$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
528 out of 528
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Avi
Business
Stafford, CT
Jan 18, 2010

best value in town

The Whitcomb hotel is well situated on Market street, has a genuine historic charecter, comfortable rooms and fair rates. I couldn't ask for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The shuttle services to the airport are quick and efficient. Order them 24 hours in advance and pay less than half the price of a taxi.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Avi
Business
Stafford, CT
Jan 18, 2010

best value in town

The Whitcomb hotel is well situated on Market street, has a genuine historic charecter, comfortable rooms and fair rates. I couldn't ask for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The shuttle services to the airport are quick and efficient. Order them 24 hours in advance and pay less than half the price of a taxi.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MReal
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 5, 2010

Weekend trip to San Francisco

I was looking for a hotel with a historical feel. In that sense I was very please with the Whitcomb. The location was excellent too. Right outside the door there is the entrance to the MUNI and BART. On the flip side the room was small(which was expected) and the bathroom was very old, but clean. The staff wasn't very friendly, specially [...] at the front desk. Overall, it was acceptable thanks to a very low rate. I would probably stay there again due to the convenient location and Sam's dinner across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bill & Lea - Visiting Couple to San Fran
Business
Baltimore, MD
Dec 27, 2009

Hotel Whitcomb Review

Great hotel for our short stay. Hotel is in the middle of San Francisco downtown area directly off a BART metro stop. The street car F-line runs directly out front of the hotel, allowing for easy access to all areas of San Fran. Was my first visit to San Francisco, and I am very pleased to have stayed at the Hotel Whitcomb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
maharaja_pune
Business
las vegas, nv
Dec 21, 2009

great hotel

its a ok hotel i mean it was very cheap just my plane ticket would have been 140 bucks and tickec and 2 nights of hotel costed me 290 dollars, honestly it was a good deal and overall i loved the city, this was my first trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 21, 2009

Decent Service

Its a decent place to stay with the price you pay. I stayed in the hotel for 6 nights. Staff was quite helpful. The only problem was that they had wireless issues going on during my stay and that was terrible experience as I had some important things to do. Finally staff agreed to compensate one night's charges, which is still to appear in my account.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
maharaja_pune
Business
las vegas, nv
Dec 21, 2009

great hotel

its a ok hotel i mean it was very cheap just my plane ticket would have been 140 bucks and tickec and 2 nights of hotel costed me 290 dollars, honestly it was a good deal and overall i loved the city, this was my first trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
indie
Business
seattle
Dec 18, 2009

old SF history

the hotel had a lot of history and was once grand. it was very charming and easy to walk to a lot of places. room was large and cozy . i did miss a coffeemaker.parking very expensive ,but there are lots around for about 30%less.still costley though. staff was not very helpful. wonderful resturant with fireplase and an old european feel.starbox on the other side of lobby. i would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

it is on market street, which some people feel is a bit seedy.but market street has changed quite a bit, and i felt safe. easy 10 minutes walk to great stores and SFMOMA.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tallguyinsac
Business
Sacramento, Ca.
Dec 14, 2009

Weekend getaway

Our room was adjacent to the elevator shafts, was a little noisy at times, but otherwise the hotel was great! Being right across from the Orpheum theater was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Dec 14, 2009

My stay

Beautiful lobby, but the rooms were a bit small. The beds were comfortable but the bathroom was incredibly tiny! Could hardly move in. The neighborhood was a bit questionable at night too. It was an okay deal for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top