InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

4 stars
View map of 999 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
223 out of 223
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LhynAyee
Business
Burbank, CA, USA
Jan 1, 2012

love this hotel

Great location; great service; Room service was mediocre but the Room service staff was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square - Great place to shop! It has almost every store you can think of and it's a short walk from the hotel...but the climb up is a steep one. You can take a cab for 5dollars.

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
helix
Business
/washington DC
Dec 18, 2011

Welcoming, comfortable, first-class

Wonderful experience, great value for the bargain price we found. Loved breakfast at Top of the Mark!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
derwoodfull
Business
San Leandro, CA, USA
Dec 13, 2011

Great getaway in SF

The Mark Hopkins is a top-notch hotel. We stayed in the standard room, but it was comfortable and quiet. Being on Nob Hill is great -- close to everything, easy to get cabs, public transportation or walk to our destinations. The only sour point -- WiFi service is pricey and charged per device, while at the same time being very poor. The staff was kind enough to remove one charge when I complained, but if you charge for WiFi, it should work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great tapas place just a few blocks down Mason Street.

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pjames
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Dec 10, 2011

Historic Hotel

Beautiful old world Lobby. It is Christmas Season and the hotel was decorated nicely with a big ginger bread house and Christmas tree.. The hot cider and cookies in the afternoon, hit the spot! Free coffee in the lobby in the morning. The room was comfortable and in good condition. The Top of the Mark offers a spectacular view of the city and great live music. ( free cover charge for guests) Beware there is a bit of an steep uphill walk from Union Square. The only fault was the low water pressure in the shower and lavatory.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the food at John's grill. Good prices and high quality seafood and steaks.

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LizaM
Business
Massachusetts
Oct 25, 2011

Very nice hotel, too expensive though

We had a nice experience, but thought it was too expensive for what we received. The room was small, no chest of drawers for our clothes. Although the beds were the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in (at a hotel).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many shops & restaurants in walking distance.

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happiness
Business
Reno, NV, USA
Oct 14, 2011

Couple Getaway

Very nice. Staff was very attentive, especially at the Top of the Mark. Couldn't be nicer or wanting to please the customer. For room price, was pretty standard. Could use a small couch or another comfy chair. Bed was out of this world. Very comfortable!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SanFran Lover
Business
Boulder, CO, USA
Sep 30, 2011

Delightful 3-Day Getaway

We arrived on a Monday afternoon with perfect weather! Sunshine and 70. The Hotel is a landmark in San Francisco and has lots of history atop "Nob Hill". We enjoyed the location as we could go down to Union Square, China Town or Fisherman's Wharf and even took a Pedi Cab to AT&T park to see a Giants game.....each area is very walkable(for a fit person) but will take some comfortable shoes. The cable cars run right out in front of the hotel and are a MUST while in the city. The conceirge in the hotel was very helpful and recommended a van tour of the city which exceeded our expectations. The Top of the Mark is a great spot to watch the sunset and enjoy a drink. The beds were extremely soft and we enjoyed the view we had out of our room. It was a quick trip, but we enjoyed every minute of it and the "Mark" was a great place to stay. We would return again if the opportunity arises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Nob Hill Cafe was a delightful place to enjoy dinner. It is a very short flat walk from the Mark and the food and service were great!

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
X Files
Business
central valley of CA
Sep 5, 2011

Upgraded room

When we checked in, we rec'd an upgrade to a suite on the 16th floor over looking the bay. It was usually a $2,000 a night room. It was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave999
Business
Lynnwood, WA, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Bathroom needs a fan

The room was very nice, but the bathroom was a little mildewy, probably because there was no exhaust fan in the window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring your own bottled water, as the hotel charges $6.50 for 750 ml bottle

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Wanderer
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Aug 22, 2011

BEAUTIFUL HOTEL FOR WEEKEND GETAWAY

The Mark Hopkins is a beautiful, classic hotel. The bed was perfect. The room was a little small, but this is a very old hotel that has been retrofitted to meet the needs of the modern traveler (ie: tv, internet access, king size bed, etc) which takes up some extra room. The room service food was excellent. The only complaint, and unfortunately a big one, is the noise level outside. We were on the 12th floor facing the main entrance. All we heard all night long was the doorman's whistle, screaming guests down in the parking area, car horns, etc. We had to turn on the TV to block out the noise so we could sleep. The windows are old so there is no sound proofing. Other than the noise, we had a great visit. Classic San Francisco!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

THE ROOM SERVICE FOOD IS VERY GOOD. WE HAD BOTH EVENING SNACKS AND BREAKFAST. WE WOULD ORDER FROM ROOM SERVICE AGAIN.

Back to menu Return to top