$134 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

4 stars
999 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
226 reviews
Gorgeous

We had a room that looked out over the beautiful entrance and I was so pleased with our tasteful... See full review

  • Mayor1
  • Nov 25, 2014
Wonderful.

It was beautiful and perfect. We had a scenic view. See full review

  • Shannon Papa
  • Sep 8, 2014
Beautiful views of the city at historical, iconic Nob Hill hotel

The Intercontinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco opened in 1926 at the crest of Nob Hill and has been wowing visitors ever since. Visitors flock from all over the city to experience The Top of the Mark, a restaurant and lounge on the 19th floor of the hotel, which showcases breathtaking views of the entire city and bay. The lobby, with its ornate columns and marble accents, is a fitting welcome. Upstairs, rooms are intimate and modern in style and conveniences.

Highlights
  • Dine at Top of the Mark restaurant for views of the city
  • Located at the crest of Nob Hill
  • Relax in restored lobby with touches from yesteryear
Rooms

Accommodations -- 348 rooms and 32 suites -- have crown moldings and other subtle touches that capture the authentic turn-of-the-century feel, yet the rooms boast modern conveniences. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen television, granite-countertop bathrooms, spacious work desks and plush bedding. Members of the property's Lobby Club receive complimentary room upgrades, late check-out and daily food and beverage presentations. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award. It was named for Mark Hopkins, a founder of the Central Pacific Railroad, on whose land the hotel was built.

The property offers complimentary 24-hour access to cardio and free-weight machines in its on-site fitness center, as well as complimentary town car service into the Financial District on weekday mornings.

The real show-stopper at the Mark Hopkins is the Top of the Mark, a restaurant and lounge on the 19th floor. The hotel opened in 1926 and this eatery opened 13 years later, in 1939. Since then it has been a favorite spot for many of San Francisco's rich and famous. The menu is eclectic; a drink list boasts 100 different martinis.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/21 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable cars (1 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • North Beach
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 17,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 19 total meeting rooms, including two spacious ballrooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Live entertainment
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Grace Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1 mi
  • SoMa: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.2 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.3 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.3 mi
  • Lands End: 1.6 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 1.9 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2.1 mi

Dining

Bourbon & Branch
Tip; This venue is part of our Speakeasy Package at the hotel. Contact the Concierge team for more details. Bourbon and Branch is a glimpse back on the 1920's and the era of Prohibition. Experience the ambiance of that time in an actual speakeasy.
Farallon
Tip: Enjoy cocktails in the jellyfish lounge. A dazzling downtown underwater themed restaurant.
Fleur de Lys
Tip: If you buy one of chef Hubert Keller's 'Top Chef' cook books he will come out and autograph it for you. Exquisite French restaurant five blocks from the hotel. Decor includes an intimate 'tented' dining room and extensive wine list. The service is f
Fluid
Tip: Enjoy music from SF's top local DJ. Very exclusive but the concierge can get you in. One of a kind ultra cool disco lounge.
Supperclub
Tip: Only one seating available per day, so book early. Concierge can help with reservations. You lie on a bed and dine on your seven course meal while being entertained by jugglers, magicians, singers and fire eaters.
Bix
Tip: Serves up some of the best martinis in town. Supper club atmosphere with live jazz every night.
McCormick and Kuletos
Tip: A short cable car ride on the Hyde Street line. Try the signature crab cakes and oysters. Famous for its view, this is a must. But it can get very busy.
North Beach Restaurant
Tip: Has an amazing 500 bottle wine cellar, ranked as one of the best in the city. The 31 year old restaurant, located in the heart of 'little Italy', serves homemade pasta and fresh fish.
Tadich Grill
Tip: Very popular for its local seafood. They do not take reservations but it is definitely worth the wait. Established in 1849 during the gold rush, it's one of the oldest surviving restaurants in the country.
Top of the Mark
Just when you think you’ve seen the best of San Francisco’s sights, the Top of the Mark will thrill you all over again. The legendary sky lounge lays the city at your feet with near-360 degree vistas that showcase the Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman’s Wharf

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (226)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
226 out of 226
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Valpa
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 12, 2012

Comfortable but several stupid amenities.

1. The TV stand is not safe, it is murble or like with sharp corners of approximately 6 inches hanging out and high enough so that I hit my head when collecting my luggage, and got a cat on my head. 2. The hand washing tap is showerlike, so you spill water all around. 3. Not enough parking, even waiting space for cars outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HookEm TX
Business
Austin, Texas
Jul 9, 2012

Great Location and Friendly Staff

My wife and I decided on the Mark Hopkins for our Wedding anniversary. I emailed the staff months ahead of time and requested a room with a good view. They didnt disappoint and gave me a view of the cable car line on California street and the church. My only complaint about our room was that it was right in front of the elivator which was a bit noisey. The hotel is old so don't expect large rooms. We noticed a lot of noise coming from water pipes inside the walls and we were a little disappointed by the size of the bathtub. When you get a delux suite, I think you should get something a little better than an average bath tub. Overall, the hotel is a great location but make sure you wear your hiking boots! If you're looking for a place to eat thats outside of the hotel (room service is a fortune at the Mark Hopkins), 2 blocks isnt far in most cities, but in San Francisco?? Be ready for that hill. Oh and last thing...Parking is $52 a Day and the garage is very difficult to get in to. Delivery trucks tend to block the enterence to the garage and it is next to impossible to back out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coucou Bamboo
Business
Chicago
Jul 8, 2012

Good location and service

I got a good deal for this hotel. Only a thing i did not like it because there was no hair dryer in my bathroom. Otherwise, it would be just perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
unlucky larry
Business
venice beach
Jun 30, 2012

lousey place to stay

They are hugh cheapskates.. $12 for wifi perday.. $40 perday for a contential breakfast.. no pool, bad menu for watching TV. hard to find out what was playing... $60 per day to park a car.. Over all it was not a place i would recommend or stay at ever again much better deals all over the city.. they also have door men that blow loud whisels to call cabs.. goes on all day and most of the night and is unescapable from the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ltc taro
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 21, 2012

Good stay

Everything god during stay in hotel. That all I can take comment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wolfman9
Business
Detroit, MI USA
Jun 16, 2012

nice weekend getaway

Easy access from BART. And right on cable car lines (get the unlimited muni pass).. Very nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
drdoall
Business
ft. lauderdale
Jun 1, 2012

Look Elsewhere

Billed as a top hotel, we found location terrible. All to see or visit is downhill. Top of the Mark is a plus, but there is no restaurant. Coffee in room is provided some days and not others. Desk clerks are coldly efficent and inhospitable. Fairmont across the street is a far better value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Best Dim Sum in San Francisco

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jojok500
Business
LA, CA
May 19, 2012

nice location; a bit pricey for room

decor and location nice room was average. For over $300 per night i expected a bit more. wi fi very fast though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diana
Business
Tustin, CA
May 19, 2012

Well worth it

Great experience at this hotel. Lovely lobby; professional, friendly, and accomodating staff; free apples at the front desk. Enjoyed the lounge on the top floor; romantic and great view of SF. Room very large, clean and comfortable for two with great view of downtown SF. Not too bad of a walk to Chinatown, Financial District, and Fisherman's Wharf (I walked to all three and back). Price for overnight parking quite steep (eek!). Would come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peter At the Mark
Business
Junction City, Oregon
May 16, 2012

Exceptional Weekend

Our stay at the Mark Hopkins was very pleasant indeed. The staff was friendly and resourceful, and you can't beat the view from the Top of the Mark. The room was spacious and well appointed. The location of the hotel was ideal, being near to all the activities we wished to engage in. One day we drove to Rohnert Park to attend a graduation event, and connect with family. The parking staff at the hotel was efficient in retrieving our vehicle and parking it when we returned at the end of the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dont' miss the Top of the Mark

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top