$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 7, 2014 Check-out: Oct 8, 2014

Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

3 stars
1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
435 reviews
hotel Whitcomb

Staff was very helpful, the Grand lobby was definitely grand Nice n clean room, I would stay there... See full review

  • aj13
  • May 5, 2014
Great Hotel.

Stayed close for a concert at BG Civic Center. Could walk there from our hotel. Staff was extremely... See full review

  • Todd13
  • Mar 13, 2014
Luxury meets history, vintage meets modern at Theater District hotel

The Hotel Whitcomb has a place in San Francisco history like no other: Following the 1906 earthquake, the building actually served as City Hall. The majestic Theater District property still looks a lot like it did back then, with crystal chandeliers, Tiffany glass and Italian marble columns and floors. Made-to-look-old furniture highlights rooms upstairs, though modern conveniences abound as well. The on-site Market Street Grill serves up basic American fare.

Highlights
  • Historical spot -- the hotel once served as San Francisco's City Hall
  • Located in the Theater District, across Market Street from the Orpheum Theater
  • Ornate preserved lobby
  • Dine on classic American fare at The Market Street Grill
Rooms

High ceilings are common in the Whitcomb's 447 guest rooms and 12 suites. Furniture in these rooms has been specially crafted so it looks old. Accommodations come standard with modern conveniences as well, including flat-screen televisions, ironing boards and spacious workstations. Many also offer stunning views of San Francisco Bay, as well as complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. The Sunny Jim Suite also includes a wet bar and a dining area.

Features

Marble floors, polished brass fixtures, Tiffany glass and fresh flowers accentuate the ornate Main Lobby. This area transports guests back to the turn of the 20th Century, when the building briefly served as City Hall. It became a hotel in 1916. It's also a great place to enjoy a coffee and read a complimentary newspaper.

All guests have access to an on-site health and fitness center, dry-cleaning service (fees apply) and transportation to San Francisco International Airport (fees apply).

Grab a homemade Dungeness crab cake at The Market Street Grill, the on-site restaurant. Customers enter through the Tavern Piano Bar, a classic lounge that can get downright boisterous on weekend nights.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mil/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • BART (4 blocks)
  • Cable car stops (6 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • SoMa
  • Embarcadero
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 25,000 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual expert to help with equipment

Hotel Map

37.7782 -122.4155
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport Oakland Internationa Airport
Area description
Conveniently located on vibrant Market Street, across from the Orpheum Theater, Hotel Whitcomb is a downtown San Francisco sanctuary surrounded by the city's most popular restaurants, shops and attractions. Walking distance to the incredible Theatre District, Yerba Buena Gardens, the San Francisco Opera and Symphony, Folsom Street and the Castro. Hotel Whitcomb is perfectly situated in the city's cultural, arts and business districts.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco Rooms

Parlor Suite
Room with 2 double beds, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.
King Room
Room with 1 king bed, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.
Queen Room
Room with 1 Queen bed, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.
Double Room
Room with 2 double beds, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1 mi
  • Nob Hill: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.2 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.4 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.4 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.9 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 2.1 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2.1 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 2.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 2.1 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 2.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 2.1 mi

Dining

Market Street Grill/California Cusine
Relax in our Market Street Grill or lounge that is located in our beautiful Historic Hotel. We also offer room service to our valuable guest.
Caffe Della Stella
Nice Italian Dining with in walking distance of the hotel.
Moonstar
Nice Chinese and Sushi at Moonstar and it is all you can eat. Moonstar is across the street from the hotel.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hotel Whitcomb has the largest Parkay Dance Floor in the City with 8 diffrent meeting facilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (435)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
435 out of 435
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Barrington, RI
Apr 25, 2009

Bed Bugs

The hotel was beautiful and conveniently located. It felt very safe. It appeared to be very clean and well-kept, except that the bed had bed bugs. I saw them on the third night and by then had bites. The hotel did not follow recommended procedures for moving me. I had to spend another night with the bugs and then I moved to another room, taking all my luggage and belongings. The hotel should have laundered all my clothes and sprayed my luggage before establishing me, and maybe some bugs, in another room. They offered to give me two nights for free. I insisted on all five nights. I had to go straight to a laundromat when I left, buy insecticide for my luggage, spray the car I traveled home in. And the welts from the bites continued to swell for several days. It was miserable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Macy's and take the double-decker tour buses. Very pleasant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Johnathan Rockwell
San Francisco, CA
Apr 23, 2009

Not for your average tourist

Hotel Whitcomb is located near the Shopping Center and Mission District, which is why I chose it. If you're a young person and into dive bars, dance parties, and a wonderful night scene then this hotel is for you. The Hotel has wonderful character and style, but lacks significantly on the cleanliness of its beds. I knew this going in and was prepared, but there were stains on the inside of the comforter I wished I hadn't seen. Although, if you can put up with a couple of stains and a few bums near the entrance you'll have no problems. *Note: This Hotel is not meant for the traveler interested in getting low down and touristy! It is about as far from Fisherman's Wharf as one can be!!! BUT if you're looking to get some culture and don't mind doing a little walking Haight-Ashbury is near by, and the De Young Museum is only a short cab ride away. Plenty of hot water, good water pressure, soft (if not the cleanest) beds, and in a great location with a Starbucks in the Lobby, the Hotel Whitcomb may get a bad rap but it might only be because its not catering to your average tourist.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If by chance it is a Thursday night you should make your way to the Elbo Room on 9th and Valencia. There you will find a wonderful bar downstairs with plenty of throwback pinball and arcade games, upstairs is a great dance party that mixes two DJ's and live music mixing hip-hop, salsa, African dance beats, and an array of other wonderful sounds called "Afrolicious". Good DJ, wonderful live drummers, trumpeters, and other musicians and beautiful boys and girls and a whole lotta fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver
Apr 23, 2009

Beautiful vintage San Francisco Hotel

If you visit San Francisco without a car (which you should), this hotel is perfect. Take the BART from SFO or OAK and get dropped off at the front door of the Whitcomb for $7.10! All mass transit lines are underground or ride the trolley outside the hotel door - it's a cinch to get anywhere you want. If you want to rent a car, you can 6 blocks away. The concierge was very helpful, as was the doorman. Hotel lobby was impressive with wood, marble, mirrors and crystal. Rooms are classic San Fran - older, high ceilings, comfy beds, nice linens, and our bathroom had been redone. I got a great deal on the price through Orbitz, so I was impressed. Reasonable breakfast at Sam's Diner across the street. The only downside is the location, which is sketch for 2-3 blocks until you get to Union Square. I traveled with my 16 year old son. I made sure we got home by 9pm each night. However, seeing homeless people was not a bad eye-opener for him.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We purchased the San Francisco Go Card and got more than our money's worth because 1)it was on sale and 2)it's great to go to pre-paid activities and not worry about paying for them. Check out their website and see if it's right for you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Susan and Becki
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 23, 2009

Great old hotel right by the Orpheum

This hotel is located in a seedy part of Market Street, that's the bad part. The good part is that the transportation options are fantastic. There is a BART station on the corner, the busses and trolleys are outside the front door and it is a easy walk to the better parts of downtown. We stayed here because we went to the Orpheum Theatre to see WICKED. The hotel is one block away. We enjoyed ourselves immensely and will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the cafe across from the hotel. It is FANTASTIC and very reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sjn
Jacksonville, OR
Apr 22, 2009

History @ a great price

Great location-walking to Union Square/Chinatown the exercise for the day. Staff very helpful especially the concierge..can't think of her name.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe across the street-reasonable price -food decent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Buffalo, NY
Apr 22, 2009

Great location and fantastic service!

The hotel was wonderful! It couldn't be more convenient if you will be using public transportation which we would definitely recommend! The public transportation is very easy and convenient to use and parking is such a nightmare! The hotel lobby is elegant and beautiful. Everyone from the front desk manager to the concierge and restaurant staff were wonderful, friendly and very helpful. We only had one small complaint and that was that housekeeping never seemed to leave washclothes or handtowels! However, they brought them immediately when we called and asked for them. My son moved to San Francisco so I will be a regular visitor and I would definitely stay at the Hotel Whitcomb again. It was fantastic. Karen Crowley

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

The Stinking Rose restaurant was fabulous and it was an easy commute on the Muni. Great place for dessert and a great cup of coffee, Tartine Bakery 600 Guerrero St. San Francisco, CA 94110 and another great restaurant is Luna Park 694 Valencia St., San Francisco CA 94110.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Apr 22, 2009

not as great as looks

Me and my mom stayed in this hotel, we didn`t look for luxuary, but didn`t expect the stay to be that unplesant. The hotel looks great on the pictures, the lobby is beautyfull, but first we found out the parking in the hotel is $35/night, the room was ok but the smell in it was a killer very unplesant like spoiled sea food, the towells didn`t look or smell clean and also the location of this hotel, yes it`s in the center, but we didn`t feel safe walking there during the day, not talking about night. And the promissed wireless internet wasn`t working, they had internet cafe though, but for that you will need to pay on top. If I were you I whould pick a hotel by fishermen`s warf there are pretty good motels out there, trust me you will save money and nerves. It`s a first review I ever wrote, just never bother, but I feel, people should know. SF is a beautyfull city and lots to do though. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

There is an old cable car that goes from 5th and market street must do, on warf you can find lome cool life music, aquarium was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Apr 22, 2009

Ok hotel

It worked well for the price. It isn't in the greatest area of San Francisco but we didn't have any issues with it. It is very close to everything. Public transportation (BART and F-line) runs right in front of the hotel which is great. Rooms smelled. The bathrooms are tiny! Tiny shower! But it was a great deal and it worked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to Chinatown, North Beach, Union Square, Fisherman's Wharf etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
arizona
Apr 22, 2009

not for families

The hotel is right across the street from the orpheum theatre which was very convenient, but at night a lot of homeless and some scary people came out to beg and followed us around. When we walked just two blocks away, they stayed back in the general vacinity of the hotel. It upset my teens, and unfortunately that is what they remember about San Fran.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
a recent visitor
Chicago
Apr 9, 2009

Good prices and location- tons of bums

This hotel is in the Tenderloin, which means TONS of BUMS, so if you don't like getting hit up constantly, or don't want your kids seeing tons of junkies cursing each other while drinking on the streets, try Fisherman's Wharf. The location is great (tons of transportation) and centrally located. The hotel is a true classic, but the bathrooms in the smaller rooms are converted closets (no tub, no room to move). I can forgive that, because SF is for the enjoying, not for sitting in your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search