$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

4 stars
View map of 999 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
246 out of 246
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dianemclark
Business
cottage grove, or
Sep 7, 2009

Kathy Griffin SF Vacation

The place is beautiful. The staff very friendly. We enjoyed our stay very much. I recommend staying here at least once. My friend and I decided to stay someplace different. We dont have alot of money but at Orbitz price, it was a blast!! The cable cars are right in front of the hotel so you can go anywhere in the city!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orono Maine 04473
Sep 6, 2009

Great Choice, Great Price

Great hotel, and the price was right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 31, 2009

Great location for getting around

Three friends toured San Francisco and the Mark Hopkins was the ideal place to be with its central location. The staff was satisfactory but not as responsive as anticipated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We did not use a car but were served adequately with the trolley system.

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beau's Dad
Business
San Diego
Aug 24, 2009

Great Time at The Mark Hopkins

The Mark Hopkins is centrally located for transportation, shopping, dining, entertainment, and sightseeing. Warm and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
UPSer
Business
East Bay
Aug 24, 2009

Great time

Front desk employee, [...], was wonderful and attentive. She upgraded our reservations and was very helpful. Other front desk woman completely ignored both my partner and myself as we stood in front of her. She instead pick up the phone and carried on a conversation. This was absolutely unacceptable. Room service and valet service very good. [...], waiter at the Top of the Mark, was excellent. Friendly and engaging. His counterpart, old cranky pants, [...] I believe, should have retired years ago as he had the personality of pocket lint.Great location. Great suite. Great drinks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Acugirl
Business
Portland, OR
Aug 21, 2009

Costs add up

The hotel is fine. I was happy with the room. But why does the hotel have to charge for wi-fi? It's annoying when nice hotels start nickel and dime-ing guests for everything. Better to charge one price and include the extras. My husband spent some time in the Fairmont Hotel (across the street) and was able to use their wi-fi in the lobby for free and enjoy complimentary coffee and juice. I was not informed that the hotel was going to put $100.00 on my debit card when I gave it to the front desk for incidentals. I understand that they've probably been burned by people who don't pay, but at least let me know what you're doing so that I'm not surprised when I do some online banking and find that sum listed on my account. Parking fee ($47) is outrageous. We used another garage on the hill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Acugirl
Business
Portland, OR
Aug 21, 2009

Costs add up

The hotel is fine. I was happy with the room. But why does the hotel have to charge for wi-fi? It's annoying when nice hotels start nickel and dime-ing guests for everything. Better to charge one price and include the extras. My husband spent some time in the Fairmont Hotel (across the street) and was able to use their wi-fi in the lobby for free and enjoy complimentary coffee and juice. I was not informed that the hotel was going to put $100.00 on my debit card when I gave it to the front desk for incidentals. I understand that they've probably been burned by people who don't pay, but at least let me know what you're doing so that I'm not surprised when I do some online banking and find that sum listed on my account. Parking fee ($47) is outrageous. We used another garage on the hill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Duane and Hector
Business
Tallahassee, Fl
Aug 20, 2009

San Francisco in style

We stayed for five nights and had a great time. The hotel is top notch, very comfortable room, nice views of the city and excellent central location. I stayed at the hotel once before around 1990 and was looking forward to staying there again. The place had only improved upon itself which I had not thought possible. We highly recommend this hotel. Awesome prices while the California economy is suffering. Help them out and take advantage of getting an outstanding stay in an amazing city. Make your trip even more pleasant and memorable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Chinese restaurant - Kathay just down California street, a few blocks.

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reunion kids
Business
Kailua, HI
Aug 19, 2009

Beautiful place

Next visit I would ask for a room on a higher floor. We stayed on the third floor, not much for a view. Room was beautiful. Great service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laura in Switzerland
Business
Winterthur, Switzerland
Aug 16, 2009

MARK HOPKINS IN SAN FRANCISCO

Felt that this hotel is trading on its old reputation -- definitely needs some facelifting and repair work. Funny that there's also no restaurant and no really good coffee in the morning. Bellmen were superior as far as helpfulness and friendliness went. Front desk was okay -- and had a snippy concierge who later warmed up a bit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Harris' Steak House for an excellent meal -- pricey but worth it.

Back to menu Return to top