$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

4 stars
View map of 999 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
224 out of 224
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SF weekender
Couples
Austin, Texas
Dec 5, 2012

Terrific Hotel

Quick, 3 night stay on a short outing to San Francisco at the Intercontinental Mark Hopkins hotel. Very accomodating and fantistic hotel in a great location! Rooms have all the necessities and are quiet. Would stay there anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DPG1234
Business
New York City
Nov 6, 2012

Not good

I was in SF for work and rented a car while I was there. Parking here is the worse and really expensive. There we sever weddings happening and I think some kind of conference (a lot of people wearing lanyards with their names) so the valet were backed up and it took about 30 minutes to get my car. When I asked the concierge a really tall guy with a southern accent if I could park the car myself he looked at me like I was from Mars and said I suppose so just pull into the garage—I then asked where the garage was located and again with a snide look says California. The room was nice and comfortable with a great view except the water pressure in the shower was so week that I had to rinse my hair in the sink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Smart Nice Guy
Couples
Southern California
Oct 29, 2012

Classy experience!

Nob Hill, The Top of the Mark, San Francisco, California! What more could you want for a classy weekend getaway? Oh, perfect weather too and great restaurants only a short cab ride away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks nearby which can be combined with your morning exercise routine: three blocks downhill, get coffee, trek straight uphill for three blocks! Done!

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KCBS
Couples
Chicago, IL
Oct 17, 2012

Anniversary Getaway

We chose the Mark Hopkins to stay at for our one year wedding anniversary trip to SF. When we checked in I asked for a room on a high floor to take advantage of the views, the front desk said all they could do was floor 6 and I was slightly disappointed but figured it would be okay. When we got to our room we were so disappointed, it was at the end of the hallway crammed into a corner with an adjoining door. I made my husband do something we have NEVER done before and call the front desk and ask for another room. They said they had a room available outside of the elevator on the same floor and we agreed to take it. When we opened the door to the 2nd room it was amazing; spacious with a huge bathroom, plenty of room around the bed and great views outside of 2 windows. I was just surprised that when asking for a special room we were given something small and cramped when something else was available. Other then that our 2 night stay was fantastic. Definitely check out the views at the Top of the Mark bar and DEFINITELY ask to be switched to a different room if you are not pleased with your original. I don't think I would stay here again due to its location (at the top of a steep hill) but no complaints otherwise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
annette tom
Couples
antioch ca
Oct 11, 2012

beautiful

nice but expensive for just an overnighter parking was too high

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jan the tour guide
Friends
tempe, az
Sep 18, 2012

Great Girls Trip

Loved the view from our room! We were on on a girls trip and had a view of the bay and the mens club across the street. Close to Chinatown for gift shopping. Walked to Little Italy, fishermans wharf and union square. Had a drink at top of the Mark with oldies dancing music. Hotel staff very helpfull for places to eat and boarding passes. Rooms were tight for 4 women, 2 beds and 1 bathroom, but that was our fault. Housekeeping responded to all of our requests. The walk down to everything was enjoyable. The walk up was a challenge for the other 3 women.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For souveners Chinatown cant be beat! The best shopping and food for the best price.. Fishermans Wharf had great views and good food.

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GB Yea
Couples
IL
Sep 15, 2012

A great hotel in a great location, and the room rate was good.

Excellent in every way, especially since we had a corner room with windows on two sides. Further, the room was large and quite comfortable....an excellent value. Would clearly choose to stay at the Mark Hopkins again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Boulevard Restaurant, pricey, but worth the money.

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GB Yea
Couples
IL
Sep 14, 2012

Couple Getaway

A great experience. A hotel that is located in a great in a beautiful place and is very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Boulevard Restaruant

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Artimus the dog
Business
Antelope Ca
Aug 21, 2012

Will stay there again when we go back to San Francisco

Room was good size and clean. Parking on the expensive side. Staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ChardonnayZD
Couples
Lynbrook, New York
Aug 16, 2012

Really Loved It

No two ways about it, this is a quality hotel, don't think we should have to pay for the Wifi or be over charged for parking, but I would stay with them again because it was so beautiful and comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

You are on vacation, enjoy youself, we all go back to work!

Back to menu Return to top