$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 17, 2015 Check-out: Mar 19, 2015

Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
471 reviews
Last minute

It was a last minute trip for one night. Really did not spend too much time in the room but would... See full review

  • Mandy
  • Feb 15, 2015
Fabulous night's stay

My daughter and I had a double room for the night. I loved that the room had a/c because I prefer... See full review

  • conroypi
  • Feb 10, 2015
Luxury meets history, vintage meets modern at Theater District hotel

The Hotel Whitcomb has a place in San Francisco history like no other: Following the 1906 earthquake, the building actually served as City Hall. The majestic Theater District property still looks a lot like it did back then, with crystal chandeliers, Tiffany glass and Italian marble columns and floors. Made-to-look-old furniture highlights rooms upstairs, though modern conveniences abound as well. The on-site Market Street Grill serves up basic American fare.

Highlights
  • Historical spot -- the hotel once served as San Francisco's City Hall
  • Located in the Theater District, across Market Street from the Orpheum Theater
  • Ornate preserved lobby
  • Dine on classic American fare at The Market Street Grill
Rooms

High ceilings are common in the Whitcomb's 447 guest rooms and 12 suites. Furniture in these rooms has been specially crafted so it looks old. Accommodations come standard with modern conveniences as well, including flat-screen televisions, ironing boards and spacious workstations. Many also offer stunning views of San Francisco Bay, as well as complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. The Sunny Jim Suite also includes a wet bar and a dining area.

Features

Marble floors, polished brass fixtures, Tiffany glass and fresh flowers accentuate the ornate Main Lobby. This area transports guests back to the turn of the 20th Century, when the building briefly served as City Hall. It became a hotel in 1916. It's also a great place to enjoy a coffee and read a complimentary newspaper.

All guests have access to an on-site health and fitness center, dry-cleaning service (fees apply) and transportation to San Francisco International Airport (fees apply).

Grab a homemade Dungeness crab cake at The Market Street Grill, the on-site restaurant. Customers enter through the Tavern Piano Bar, a classic lounge that can get downright boisterous on weekend nights.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mil/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • BART (4 blocks)
  • Cable car stops (6 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • SoMa
  • Embarcadero
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 25,000 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual expert to help with equipment

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco Rooms

Queen Room
Room with 1 Queen bed, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.
Double Room
Room with 2 double beds, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.
Parlor Suite
Room with 2 double beds, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.
King Room
Room with 1 king bed, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.2 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.4 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.4 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.9 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 2.1 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2.1 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 2.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 2.1 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 2.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 2.1 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 2.1 mi

Dining

Caffe Della Stella
Nice Italian Dining with in walking distance of the hotel.
Moonstar
Nice Chinese and Sushi at Moonstar and it is all you can eat. Moonstar is across the street from the hotel.
Market Street Grill/California Cusine
Relax in our Market Street Grill or lounge that is located in our beautiful Historic Hotel. We also offer room service to our valuable guest.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hotel Whitcomb has the largest Parkay Dance Floor in the City with 8 diffrent meeting facilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (471)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
108 out of 471
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
conroypi
Business
N/A
Feb 10, 2015

Fabulous night's stay

My daughter and I had a double room for the night. I loved that the room had a/c because I prefer bundling up under warm blankets in a cold room. We both had a great night's sleep. It would have been nice to have coffee/tea in the room, but I think they do not provide it due to size constraints. If I were to make a recommendation, it would be to put lighting near the mirror on the back of the bathroom door. This way when two women have to get ready at the same time, one can use the door mirror and the other the bathroom mirror. There just isn't enough room for two people in front of the bathroom mirror at the same time. The staff was very friendly. We had breakfast in the hotel's restaurant and it was delicious. We thought the friendly valet had a great sense of humor. Great room for the price. My only disappointment is the man with the top hat is no longer there. I was looking forward to that )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

There is an alternative to taking a cab in SF. I cannot list the name here, but you can google it. You don't call in advance and they are there within a couple of minutes, the fare is reasonable, and there is no tipping. Also, the drivers are very friendly. My last stay in SF ended with me calling a particular cab company three times as the cab drivers decided to cancel my cab service and re-start my cab request - twice. This new form of public transportation puts an app on your phone which shows you a picture of the car and a gps view of them driving to your pick-up location. Super simple!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lydia L.
Business
N/A
Jan 12, 2015

Great hotel business travel

Had some apprehension re. location but BART station is steps away and I felt safe as solo woman traveler. Free wireless in room was great no time to check out work-out facilities. Décor a little shabby and small room (only reason for 4) but great value. For 102 year-old hotel she's in good shape, plus other amenities (location, good wireless connection) are more important to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Global Lady
Business
Alexandria
Jan 6, 2015

Interesting hotel & history

This was an interesting stay. The room was very small, but clean. The location was great and very convenient to meetings in the area. The Starbucks off the lobby was a good place to work and get coffee. There are a few urban legends about the hotel --which I will not go into here. But suffice it to say - they do lend a certain "aura" to the hotel and its dark hallways. Most of the staff were very friendly -- and the restaurant - also off the lobby - had very good salads and a nice selection of wines. It is scheduled to be fully remodeled --and that is NEEDED. It was a grand old dame in its day ---and you can see that in the elegant lobby, with intricate paneling and incredible chandeliers. But as most aging icons - it will benefit from an update - especially in the rooms and halls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Daniel P.
Business
San Francisco
Jan 5, 2015

Not Bad

Decent experience. Staff were friendly. My hotel room did not really have a window and was rather small. The interior decoration of the entire building has the feel of a once-fancy hotel past its prime. The neighborhood will probably creep out most people. I was not bothered at all, but there are a lot of homeless people around at night, and little else going on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BRadenK
Business
danville
Dec 30, 2014

One night rental

Great location, only con was that the water pressure was terrible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cosine_pi
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

great stay

The most important thing about this hotel is that the building is absolutely stunning. Ignore what gripers say about it -- the rooms are nice, the area has some homeless etc but is fine, and the staff are super-friendly. A very good hotel and recommended with no reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Powderpages
Business
denver
Dec 29, 2014

business overnight

Suitable for an overnight without the family. Took a cab right to the front door, so i dint have to mingle with the homeless guys hanging out front with their shopping carts... on the edge of the sketchy part of town. good value for a quick overnight where you don't want breakfast or a super nice room. Old, stinky rooms with pretty decent beds, the TV was on the other side of the room so watching form bed was a challenge. Starbucks in the lobby helped!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cosine_pi
Business
N/A
Dec 20, 2014

great stay

The most important thing about this hotel is that the building is absolutely stunning. Ignore what gripers say about it -- the rooms are nice, the area has some homeless etc but is fine, and the staff are super-friendly. A very good hotel and recommended with no reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jimmyneab
Business
Vancouver, BC
Nov 17, 2014

hotel

decent hotel, good location. Friendly staff, rooms were okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BRadenK
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Nov 15, 2014

Overnight fun

Stayed here before, the location is PRIME... It's a historic hotel so nothing fancy.. The beds are worn down and tough, the pillows aren't anything new.. And the water pressure is like bathing out of a sink. The room was cleaned decently, parking was $35 and I just needed something last minute. I heard that the Hyatt was the same price that night /: decent, but don't expect to be blown away..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top