$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 1, 2015 Check-out: May 2, 2015

Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
477 out of 477
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico
Oct 3, 2011

WORST HOTEL EVER!!!!

The Hotel is one of the worst Hotels that I ever been, its located on the most dangerous zone in San Francisco, also, the staff has the worst attitude and lack of service, they simply doesent exist. PLease DO NOT STAY at this Hotel, dont be foolished by the photos or their website, it is NOT TRUE, and Im very disappointed for my experiencie.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 5, 2011

Horrible San Francisco Hotel

Hotel whitcomb is a nice classic looking hotel with no other positive qualities. The front desk service is unprofessional and frusterating. Its basically well dressed people lacking basic customer service and basic hospitality. I would never suggest to stay at this hotel. I left with a sour feeling about the place as a whole. Bottom line, a motel would have been a better experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mitchell's Ice Cream

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu,Hi
Nov 19, 2009

Avoid this place

My son arrived one day before me astayed at the Wittcome.The next day ,after I arrived in SF,he called me and let me know they,his wife and 2 children were checking out. Why? His wife had 500+ bedbug bites and the sheets were red with blood spots. [...]we stayed at the Pickwick Hotel,a little more but no bedbugs.Real creepy to think about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
May 14, 2009

What a Disaster!!!!

I would NOT reccomend staying at the Hotel Whitcomb to anyone. When we arrived, we waited on line (we were the only people on line) for about 20 minutes. As there was only one person working the front desk. When we arrived to our cell, (it was that small) there was a LOVELY pair of black suede boots (that did NOT belong to us) at the foot of one bed, and a pair of dirty underwear on the bathroom floor. I kid you not. In the bathroom we found that there was no shower curtain in the shower. (It was not the type of shower where a curtain wasn't needed) The hotel was not only dirty and dusty but it was in a HORRIBLE location. Before I took this trip I called the Hotel Whitcomb and asked them what neighborhood they were located in. The front desk assured me that they were two blocks from Union Square. False! They are about 6-7 blocks from union square, they're locaed by the Civic Center, and they're locaed in a very GHETTO neighborhood of San Fran- Tenderloin. There was about 5 homeless people outside of the hotel. The bums were extremley aggressive. Being from NYC, I am not intimidated by homeless people. My friend and I both would not have been comfortable walking in that neighborhood, at anytime of day. So I had to call Orbitz, cancel my reservation. (Which takes about 10 business days to process) I then had to pay $1,000 for another hotel for 5 nights. I would not reccomend this hotel to anyone. If the price is appealing because it's so cheap- Save up an extra $250 and stay somewhere else. When we left the Whitcomb about 2 hours after we checked in, the Manager of the Hotel had acted like he wasn't surprised- almost like this situation occured often. Horrible Hotel. Horrible Neighborhood. Not in a good location at all. Small Rooms. Dirty Rooms. Unfriendly staff. It was a DISASTER!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Nov 10, 2009

Add $28 for parking per day.

At the time of check out (Monday October 9 @ 5:45 am) the person at the front desk was really disrespectful. Apparently, he was mad because we inquire about the high price they charge for parking ($28 per day.) He argued that I should know better, because he had traveled all around the world, and he always payed similar prices for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Uncle Fester
Business
New York, NY
Oct 8, 2010

Good Location Lazy Staff

The hotel lobby itself is nice, the rooms are sort of on the small side, but clean. The hotel staff is very lazy and tries to avoid your requests if you only ask once, the trick is to demand and keep asking till they finally give in, wonder why they just don't fulfill a simple request, but drag it on and on and waste time, if you need towels, you NEED TOWELS! The trick at this hotel is to call the front desk several times for towels if you run out of clean ones, then finally after calling them 3 times and waiting 30minutes they'll give in and bring you some to your room. The parking attendents themselves shut the gate to the parking garage at midnight, if you beep the horn once they won't come out, twice again they won't show up, the trick is to nail the horn down for 10 seconds, then they finally wake up and open the gate for you, meanwhile you're paying roughly $35 a day to park at your hotel, and they shut the gate at midnight, expecting you to keep blowing the horn to motivate them to open the gate. Don't let the lazy hotel staff get away with ignoring your requests, the trick is to be very assertive, it's not like these lazy people would turn violent, they're too lazy ... Remember, if you wan't something expect to be blown off, then just get in their faces, they'll eventually give in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 12, 2011

So-so place in an unfortunate 'hood.

Stayed 5 nights with my girlfriend in June of 2011.My chief complaint is the neighborhood the hotel is located in. Known as the Tenderloin, it isn't good any time of day, and night is even worse. Walking out of the hotel, I definitely had my head on a swivel and we took cabs home each night. The hotel has little control over this, to be sure (and they did have a doorman checking room keys in the evening, which made us feel better), but this is something you should be aware of when you stay here.The second complaint I have is the condition of the rooms. [...] listed the hotel as recently renovated, but we found little evidence in our fourth-floor room. The bed comforters were lumpy, the iron had rust spots, and bathtubs were narrow, even for a slender person like me – the soap dish flew off the wall with the slightest touch. A call to guest services fixed the soap dish but nothing else.I should mention however that the staff I interacted with in-person was always helpful. We asked for directions, to schedule a airport shuttle, and a few other things which were all handled without issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Mar 7, 2010

Avoid

Avoid. Room was dirty and the hallways were full of wandering 'locals'.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Micky001
Business
San Jose
Aug 25, 2014

Too bad

No refregrator, no pot, too exprnsive, too bad staff.... I never stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
travel star 88
Business
Ireland
Jul 27, 2010

wouldn't return

I stayed in this hotel with close to 20 friends from different parts of the world. 4 of us arrived early but they would not let us up to the room until the others arrived, after a 3 hour wait we finally were given the key to our room. We found the staff at the reception very rude, they even hung up the phone when i rang to complain about a fight that was happening in the next room. this is not the kind of treatment you expect to recieve as a paying customer. location of the hotel was good, however a lot of homeless begging outside. staff around the hotel were friendly and welcoming with the exception to the reception staff (maybe they should swap roles). overall loved san fran would just choose a different hotel if i was to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

so many shops to choose from only a short distance from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top