$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
481 out of 481
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albany, NY
Jan 30, 2010

Reasonable.

This is a "historic" (read very old) hotel in the Tenderloin, kind of a bad neighborhood. However, since it's right on market street, with the BART/MUNI tunnel right on their doorstep, you never really need to spend a whole lot of time in the TL. The hotel has a Starbucks in the lobby, which makes getting breakfast easy. The fitness center is not worth using. If you want to work out at your hotel, don't go here. The shower drain wasn't draining very well my first night, but after reporting it to the front desk, it was completely fixed by the next day. I found the staff very accommodating. I probably won't stay here again, simply because of the neighborhood and the total lack of reasonable restaurants within walking distance, but the high points were the kind of neat lobby, and the attentive staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 28, 2010

Nice older hotel with comfortable rooms

The Hotel Whitcomb was a nice hotel with a beautiful lobby and halls. I found the accommodations clean and comfortable. The only minor gripe I have is that the bathroom felt small. Over all, however, I enjoyed the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I'm a budget traveler, so I appreciated that a Burger King was right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Jan 27, 2010

Historic hotel in a historic city

Although I was in town for a technical meeting, the hotel Whitcomb was a great place to stay in order to see San Francisco. Right next to the Civic center Bart/Muni terminal, it is easy to get around the city. The rooms are small, but the hotel is over 100 years old and in excellent shape, and you don't come to San Francisco to stay in your hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frwacko
Business
Citrus Heights, CA
Jan 23, 2010

Hotel Whitcomb

After reading many reviews of the Whitcomb we decided to give it a try and were not disappointed. It is literally across the street from the Orpheum and a couple of blocks from city center. If you have been in European hotels and liked them, you will like the Whitcomb. It's old, but clean and the room size is just fine. When you turn in the alley from 8th street, there are parking lots on either side for $10 cheaper than the hotel's attendant parking. Having a Starbucks downstairs was awesome. We plan to return in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Avi
Business
Stafford, CT
Jan 18, 2010

best value in town

The Whitcomb hotel is well situated on Market street, has a genuine historic charecter, comfortable rooms and fair rates. I couldn't ask for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The shuttle services to the airport are quick and efficient. Order them 24 hours in advance and pay less than half the price of a taxi.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MReal
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 5, 2010

Weekend trip to San Francisco

I was looking for a hotel with a historical feel. In that sense I was very please with the Whitcomb. The location was excellent too. Right outside the door there is the entrance to the MUNI and BART. On the flip side the room was small(which was expected) and the bathroom was very old, but clean. The staff wasn't very friendly, specially [...] at the front desk. Overall, it was acceptable thanks to a very low rate. I would probably stay there again due to the convenient location and Sam's dinner across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bill & Lea - Visiting Couple to San Fran
Business
Baltimore, MD
Dec 27, 2009

Hotel Whitcomb Review

Great hotel for our short stay. Hotel is in the middle of San Francisco downtown area directly off a BART metro stop. The street car F-line runs directly out front of the hotel, allowing for easy access to all areas of San Fran. Was my first visit to San Francisco, and I am very pleased to have stayed at the Hotel Whitcomb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
maharaja_pune
Business
las vegas, nv
Dec 21, 2009

great hotel

its a ok hotel i mean it was very cheap just my plane ticket would have been 140 bucks and tickec and 2 nights of hotel costed me 290 dollars, honestly it was a good deal and overall i loved the city, this was my first trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 21, 2009

Decent Service

Its a decent place to stay with the price you pay. I stayed in the hotel for 6 nights. Staff was quite helpful. The only problem was that they had wireless issues going on during my stay and that was terrible experience as I had some important things to do. Finally staff agreed to compensate one night's charges, which is still to appear in my account.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
indie
Business
seattle
Dec 18, 2009

old SF history

the hotel had a lot of history and was once grand. it was very charming and easy to walk to a lot of places. room was large and cozy . i did miss a coffeemaker.parking very expensive ,but there are lots around for about 30%less.still costley though. staff was not very helpful. wonderful resturant with fireplase and an old european feel.starbox on the other side of lobby. i would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

it is on market street, which some people feel is a bit seedy.but market street has changed quite a bit, and i felt safe. easy 10 minutes walk to great stores and SFMOMA.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top