$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 31, 2014

Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

3 stars
1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
686 reviews
hotel Whitcomb

Staff was very helpful, the Grand lobby was definitely grand Nice n clean room, I would stay there... See full review

  • aj13
  • May 5, 2014
Great Hotel.

Stayed close for a concert at BG Civic Center. Could walk there from our hotel. Staff was extremely... See full review

  • Todd13
  • Mar 13, 2014
Luxury meets history, vintage meets modern at Theater District hotel

The Hotel Whitcomb has a place in San Francisco history like no other: Following the 1906 earthquake, the building actually served as City Hall. The majestic Theater District property still looks a lot like it did back then, with crystal chandeliers, Tiffany glass and Italian marble columns and floors. Made-to-look-old furniture highlights rooms upstairs, though modern conveniences abound as well. The on-site Market Street Grill serves up basic American fare.

Highlights
  • Historical spot -- the hotel once served as San Francisco's City Hall
  • Located in the Theater District, across Market Street from the Orpheum Theater
  • Ornate preserved lobby
  • Dine on classic American fare at The Market Street Grill
Rooms

High ceilings are common in the Whitcomb's 447 guest rooms and 12 suites. Furniture in these rooms has been specially crafted so it looks old. Accommodations come standard with modern conveniences as well, including flat-screen televisions, ironing boards and spacious workstations. Many also offer stunning views of San Francisco Bay, as well as complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. The Sunny Jim Suite also includes a wet bar and a dining area.

Features

Marble floors, polished brass fixtures, Tiffany glass and fresh flowers accentuate the ornate Main Lobby. This area transports guests back to the turn of the 20th Century, when the building briefly served as City Hall. It became a hotel in 1916. It's also a great place to enjoy a coffee and read a complimentary newspaper.

All guests have access to an on-site health and fitness center, dry-cleaning service (fees apply) and transportation to San Francisco International Airport (fees apply).

Grab a homemade Dungeness crab cake at The Market Street Grill, the on-site restaurant. Customers enter through the Tavern Piano Bar, a classic lounge that can get downright boisterous on weekend nights.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mil/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • BART (4 blocks)
  • Cable car stops (6 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • SoMa
  • Embarcadero
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 25,000 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual expert to help with equipment

Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco Rooms

Parlor Suite
Room with 2 double beds, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.
King Room
Room with 1 king bed, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.
Queen Room
Room with 1 Queen bed, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.
Double Room
Room with 2 double beds, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7782 -122.4155
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport Oakland Internationa Airport
Area description
Conveniently located on vibrant Market Street, across from the Orpheum Theater, Hotel Whitcomb is a downtown San Francisco sanctuary surrounded by the city's most popular restaurants, shops and attractions. Walking distance to the incredible Theatre District, Yerba Buena Gardens, the San Francisco Opera and Symphony, Folsom Street and the Castro. Hotel Whitcomb is perfectly situated in the city's cultural, arts and business districts.

Nearby points of interest

  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1 mi
  • Nob Hill: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.2 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.4 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.4 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.9 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 2.1 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2.1 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 2.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 2.1 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 2.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 2.1 mi

Dining

Market Street Grill/California Cusine
Relax in our Market Street Grill or lounge that is located in our beautiful Historic Hotel. We also offer room service to our valuable guest.
Caffe Della Stella
Nice Italian Dining with in walking distance of the hotel.
Moonstar
Nice Chinese and Sushi at Moonstar and it is all you can eat. Moonstar is across the street from the hotel.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hotel Whitcomb has the largest Parkay Dance Floor in the City with 8 diffrent meeting facilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (686)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
686 out of 686
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ultra runner
Honolulu, HI
May 9, 2011

Not bad for the price

convenient for opera, symphony, museums - no coffee maker, grr...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Honolulu, HI
May 2, 2009

Very rude front desk service

Went on a vacation to relax and enjoy San Francisco. The hotel was very conveniently located just a few steps from the Civic center Bart station. Unfortunately, I was greeted at the front desk by a very rude staff who did not give any courtesy to guests. When I checked into the room, the TV remote was not working, bathtub did not drain, no hot water, window was dirty, no bath mat for shower. I called the front desk several times but NO ONE ANSWERED! Luckily, a very courteous maintenance worker tended to most of the problems and made my stay much better. I must say my view was GREAT! - My suggestion: ASK FOR THE FRONT SIDE OF THE HOTEL- facing Market Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go see the musical WICKED just across the street from the hotel. To get cheap tickets go 2 1/2 hours prior to the performance for a lottery. Only $25.00 for this ticket.

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pennsylvania patron
Pennsylvania
Apr 19, 2010

Ups and Downs

We were in San Francisco visiting family. We definitely missed having a coffee maker in the room. We were forced to stand in line at the Starbucks attached to the hotel, and my husband doesn't particularly like their coffee or their prices. The hotel did not have newspapers, even in the lobby. It was VERY CROWDED in the lobby at all times with tour groups. Had a great European feel, but the elevators were slow and crowded much of the time. Housekeeping didn't come the first day (We were there for 5 days), and the front desk is busy all of the time if you have questions. Our first room had a broken window, broken lamps and the keys wouldn't work in the door so we were locked out. Maintenance didn't come, but the front desk did finally get us a new room, although no one offered to help us move our things. The hotel is old and very charming, but management seems disorganized and overwhelmed and the place is showing its age with poor upkeep. It's a shame--it has beautiful character. The neighborhood is fine if you don't walk into the Tenderloin district at night (about 3 blocks, starting about 2 blocks after the Civic Center).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Monrovia, CA
Mar 28, 2011

I swear this place is haunted.

Girlfriend and I decided to spend my birthday weekend at the Hotel Whitcomb where the pictures of the decor looked pretty promising, but ended up being deceiving. The lobby and the hotel room were very eerie. The wall paper, the lighting, the tube television and the dated decor gave the room a haunted feeling. The sound traveled from the hall into the room as if there was no door, so when the drunks would stumble down the hall at three in the morning, we were woken up by their slurring voices and their stumbling. The cleaning lady walked in on my significant other and me twice while we were naked because she wouldn't leave more than a second between the time that she knocked and the moment that she opened the door. The hotel is located in a very rural ghetto part of town where you'll find a lot of bums and crack heads.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union square has a lot of awesome shopping which is only about a mile away.

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 4, 2008

Nasty

If you look old school frisco you might like this place, i think its old and smells like impending death. Neighborhood sucks. Good location to jump around to different spots though. Mixed feelings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

muni is pretty close, as in out front

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Feb 17, 2008

No Comment

This Hotel definitely needs to re-evaluate they way there housekeeping is cleaning the rooms. This Hotel definitely need to invest in remodeling the rooms and bathrooms. My room was not to my satisfaction and I will definitely not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Fisherman's Warf is not to far. Also China Town and North Beach are pretty close.

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Monrovia, CA
Mar 28, 2011

I swear this place is haunted.

Girlfriend and I decided to spend my birthday weekend at the Hotel Whitcomb where the pictures of the decor looked pretty promising, but ended up being deceiving. The lobby and the hotel room were very eerie. The wall paper, the lighting, the tube television and the dated decor gave the room a haunted feeling. The sound traveled from the hall into the room as if there was no door, so when the drunks would stumble down the hall at three in the morning, we were woken up by their slurring voices and their stumbling. The cleaning lady walked in on my significant other and me twice while we were naked because she wouldn't leave more than a second between the time that she knocked and the moment that she opened the door. The hotel is located in a very rural ghetto part of town where you'll find a lot of bums and crack heads.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union square has a lot of awesome shopping which is only about a mile away.

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
scoutdad100
Oceanside, CA
Jul 23, 2010

It did it's job

Nice Lobby. Located across the street form the Orpheum Theater. F Car and BART right out side the door. Room was dirty and noisy. Sink leaked, paint peeling of the bathroom fixture. Not a family location!!! Located in the seedy part of town. Strip joints, XXX movie theaters and transients everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

but through the worst part of town

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 7, 2011

Over-priced for a rough location

The Whitcomb is an aesthetically pleasing hotel with an interesting history. I was in town for a week for the annual Game Developer's Conference at the Moscone Center. I usually stay in a hotel closer to the convention, but they were booked during the days that I needed a room.The Whitcomb is only a few blocks away, but is in a far rougher part of town. You can tell it's a bad neighborhood because it's right next to a public library and down the street from city hall. There's not really a lot the hotel can do to improve the quality of the neighborhood, and they did a pretty good job of keeping the [*]s and prostitutes out of the lobby.The hotel offers free password protected wireless internet, but the connection speed is so low that all it's good for is checking email.The rooms lack good electrical outlets. Most are already taken by the room's appliances and I ended up having to unplug the television to charge my phone. The outlets they do have are terrible - they're old and worn, so plug-ins fall out. My phone ended up dying my second day there because the plug of my phone charger fell out of the electric outlet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A friend of ours was celebrating her birthday and we needed to find a cake. The In-Joy Bakery is about a 5 minute walk away from the hotel and had great red velvet.

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bay Area, CA
Apr 27, 2010

You get what you pay for

Overall it wasn't the most horrible experience....but due to location entering the parking valet was a nightmare and housekeeping kept knocking on my door even though I had the 'Do not disturb sign' outside. Got to the point of ridiculous after it happened three times within an hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

SF Opera House

Back to menu Return to top