$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 21, 2014 Check-out: Oct 22, 2014

Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

3 stars
1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
435 reviews
hotel Whitcomb

Staff was very helpful, the Grand lobby was definitely grand Nice n clean room, I would stay there... See full review

  • aj13
  • May 5, 2014
Great Hotel.

Stayed close for a concert at BG Civic Center. Could walk there from our hotel. Staff was extremely... See full review

  • Todd13
  • Mar 13, 2014
Luxury meets history, vintage meets modern at Theater District hotel

The Hotel Whitcomb has a place in San Francisco history like no other: Following the 1906 earthquake, the building actually served as City Hall. The majestic Theater District property still looks a lot like it did back then, with crystal chandeliers, Tiffany glass and Italian marble columns and floors. Made-to-look-old furniture highlights rooms upstairs, though modern conveniences abound as well. The on-site Market Street Grill serves up basic American fare.

Highlights
  • Historical spot -- the hotel once served as San Francisco's City Hall
  • Located in the Theater District, across Market Street from the Orpheum Theater
  • Ornate preserved lobby
  • Dine on classic American fare at The Market Street Grill
Rooms

High ceilings are common in the Whitcomb's 447 guest rooms and 12 suites. Furniture in these rooms has been specially crafted so it looks old. Accommodations come standard with modern conveniences as well, including flat-screen televisions, ironing boards and spacious workstations. Many also offer stunning views of San Francisco Bay, as well as complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. The Sunny Jim Suite also includes a wet bar and a dining area.

Features

Marble floors, polished brass fixtures, Tiffany glass and fresh flowers accentuate the ornate Main Lobby. This area transports guests back to the turn of the 20th Century, when the building briefly served as City Hall. It became a hotel in 1916. It's also a great place to enjoy a coffee and read a complimentary newspaper.

All guests have access to an on-site health and fitness center, dry-cleaning service (fees apply) and transportation to San Francisco International Airport (fees apply).

Grab a homemade Dungeness crab cake at The Market Street Grill, the on-site restaurant. Customers enter through the Tavern Piano Bar, a classic lounge that can get downright boisterous on weekend nights.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mil/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • BART (4 blocks)
  • Cable car stops (6 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • SoMa
  • Embarcadero
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 25,000 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual expert to help with equipment

Hotel Map

37.7782 -122.4155
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport Oakland Internationa Airport
Area description
Conveniently located on vibrant Market Street, across from the Orpheum Theater, Hotel Whitcomb is a downtown San Francisco sanctuary surrounded by the city's most popular restaurants, shops and attractions. Walking distance to the incredible Theatre District, Yerba Buena Gardens, the San Francisco Opera and Symphony, Folsom Street and the Castro. Hotel Whitcomb is perfectly situated in the city's cultural, arts and business districts.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco Rooms

Parlor Suite
Room with 2 double beds, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.
King Room
Room with 1 king bed, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.
Queen Room
Room with 1 Queen bed, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.
Double Room
Room with 2 double beds, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1 mi
  • Nob Hill: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.2 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.4 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.4 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.9 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 2.1 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2.1 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 2.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 2.1 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 2.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 2.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hotel Whitcomb has the largest Parkay Dance Floor in the City with 8 diffrent meeting facilities.

Dining

Market Street Grill/California Cusine
Relax in our Market Street Grill or lounge that is located in our beautiful Historic Hotel. We also offer room service to our valuable guest.
Caffe Della Stella
Nice Italian Dining with in walking distance of the hotel.
Moonstar
Nice Chinese and Sushi at Moonstar and it is all you can eat. Moonstar is across the street from the hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (435)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
435 out of 435
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dalab
Fresno Ca
Jul 29, 2009

Whitcomb San Francisco

I really was very happy with the location of this hotel. Located on Market street, it really is right in the middle of the City. Great price and the building has some historical value as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hamilton, Ontario
Jul 20, 2009

When things go wrong

Check in was easy, we found the front desk staff initially friendly. Great central location. Starbucks in the lobby!! Beautiful building. Street was a little rough when it got late but we're originally from Toronto so we did not find this a problem. We found it easy to walk to a lot of places on our list of things to do. We worked out 3 out of 5 days. Gym was quiet, a little small and cables on machines were worn and needed repair. Everything was fine until we had a problem with a leaky pipe in our bathroom. The true test of customer service is how you handle your clients when things go wrong. Initially they ignored the problem, then told us not to worry we would not be charged for any damage. All that was needed here was a "we're sorry for any inconvenience" or better still, "hey, enjoy a complimentary in room movie on us." All in all the stay was fine but the lack of ability to handle a pretty simple problem was very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The San Francisco GO card. We ordered this card online before we left. Many attractions popular attractions are included in the price of the card. Filled with discounts for restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sf
Jul 19, 2009

european charm

Everyone went out of his or her way to make the trip enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cockroach nightmare
sacramento, ca
Jul 17, 2009

cockroach

My bf and I stayed one night at the Whitcomb. The valet boys seemed confused when taking our car and all gave us different instructions, leaving us uneasy on whether or not we should be leaving the car with them...We are a younger couple and the front desk seemed to treat the other customers as if they were more important than us. The room was small and right as we were about to sleep a huge cockroach was spotted crawling across the floor! We immediately called the front desk asking for a room change and the supervisor at the time was extremely rude. He would not help us at all, gave us more than enough attitude, and then hung up on us saying he had other customers. We then went down to the front desk and talked to the same supervisor. We were then given even more attitude and told that we could be checked out and leave the hotel or talk to the manager in the morning. We had an uneasy night sleep with cockroaches and then woke up early to speak with the manager. I fell in love with the manager! He was more than helpful and extremely helpful, and immediately gave us a refund for all the misery we had gone through. He was what saved this hotel from being a complete nightmare. The only other good thing was the location of the hotel, right next to the bart and a starbucks downstairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Whittier, CA
Jul 12, 2009

Location, location, location

The BART lets off right in front, this is the SOMA district and the Orpheum is right across the street. I walked to see WICKED. I walked around at night and there are alot of homeless people but none that were threatening. 2 cafes and a Burger King across the street and a very busy Starbuck inside the Hotel. Wish the hotel had a cocktail lodge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

F train, which goes to Castro and Fisherman's Wharf. F train was a lifesaver.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Toriasecret
Chico, CA
Jul 8, 2009

Fourth of July Jazz Weekend

I loved this hotel. We showed up early before their check-in time and we were still able to check-in without any questions. Great location and super friendly staff...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jb222111
Little rock, AR
Jul 5, 2009

Best location, beautiful getaway

This was our third stay at the Whitcomb Hotel. One of our favorite things about staying here is ease of use of the public transportation. There are bus and subway access literally right outside the hotel door. We came and went at all hours. There were panhandlers and homeless people outside but I never felt unsafe. There is a Starbucks in the lobby and a Burger King just across the street. There is a restaurant in the lobby but we were a little disappointed in the menu changes since our last stay and it was a little pricey. The hotel itself is beautiful! We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Powell Street visitor center to buy a muni pass. An economical, easy was to get around the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JT WIN
Business
Phoenix
Jul 1, 2009

The Whit

Old rooms, broken sinks, but staff is very understanding and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Absinthe Bar and Restaurant and the Whitcomb's Bar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jagjit
Chicago IL
Jun 29, 2009

Good value

Very good value. Clean and good architecture. Good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glendale Arizona
Jun 18, 2009

Dissatisfied

I liked the hotel but was dissatisfied that I booked my trip through Orbitz and even though I received a confirmation, the hotel did not have me in their system stating that Orbitz never sent the reservation over. Happy that the clerk who I spoke to was able to get me a work despite the fact that no reservation had been received. Going forward, I will call the hotel directlly and not go through orbitz to secure my reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Also have a Starbucks!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search