$166 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

4 stars
999 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
225 reviews
Wonderful.

It was beautiful and perfect. We had a scenic view. See full review

  • Shannon Papa
  • Sep 8, 2014
SF's Finest

Not only is this a landmark in and of itself, but the service and the rooms are incredible. I have... See full review

  • RobMark
  • Aug 20, 2014
Beautiful views of the city at historical, iconic Nob Hill hotel

The Intercontinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco opened in 1926 at the crest of Nob Hill and has been wowing visitors ever since. Visitors flock from all over the city to experience The Top of the Mark, a restaurant and lounge on the 19th floor of the hotel, which showcases breathtaking views of the entire city and bay. The lobby, with its ornate columns and marble accents, is a fitting welcome. Upstairs, rooms are intimate and modern in style and conveniences.

Highlights
  • Dine at Top of the Mark restaurant for views of the city
  • Located at the crest of Nob Hill
  • Relax in restored lobby with touches from yesteryear
Rooms

Accommodations -- 348 rooms and 32 suites -- have crown moldings and other subtle touches that capture the authentic turn-of-the-century feel, yet the rooms boast modern conveniences. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen television, granite-countertop bathrooms, spacious work desks and plush bedding. Members of the property's Lobby Club receive complimentary room upgrades, late check-out and daily food and beverage presentations. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award. It was named for Mark Hopkins, a founder of the Central Pacific Railroad, on whose land the hotel was built.

The property offers complimentary 24-hour access to cardio and free-weight machines in its on-site fitness center, as well as complimentary town car service into the Financial District on weekday mornings.

The real show-stopper at the Mark Hopkins is the Top of the Mark, a restaurant and lounge on the 19th floor. The hotel opened in 1926 and this eatery opened 13 years later, in 1939. Since then it has been a favorite spot for many of San Francisco's rich and famous. The menu is eclectic; a drink list boasts 100 different martinis.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/21 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable cars (1 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • North Beach
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 17,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 19 total meeting rooms, including two spacious ballrooms

Hotel Map

37.7916 -122.4107
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 19.00, MI, NW; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 15.00, MI, N; Mineta San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 56.10, MI, N;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Live entertainment
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Grace Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1 mi
  • SoMa: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.2 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.3 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.3 mi
  • Lands End: 1.6 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 1.9 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2.1 mi

Dining

Acquerello
Tip: With elegant surroundings and excellent service, Acquerello is a real local gem. Be sure to meet GianCarlo, the owner. An upscale classic Italian restaurant. The look is spare, with gleaming silver and delicate crystal glasses contrasting with the b
Venticello
Tip: Ideal for a romantic dinner, Venticello will spoil you with its remarkable fare and friendly service. A roaring fireplace, cable cars passing by outside and great views of the bay make this intimate northern Italian restaurant the quintessential San
Asia SF
Tip: Slightly risque but a fantastic place with outrageous entertainment, tasty food and sweet cocktails. 'Gender illusionists' will serve you exotic cocktails and delicious food in a party atmosphere.
Bourbon & Branch
Tip; This venue is part of our Speakeasy Package at the hotel. Contact the Concierge team for more details. Bourbon and Branch is a glimpse back on the 1920's and the era of Prohibition. Experience the ambiance of that time in an actual speakeasy.
Farallon
Tip: Enjoy cocktails in the jellyfish lounge. A dazzling downtown underwater themed restaurant.
Fleur de Lys
Tip: If you buy one of chef Hubert Keller's 'Top Chef' cook books he will come out and autograph it for you. Exquisite French restaurant five blocks from the hotel. Decor includes an intimate 'tented' dining room and extensive wine list. The service is f
Fluid
Tip: Enjoy music from SF's top local DJ. Very exclusive but the concierge can get you in. One of a kind ultra cool disco lounge.
Supperclub
Tip: Only one seating available per day, so book early. Concierge can help with reservations. You lie on a bed and dine on your seven course meal while being entertained by jugglers, magicians, singers and fire eaters.
Bix
Tip: Serves up some of the best martinis in town. Supper club atmosphere with live jazz every night.
McCormick and Kuletos
Tip: A short cable car ride on the Hyde Street line. Try the signature crab cakes and oysters. Famous for its view, this is a must. But it can get very busy.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (225)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
225 out of 225
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Smart Nice Guy
Business
Southern California
Oct 29, 2012

Classy experience!

Nob Hill, The Top of the Mark, San Francisco, California! What more could you want for a classy weekend getaway? Oh, perfect weather too and great restaurants only a short cab ride away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks nearby which can be combined with your morning exercise routine: three blocks downhill, get coffee, trek straight uphill for three blocks! Done!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KCBS
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 17, 2012

Anniversary Getaway

We chose the Mark Hopkins to stay at for our one year wedding anniversary trip to SF. When we checked in I asked for a room on a high floor to take advantage of the views, the front desk said all they could do was floor 6 and I was slightly disappointed but figured it would be okay. When we got to our room we were so disappointed, it was at the end of the hallway crammed into a corner with an adjoining door. I made my husband do something we have NEVER done before and call the front desk and ask for another room. They said they had a room available outside of the elevator on the same floor and we agreed to take it. When we opened the door to the 2nd room it was amazing; spacious with a huge bathroom, plenty of room around the bed and great views outside of 2 windows. I was just surprised that when asking for a special room we were given something small and cramped when something else was available. Other then that our 2 night stay was fantastic. Definitely check out the views at the Top of the Mark bar and DEFINITELY ask to be switched to a different room if you are not pleased with your original. I don't think I would stay here again due to its location (at the top of a steep hill) but no complaints otherwise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
annette tom
Business
antioch ca
Oct 11, 2012

beautiful

nice but expensive for just an overnighter parking was too high

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jan the tour guide
Business
tempe, az
Sep 18, 2012

Great Girls Trip

Loved the view from our room! We were on on a girls trip and had a view of the bay and the mens club across the street. Close to Chinatown for gift shopping. Walked to Little Italy, fishermans wharf and union square. Had a drink at top of the Mark with oldies dancing music. Hotel staff very helpfull for places to eat and boarding passes. Rooms were tight for 4 women, 2 beds and 1 bathroom, but that was our fault. Housekeeping responded to all of our requests. The walk down to everything was enjoyable. The walk up was a challenge for the other 3 women.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For souveners Chinatown cant be beat! The best shopping and food for the best price.. Fishermans Wharf had great views and good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GB Yea
Business
IL
Sep 15, 2012

A great hotel in a great location, and the room rate was good.

Excellent in every way, especially since we had a corner room with windows on two sides. Further, the room was large and quite comfortable....an excellent value. Would clearly choose to stay at the Mark Hopkins again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Boulevard Restaurant, pricey, but worth the money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GB Yea
Business
IL
Sep 14, 2012

Couple Getaway

A great experience. A hotel that is located in a great in a beautiful place and is very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Boulevard Restaruant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Artimus the dog
Business
Antelope Ca
Aug 21, 2012

Will stay there again when we go back to San Francisco

Room was good size and clean. Parking on the expensive side. Staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ChardonnayZD
Business
Lynbrook, New York
Aug 16, 2012

Really Loved It

No two ways about it, this is a quality hotel, don't think we should have to pay for the Wifi or be over charged for parking, but I would stay with them again because it was so beautiful and comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

You are on vacation, enjoy youself, we all go back to work!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Raydah
Business
Chandler, Az
Jul 29, 2012

Never Again

My stay at the Mark Hopkins was probably the worse experience I have had with a hotel. $120 to park, for 2 days, $6 for a 6oz soda, no ice service on the floor, no curtains in the room. I love SF but next time I will stay somewhere near Market Street....will never stay at the Mark Hopkins again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Do not plan on walking to dining.....unless you like walking big hills.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Valpa
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 12, 2012

Comfortable but several stupid amenities.

1. The TV stand is not safe, it is murble or like with sharp corners of approximately 6 inches hanging out and high enough so that I hit my head when collecting my luggage, and got a cat on my head. 2. The hand washing tap is showerlike, so you spill water all around. 3. Not enough parking, even waiting space for cars outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top