$259 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 27, 2014

InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

4 stars
999 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
222 reviews
Wonderful.

It was beautiful and perfect. We had a scenic view. See full review

  • Shannon Papa
  • Sep 8, 2014
SF's Finest

Not only is this a landmark in and of itself, but the service and the rooms are incredible. I have... See full review

  • RobMark
  • Aug 20, 2014
As splendid now as when it opened to great fanfare in 1926, InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco is one of the city's finest hotels. Located at the crossing of three cable car lines, the venerable landmark is minutes from Union Square, Chinatown and the Financial District. Fisherman's Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge are short drives away. This hotel is committed to providing accessible facilities under the American Disabilities Act. If your accessibility needs are not met, please contact the Hotel Manager on Duty. Should you require additional information regarding accessible facilities for guests with disabilities, please call 1-800-Holiday (U.S. and Canada) or contact the hotel directly. For the hearing impaired, TDD service is available at 1-800-238-5544 within the U.S. and Canada.

Hotel Map

37.7916 -122.4107
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 19.00, MI; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 15.00, MI; Mineta San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 56.10, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Live entertainment
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Grace Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1 mi
  • SoMa: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.2 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.3 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.3 mi
  • Lands End: 1.6 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 1.9 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2 mi

Dining

Acquerello
Tip: With elegant surroundings and excellent service, Acquerello is a real local gem. Be sure to meet GianCarlo, the owner. An upscale classic Italian restaurant. The look is spare, with gleaming silver and delicate crystal glasses contrasting with the b
Venticello
Tip: Ideal for a romantic dinner, Venticello will spoil you with its remarkable fare and friendly service. A roaring fireplace, cable cars passing by outside and great views of the bay make this intimate northern Italian restaurant the quintessential San
Asia SF
Tip: Slightly risque but a fantastic place with outrageous entertainment, tasty food and sweet cocktails. 'Gender illusionists' will serve you exotic cocktails and delicious food in a party atmosphere.
Bourbon & Branch
Tip; This venue is part of our Speakeasy Package at the hotel. Contact the Concierge team for more details. Bourbon and Branch is a glimpse back on the 1920's and the era of Prohibition. Experience the ambiance of that time in an actual speakeasy.
Farallon
Tip: Enjoy cocktails in the jellyfish lounge. A dazzling downtown underwater themed restaurant.
Fleur de Lys
Tip: If you buy one of chef Hubert Keller's 'Top Chef' cook books he will come out and autograph it for you. Exquisite French restaurant five blocks from the hotel. Decor includes an intimate 'tented' dining room and extensive wine list. The service is f
Fluid
Tip: Enjoy music from SF's top local DJ. Very exclusive but the concierge can get you in. One of a kind ultra cool disco lounge.
Supperclub
Tip: Only one seating available per day, so book early. Concierge can help with reservations. You lie on a bed and dine on your seven course meal while being entertained by jugglers, magicians, singers and fire eaters.
Bix
Tip: Serves up some of the best martinis in town. Supper club atmosphere with live jazz every night.
McCormick and Kuletos
Tip: A short cable car ride on the Hyde Street line. Try the signature crab cakes and oysters. Famous for its view, this is a must. But it can get very busy.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (222)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
222 out of 222
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cerealberry
chicago,il
Jul 12, 2009

week in San Francisco

amazing experience. From the moment you pull up to the grand entrance to the time you leave. The location couldn't have been better. Short walk to chinatown, warf, union square and best of all, two cable car lines run right in front of the hotel. nothing better than opening your window at night, feeling the cool san francisco breeze and hear the ding of the cable car bell as it rides past your window. It was a very memorable experience. Staff were gracious and knowledgeable. Every request was met quickly and needs were anticipated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do make reservations at Hubert Keller's "Fluer de Lys". Amazing restaurant with unbelievable food. Skip "Michael Mina's".. althought the staff was sensational, many of the dishes missed their mark are were off, twice the price of Fluer de Lys and only 1/2 as good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Jul 7, 2009

Old San Francisco

Room was first class, bathroom a little small but well done and well appointed. Old building with old plumbing. Plenty of hot water but made strange noises. I was looking forward to the Top of the Mark and was a little disappointed with the rushed, perfunctory service. If you want to be treated like a valued guest go across the street and dine at the Fairmont.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Leave your car at home. Plan to use cable car to get up and down hill to the hotel. If you need a car during your stay there is a zip car location half a block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pilot in Command
Bakersfield, CA
Jul 6, 2009

Nob Hill

I went to San Francisco for the 4th of July and to rent a GoCar and take a GPS guided tour. Mark Hopkins is an amazing hotel. The staff seem so intense while taking care of you. Checking in was an amazing experience. I couldn't believe the eye contact and sincerity of the young man checking us in. I glanced across the lobby into another room where there was a young woman sitting, maybe a concierge, and when she noticed I was looking in her direction she smiled and waved acknowledgeing me. The rooms are great, great view. Very friendly doormen, know the city, give great advice about where to go and how to get there. We had reserved a room wtih 2 queen beds, but endeded up with a King, in an upgraded room. The upgrade was nice, way up on the 14th floor (really the 13th, but they don't call it that), but it was one king. So they brought a "rollaway" that was more comfortable than my bed at home. Not your typical "rollaway".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the GoCar GPS tour. Dress warm!! They say the tour takes 2.5 hours, but it really takes 3.4-4 hours. If you stop, don't stay too long. That was the most fun I have had in a long time. Eat at Allioto's at Fisherman's Wharf for a moderate priced dinner with great view. Eat at Garry Danko's for a very expenisve, very delicious meal. Everyone should treat themselves to an amazing dining experience at least once in their lifetime.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jen 3
Milton MA
Jul 1, 2009

Fantastic stay,price and location!!!

The location at the top of Nob hill was breathtaking . The hotel architecture was grand with all the ornate stone ,lamp posts and entrance. Everything we wanted to do was accessible by the cable car that went right by the hotel. The price we recived on orbitz was so reasonable my friends couldn't believe that I paid so little for such a exquisite hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nob Hill Cafe. Located a few blocks from hotel recommended by the staff. Great italian food. Locals love it. there is always aline but worth the wait for great food reasonable price

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dan went to San Fran
Salt Lake City, UT
Jun 29, 2009

Really Fun Stay

Be careful of Orbitz booking, because when you pay in advance and have to leave early, even for the death of your mother, like me, you CANNOT get a refund. But I don't blame the hotel for that because that's how their contract with Orbitz works, I'm pretty sure. NOW... When making my reservation I chose to pick a little bit better room, rather than the cheaper deal I had found, because someone had said something about the rooms with a view and how nice that was, and yes that made a difference. It also reduced street noise, which by the way, was NOT bad at all. We were 12th floor, on weekdays, so that might have helped. The room was spotless, a super nice maid was always around so we could get extra needs such as toothbrush and toothpaste. The location was excellent, walking distance to lots of places and of course, public transportation is available. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL. With the authentic decor in a historical building, you really feel like you're experiencing San Francisco. And the hill climbing is great exercise!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A good nearby store for buying stuff, anything, is Walgreens. Walk south three blocks and turn west one block. Save you some money, becuase it's expensive to eat at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Art for Life
Santa Rosa
Jun 28, 2009

San Francisco class

Top of the Mark for Martinis Chinatown for Dim Sum Union Square for shopping Marina for walking Mark Hopkins still has the classy atmosphere of oldtime San Francisco.Couldn't have been better from the helpful service staff to the elegant room, to the spectacular view , to the picture perfect room service. Top notch in every way possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Go to the top of the Mark for a Martini and the view as the sun is setting.Unbelievable. At night there is a cover charge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jun 27, 2009

GRANDUER

The hotel was a shell of it's past, it still looks grand from the outside, but inside, the rooms are old , cheap furniture- not old nice furniture, noisy shower, I expected a lot more from this chain of Intercontinental brand hotels. not the ritz- not close, not a 5 star

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

shopping is close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Fe, NM
Jun 24, 2009

Disappointing stay.....

While visiting our daughter in San Fransisco, we thought it would be a treat to stay at the Mark Hopkins Hotel. The Orbitz price seemed a great deal, but the hotel offered no amenities whatsoever. Extremely pricey breakfasts at the "Top of the Mark", no coffee in the lobby, no cushy bathrobes in Orbitz rooms (we saw them being placed in other rooms). We really felt second class. The Nob Hill location offers few alternatives for breakfast, and is not near public transportation (except for $5 per ride cable cars), and I think the Mark Hopkins could make more effort to be hospitable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Savannah, GA
Jun 24, 2009

Fantastic!

When I checked in I was upgraded to a "club" room. It was on the 14th floor and had wonderful views of the city. The room was very nice - comfortable bed, large flat panel TV, nice desk and chair, wonderful bathroom, etc... The staff was very helpful with great restaurant suggestions and information on the cable cars. They held my bags after checkout until later in the day when I was ready to head to the airport. It is a first class hotel! I would definitely recommend it! Only negatives were that there was a wedding reception in their Top of the Mark Lounge (which is their only bar) so I had to change plans with friends and the valet / parking fee seemed very high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
call me papi
505
Jun 22, 2009

Wonderful Stay

Friendly staff, excellent service, just perfect no problems at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

buy the all day pass for 11 bucks for the trolly its way worth it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search