$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

4 stars
View map of 999 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
223 out of 223
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GB Yea
IL
Sep 14, 2012

Couple Getaway

A great experience. A hotel that is located in a great in a beautiful place and is very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Boulevard Restaruant

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LUM17
Business
Southampton, NY
Jan 20, 2014

BEWARE FEMALE TRAVELERS - THIS HOTEL WILL NOT PROTECT YOUR SAFETY!

Let me start by saying that I've NEVER written a bad review in all my years of traveling the world - including my job producing and directing for The Travel Channel & Discovery. The Intercontinental Mark Hopkins hotel in San Francisco left me stranded at the waterfront wharf at 11pm at night when I told them I was alone and afraid and needed their help. They refused to call me a cab stating it was against their policy. the hotel refused to call me a cab saying it was against their policy! I told them I was alone at the wharf . The hotel said they couldn't call me a cab but they could give me a number. I said I didn't have a pen to write it down and that it was dark and desolate needed their help and they said, "that's our policy, sorry, call back if you want a cab number" and then hung up on me! I called them back to get number and beg at this point for them to help me by calling a cab for me - a female guest alone and somewhat upset at this point - they rattled off number which I forgot and when I called back - they rattled it off and hung up again.I'm a New Yorker and comfortable in any situation but this was crazy and I want to warn other female guests and have the Intercontinental change their policy. I asked the Fairmont hotel across the street the next day that if a guest called in for a cab from outside location and the concierge was of course they would!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
S.Spiff
Business
Orange County, CA
Jan 1, 2014

Tops for thr top

The Mark Hopkins is truly a first class hotel with all of the first lass perks: views, staff, food, and location. A stay here always adds to the San Francisco experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mddancer
Business
Napa, California
Dec 26, 2013

Mark Hopkins San Francisco

We were pleased with the accommodations and the complimentary access to the Top of the Mark. However, the Christmas display next door at the Fairmount put the Mark Hopkins lobby to shame.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The City View which is only open for lunch was a great dim sum experience! Be sure to have reservations.

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tooner
Business
Eau Claire WI
Dec 7, 2013

A step back in time

A fantastic old hotel. Nice to see all the photos back in the day. Neat location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
marinjet
Business
San Jose
Dec 5, 2013

This is the place to stay!

We arrived and the type of room we chose was not available. The front desk person was kind enough to upgrade us to a corner room in the next grade up. Everyone was wonderful. The only drawback I can even mention is that it's 59.00 to park your car. You might want to make other arrangements. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The bergens
Business
Fresno, California
Dec 2, 2013

A couples get away

When I first saw the mark Hopkins intercontinental hotel I was in awe. The building perched on top of the hill looked executive and posh. The location and the ambience inside was welcoming. I would definitely stay there again. The staff were all polite and respectful. The. Band at the top of the mark was good and I enjoyed my evening up there. The view of san francisco was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at fisherman's wharf or by the union square district. The cable car is around the corner from the hotel. Dinning is upstairs at the top of the mark , nice view but very expensive.

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Urban Outing
Business
Redding, CA
Nov 18, 2013

SF Weekender

Stayed for a weekend in the City. Enjoyed a beverage and the view at Top of the Mark. Staff all very professional and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Segway tours at Golden Gate Park was awesome.

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nob Hill traveler
Business
Washington, D.C.
Nov 4, 2013

Business trip

Staff were extremely gracious and helpful. Will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family Man II
Business
St Louis, MO
Jul 16, 2013

Family Getaway

Great location atop Nob Hill and 1 block away from California and Powell cable car lines. Room was very clean and staff very courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
San Fran Noob
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 26, 2013

First time in San Francisco

We had a wonderful stay at the Intercontinental Mark Hopkins. Fabulous location, friendly and attentive staff and an excellent room for the price we paid. The only thing missing here are amenities such as a gift shop for those forgotten essentials and a pool. Given the historic nature of the property the lack of the pool is understandable. The Fairmont next door has a gift shop but it would be nice not to have to dash across the street. Other than that, great experience here and would certainly stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the Tadich Grill for dinner - well worth the short trip and the short wait.

Back to menu Return to top