$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

3 stars
1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
456 reviews
Great hotel!

While the rooms were a little small they were very professional and fancy looking. The hotel was... See full review

  • GrantT
  • Oct 14, 2014
Great, quiet single room

Bed way comfortable; quiet location; good wifi hook-up; ask and you shall received. I didn't know... See full review

  • Andersen01
  • Oct 9, 2014
Luxury meets history, vintage meets modern at Theater District hotel

The Hotel Whitcomb has a place in San Francisco history like no other: Following the 1906 earthquake, the building actually served as City Hall. The majestic Theater District property still looks a lot like it did back then, with crystal chandeliers, Tiffany glass and Italian marble columns and floors. Made-to-look-old furniture highlights rooms upstairs, though modern conveniences abound as well. The on-site Market Street Grill serves up basic American fare.

Highlights
  • Historical spot -- the hotel once served as San Francisco's City Hall
  • Located in the Theater District, across Market Street from the Orpheum Theater
  • Ornate preserved lobby
  • Dine on classic American fare at The Market Street Grill
Rooms

High ceilings are common in the Whitcomb's 447 guest rooms and 12 suites. Furniture in these rooms has been specially crafted so it looks old. Accommodations come standard with modern conveniences as well, including flat-screen televisions, ironing boards and spacious workstations. Many also offer stunning views of San Francisco Bay, as well as complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. The Sunny Jim Suite also includes a wet bar and a dining area.

Features

Marble floors, polished brass fixtures, Tiffany glass and fresh flowers accentuate the ornate Main Lobby. This area transports guests back to the turn of the 20th Century, when the building briefly served as City Hall. It became a hotel in 1916. It's also a great place to enjoy a coffee and read a complimentary newspaper.

All guests have access to an on-site health and fitness center, dry-cleaning service (fees apply) and transportation to San Francisco International Airport (fees apply).

Grab a homemade Dungeness crab cake at The Market Street Grill, the on-site restaurant. Customers enter through the Tavern Piano Bar, a classic lounge that can get downright boisterous on weekend nights.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mil/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • BART (4 blocks)
  • Cable car stops (6 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • SoMa
  • Embarcadero
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 25,000 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual expert to help with equipment

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco Rooms

Queen Room
Room with 1 Queen bed, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.
Double Room
Room with 2 double beds, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.
Parlor Suite
Room with 2 double beds, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.
King Room
Room with 1 king bed, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.2 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.4 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.4 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.9 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 2.1 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2.1 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 2.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 2.1 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 2.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 2.1 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 2.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hotel Whitcomb has the largest Parkay Dance Floor in the City with 8 diffrent meeting facilities.

Dining

Caffe Della Stella
Nice Italian Dining with in walking distance of the hotel.
Moonstar
Nice Chinese and Sushi at Moonstar and it is all you can eat. Moonstar is across the street from the hotel.
Market Street Grill/California Cusine
Relax in our Market Street Grill or lounge that is located in our beautiful Historic Hotel. We also offer room service to our valuable guest.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (456)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
456 out of 456
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stacyphuong
Business
San Francisco
Sep 4, 2014

Horrible experience

We booked for a queen bed but instead got two twin beds which was the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept on. They couldn't get us a queen bed until the next day but by then we were too exhausted to move our belonging. The staff were not friendly at all. Will not stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
I Left My Heart in SF
Business
Denver, CO
Oct 17, 2014

Creaky beds

Historic, grand looking hotel with a location that can't be beat right on Market St. at the Civic Center BART stop. Extremely convenient to/from the airport. Courteous staff. The lobby does look as grand as the pictures make it out to be, and the whole place has an old world charm to it. The rooms LOOK fairly nice in the pictures and were clean enough, but upon any closer inspection and the age and wear and tear begins to show - linens are extremely thin and papery feeling, and the mattress was very creaky and sagged in the middle, as it was probably a 20 year old spring mattress at the end of its life. I would pay to stay here again based on location alone, but a little expensive for what felt like a 2 1/2 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mommy Cecelia
Business
san Jose, ca
Nov 2, 2014

family

Check out ratings. Nice hotel, but ammenties, could be better. Nice hotel and nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mike oxore
Business
San Francisco
Nov 24, 2014

ghetto

Location is bad at night time. Don't accidentally walk down the wrong street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burbank, CA
Mar 20, 2008

Budget Hotel

The Whitcomb was at one time a beautiful hotel. Unfortunately, the neighborhood has become unsafe and the hotel hasn't been updated. It is clean, the rooms have high ceilings (which is good) and it has a Starbucks in the lobby (great since the internet never worked) - but the bathrooms are pretty old, paint is peeling and there isn't much light in the rooms. The front desk had problems getting us a crib, but very kindly offered us two breakfast tickets to compensate for the difficulty. Of course, we were 4 in the room! But otherwise the room size was all right and the restaurant people very nice. It's hard because you can't find a hotel for this price in the city, but I wish they'd warn you about the area. I had the operator call the hotel to check about the neighborhood as I had heard higher up on Market is sketchy, and the hotel operator insisted the area was safe -which was SOOOO not true. We felt we had to stay in the hotel or drive out. The guys who were getting the cars were nice, but took forever to get our car - apparently at night they take some cars to another garage off property and it takes awhile for them to get the car back. So it was marginal, but in the end, for the price, not a bad deal. (though I would probably not book there again unless I really had to).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Starbucks is in hotel so that makes up for the internet that doesn't seem to work in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Not so happy guest
Business
NC
May 5, 2009

Hotel Whitcomb

The room assigned to us when we checked in was dirty and had never been cleaned. There were used towels and full garbage. The room was small for a family of 4 with big children. For the price we got, other hotels provide a cleaner room with extra sitting/pull out sofa as a come on. I chose this hotel thinking that for its age, we will be getting a little spacious room. I had better stays in Hilton hotels. Customer service is very basic. They can't provide answers with regard to events within the area, like theater plays. For a hotel in the tourist area, they should be up-to-date on these things and should be able to assist customers on getting tickets and/or at least be able to provide show times. They should be able to access [...] to better serve their clients.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For late check-in (past 11 pm), there's fast food a short walk from the hotel. The Hotel serves a decent dinner menu for people who don't like to go out after a day's shopping spree.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hamilton, Ontario
Jul 20, 2009

When things go wrong

Check in was easy, we found the front desk staff initially friendly. Great central location. Starbucks in the lobby!! Beautiful building. Street was a little rough when it got late but we're originally from Toronto so we did not find this a problem. We found it easy to walk to a lot of places on our list of things to do. We worked out 3 out of 5 days. Gym was quiet, a little small and cables on machines were worn and needed repair. Everything was fine until we had a problem with a leaky pipe in our bathroom. The true test of customer service is how you handle your clients when things go wrong. Initially they ignored the problem, then told us not to worry we would not be charged for any damage. All that was needed here was a "we're sorry for any inconvenience" or better still, "hey, enjoy a complimentary in room movie on us." All in all the stay was fine but the lack of ability to handle a pretty simple problem was very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The San Francisco GO card. We ordered this card online before we left. Many attractions popular attractions are included in the price of the card. Filled with discounts for restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Well travelled Retired couple
Business
Australia
Sep 1, 2009

Don't arrive early or leave late

Location a bit away from good area.By 2 Blocks. Building needs revival not just paint over. Extra $20.00 for 1hr. early arrival and a requested $50.00 for 3 hr late check out a bit over the top. Old and has been stylish. Rooms a bit small and bathroom antiquated. Staff helpful. Most likely will select another hotel nearer 6th on next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Nov 9, 2009

Good value if you don't have a car

The hotel itself was fine and the price was attractively low. The location is great and the service is good. I would recommend it. All my problems resulted from having a rental car that I picked up at the airport. There was no signage at the hotel indicating how to access the parking garage. Valet service was in the back, accessible by a side road that I found only by trial and error. There is a fee of $28/day to park the car in the hotel garage. I thought that was high. I was later told that I should expect to pay even higher fees to park a car in a hotel garage. If this is the case, this information should be in your profile of the hotel. (If it was there, I did not see it.) Knowing this in advance would have influenced my choice of hotel and may have influenced my decision to rent a car. At the least, it would have allowed me to prepare for this expense in advance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
east coaster
Business
new york
Apr 7, 2010

Fun at the Withcomb

hotel was nice, rooms comfortable, not luxurious. Restaurant closed unexpectantly on Easter which left us stuck for a dinner reservation on a holiday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top