$251 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

4 stars
999 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
357 reviews
excellent!!!!

Perfect location. Walking distance to union square. Plenty of restaurants and bars around. Easy to... See full review

  • Janezo
  • Jun 30, 2014
Convenient lication

The hotel was very nice and comfortable. We loved it. the only draw back there are not any free... See full review

  • Solarray
  • Jun 3, 2014
Beautiful views of the city at historical, iconic Nob Hill hotel

The Intercontinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco opened in 1926 at the crest of Nob Hill and has been wowing visitors ever since. Visitors flock from all over the city to experience The Top of the Mark, a restaurant and lounge on the 19th floor of the hotel, which showcases breathtaking views of the entire city and bay. The lobby, with its ornate columns and marble accents, is a fitting welcome. Upstairs, rooms are intimate and modern in style and conveniences.

Highlights
  • Dine at Top of the Mark restaurant for views of the city
  • Located at the crest of Nob Hill
  • Relax in restored lobby with touches from yesteryear
Rooms

Accommodations -- 348 rooms and 32 suites -- have crown moldings and other subtle touches that capture the authentic turn-of-the-century feel, yet the rooms boast modern conveniences. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen television, granite-countertop bathrooms, spacious work desks and plush bedding. Members of the property's Lobby Club receive complimentary room upgrades, late check-out and daily food and beverage presentations. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award. It was named for Mark Hopkins, a founder of the Central Pacific Railroad, on whose land the hotel was built.

The property offers complimentary 24-hour access to cardio and free-weight machines in its on-site fitness center, as well as complimentary town car service into the Financial District on weekday mornings.

The real show-stopper at the Mark Hopkins is the Top of the Mark, a restaurant and lounge on the 19th floor. The hotel opened in 1926 and this eatery opened 13 years later, in 1939. Since then it has been a favorite spot for many of San Francisco's rich and famous. The menu is eclectic; a drink list boasts 100 different martinis.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/21 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable cars (1 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • North Beach
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 17,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 19 total meeting rooms, including two spacious ballrooms

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Live entertainment
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7916 -122.4107
Nearby airports
Pier 39, (OAK), 19.00, MI; One Hour: Coit Tower, (SFO), 15.00, MI; Half a Day: Muir Woods National Monument, (SJC), 56.10, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Grace Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1 mi
  • SoMa: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.2 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.3 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.3 mi
  • Lands End: 1.6 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 1.9 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2 mi

Dining

Acquerello
Tip: With elegant surroundings and excellent service, Acquerello is a real local gem. Be sure to meet GianCarlo, the owner. An upscale classic Italian restaurant. The look is spare, with gleaming silver and delicate crystal glasses contrasting with the b
Venticello
Tip: Ideal for a romantic dinner, Venticello will spoil you with its remarkable fare and friendly service. A roaring fireplace, cable cars passing by outside and great views of the bay make this intimate northern Italian restaurant the quintessential San
Asia SF
Tip: Slightly risque but a fantastic place with outrageous entertainment, tasty food and sweet cocktails. 'Gender illusionists' will serve you exotic cocktails and delicious food in a party atmosphere.
Bourbon & Branch
Tip; This venue is part of our Speakeasy Package at the hotel. Contact the Concierge team for more details. Bourbon and Branch is a glimpse back on the 1920's and the era of Prohibition. Experience the ambiance of that time in an actual speakeasy.
Farallon
Tip: Enjoy cocktails in the jellyfish lounge. A dazzling downtown underwater themed restaurant.
Fleur de Lys
Tip: If you buy one of chef Hubert Keller's 'Top Chef' cook books he will come out and autograph it for you. Exquisite French restaurant five blocks from the hotel. Decor includes an intimate 'tented' dining room and extensive wine list. The service is f
Fluid
Tip: Enjoy music from SF's top local DJ. Very exclusive but the concierge can get you in. One of a kind ultra cool disco lounge.
Supperclub
Tip: Only one seating available per day, so book early. Concierge can help with reservations. You lie on a bed and dine on your seven course meal while being entertained by jugglers, magicians, singers and fire eaters.
Bix
Tip: Serves up some of the best martinis in town. Supper club atmosphere with live jazz every night.
McCormick and Kuletos
Tip: A short cable car ride on the Hyde Street line. Try the signature crab cakes and oysters. Famous for its view, this is a must. But it can get very busy.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (357)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
357 out of 357
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pjames
Houston, TX, USA
Dec 10, 2011

Historic Hotel

Beautiful old world Lobby. It is Christmas Season and the hotel was decorated nicely with a big ginger bread house and Christmas tree.. The hot cider and cookies in the afternoon, hit the spot! Free coffee in the lobby in the morning. The room was comfortable and in good condition. The Top of the Mark offers a spectacular view of the city and great live music. ( free cover charge for guests) Beware there is a bit of an steep uphill walk from Union Square. The only fault was the low water pressure in the shower and lavatory.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the food at John's grill. Good prices and high quality seafood and steaks.

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LizaM
Massachusetts
Oct 25, 2011

Very nice hotel, too expensive though

We had a nice experience, but thought it was too expensive for what we received. The room was small, no chest of drawers for our clothes. Although the beds were the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in (at a hotel).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many shops & restaurants in walking distance.

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happiness
Reno, NV, USA
Oct 14, 2011

Couple Getaway

Very nice. Staff was very attentive, especially at the Top of the Mark. Couldn't be nicer or wanting to please the customer. For room price, was pretty standard. Could use a small couch or another comfy chair. Bed was out of this world. Very comfortable!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SanFran Lover
Boulder, CO, USA
Sep 30, 2011

Delightful 3-Day Getaway

We arrived on a Monday afternoon with perfect weather! Sunshine and 70. The Hotel is a landmark in San Francisco and has lots of history atop "Nob Hill". We enjoyed the location as we could go down to Union Square, China Town or Fisherman's Wharf and even took a Pedi Cab to AT&T park to see a Giants game.....each area is very walkable(for a fit person) but will take some comfortable shoes. The cable cars run right out in front of the hotel and are a MUST while in the city. The conceirge in the hotel was very helpful and recommended a van tour of the city which exceeded our expectations. The Top of the Mark is a great spot to watch the sunset and enjoy a drink. The beds were extremely soft and we enjoyed the view we had out of our room. It was a quick trip, but we enjoyed every minute of it and the "Mark" was a great place to stay. We would return again if the opportunity arises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Nob Hill Cafe was a delightful place to enjoy dinner. It is a very short flat walk from the Mark and the food and service were great!

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SanFran Lover
Boulder, CO, USA
Sep 30, 2011

Delightful 3-Day Getaway

We arrived on a Monday afternoon with perfect weather! Sunshine and 70. The Hotel is a landmark in San Francisco and has lots of history atop "Nob Hill". We enjoyed the location as we could go down to Union Square, China Town or Fisherman's Wharf and even took a Pedi Cab to AT&T park to see a Giants game.....each area is very walkable(for a fit person) but will take some comfortable shoes. The cable cars run right out in front of the hotel and are a MUST while in the city. The conceirge in the hotel was very helpful and recommended a van tour of the city which exceeded our expectations. The Top of the Mark is a great spot to watch the sunset and enjoy a drink. The beds were extremely soft and we enjoyed the view we had out of our room. It was a quick trip, but we enjoyed every minute of it and the "Mark" was a great place to stay. We would return again if the opportunity arises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Nob Hill Cafe was a delightful place to enjoy dinner. It is a very short flat walk from the Mark and the food and service were great!

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
X Files
central valley of CA
Sep 5, 2011

Upgraded room

When we checked in, we rec'd an upgrade to a suite on the 16th floor over looking the bay. It was usually a $2,000 a night room. It was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
X Files
central valley of CA
Sep 5, 2011

Upgraded room

When we checked in, we rec'd an upgrade to a suite on the 16th floor over looking the bay. It was usually a $2,000 a night room. It was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave999
Business
Lynnwood, WA, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Bathroom needs a fan

The room was very nice, but the bathroom was a little mildewy, probably because there was no exhaust fan in the window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring your own bottled water, as the hotel charges $6.50 for 750 ml bottle

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave999
Business
Lynnwood, WA, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Bathroom needs a fan

The room was very nice, but the bathroom was a little mildewy, probably because there was no exhaust fan in the window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring your own bottled water, as the hotel charges $6.50 for 750 ml bottle

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Wanderer
Sacramento, CA, USA
Aug 22, 2011

BEAUTIFUL HOTEL FOR WEEKEND GETAWAY

The Mark Hopkins is a beautiful, classic hotel. The bed was perfect. The room was a little small, but this is a very old hotel that has been retrofitted to meet the needs of the modern traveler (ie: tv, internet access, king size bed, etc) which takes up some extra room. The room service food was excellent. The only complaint, and unfortunately a big one, is the noise level outside. We were on the 12th floor facing the main entrance. All we heard all night long was the doorman's whistle, screaming guests down in the parking area, car horns, etc. We had to turn on the TV to block out the noise so we could sleep. The windows are old so there is no sound proofing. Other than the noise, we had a great visit. Classic San Francisco!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

THE ROOM SERVICE FOOD IS VERY GOOD. WE HAD BOTH EVENING SNACKS AND BREAKFAST. WE WOULD ORDER FROM ROOM SERVICE AGAIN.

Back to menu Return to top