$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
532 out of 532
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
east coaster
Business
new york
Apr 7, 2010

Fun at the Withcomb

hotel was nice, rooms comfortable, not luxurious. Restaurant closed unexpectantly on Easter which left us stuck for a dinner reservation on a holiday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
east coaster
Business
new york
Apr 7, 2010

Fun at the Withcomb

hotel was nice, rooms comfortable, not luxurious. Restaurant closed unexpectantly on Easter which left us stuck for a dinner reservation on a holiday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Missin' Anaheim Already
Business
Oneonta, New York
Apr 6, 2010

Great location, great price!

The main purpose of our visit was presenting research posters at the American Chemical Society's National Metting & Exposition. However, we went to Fisherman's Wharf, saw the Wax Museum, explored the Aquarium of the Bay, did some shopping, and ate at the Rainforest Cafe. My favorite place was in Golden Gate Park...we went to the Botanical Gardens and the California Academy of Sciences (which has a huge aquarium and a 3-story rain forest). The BART and Muni were simple to use (and fairly cheap...$2 for Muni and $8.10 for a one-way trip on the BART to/from the San Francisco International Airport). Overall, a great and fun experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The San Francisco Go Card was great! There's so much to do and see with it. It's a great value if you plan ahead.

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 1, 2010

Long Weekend

room and service were great; starbucks downstairs; location is ideal in that it sits in center of city right on top of major transit routes, although this section of market st is in decline and you find yourself using transit to go those other close-by neighborhoods most of the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Chow restaurant (Church St near Market St)- organic diner

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kinnic
Business
san francisco
Mar 31, 2010

Good for the price

We were not notified that we would be paying so much for parking. The hotel never seemed to be able be make change.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KnK
Business
Redding, CA
Mar 29, 2010

Great place

It is a beautiful old hotel that we enjoyed. The fact that it is located in a not so nice area of San Francisco near the tenderloin was negated by the fact that it was directly across the street from Orpheum Theatre where we went to see Wicked. Numerous reviews of this hotel discuss the street people and general sketchyness of this area but you will find that in many places in SF. It was a pain having to wait so long for the valets to get our car but they were very courteous. Parking, after taxes etc, is about $32 a night. The room and bathroom were quite small but clean and beautifully decorated. The bed was very comfortable. We were on the 7th floor in an interior room so it was very quite with minimal street noise. Not too far to the west on Market Street was Zuni's a very delightful resturant with great food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Terre Haute, IN
Mar 26, 2010

A Nice Older Hotel

I was attending a convention at some downtown hotels and the Moscone Convention Center. The convention center was about a 20 minute walk, which included walking past some street people. In general, the people on the street are quiet and polite. The occasional exception occurs throughout San Francisco, and isn't unique to the west Market Street area where the Hotel Whitcomb is located. The hotel staff was professional and always visible in the main lobby. The hotel is about 100 years old, and I thought it was well maintained and clean. Because of the mild weather in early spring, the windows of the rooms are sometimes opened, and the condensed moisture leaves behind a slight dirty residue by the window. Everything else seemed spotless. I personally would go back to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The front door of the hotel is located 20 steps (60 feet) from the entrance of the BART-Civic Center station. $8.10 from the San Francisco (SFO) airport. Electric trolly cars and buses run regularly in from of the hotel, so for $2.00 you can ride around the city.

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, Ca
Mar 24, 2010

Charming Victorian Hotel

The location, convenience and style of the hotel were great. Unfortunately the staff were not very helpful and the room's amenities were sub-par.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travelling "O"
Business
Scottsdale, Arizona
Mar 21, 2010

Sanctuary at Hotel Whitcomb

I was on this trip for a memorial service ...and I wanted to make sure that I was not at a room near traffic in or out of the hotel...or near an elevator ( the last time I was there I had one sleepless night because of those issues). The manager- [...]- set me up with a sweet room that was quiet, off the beaten track and with great views. I appreciated their honoring my request. Also at the front desk, the check in woman- [...]- was sooooo accommodating and helpful...she gave me several pieces of information that were helpful for my stay and with travel information. She had service with a smile and was "all about customer service"!!! The room was a cozy and tranquil place to reflect and rest when I was not attending family functions. If there was one thing that could have made it better, it would have been nice to have a Coffee pot/hot water maker in room to have on hand in the a.m.- but water glasses and an ice bucket were there. ( You asked)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

THe BART station is right there across from the hotel...it's only thirty minutes from the airport....so convenient and easy. I encourage any travelers who are staying there to use it to save shuttle fees. (BART: $8.10 one way)

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
blacc bear
Business
santa rosa, cali.
Mar 16, 2010

classic elegance

nice hotel.. parking lot was a pain to find but we liked it overall. good location, easy to find, easy quick $7 taxi ride to bars/clubs on broadway.. very old yet beautiful looking "shining-esque" in a good way in that it was classic..clean rooms, and the most comfy hotel bed ive ever slept in which is ideal for a drunken night and morning of hangovers lol :]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top