$143 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

4 stars
888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
97 reviews
Great Experience

Our visit in InterContinental San Francisco was short but truly brilliant. Next time I will choose... See full review

  • Friendy
  • Oct 21, 2014
Great modern hotel!

The design is sleek, the rooms are very spacious and have high ceilings, and the hotel is in... See full review

  • Maude Knows
  • Oct 8, 2014
Downtown hotel with an extensive grappa cocktail selection at Bar 888
The InterContinental San Francisco towers over the city, providing one of the newest upscale hotel destinations in the Bay Area. A Michelin-rated restaurant, chic bar, luxurious spa and spacious guest rooms and suites make the hotel a top choice for both business and vacation travel. Rising 32 stories over the South of Market (SoMa) neighborhood, the InterContinental San Francisco hotel provides state-of-the-art meeting and event spaces, as well as convenient access to the Moscone Center and AT&T Park. 
Highlights

  • 24-hour fitness and wellness center
  • Michelin-rated restaurant focuses on seasonal, sustainable cuisine
  • Within walking distance of the Moscone Center
  • Rooms offer spectacular views of the city or the bay

Rooms
All 550 rooms and suites at the InterContinental San Francisco feature rich wood and marble furnishings, spacious work areas, flat-panel TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply) and floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the city or San Francisco Bay. Pets are welcome (fees apply). 
Features
The I-Spa at InterContinental San Francisco invites guests to pamper themselves. The signature I-Spa customized massage begins with a conversation between client and therapist to create a customized treatment protocol, and a blend of essential oil and sound therapies is created for each individual. 
Dining

The Michelin-rated Luce restaurant -- located in the lobby of the InterContinental San Francisco -- serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in a sleek, urban setting. Seasonal, sustainable ingredients are sourced from the farms surrounding San Francisco for dishes such as the farmer's market omelet with goat cheese and baby tomato, and guinea hen with white asparagus. Luce has been recognized as one of the nation's top restaurants by Esquire magazine and Haute Living magazine.

 

Bar 888 at the InterContinental San Francisco offers one of the finest selections of grappa and grappa cocktails in the country. Try the Moscone Pear: Dimmi Herbal-infused Grappa liqueur shaken with fresh pear puree, freshly squeezed lime and lemon juice, and a grape garnish.
Transportation

  • BART stop (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (11.3 mi/18.2 km)

Attractions

  • Westfield San Francisco Centre (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Center (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Yerba Buena Gardens (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Contemporary Jewish Museum (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • AT&T Park (0.8 mi/1.3 km)

Business

  • Business center staffed from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.
  • 43,000 square feet of function space
  • 21 meeting rooms, two ballrooms and three outdoor terraces

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • SoMa: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • SoMa: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.9 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.3 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.4 mi
  • Japantown: 1.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.4 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.8 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.8 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.8 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.9 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.9 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.9 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.9 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 2 mi
  • Lands End: 2.4 mi

Dining

Luce
This Michelin rated hotel restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner in a sleek, urban setting just off of the main lobby is the stage for artisanal California cuisine with world influences. Created with high end, sustainable and seasonal ingredients,
54 Mint
54 Mint is the type of restaurant that makes you feel like you've discovered a gem. A casual Italian restaurant tucked away in the Mint Plaza around the corner from the hotel, chef uses local fish, meat, and produce, but everything ealse comes from Italy.
Oola
Chef owned and operated, Ola Fendert describes his food as " San Francsico Cuisine", but everyone else just describes it as delicious. The roasted beet and watermelon salad, ginger soy glazed baby back ribs, and loaded hamburger are standouts on an alrea
LuLu
LuLu's offers a seasonal Provencal style menu featuring wood fired oven, rotisserie and grilled specialties. The 'family style' cuisine is served in an impressive warehouse dining space. LuLu features an award winning wine list and a wine bar offering ove
Fang
Peter Fang's eponymous restaurant is an "only in San Francisco" experience. Chef Fang works the front of the house tirelessly, asking patrons what type of meat they like, what type of sauce and vegetables they prefer, and then he goes into the kitchen and
Lark Creek Steak
San Francisco celebrity chef Bradley Ogden and partner Ismael Macias have created an American classic steak house that offers upscale dining in a casual atmosphere. Because they are chefs and not just butchers, everything on the menu is worth a try. There
Pazzia
Great Italian food served in a trattoria setting close to the hotel. Excellent pasta, meat and fish dishes made with fresh, local ingredients; and a Roman style pizza that will make your mouth water. A bottle of wine, tiramisu and an espresso later and y
BlueStem Brasserie
Hip, vibrant ambiance and fresh local ingrediants are just some of the highlights of this trendy California Bistro. Located just a few blocks from the hotel, this is a favorite of both locals and out of town guest alike. Finally a restaurant that tastes l

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (97)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 97
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CherrieNYC
Business
New York
May 4, 2014

Good hotel - would stay again

Best location south of Market. Nice fitness center. Good breakfast, albeit expensive. Friendly service. Parking hideously expensive but to be expected. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use discount card for Gump's in room (Intercontinental) and buy something lovely to take home.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sstadelman
Business
Dublin, CA
Apr 14, 2014

Good base camp for night out from SOMA

Checked in at 11:15pm after seeing Willie Nelson in Berkeley, valet-ed the car, met friends at the bar, walked to see dueling pianos @ Union Square, back at ~2. Simple checkout in the morning. Place is clean, comfortable. Umbrella in the closet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandy2244
Business
New York
Apr 7, 2014

San Francisco

The personnel was very nice and friendly, room was clean and made every day. Found it a bit pricey, but then again it's San Francisco, the most expensive city in the world. Food was very expensive. The only bad review will be that they charged my card every day and withheld the money even when I was not making any extra room charges. I'm still waiting for them to refund the money back to my card. I found it unnecessary for them to charge my card over $500 in 3 days when the trip was already paid for and no extra charges were made to the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Cable cars are expensive buy a 3 day pass and you can go every where all day long. Or walk, bring comfortable shoes and a good city map. You will enjoy it, and treat your self to a foot massage when done.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Allen Chai
Business
Orange county
Dec 8, 2013

Luce restuarant is great

Hi Beside the great overall of this hotel, they also have great food. I did the tasting dinner and it was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ghutche
Business
Oakland, ca
Nov 26, 2013

BEST HOTEL EVER AND STAFF

My experience there was a weekend to remember. I went for my birthday and the front desk gave me a complimentary upgrade to this amazing room with a breath taking view. Then I was surprised by a happy birthday cake slice and a complimentary bottle of wine. They gave me the best service ever, everyone was so helpful and amazing. I honestly love this hotel, it felt like home and I also felt like an important person. They make you feel like the most important person staying there. They are also eco friendly, it was an amazing stay! One of remember. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GC and MKG
Business
San Francisco, CA
Oct 18, 2013

Intercontinental in San Fran

All great hotels in today's world should have complimentary internet in the rooms and free wi-fi in general hotel areas. Also, Intercontinental should not charge it's guests for use of the business center (i.e., computer usage and printing fees), especially for small issues. like printing out a few pages of a document from an e-mail.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bingis
Business
Sacramento
Oct 2, 2013

very pleasent stay

Staff was very attentive. hotel very clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the car Garage behind the hotel for your car. Hotel is $50 a night to park and Garage is $30.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TJ Tomas
Business
Sacrament Ca
Jul 29, 2013

SF Giant Game Family Weekend Getaway

Checking in process was absolutely the worst experience. Ritz & Hyatt so much more accomodating Card keys fails to work on club floor --- and hotel gave little to no information regarding its location. Staff failed to check one time on our welfare or apologize for check in difficulties - Would not stay again at any price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mimi and Daddad
Business
Bedford,TX
Jul 21, 2013

Disappointed on a one day trip

I picked the hotel because of a special price. Upon checking in and being assigned a room on the 11th floor, we asked if we could have a higher floor. We were told no because of our special This was not indicated when we made our reservation. The room was nothing special (small and crowded) considering the amount of money were we spending, and the view was terrible. We could see a giant promo of movie on the side of a building and construction cranes. The valet parking was ridicuously expensive. We went walking aournd the area,. It was okay, especially if you want to go shopping. However, not caring about shopping we were sorry we had picked this area stay. There was a nice park nearby at the Moscone center. We went to the hotel bar for a drink and snack, but chose not to eat at the restaurant, We sure wish we had stayed at another hotel on Lombard street that we had stayed at previously. It was much cheaper and had fabulous views of the Golden Gate Bridge. oh well.....next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Scomo's seafood restaurant. It was in the Fisherman's Wharf area. Fabulous food and service. Even thoug it's ot the far away, we would take a taxi instead of driving if we were going again from this distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Martin Boston
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 26, 2013

Excellent Hotel

I stayed for a mixed business and personal trip, and found the hotel to be excellent. Everything is very clean and new looking. The staff are courteous and helpful. The gym is great. The restaurant serves amazing food; I had breakfast several mornings and a burger at the bar one night. There is no "scene" here, the bar is mostly just guests, but for the weekend I had in mind that was perfect. Wifi is not free in your room and valet is expensive, so factor those into your budget, but the level of service is appropriate for the pricing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Novella for a younger bar crowd.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top