$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
477 out of 477
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Killar
Business
Wisconsin
Jan 10, 2014

Friends getaway

Very much liked visit! Was impressed with location and easily available transportation. Staff were readily available to answer any questions. Beautiful historic hotel! Would come back again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything is within d

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
luna 6
Business
los angeles california
Dec 25, 2013

fantastic decoration

The decoration of the hotel is quite important to me and whitcomb has a great design in vintage style. The train station is right besides the gate of the hotel which makes the travel so convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeffsyl
Business
Seattle
Dec 16, 2013

Great Budget Hotel

Great Budget Hotel in good location. BART and Muni station in front of hotwl.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
enough said.
Business
on market between 9&8 st.
Dec 16, 2013

could use some help...

Late at night there was drunk people walking up and down the hall yelling. The walls and doors are paper thin.. THE PARKING GARAGE IS A RIPOFF!!! FOR TWO NIGHTS THEY CHARGED ME $79.47 you are better off parking in the corner lot next door for 10.00 dollars a day!! Rooms are clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Ride the cable cars and use the bart very cheap and fun! Also If your young look into the "santacon" bar hop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jane from Pasadena
Business
Pasadena, CA
Dec 14, 2013

Very Nice Hotel

I stay at Hotel Whitcomb every time I go to San Francisco and I always enjoy my stay. This time I wound up with a spectacular view of the city civic buildings (beautiful gold dome) although you obviously can't count on getting that every time. I only gave four stars because there's no in-room coffee (although there's a Starbucks right in the hotel, but it gets crowded, and I'd just rather have it in-room). Also, the room heating is old and tempermental, such that I had to call maintenance to my room several times on the first night of my stay to get it fixed (who was real polite and competent, but this wasn't how I wanted to be spending my time).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Broke Startup Founder
Business
Austin, Texas
Dec 12, 2013

Cheaper SF hotel w/ Starbucks in lobby

You can tell this was once a grand hotel in San Francisco but is in need of some serious updates. The staff was friendly and pleasant. The biggest plus is a Starbucks in the lobby. If you are just looking for a inexpensive, clean bed near downtown SF then this is your place. The WiFi is awful when it works. Downstream speed is like a 14.4 fax machine from the late 1990s and upstream is so slow I couldn't even send emails. However there is a Starbucks in the lobby with free wifi that you can use that is decent and actually where I had to work from. It is located in the Civic Center which is undergoing a transformation now but has rough patches especially along Market. Walking towards SOMA or Union Square is more pleasant down Mission rather than Market. Both areas are less than a 15 minute walk. Parking is $35/night but the valets are friendly. If you are hoping around the city/valley for meetings then this is a decent location. If they had decent WiFi speeds then it would make a decent base of operations for hops to SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Use Mission instead of Market if you are walking to SOMA and do not like being around more interesting characters. It is not unsafe for the most part, but some people are super sensitive to these sort of things.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LittleDavey
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 12, 2013

Faded Glory

The Whitcomb gets basic stuff right--the bed and linens were quite nice, actually. Everything else was adequate, functional but depressingly in need of updating. Co-located BART and Starbucks were both helpful. Avoid rooms that overlook service dock--the laundry service arrived promptly and loudly at 4:00AM both nights, with the bonus of a trash truck. Both had loud back-up warnings, adding further insult. You can probably do better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JkwPortland
Business
Portland
Dec 11, 2013

wouldn't stay there again

The ice machine was broken and since the vending machine was out of bottled water, we couldn't get a drink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PlayballT
Business
Charlottesville, Va
Nov 21, 2013

Good SF base

Very big and surprisingly quiet stay. Decent hotel on the edge of downtown SF with very good access to the rest of SF -including the airport - via BART or MUNI. I can't comment much more, as the best times in SF are outside the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

BART is only ~100 yards from the hotel. However, be aware of BART's limited Sunday hours. I had planned on taking BART for my Sunday 9am flight out, but it doesn't open until 8:30!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ramezc
Business
Los Angeles
Nov 11, 2013

Great location

Rooms were very clean and comfortable. As well as the hotel was centrally located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top