$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
478 out of 478
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BRadenK
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Nov 15, 2014

Overnight fun

Stayed here before, the location is PRIME... It's a historic hotel so nothing fancy.. The beds are worn down and tough, the pillows aren't anything new.. And the water pressure is like bathing out of a sink. The room was cleaned decently, parking was $35 and I just needed something last minute. I heard that the Hyatt was the same price that night /: decent, but don't expect to be blown away..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The TurkThe Turk
Business
San Jose, CA
Nov 3, 2014

Good location

Location was very good. The hotel is pretty old. A lot of the light bulbs were out in the elevators and stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
One Persons Opinion
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 3, 2014

Great Hotel, OK Experience

Rooms are a bit small, but that's par for the course in San Francisco. Hotel interior is amazing, as is the location. Be aware that blackout shades are behind regular shades, and a bit hard to access. In addition, construction & street noise was very loud, even on the 4th / 6th floor. A great place to spend a night - I would recommend for a one night stay, but not sure if I would do a longer booking here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mommy Cecelia
Business
san Jose, ca
Nov 2, 2014

family

Check out ratings. Nice hotel, but ammenties, could be better. Nice hotel and nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BusinessTripMan
Business
California
Oct 31, 2014

Nice location

The hotel is nicely located near Bart station. Getting around was a breeze.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
I Left My Heart in SF
Business
Denver, CO
Oct 17, 2014

Creaky beds

Historic, grand looking hotel with a location that can't be beat right on Market St. at the Civic Center BART stop. Extremely convenient to/from the airport. Courteous staff. The lobby does look as grand as the pictures make it out to be, and the whole place has an old world charm to it. The rooms LOOK fairly nice in the pictures and were clean enough, but upon any closer inspection and the age and wear and tear begins to show - linens are extremely thin and papery feeling, and the mattress was very creaky and sagged in the middle, as it was probably a 20 year old spring mattress at the end of its life. I would pay to stay here again based on location alone, but a little expensive for what felt like a 2 1/2 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GrantT
Business
Omaha, NE
Oct 14, 2014

Great hotel!

While the rooms were a little small they were very professional and fancy looking. The hotel was perfectly situated for what we wanted to do and didn't feel like it was overcrowded. We were pleasantly surprised at the great service, and would definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andersen01
Business
Escondido, CA
Oct 9, 2014

Great, quiet single room

Bed way comfortable; quiet location; good wifi hook-up; ask and you shall received. I didn't know that at first and was really missing my morning in-room coffee when I asked for a coffee service and got one! Great location; very near Civic Center BART, etc. Had a nice time visiting my son.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dicamp2000
Business
Wellington Florida
Sep 29, 2014

hotel has sen better days

I have stayed here in the past and felt I had a good room and service for the price. This will be my last time there. The service was very slow and the room was dark & small. I booked a superior suite.. We were stuck at the far end of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rainy woman
Business
International Falls, Mn
Sep 13, 2014

Beautiful and Classic Hotel

All the staff were super friendly and very helpful. Only complaint was I could smell cigarette smoke coming from the room behind mine (possibly through the bathroom vent)?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Since I was traveling alone, didn't want to venture out after dark; so I enjoyed eating in the hotel dining room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top