$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
529 out of 529
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dicamp2000
Business
Wellington Florida
Sep 29, 2014

hotel has sen better days

I have stayed here in the past and felt I had a good room and service for the price. This will be my last time there. The service was very slow and the room was dark & small. I booked a superior suite.. We were stuck at the far end of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rainy woman
Business
International Falls, Mn
Sep 13, 2014

Beautiful and Classic Hotel

All the staff were super friendly and very helpful. Only complaint was I could smell cigarette smoke coming from the room behind mine (possibly through the bathroom vent)?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Since I was traveling alone, didn't want to venture out after dark; so I enjoyed eating in the hotel dining room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marc D'Amico
Business
Boston
Sep 11, 2014

Decent Hotel, Not Worth Cost

This is clearly a very old building that hasn't been updated in a very long time. The bathrooms feel like something I'd find in an average to below-average NYC apartment. It's an old hotel, so I can't jump on it too much, but it's clear that everything about this place is extremely outdated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right down the street you can find a mall and many shopping options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jimmyneab
Business
Vancouver, BC
Sep 11, 2014

business meeting

It's a decent hotel for the price paid. Good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ken3
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 8, 2014

Small room

The front desk employee is ok, not very friendly, and I booked 1 queen size bed from your website, but when I got there, it is not available, and they gave me 2 double beds. I think this shouldn't happen before I booked the room advance and paid for it already. They should reserve for the customer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stacyphuong
Business
San Francisco
Sep 4, 2014

Horrible experience

We booked for a queen bed but instead got two twin beds which was the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept on. They couldn't get us a queen bed until the next day but by then we were too exhausted to move our belonging. The staff were not friendly at all. Will not stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jennie Rain
Business
Fontana, California
Sep 2, 2014

Hotel was okay

Room was a bit dirty and had bugs in the restroom. Was in town just for a giants game.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The mighty sid
Business
Cali
Sep 1, 2014

good times

all was fine. nice room, interesting part of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Micky001
Business
San Jose
Aug 25, 2014

Too bad

No refregrator, no pot, too exprnsive, too bad staff.... I never stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The mighty sid
Business
Cali
Aug 24, 2014

Fine

My experience was decent. Nothing bad nothing great. The best thing about it was its location in relationship to the bill graham, we had concert tickets there and it was across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top