$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

3 stars
1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
438 reviews
hotel Whitcomb

Staff was very helpful, the Grand lobby was definitely grand Nice n clean room, I would stay there... See full review

  • aj13
  • May 5, 2014
Great Hotel.

Stayed close for a concert at BG Civic Center. Could walk there from our hotel. Staff was extremely... See full review

  • Todd13
  • Mar 13, 2014
Luxury meets history, vintage meets modern at Theater District hotel

The Hotel Whitcomb has a place in San Francisco history like no other: Following the 1906 earthquake, the building actually served as City Hall. The majestic Theater District property still looks a lot like it did back then, with crystal chandeliers, Tiffany glass and Italian marble columns and floors. Made-to-look-old furniture highlights rooms upstairs, though modern conveniences abound as well. The on-site Market Street Grill serves up basic American fare.

Highlights
  • Historical spot -- the hotel once served as San Francisco's City Hall
  • Located in the Theater District, across Market Street from the Orpheum Theater
  • Ornate preserved lobby
  • Dine on classic American fare at The Market Street Grill
Rooms

High ceilings are common in the Whitcomb's 447 guest rooms and 12 suites. Furniture in these rooms has been specially crafted so it looks old. Accommodations come standard with modern conveniences as well, including flat-screen televisions, ironing boards and spacious workstations. Many also offer stunning views of San Francisco Bay, as well as complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. The Sunny Jim Suite also includes a wet bar and a dining area.

Features

Marble floors, polished brass fixtures, Tiffany glass and fresh flowers accentuate the ornate Main Lobby. This area transports guests back to the turn of the 20th Century, when the building briefly served as City Hall. It became a hotel in 1916. It's also a great place to enjoy a coffee and read a complimentary newspaper.

All guests have access to an on-site health and fitness center, dry-cleaning service (fees apply) and transportation to San Francisco International Airport (fees apply).

Grab a homemade Dungeness crab cake at The Market Street Grill, the on-site restaurant. Customers enter through the Tavern Piano Bar, a classic lounge that can get downright boisterous on weekend nights.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mil/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • BART (4 blocks)
  • Cable car stops (6 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • SoMa
  • Embarcadero
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 25,000 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual expert to help with equipment

Hotel Map

37.7782 -122.4155
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport Oakland Internationa Airport
Area description
Conveniently located on vibrant Market Street, across from the Orpheum Theater, Hotel Whitcomb is a downtown San Francisco sanctuary surrounded by the city's most popular restaurants, shops and attractions. Walking distance to the incredible Theatre District, Yerba Buena Gardens, the San Francisco Opera and Symphony, Folsom Street and the Castro. Hotel Whitcomb is perfectly situated in the city's cultural, arts and business districts.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco Rooms

Parlor Suite
Room with 2 double beds, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.
King Room
Room with 1 king bed, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.
Queen Room
Room with 1 Queen bed, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.
Double Room
Room with 2 double beds, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1 mi
  • Nob Hill: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.2 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.4 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.4 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.9 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 2.1 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2.1 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 2.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 2.1 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 2.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 2.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hotel Whitcomb has the largest Parkay Dance Floor in the City with 8 diffrent meeting facilities.

Dining

Market Street Grill/California Cusine
Relax in our Market Street Grill or lounge that is located in our beautiful Historic Hotel. We also offer room service to our valuable guest.
Caffe Della Stella
Nice Italian Dining with in walking distance of the hotel.
Moonstar
Nice Chinese and Sushi at Moonstar and it is all you can eat. Moonstar is across the street from the hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (438)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
438 out of 438
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seven Devils Quilter
Bandon, OR
May 14, 2013

Perfect Location

Location on Market Street couldn't be better. Easy access to all public transportation or easy walking to so many San Francisco sights. Staff at the hotel couldn't be better. Rooms are beautiful. Loved the old world feel to the hotel. Can't wait to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CKUNIE
Grand Island, NE
May 8, 2013

Hotel Whitcome San Francisco

I loved the location of this hotel, located inbetween the aiport, fishermans wharf, union square, Ghirardelli square, shopping and dining all around, starbucks in the hotel, whats not to like......Carpet smelled a little musty, but a beautiful old fashioned hotel. Beds were comfortable and the room was quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the tram/metro- easy access to all San Francisco attractions

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mJackson.81
Chicago / Melbourne
May 5, 2013

Terrible location

We found the staff at Whitcomb to be very friendly and the rooms pretty much what we expected for an older building but the area is what killed it for us. On the first night we got in late form the airport so we went straight to bed only to lay there listening to people fighting and yelling out the front. The next morning we got up to go for a walk to get some breakfast and within 5 minutes we saw one guy vomiting in the middle of the road and then another guy urinating on the sidewalk! The whole area is full of homeless people and people on drugs (apparently its ok to smoke crack pipes in broad daylight in SF) We where in NYC only the week before and we felt a lot safer walking around there even at night time. There are some beautiful areas around SF but unfortunately you need to walk trough so much filth to get to them from Whitcomb that we ened up just getting taxis out the front to get out of the area, so in the end with all the money we spent on taxis we could have just stayed at a place in a nice area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vegasjuhl
Las Vegas, NV
Apr 30, 2013

Excellent Location

Hotel Whitcomb is a historic hotel with comfortable accomodations in the heart of the city. With the Bart/Muni station steps from the door the entire city is footsteps away. The hotel offers a lot of character, although the rooms are a bit dingy. Particularly, the bathrooms. However, the bed are quite comfortable and that's what's most important. And the staff is pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a multiday Muni Pass, it'll save you a bunch and it'll give you access to the entire city.

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NotBizTraveler
NYC
Apr 26, 2013

Fine for the price

You have to want to be in the Markets Street area, it's not Union Square! Neighborhood is not night time safe for children. But the price is right. You can save hundreds of dollars a night staying at the Whitcomb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Indiana Wine Girl
Business
Indiana
Apr 24, 2013

Worth the money.

The hotel was beautiful, neighborhood was a little sketchy. Front desk seemed under staffed. It was worth what we paid for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andrew the Explorer
Columbus, Oh
Apr 22, 2013

San Francisco Exploration

My wife and I visited San Francisco for 4 days and stayed at Hotel Whitcomb. The hotel is pretty old and has a sort of historic feel to it, which is great. What isn't so great is that the rooms are (at least ours was) very small and also felt dated. The hotel is just off of a MUNI/BART station which makes it excellent if you plan on travelling around the city or the Bay Area. It's not the greatest of areas other than the station. All-in-all, I would say that for the money the hotel is pretty decent if you are just looking for a bed for pretty cheap that is near a MUNI/BART station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sassy travel
NYC
Apr 21, 2013

Turned out perfect!!

I was visiting SF for a conference by my self and wanted to see a bit of the city too. I booked in hurry, but later saw a bunch of negative reviews on Internet & was scared about the location of the hotel. But it turned out pretty good for me. It was just a short walk from Moscone center and was in a good spot in a sense that I could go out and be in the city. Well the fact BART was just outside helped tremendously. The inside was a small room , clean with good sheets . Although there is a Starbucks just downstairs I wanted to have coffe in my room and I asked for a coffee maker which appeared after just two phone call( it took them 2 hours). I would say for the price it was reasonable, if you want room only for sleeping at night. I also encountered a rude front desk person, but I think I am still in a good mood after my trip. The usual check in time is after 3 , I had called from airport about my flight getting there early I was told it was a good day so I could come to my room straight up, later when I showed up , I was asked to wait first for 1 hour then two more till 3, I think the people on front desk need bit more polishing in terms of being polite and political. Nevertheless I would say if you donot find anything in the city, go for Whitcomb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hsim841288
Business
Seoul, Korea
Apr 21, 2013

Nice Staffs but Too Old Building

The hotel is located in a not so friendly neighborhood. Staffs are friendly and nice but they can not overcome the disadvantage of old building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coach John
Business
Mendocino County
Apr 17, 2013

A very good value in a convenient San Francisco location

I had a very good experience at the Whitcomb as a business traveler. The Whitcomb is a classic historic hotel in a convenient location within an easy walk or a short transit ride of the Moscone Center, the financial district and Union Square. The hotel is clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. While the hotel lacks some modern conveniences and the dining room is not open for dinner, the Whitcomb provides an exceptional value for a business traveler who simply wants a clean, safe and reasonably quiet place to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Starbuck's

Back to menu Return to top

Change search