$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

3 stars
1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
686 reviews
hotel Whitcomb

Staff was very helpful, the Grand lobby was definitely grand Nice n clean room, I would stay there... See full review

  • aj13
  • May 5, 2014
Great Hotel.

Stayed close for a concert at BG Civic Center. Could walk there from our hotel. Staff was extremely... See full review

  • Todd13
  • Mar 13, 2014
Luxury meets history, vintage meets modern at Theater District hotel

The Hotel Whitcomb has a place in San Francisco history like no other: Following the 1906 earthquake, the building actually served as City Hall. The majestic Theater District property still looks a lot like it did back then, with crystal chandeliers, Tiffany glass and Italian marble columns and floors. Made-to-look-old furniture highlights rooms upstairs, though modern conveniences abound as well. The on-site Market Street Grill serves up basic American fare.

Highlights
  • Historical spot -- the hotel once served as San Francisco's City Hall
  • Located in the Theater District, across Market Street from the Orpheum Theater
  • Ornate preserved lobby
  • Dine on classic American fare at The Market Street Grill
Rooms

High ceilings are common in the Whitcomb's 447 guest rooms and 12 suites. Furniture in these rooms has been specially crafted so it looks old. Accommodations come standard with modern conveniences as well, including flat-screen televisions, ironing boards and spacious workstations. Many also offer stunning views of San Francisco Bay, as well as complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. The Sunny Jim Suite also includes a wet bar and a dining area.

Features

Marble floors, polished brass fixtures, Tiffany glass and fresh flowers accentuate the ornate Main Lobby. This area transports guests back to the turn of the 20th Century, when the building briefly served as City Hall. It became a hotel in 1916. It's also a great place to enjoy a coffee and read a complimentary newspaper.

All guests have access to an on-site health and fitness center, dry-cleaning service (fees apply) and transportation to San Francisco International Airport (fees apply).

Grab a homemade Dungeness crab cake at The Market Street Grill, the on-site restaurant. Customers enter through the Tavern Piano Bar, a classic lounge that can get downright boisterous on weekend nights.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mil/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • BART (4 blocks)
  • Cable car stops (6 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • SoMa
  • Embarcadero
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 25,000 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual expert to help with equipment

Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco Rooms

Parlor Suite
Room with 2 double beds, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.
King Room
Room with 1 king bed, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.
Queen Room
Room with 1 Queen bed, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.
Double Room
Room with 2 double beds, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7782 -122.4155
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport Oakland Internationa Airport
Area description
Conveniently located on vibrant Market Street, across from the Orpheum Theater, Hotel Whitcomb is a downtown San Francisco sanctuary surrounded by the city's most popular restaurants, shops and attractions. Walking distance to the incredible Theatre District, Yerba Buena Gardens, the San Francisco Opera and Symphony, Folsom Street and the Castro. Hotel Whitcomb is perfectly situated in the city's cultural, arts and business districts.

Nearby points of interest

  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1 mi
  • Nob Hill: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.2 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.4 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.4 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.9 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 2.1 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2.1 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 2.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 2.1 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 2.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 2.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hotel Whitcomb has the largest Parkay Dance Floor in the City with 8 diffrent meeting facilities.

Dining

Market Street Grill/California Cusine
Relax in our Market Street Grill or lounge that is located in our beautiful Historic Hotel. We also offer room service to our valuable guest.
Caffe Della Stella
Nice Italian Dining with in walking distance of the hotel.
Moonstar
Nice Chinese and Sushi at Moonstar and it is all you can eat. Moonstar is across the street from the hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (686)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 686
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seattlechick
Seattle, WA
Jul 7, 2014

Easy Access to Transportation

Hotel Lobby furnishings are luxurious and reflect the hotel's historic status. However, the rooms don't reflect that grandeur. Shower has little water pressure and finishings in rooms are less than impressive. Hotel is located in a semi-sketchy area in the Civic District, a block or two from the Asian Art Museum, City Hall and the Opera House. Not a lot to see or do within walking distance, but the BART is literally right outside the hotel. BB tour buses has a stop within a block or two, and several major buslines run right past the hotel. The Concierge service was impeccable--we had no issues navigating travel or deciding which neighborhoods would suit us best (two 20-something women in town for a long weekend). The quality for the price is spot on and if you aren't looking for convenience of any major attractions right outside your front door I would definitely recommend a stay at Hotel Whitcomb..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Less than 10 minutes walk is a small, carnival-themed restaurant called "The Straw." Decor is unique, food is incredible and the star of the menu is a juicy burger with glazed donuts in lieu of a bun. Definitely worth checking out! (Call ahead for reservations--space is limited).

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Killar
Wisconsin
Jan 15, 2014

The best vacation getaway!

With It's great location and historic nature, this hotel was a pleasure to stay at. The staff were helpfull and friendly especially considering it was our 1st visit to the Bay Area . We an to come back sometime soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
luna 6
los angeles california
Dec 25, 2013

fantastic decoration

The decoration of the hotel is quite important to me and whitcomb has a great design in vintage style. The train station is right besides the gate of the hotel which makes the travel so convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
enough said.
on market between 9&8 st.
Dec 16, 2013

could use some help...

Late at night there was drunk people walking up and down the hall yelling. The walls and doors are paper thin.. THE PARKING GARAGE IS A RIPOFF!!! FOR TWO NIGHTS THEY CHARGED ME $79.47 you are better off parking in the corner lot next door for 10.00 dollars a day!! Rooms are clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Ride the cable cars and use the bart very cheap and fun! Also If your young look into the "santacon" bar hop.

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jessy Zhao
Eugene,Oregon
Mar 25, 2013

very good hotel

This hotel is very good, the location is on the market street, it's safty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
houseafire
tucson az
Feb 13, 2013

nice economic weekend

best location for exploring sf by public transit.....clean room, friendly staff, good value. old style lobby and furniture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chen Wang
Albany, New York
Dec 25, 2012

Amazing stay

Just amazing... I should say this hotel is so considerable that $87 is really worth it!!!! They even insert a paper of local weather report into your room through the door!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gokun
nashville, tn
Dec 20, 2012

Good hotel, but no so good location.

As far as hotel and comfort go, everything was great. However, neighborhood was not so good. A lot of homeless people walking around were kind of uncomfortable. If you want to save some money and still close to downtown, I think it's an OK hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dayvison
NYC, NY
Nov 14, 2012

Good vacation in SF

The Hotel is clean and comfortable. Market street is a centralized place to stay, but unfortunately there are so many homeless people around this neighborhood and parking is always hard to find. The Hotel offers a parking, but it is very expensive (U$35 / day).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Embarcadero has several attractions such as the Aquarium, a nice promenade area, good and variety of food and shopping!

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
marcijmu
Sandiego, ca.
Jul 26, 2012

perfect getaway

This was my first trip to Sanfrancisco, and I must say it was just perfect. We stayed at the Whitcomb and chose this hotel due to its great price. We were pleasantly surprised. The Hotel had so much character and has been there for a very long time with much history. As a matter of fact , my friend and I took the Amtrak from Sandiego to Sanfrancisco! It was a 13 hour ride and we are very glad we rented a sleeper compartment for this long journey. We had a ball on the train, We did meet an elderly gentleman who stayed at the Whitcomb hotel when he was a little boy. He told me about this Tiffini stained glass when you check in to the hotel. Sure enough, it was still there and beautiful. There is no room service, but the hotel restaurant was elegant, had delicious food, and great coffee. There is a starbucks in the hotel as well. Our bathroom was so cute, very little with a shower, but we did have a little walk in closet. We slept soundly on our beds. They were quite comfortable. As all tourists do, we did the Little Italy food tour, and tasted the best pizzas, cannollis, coffee, breads, macaroons, etc. Just thinking about all of the different foods makes my mouth water all over again. We took the Alcatraz tour which was incredible. I'm still talking about that one too. We did find time to see two movies as well. Even the city tour was wonderful, and very informative. Of course we walked the wharf and ate at Joeys crab shack. the lobster and crab buckets were so much fun and delicious. We walked through china town one day and tried Dim Sum. All this was on our lists of things to do, see, and eat. We flew home and are left with such happy memories. Would go again in a heart beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top