$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
424 out of 424
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
aj13
Couples
San Pedro ca
May 5, 2014

hotel Whitcomb

Staff was very helpful, the Grand lobby was definitely grand Nice n clean room, I would stay there again when I go back to. San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Cool bars and good food Within walking distance or a cab ride away

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johnny benn
Couples
Dallas, TX
Apr 21, 2014

Good value & good location

The Hotel Whitcomb is an older hotel and could use to be updated a little. It does have a musty smell about it but nothing unpleasant. The rooms are small but I do not come to San Francisco to stay in my room. It's a comfortable space and was clean. I love the fact that just outside the hotel's door is a BART/MUNI station. It's a perfect location to stay for easy access to public transportation....straight from the airport to the hotel. The staff are very friendly. It's certainly not the Hyatt or Hilton but I'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KRPSanJose
Business
San Jose, California
Apr 10, 2014

Not sure how it rates 3 stars

Hi. I guess you get what you pay for in San Francisco. On the plus side: room was clean. Negatives: lights/outlets didn't work in the room, air conditioner sounded like a 1950s Buick so I had to open the window - fine until a dumpster was dropped off outside at 4:45 in the morning, bed was small. Hallways are dingy, almost creepy. Won't go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Alicia99
Reno, NV
Mar 31, 2014

Better options

Hotel needs some work. I booked a Queen but was given a Double. Dust everywhere, poor water pressure, and there was a Cheez-It inside the wall mounted air conditioner that remained after maid 'cleaned' after first night. Hall smelled of pot even though it was a non-smoking hotel. Hall carpet needs some vacuuming. Ice machine broken on our floor. Won't stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Todd13
Couples
San Fran
Mar 13, 2014

Great Hotel.

Stayed close for a concert at BG Civic Center. Could walk there from our hotel. Staff was extremely nice and helpful. Nice little bar with a great drink selection. Beds were very comfortable. Yes the room is a little small but it's San Fran and that's what you get in that city. Overall no issues or complaints. I would stay there in a heartbeat again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jayare90
Single
sacramento
Feb 23, 2014

great

had a great time in this hotel it was really close to the bill graham

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jayare90
Single
sacramento
Feb 12, 2014

great place

stayed for a concert going on at the bill graham and was really close by actually really enjoyed the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JazzyJennN
Couples
Bakersfield, CA
Feb 10, 2014

Dingy and dirty

This hotel was a nominee in 2009 for best hotel in SF, it didn't win, and shouldn't even be nominated now. The location is amazing and the bones of the hotel are as well. However, the hotel probably hasn't been "Spring cleaned" since it's 2009 nomination. Dirty corners, smelly pillows, dingy chandeliers, dim lighting, dirty stairwells, vents so filthy I felt like I didn't want to breathe- good value but it comes at a price....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NV Travel
Business
Reno
Jan 23, 2014

business trip

Stayed 2 nights for business. Location is decent, walk or Bart to financial district. Old hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LesPiv
Couples
santa monica, ca
Jan 20, 2014

Nice

its not the nicest hotel around but it gets the job done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top