$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 6, 2015 Check-out: Mar 7, 2015

Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
471 reviews
Last minute

It was a last minute trip for one night. Really did not spend too much time in the room but would... See full review

  • Mandy
  • Feb 15, 2015
Fabulous night's stay

My daughter and I had a double room for the night. I loved that the room had a/c because I prefer... See full review

  • conroypi
  • Feb 10, 2015
Luxury meets history, vintage meets modern at Theater District hotel

The Hotel Whitcomb has a place in San Francisco history like no other: Following the 1906 earthquake, the building actually served as City Hall. The majestic Theater District property still looks a lot like it did back then, with crystal chandeliers, Tiffany glass and Italian marble columns and floors. Made-to-look-old furniture highlights rooms upstairs, though modern conveniences abound as well. The on-site Market Street Grill serves up basic American fare.

Highlights
  • Historical spot -- the hotel once served as San Francisco's City Hall
  • Located in the Theater District, across Market Street from the Orpheum Theater
  • Ornate preserved lobby
  • Dine on classic American fare at The Market Street Grill
Rooms

High ceilings are common in the Whitcomb's 447 guest rooms and 12 suites. Furniture in these rooms has been specially crafted so it looks old. Accommodations come standard with modern conveniences as well, including flat-screen televisions, ironing boards and spacious workstations. Many also offer stunning views of San Francisco Bay, as well as complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. The Sunny Jim Suite also includes a wet bar and a dining area.

Features

Marble floors, polished brass fixtures, Tiffany glass and fresh flowers accentuate the ornate Main Lobby. This area transports guests back to the turn of the 20th Century, when the building briefly served as City Hall. It became a hotel in 1916. It's also a great place to enjoy a coffee and read a complimentary newspaper.

All guests have access to an on-site health and fitness center, dry-cleaning service (fees apply) and transportation to San Francisco International Airport (fees apply).

Grab a homemade Dungeness crab cake at The Market Street Grill, the on-site restaurant. Customers enter through the Tavern Piano Bar, a classic lounge that can get downright boisterous on weekend nights.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mil/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • BART (4 blocks)
  • Cable car stops (6 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • SoMa
  • Embarcadero
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 25,000 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual expert to help with equipment

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco Rooms

Queen Room
Room with 1 Queen bed, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.
Double Room
Room with 2 double beds, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.
Parlor Suite
Room with 2 double beds, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.
King Room
Room with 1 king bed, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.2 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.4 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.4 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.9 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 2.1 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2.1 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 2.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 2.1 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 2.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 2.1 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 2.1 mi

Dining

Caffe Della Stella
Nice Italian Dining with in walking distance of the hotel.
Moonstar
Nice Chinese and Sushi at Moonstar and it is all you can eat. Moonstar is across the street from the hotel.
Market Street Grill/California Cusine
Relax in our Market Street Grill or lounge that is located in our beautiful Historic Hotel. We also offer room service to our valuable guest.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hotel Whitcomb has the largest Parkay Dance Floor in the City with 8 diffrent meeting facilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (471)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
471 out of 471
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu,Hi
Nov 19, 2009

Avoid this place

My son arrived one day before me astayed at the Wittcome.The next day ,after I arrived in SF,he called me and let me know they,his wife and 2 children were checking out. Why? His wife had 500+ bedbug bites and the sheets were red with blood spots. [...]we stayed at the Pickwick Hotel,a little more but no bedbugs.Real creepy to think about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Nov 10, 2009

Add $28 for parking per day.

At the time of check out (Monday October 9 @ 5:45 am) the person at the front desk was really disrespectful. Apparently, he was mad because we inquire about the high price they charge for parking ($28 per day.) He argued that I should know better, because he had traveled all around the world, and he always payed similar prices for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 12, 2011

So-so place in an unfortunate 'hood.

Stayed 5 nights with my girlfriend in June of 2011.My chief complaint is the neighborhood the hotel is located in. Known as the Tenderloin, it isn't good any time of day, and night is even worse. Walking out of the hotel, I definitely had my head on a swivel and we took cabs home each night. The hotel has little control over this, to be sure (and they did have a doorman checking room keys in the evening, which made us feel better), but this is something you should be aware of when you stay here.The second complaint I have is the condition of the rooms. [...] listed the hotel as recently renovated, but we found little evidence in our fourth-floor room. The bed comforters were lumpy, the iron had rust spots, and bathtubs were narrow, even for a slender person like me – the soap dish flew off the wall with the slightest touch. A call to guest services fixed the soap dish but nothing else.I should mention however that the staff I interacted with in-person was always helpful. We asked for directions, to schedule a airport shuttle, and a few other things which were all handled without issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Uncle Fester
Business
New York, NY
Oct 8, 2010

Good Location Lazy Staff

The hotel lobby itself is nice, the rooms are sort of on the small side, but clean. The hotel staff is very lazy and tries to avoid your requests if you only ask once, the trick is to demand and keep asking till they finally give in, wonder why they just don't fulfill a simple request, but drag it on and on and waste time, if you need towels, you NEED TOWELS! The trick at this hotel is to call the front desk several times for towels if you run out of clean ones, then finally after calling them 3 times and waiting 30minutes they'll give in and bring you some to your room. The parking attendents themselves shut the gate to the parking garage at midnight, if you beep the horn once they won't come out, twice again they won't show up, the trick is to nail the horn down for 10 seconds, then they finally wake up and open the gate for you, meanwhile you're paying roughly $35 a day to park at your hotel, and they shut the gate at midnight, expecting you to keep blowing the horn to motivate them to open the gate. Don't let the lazy hotel staff get away with ignoring your requests, the trick is to be very assertive, it's not like these lazy people would turn violent, they're too lazy ... Remember, if you wan't something expect to be blown off, then just get in their faces, they'll eventually give in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Mar 7, 2010

Avoid

Avoid. Room was dirty and the hallways were full of wandering 'locals'.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Barrington, RI
Apr 25, 2009

Bed Bugs

The hotel was beautiful and conveniently located. It felt very safe. It appeared to be very clean and well-kept, except that the bed had bed bugs. I saw them on the third night and by then had bites. The hotel did not follow recommended procedures for moving me. I had to spend another night with the bugs and then I moved to another room, taking all my luggage and belongings. The hotel should have laundered all my clothes and sprayed my luggage before establishing me, and maybe some bugs, in another room. They offered to give me two nights for free. I insisted on all five nights. I had to go straight to a laundromat when I left, buy insecticide for my luggage, spray the car I traveled home in. And the welts from the bites continued to swell for several days. It was miserable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Macy's and take the double-decker tour buses. Very pleasant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cockroach nightmare
Business
sacramento, ca
Jul 17, 2009

cockroach

My bf and I stayed one night at the Whitcomb. The valet boys seemed confused when taking our car and all gave us different instructions, leaving us uneasy on whether or not we should be leaving the car with them...We are a younger couple and the front desk seemed to treat the other customers as if they were more important than us. The room was small and right as we were about to sleep a huge cockroach was spotted crawling across the floor! We immediately called the front desk asking for a room change and the supervisor at the time was extremely rude. He would not help us at all, gave us more than enough attitude, and then hung up on us saying he had other customers. We then went down to the front desk and talked to the same supervisor. We were then given even more attitude and told that we could be checked out and leave the hotel or talk to the manager in the morning. We had an uneasy night sleep with cockroaches and then woke up early to speak with the manager. I fell in love with the manager! He was more than helpful and extremely helpful, and immediately gave us a refund for all the misery we had gone through. He was what saved this hotel from being a complete nightmare. The only other good thing was the location of the hotel, right next to the bart and a starbucks downstairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MMGood
Business
Wisco
Feb 13, 2011

Hotel [*]

[...] The area is a sketchy and the amount of homeless hanging around is sad, scary and annoying. I checked in around 3 pm hoping to get a quick siesta. No such luck. They must have been filming an adult video in the next room. The room just felt dirty. Everything was super old and crusty. The hotel staff who were outside enjoying their cancer sticks right below my room were hooting and hollering all night long as if they were at a college house party. And a hot shower? Make sure you leave the water run for at least 15 minutes. My bed sheets had holes in them. Hotel [*]. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Micky001
Business
San Jose
Aug 25, 2014

Too bad

No refregrator, no pot, too exprnsive, too bad staff.... I never stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
travel star 88
Business
Ireland
Jul 27, 2010

wouldn't return

I stayed in this hotel with close to 20 friends from different parts of the world. 4 of us arrived early but they would not let us up to the room until the others arrived, after a 3 hour wait we finally were given the key to our room. We found the staff at the reception very rude, they even hung up the phone when i rang to complain about a fight that was happening in the next room. this is not the kind of treatment you expect to recieve as a paying customer. location of the hotel was good, however a lot of homeless begging outside. staff around the hotel were friendly and welcoming with the exception to the reception staff (maybe they should swap roles). overall loved san fran would just choose a different hotel if i was to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

so many shops to choose from only a short distance from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top