$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
424 out of 424
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Johnathan Rockwell
Friends
San Francisco, CA
Apr 23, 2009

Not for your average tourist

Hotel Whitcomb is located near the Shopping Center and Mission District, which is why I chose it. If you're a young person and into dive bars, dance parties, and a wonderful night scene then this hotel is for you. The Hotel has wonderful character and style, but lacks significantly on the cleanliness of its beds. I knew this going in and was prepared, but there were stains on the inside of the comforter I wished I hadn't seen. Although, if you can put up with a couple of stains and a few bums near the entrance you'll have no problems. *Note: This Hotel is not meant for the traveler interested in getting low down and touristy! It is about as far from Fisherman's Wharf as one can be!!! BUT if you're looking to get some culture and don't mind doing a little walking Haight-Ashbury is near by, and the De Young Museum is only a short cab ride away. Plenty of hot water, good water pressure, soft (if not the cleanest) beds, and in a great location with a Starbucks in the Lobby, the Hotel Whitcomb may get a bad rap but it might only be because its not catering to your average tourist.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If by chance it is a Thursday night you should make your way to the Elbo Room on 9th and Valencia. There you will find a wonderful bar downstairs with plenty of throwback pinball and arcade games, upstairs is a great dance party that mixes two DJ's and live music mixing hip-hop, salsa, African dance beats, and an array of other wonderful sounds called "Afrolicious". Good DJ, wonderful live drummers, trumpeters, and other musicians and beautiful boys and girls and a whole lotta fun!

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
arizona
Apr 22, 2009

not for families

The hotel is right across the street from the orpheum theatre which was very convenient, but at night a lot of homeless and some scary people came out to beg and followed us around. When we walked just two blocks away, they stayed back in the general vacinity of the hotel. It upset my teens, and unfortunately that is what they remember about San Fran.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
New York, NY
Apr 22, 2009

not as great as looks

Me and my mom stayed in this hotel, we didn`t look for luxuary, but didn`t expect the stay to be that unplesant. The hotel looks great on the pictures, the lobby is beautyfull, but first we found out the parking in the hotel is $35/night, the room was ok but the smell in it was a killer very unplesant like spoiled sea food, the towells didn`t look or smell clean and also the location of this hotel, yes it`s in the center, but we didn`t feel safe walking there during the day, not talking about night. And the promissed wireless internet wasn`t working, they had internet cafe though, but for that you will need to pay on top. If I were you I whould pick a hotel by fishermen`s warf there are pretty good motels out there, trust me you will save money and nerves. It`s a first review I ever wrote, just never bother, but I feel, people should know. SF is a beautyfull city and lots to do though. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

There is an old cable car that goes from 5th and market street must do, on warf you can find lome cool life music, aquarium was great!

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Denver, CO
Apr 22, 2009

Ok hotel

It worked well for the price. It isn't in the greatest area of San Francisco but we didn't have any issues with it. It is very close to everything. Public transportation (BART and F-line) runs right in front of the hotel which is great. Rooms smelled. The bathrooms are tiny! Tiny shower! But it was a great deal and it worked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to Chinatown, North Beach, Union Square, Fisherman's Wharf etc.

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sjn
Family
Jacksonville, OR
Apr 22, 2009

History @ a great price

Great location-walking to Union Square/Chinatown the exercise for the day. Staff very helpful especially the concierge..can't think of her name.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe across the street-reasonable price -food decent

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Buffalo, NY
Apr 22, 2009

Great location and fantastic service!

The hotel was wonderful! It couldn't be more convenient if you will be using public transportation which we would definitely recommend! The public transportation is very easy and convenient to use and parking is such a nightmare! The hotel lobby is elegant and beautiful. Everyone from the front desk manager to the concierge and restaurant staff were wonderful, friendly and very helpful. We only had one small complaint and that was that housekeeping never seemed to leave washclothes or handtowels! However, they brought them immediately when we called and asked for them. My son moved to San Francisco so I will be a regular visitor and I would definitely stay at the Hotel Whitcomb again. It was fantastic. Karen Crowley

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The Stinking Rose restaurant was fabulous and it was an easy commute on the Muni. Great place for dessert and a great cup of coffee, Tartine Bakery 600 Guerrero St. San Francisco, CA 94110 and another great restaurant is Luna Park 694 Valencia St., San Francisco CA 94110.

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
a recent visitor
Friends
Chicago
Apr 9, 2009

Good prices and location- tons of bums

This hotel is in the Tenderloin, which means TONS of BUMS, so if you don't like getting hit up constantly, or don't want your kids seeing tons of junkies cursing each other while drinking on the streets, try Fisherman's Wharf. The location is great (tons of transportation) and centrally located. The hotel is a true classic, but the bathrooms in the smaller rooms are converted closets (no tub, no room to move). I can forgive that, because SF is for the enjoying, not for sitting in your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JenNicoal
Friends
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 11, 2009

Decent place for the price, but...

The hotel lobby was very nice and clean, and the lady working the conceierge desk was very helpful and informative. However, the rooms were *very* small, the hot water heater took forever to heat the shower water, and it was cold and rainy the whole weekend and our heater wasn't working properly. Also, we found a black widow in our room. When I come back to San Francisco, I will probably be choosing another hotel that more closely meets my needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
blues lady
Single
Florida
Mar 4, 2009

Nicest staff around!

My second stay here, and I had forgotten the plummy lobby, elevators, and sedate bar. I remembered the slightly dingy rooms and smelly hallway. I found the staff friendly and helpful. If I had come for a play I would have found the neighborhood convenient, but since I love to walk, I found it menacing. The dining room was pricey, but my meal was divine. My waitperson was inattentive to the point of being rude. I think we have reached a point where women dining alone should receive every courtesy. I think the internet was free the first trip I stayed here, it should always be that way. the hotel does not have central air or heating. If waiting for your room to warm up is a problem for you, be aware.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Across the street from the hotel is a delightful diner. It served outrageous, affordable, breakfasts. I would go out of my way to have another meal there.

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angelfanz
Family
Huntington Beach
Mar 4, 2009

Our trip to Hotel Whitcom

We toured the city, did pretty much everything. The hotel was close to everything. The staff was helpful. I would and will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top