San Francisco hotel provides state-of-the-art meeting and event spaces, as well as convenient access to the Moscone Center and AT&T Park. 
Highlights

  • 24-hour fitness and wellness center
  • Michelin-rated restaurant focuses on seasonal, sustainable cuisine
  • Within walking distance of the Moscone Center
  • Rooms offer spectacular views of the city or the bay

Rooms
All 550 rooms and suites at the InterContinental San Francisco feature rich wood and marble furnishings, spacious work areas, flat-panel TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply) and floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the city or San Francisco Bay. Pets are welcome (fees apply). 
Features
The I-Spa at InterContinental San Francisco invites guests to pamper themselves. The signature I-Spa customized massage begins with a conversation between client and therapist to create a customized treatment protocol, and a blend of essential oil and sound therapies is created for each individual. 
Dining

The Michelin-rated Luce restaurant -- located in the lobby of the InterContinental San Francisco -- serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in a sleek, urban setting. Seasonal, sustainable ingredients are sourced from the farms surrounding San Francisco for dishes such as the farmer's market omelet with goat cheese and baby tomato, and guinea hen with white asparagus. Luce has been recognized as one of the nation's top restaurants by Esquire magazine and Haute Living magazine.

 

Bar 888 at the InterContinental San Francisco offers one of the finest selections of grappa and grappa cocktails in the country. Try the Moscone Pear: Dimmi Herbal-infused Grappa liqueur shaken with fresh pear puree, freshly squeezed lime and lemon juice, and a grape garnish.
Transportation

  • BART stop (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (11.3 mi/18.2 km)

Attractions

  • Westfield San Francisco Centre (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Center (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Yerba Buena Gardens (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Contemporary Jewish Museum (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • AT&T Park (0.8 mi/1.3 km)

Business

  • Business center staffed from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.
  • 43,000 square feet of function space
  • 21 meeting rooms, two ballrooms and three outdoor terraces

Hotel Map

37.7819 -122.4048
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 13.70, MI; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 47.00, MI; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 19.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • SoMa: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • SoMa: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.9 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1 mi
  • Nob Hill: 1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.3 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.4 mi
  • Japantown: 1.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.4 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.8 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.8 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.8 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.9 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.9 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.9 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.9 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 2 mi

Dining

Luce
This Michelin rated hotel restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner in a sleek, urban setting just off of the main lobby is the stage for artisanal California cuisine with world influences. Created with high end, sustainable and seasonal ingredients,
54 Mint
54 Mint is the type of restaurant that makes you feel like you've discovered a gem. A casual Italian restaurant tucked away in the Mint Plaza around the corner from the hotel, chef uses local fish, meat, and produce, but everything ealse comes from Italy.
Oola
Chef owned and operated, Ola Fendert describes his food as " San Francsico Cuisine", but everyone else just describes it as delicious. The roasted beet and watermelon salad, ginger soy glazed baby back ribs, and loaded hamburger are standouts on an alrea
LuLu
LuLu's offers a seasonal Provencal style menu featuring wood fired oven, rotisserie and grilled specialties. The 'family style' cuisine is served in an impressive warehouse dining space. LuLu features an award winning wine list and a wine bar offering ove
Fang
Peter Fang's eponymous restaurant is an "only in San Francisco" experience. Chef Fang works the front of the house tirelessly, asking patrons what type of meat they like, what type of sauce and vegetables they prefer, and then he goes into the kitchen and
Lark Creek Steak
San Francisco celebrity chef Bradley Ogden and partner Ismael Macias have created an American classic steak house that offers upscale dining in a casual atmosphere. Because they are chefs and not just butchers, everything on the menu is worth a try. There
Pazzia
Great Italian food served in a trattoria setting close to the hotel. Excellent pasta, meat and fish dishes made with fresh, local ingredients; and a Roman style pizza that will make your mouth water. A bottle of wine, tiramisu and an espresso later and y
BlueStem Brasserie
Hip, vibrant ambiance and fresh local ingrediants are just some of the highlights of this trendy California Bistro. Located just a few blocks from the hotel, this is a favorite of both locals and out of town guest alike. Finally a restaurant that tastes l
Bar 888
Located on the lobby level, Bar 888 offers one of the finest selections of grappa and grappa cocktails in the country. Offering over 120 hand-selected grappas to taste, Bar 888 also offers an innovative selection of grappa-based cocktails, along with a ca

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (148)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
148 out of 148
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Dec 3, 2010

Great Hotel

One of the best hotels I've stayed in San Francisco. Comfortable beds, which are necessary after a long day of business meetings. Super friendly staff that will assist with anything you need and one of the best restaurants (and well priced) in the city! On the corner is a nice Irish pub, The Chieftain, which is a great and safe place to experience the locals. Walking distance to a great mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cheiftain is just on the corner with good drink and a great lunch without a large price.

Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego
Nov 24, 2010

Great location and great value!

I've been to San Francisco Hilton and Marriot in Union Square before, and Intercontinental tops them all in terms of customer service and the facility. It's newer, better, and cleaner than the other two mentioned. Plus, you will get a better view if you are facing the bay side. Little compliment at the front desk got us a room on the 29th floor, and the view was so beautiful, even though the hotel was smacked right in the middle of the Union Squares with all the high rises. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Metreon mega theatre is just down the street as well as all the shopping joints at the Union Square. Street felt safer than some other parts of Union Square neighborhood. Walgreens is just few blocks down if you forgot to pack something.

Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego
Nov 24, 2010

Great location and great value!

I've been to San Francisco Hilton and Marriot in Union Square before, and Intercontinental tops them all in terms of customer service and the facility. It's newer, better, and cleaner than the other two mentioned. Plus, you will get a better view if you are facing the bay side. Little compliment at the front desk got us a room on the 29th floor, and the view was so beautiful, even though the hotel was smacked right in the middle of the Union Squares with all the high rises. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Metreon mega theatre is just down the street as well as all the shopping joints at the Union Square. Street felt safer than some other parts of Union Square neighborhood. Walgreens is just few blocks down if you forgot to pack something.

Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
jackson, ms
Nov 21, 2010

intercontinental on howard st

Well decorated, modern style, friendly staff, convenient parking and cab service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cliff house--- on cliff where u watch the pacific waves crash beneath u.... Modern design... Great place for cocktails and watch the sun set over ocean

Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
jackson, ms
Nov 21, 2010

intercontinental on howard st

Well decorated, modern style, friendly staff, convenient parking and cab service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cliff house--- on cliff where u watch the pacific waves crash beneath u.... Modern design... Great place for cocktails and watch the sun set over ocean

Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Central Ohio
Nov 16, 2010

Great Hotel

I was really pleased with this hotel. We arrived about 3 hrs earlier than check-in, and pleasantly surprised that our room was ready. They even placed us on a higher floor with a better view. Lobby was clean and inviting and seemed secure and safe. The room was very comfortable and accomodating, guest services called to ask if we needed anything. Three magazines and a San Franscisco guide book were available to read. Other reviews have said rooms are small, but I do not agree, this was the perfect size for the 2 of us. The bed and linens were very soft and comfy, feather-like. The bathroom had good amenities: a scale, hair dryer, mending kit, enough towels, robes, shoe-shine cloth, toiletries. It was clean and the shower was large-sized. No tub, but I prefer just a shower. I visited the concierge who was very helpful. They had print-outs of restaurants and sites they recommended as well as how to get to these places by public transportation (SF does have good transit/bus system, easy to navigate and figure out). It's also an option to email concierge ahead of your stay. If you are going for weekend or holiday and want to hit some of the more touristy/popular areas, you may want to do this because some restaurants and attractions don't have availability if you wait until the last second. Also, get the concierge's card; you can call them during the day if you decide to change plans. I did not use the spa or fitness center, but I checked them out and would have used had I more time on our trip. These areas were clean and quiet. Fitness center was a very good size and seemed to have ample machines. Also did not visit the bar or restaurant. We did order room service one night and was satisfied. The hotel location was good, I thought. Close enough to walk to Union square and the trolley/bus terminal (Powell station), but not right in the middle of the hustle and bustle. We did not have any problems walking back to our hotel at night, either. The Powell station area is busy, and watch for people trying to get "tips" and handouts in this area, though. Overall, I was really pleased with this hotel. I thought is was very very nice, and affordable. The staff was great and friendly. It was comfortable for when we wanted to rest, but close enough to the action and transit spots that we could go out and see everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Union street shops (Cow hollow). We went on Monday, so some shops were closed, but is not at all busy/crazy like union square and is smaller. It's in a nice neighborhood. Has a good mix of popular retail (like nine west and starbucks) and boutiques and bistros. Take the bus, don't walk unless you want to go up and down the very steep hills. The bus we took went through China Town, so you could easily visit both places.

Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Central Ohio
Nov 16, 2010

Great Hotel

I was really pleased with this hotel. We arrived about 3 hrs earlier than check-in, and pleasantly surprised that our room was ready. They even placed us on a higher floor with a better view. Lobby was clean and inviting and seemed secure and safe. The room was very comfortable and accomodating, guest services called to ask if we needed anything. Three magazines and a San Franscisco guide book were available to read. Other reviews have said rooms are small, but I do not agree, this was the perfect size for the 2 of us. The bed and linens were very soft and comfy, feather-like. The bathroom had good amenities: a scale, hair dryer, mending kit, enough towels, robes, shoe-shine cloth, toiletries. It was clean and the shower was large-sized. No tub, but I prefer just a shower. I visited the concierge who was very helpful. They had print-outs of restaurants and sites they recommended as well as how to get to these places by public transportation (SF does have good transit/bus system, easy to navigate and figure out). It's also an option to email concierge ahead of your stay. If you are going for weekend or holiday and want to hit some of the more touristy/popular areas, you may want to do this because some restaurants and attractions don't have availability if you wait until the last second. Also, get the concierge's card; you can call them during the day if you decide to change plans. I did not use the spa or fitness center, but I checked them out and would have used had I more time on our trip. These areas were clean and quiet. Fitness center was a very good size and seemed to have ample machines. Also did not visit the bar or restaurant. We did order room service one night and was satisfied. The hotel location was good, I thought. Close enough to walk to Union square and the trolley/bus terminal (Powell station), but not right in the middle of the hustle and bustle. We did not have any problems walking back to our hotel at night, either. The Powell station area is busy, and watch for people trying to get "tips" and handouts in this area, though. Overall, I was really pleased with this hotel. I thought is was very very nice, and affordable. The staff was great and friendly. It was comfortable for when we wanted to rest, but close enough to the action and transit spots that we could go out and see everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Union street shops (Cow hollow). We went on Monday, so some shops were closed, but is not at all busy/crazy like union square and is smaller. It's in a nice neighborhood. Has a good mix of popular retail (like nine west and starbucks) and boutiques and bistros. Take the bus, don't walk unless you want to go up and down the very steep hills. The bus we took went through China Town, so you could easily visit both places.

Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los angeles
Nov 15, 2010

Solid buiness hotel

Comfortable stay with a friendly and attentive staff. Good gym facility with an excellent lap pool. The restaurant has a very good reputation though I did not have a chance to eat there myself. The location is very convenient..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Slanted Door. Need to make reservations ahead of time.

Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los angeles
Nov 15, 2010

Solid buiness hotel

Comfortable stay with a friendly and attentive staff. Good gym facility with an excellent lap pool. The restaurant has a very good reputation though I did not have a chance to eat there myself. The location is very convenient..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Slanted Door. Need to make reservations ahead of time.

Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicago Booth Phil
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 10, 2010

Excellent Experience, Great Price

The Intercontinental was perfectly located for my business needs and happened to be just close enough to AT & T Park to allow me to experience some Giants mania during the first two games of the World Series (which they soon won) without getting bowled over by happy fans. I was a short cab ride from friends in the Mission and a short walk from Market Street, where there are plenty of shops, restaurants and tourist spots. The new convention center is next door, and a new mall behind the center. I got all my questions answered, an excellent room service breakfast while I worked, splendid view of the bay and a relatively quiet, professional atmosphere in the hotel. For the price, it couldn't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Both AT & T Park and the Ferry Building at the end of Market Street are reasonable walks (8-10 blocks) for able-bodied folks.

Back to menu Return to top