$134 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

4 stars
999 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
226 reviews
Gorgeous

We had a room that looked out over the beautiful entrance and I was so pleased with our tasteful... See full review

  • Mayor1
  • Nov 25, 2014
Wonderful.

It was beautiful and perfect. We had a scenic view. See full review

  • Shannon Papa
  • Sep 8, 2014
Beautiful views of the city at historical, iconic Nob Hill hotel

The Intercontinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco opened in 1926 at the crest of Nob Hill and has been wowing visitors ever since. Visitors flock from all over the city to experience The Top of the Mark, a restaurant and lounge on the 19th floor of the hotel, which showcases breathtaking views of the entire city and bay. The lobby, with its ornate columns and marble accents, is a fitting welcome. Upstairs, rooms are intimate and modern in style and conveniences.

Highlights
  • Dine at Top of the Mark restaurant for views of the city
  • Located at the crest of Nob Hill
  • Relax in restored lobby with touches from yesteryear
Rooms

Accommodations -- 348 rooms and 32 suites -- have crown moldings and other subtle touches that capture the authentic turn-of-the-century feel, yet the rooms boast modern conveniences. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen television, granite-countertop bathrooms, spacious work desks and plush bedding. Members of the property's Lobby Club receive complimentary room upgrades, late check-out and daily food and beverage presentations. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award. It was named for Mark Hopkins, a founder of the Central Pacific Railroad, on whose land the hotel was built.

The property offers complimentary 24-hour access to cardio and free-weight machines in its on-site fitness center, as well as complimentary town car service into the Financial District on weekday mornings.

The real show-stopper at the Mark Hopkins is the Top of the Mark, a restaurant and lounge on the 19th floor. The hotel opened in 1926 and this eatery opened 13 years later, in 1939. Since then it has been a favorite spot for many of San Francisco's rich and famous. The menu is eclectic; a drink list boasts 100 different martinis.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/21 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable cars (1 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • North Beach
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 17,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 19 total meeting rooms, including two spacious ballrooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Live entertainment
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Grace Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1 mi
  • SoMa: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.2 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.3 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.3 mi
  • Lands End: 1.6 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 1.9 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2.1 mi

Dining

Bourbon & Branch
Tip; This venue is part of our Speakeasy Package at the hotel. Contact the Concierge team for more details. Bourbon and Branch is a glimpse back on the 1920's and the era of Prohibition. Experience the ambiance of that time in an actual speakeasy.
Farallon
Tip: Enjoy cocktails in the jellyfish lounge. A dazzling downtown underwater themed restaurant.
Fleur de Lys
Tip: If you buy one of chef Hubert Keller's 'Top Chef' cook books he will come out and autograph it for you. Exquisite French restaurant five blocks from the hotel. Decor includes an intimate 'tented' dining room and extensive wine list. The service is f
Fluid
Tip: Enjoy music from SF's top local DJ. Very exclusive but the concierge can get you in. One of a kind ultra cool disco lounge.
Supperclub
Tip: Only one seating available per day, so book early. Concierge can help with reservations. You lie on a bed and dine on your seven course meal while being entertained by jugglers, magicians, singers and fire eaters.
Bix
Tip: Serves up some of the best martinis in town. Supper club atmosphere with live jazz every night.
McCormick and Kuletos
Tip: A short cable car ride on the Hyde Street line. Try the signature crab cakes and oysters. Famous for its view, this is a must. But it can get very busy.
North Beach Restaurant
Tip: Has an amazing 500 bottle wine cellar, ranked as one of the best in the city. The 31 year old restaurant, located in the heart of 'little Italy', serves homemade pasta and fresh fish.
Tadich Grill
Tip: Very popular for its local seafood. They do not take reservations but it is definitely worth the wait. Established in 1849 during the gold rush, it's one of the oldest surviving restaurants in the country.
Top of the Mark
Just when you think you’ve seen the best of San Francisco’s sights, the Top of the Mark will thrill you all over again. The legendary sky lounge lays the city at your feet with near-360 degree vistas that showcase the Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman’s Wharf

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (226)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
226 out of 226
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GB Yea
IL
Sep 14, 2012

Couple Getaway

A great experience. A hotel that is located in a great in a beautiful place and is very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Boulevard Restaruant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LUM17
Business
Southampton, NY
Jan 20, 2014

BEWARE FEMALE TRAVELERS - THIS HOTEL WILL NOT PROTECT YOUR SAFETY!

Let me start by saying that I've NEVER written a bad review in all my years of traveling the world - including my job producing and directing for The Travel Channel & Discovery. The Intercontinental Mark Hopkins hotel in San Francisco left me stranded at the waterfront wharf at 11pm at night when I told them I was alone and afraid and needed their help. They refused to call me a cab stating it was against their policy. the hotel refused to call me a cab saying it was against their policy! I told them I was alone at the wharf . The hotel said they couldn't call me a cab but they could give me a number. I said I didn't have a pen to write it down and that it was dark and desolate needed their help and they said, "that's our policy, sorry, call back if you want a cab number" and then hung up on me! I called them back to get number and beg at this point for them to help me by calling a cab for me - a female guest alone and somewhat upset at this point - they rattled off number which I forgot and when I called back - they rattled it off and hung up again.I'm a New Yorker and comfortable in any situation but this was crazy and I want to warn other female guests and have the Intercontinental change their policy. I asked the Fairmont hotel across the street the next day that if a guest called in for a cab from outside location and the concierge was of course they would!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
S.Spiff
Business
Orange County, CA
Jan 1, 2014

Tops for thr top

The Mark Hopkins is truly a first class hotel with all of the first lass perks: views, staff, food, and location. A stay here always adds to the San Francisco experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mddancer
Business
Napa, California
Dec 26, 2013

Mark Hopkins San Francisco

We were pleased with the accommodations and the complimentary access to the Top of the Mark. However, the Christmas display next door at the Fairmount put the Mark Hopkins lobby to shame.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The City View which is only open for lunch was a great dim sum experience! Be sure to have reservations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tooner
Business
Eau Claire WI
Dec 7, 2013

A step back in time

A fantastic old hotel. Nice to see all the photos back in the day. Neat location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
marinjet
Business
San Jose
Dec 5, 2013

This is the place to stay!

We arrived and the type of room we chose was not available. The front desk person was kind enough to upgrade us to a corner room in the next grade up. Everyone was wonderful. The only drawback I can even mention is that it's 59.00 to park your car. You might want to make other arrangements. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The bergens
Business
Fresno, California
Dec 2, 2013

A couples get away

When I first saw the mark Hopkins intercontinental hotel I was in awe. The building perched on top of the hill looked executive and posh. The location and the ambience inside was welcoming. I would definitely stay there again. The staff were all polite and respectful. The. Band at the top of the mark was good and I enjoyed my evening up there. The view of san francisco was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at fisherman's wharf or by the union square district. The cable car is around the corner from the hotel. Dinning is upstairs at the top of the mark , nice view but very expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Urban Outing
Business
Redding, CA
Nov 18, 2013

SF Weekender

Stayed for a weekend in the City. Enjoyed a beverage and the view at Top of the Mark. Staff all very professional and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Segway tours at Golden Gate Park was awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nob Hill traveler
Business
Washington, D.C.
Nov 4, 2013

Business trip

Staff were extremely gracious and helpful. Will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family Man II
Business
St Louis, MO
Jul 16, 2013

Family Getaway

Great location atop Nob Hill and 1 block away from California and Powell cable car lines. Room was very clean and staff very courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
San Fran Noob
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 26, 2013

First time in San Francisco

We had a wonderful stay at the Intercontinental Mark Hopkins. Fabulous location, friendly and attentive staff and an excellent room for the price we paid. The only thing missing here are amenities such as a gift shop for those forgotten essentials and a pool. Given the historic nature of the property the lack of the pool is understandable. The Fairmont next door has a gift shop but it would be nice not to have to dash across the street. Other than that, great experience here and would certainly stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the Tadich Grill for dinner - well worth the short trip and the short wait.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top