$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 16, 2015 Check-out: Mar 17, 2015

Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
471 reviews
Last minute

It was a last minute trip for one night. Really did not spend too much time in the room but would... See full review

  • Mandy
  • Feb 15, 2015
Fabulous night's stay

My daughter and I had a double room for the night. I loved that the room had a/c because I prefer... See full review

  • conroypi
  • Feb 10, 2015
Luxury meets history, vintage meets modern at Theater District hotel

The Hotel Whitcomb has a place in San Francisco history like no other: Following the 1906 earthquake, the building actually served as City Hall. The majestic Theater District property still looks a lot like it did back then, with crystal chandeliers, Tiffany glass and Italian marble columns and floors. Made-to-look-old furniture highlights rooms upstairs, though modern conveniences abound as well. The on-site Market Street Grill serves up basic American fare.

Highlights
  • Historical spot -- the hotel once served as San Francisco's City Hall
  • Located in the Theater District, across Market Street from the Orpheum Theater
  • Ornate preserved lobby
  • Dine on classic American fare at The Market Street Grill
Rooms

High ceilings are common in the Whitcomb's 447 guest rooms and 12 suites. Furniture in these rooms has been specially crafted so it looks old. Accommodations come standard with modern conveniences as well, including flat-screen televisions, ironing boards and spacious workstations. Many also offer stunning views of San Francisco Bay, as well as complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. The Sunny Jim Suite also includes a wet bar and a dining area.

Features

Marble floors, polished brass fixtures, Tiffany glass and fresh flowers accentuate the ornate Main Lobby. This area transports guests back to the turn of the 20th Century, when the building briefly served as City Hall. It became a hotel in 1916. It's also a great place to enjoy a coffee and read a complimentary newspaper.

All guests have access to an on-site health and fitness center, dry-cleaning service (fees apply) and transportation to San Francisco International Airport (fees apply).

Grab a homemade Dungeness crab cake at The Market Street Grill, the on-site restaurant. Customers enter through the Tavern Piano Bar, a classic lounge that can get downright boisterous on weekend nights.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mil/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • BART (4 blocks)
  • Cable car stops (6 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • SoMa
  • Embarcadero
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 25,000 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual expert to help with equipment

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco Rooms

Queen Room
Room with 1 Queen bed, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.
Double Room
Room with 2 double beds, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.
Parlor Suite
Room with 2 double beds, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.
King Room
Room with 1 king bed, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.2 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.4 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.4 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.9 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 2.1 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2.1 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 2.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 2.1 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 2.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 2.1 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 2.1 mi

Dining

Caffe Della Stella
Nice Italian Dining with in walking distance of the hotel.
Moonstar
Nice Chinese and Sushi at Moonstar and it is all you can eat. Moonstar is across the street from the hotel.
Market Street Grill/California Cusine
Relax in our Market Street Grill or lounge that is located in our beautiful Historic Hotel. We also offer room service to our valuable guest.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hotel Whitcomb has the largest Parkay Dance Floor in the City with 8 diffrent meeting facilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (471)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
471 out of 471
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tallguyinsac
Business
Sacramento, Ca.
Dec 14, 2009

Weekend getaway

Our room was adjacent to the elevator shafts, was a little noisy at times, but otherwise the hotel was great! Being right across from the Orpheum theater was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Dec 14, 2009

My stay

Beautiful lobby, but the rooms were a bit small. The beds were comfortable but the bathroom was incredibly tiny! Could hardly move in. The neighborhood was a bit questionable at night too. It was an okay deal for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco CA
Dec 11, 2009

Business trip

Not Bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC Phile
Business
Portland, OR
Dec 11, 2009

Continuing Tradition

Great price, and very quiet for downtown SF. It is hard generally to avoid trolley, car, and truck noises in older hotels in big cities. When they are not full, they will routinely put you in rooms away from the street noise. Great breaklfast deals at Sam's across the street. Hotel has good food, just more costly. This was my 6th or 7th stay here, because it is so convenient to the BART and trolley.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Berkeley, CA
Dec 10, 2009

Evil Under The Fog

If you are reading this review under the impression that this hotel is as majestic and accommodating as the website proclaims, guess again. Upon reaching the neighborhood in which the hotel was located, my friend and I were frightened. We clutched our wallets closer in an attempt to avoid mugging or other misdemeanors that might be committed on us. In other words, it was very, shall we say, "shady." When we walked to our room, we were surprised to see a food tray sitting in the middle of an adjacent hallway. Even more surprising was the fact that this food tray was still there nearly 24 hours later when we left our engagement. Approaching the "Guest Services" desk, we informed the young man that we had several questions. He did not give us any solutions to any problems we had, which were 1. do you have bowls and 2. do you have microwaves. His answer to both was a cold "no." Perhaps some sort of alternative option could have been reached, but he was of no assistance. Furthermore, the aesthetics of the room could have been improved: the blue trim gave more of an impression of painters' tape than decoration. Overall, my friend and I felt that we were an inconvenience to the hotel staff and were treated as obligations rather than guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Bring your own microwave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
annapolis, md.
Dec 9, 2009

hotel whitcomb

lovely hotel- renovated architecture was beautiful. not fancy, modern hotel, which i liked- had it's own character. we were site-seeing the city. we would probably stay longer in s.f. next time. loved transportation system- left car at hotel. felt garage price could have been a little cheaper, but i don't know what the going price is out in s.f. also- the concierage was great!!- gave us suggestins for eating, type of transportation to get some place and other sites to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lynsval
Business
San Diego, CA
Dec 8, 2009

Wonderful anniversary trip

This hotel was amazing. It was close to everything we needed. The muni and BART were right outside the door. We upgraded to the newer remodeled room and I'm glad we did. The bed and linens were extremely comfy. On our last day we checked out, stored our baggage until about 12:30. We were able to make one last quick trip down to Chinatown and get back to the hotel with no delays! We hopped on the BART to the airport and it all went smoothly. Perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Dec 7, 2009

Clean, small, old, clean.

We paid for and were expecting a queen bed. We were told that the size of bed is not guaranteed when you book through [...]. We got 2 full beds instead. It turned out to be ok, just made the small room seem smaller. The hotel was clean and quiet. My husband did not care for the old, out-dated feel. It is steps from BART and cable cars, there was a homeless person hanging out by the BART (so what), we had internet in the room. Priced right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
burleyidmann
Business
Eureka, California
Nov 23, 2009

Centrally located

Was a little surprised at the hotels quality, given the great price that I had paid for my room. It is in a great location right on the Bart line and you can take a $10 cab to anywhere in the city. So very convienent and the staff and hotel were superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sd
Nov 21, 2009

ok

nice service room service food was below average restraunt was over priced for quality of food i.e cold bread over cooked steak bland clam chowder

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

public library art exhibit across the street awesome and free

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top