$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 14, 2015 Check-out: Jun 15, 2015

Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
529 out of 529
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cosine_pi
Business
N/A
Dec 20, 2014

great stay

The most important thing about this hotel is that the building is absolutely stunning. Ignore what gripers say about it -- the rooms are nice, the area has some homeless etc but is fine, and the staff are super-friendly. A very good hotel and recommended with no reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wayne G.
Business
N/A
Dec 16, 2014

Great Experience!

This hotel was so cool because of the historical feel! The staff was amazingly helpful and hospitable, especially Christine. The room was very clean an beautiful. We had a slight problem was getting hot water in the bath, but it was quickly resolved once we reported it. BART stops literally at their door, so travel to and from SFO was so easy! We would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jonsikay
Business
Coastal CA
Dec 7, 2014

A San Francisco Treat!

we found this hotel to be quite lovely - a beautiful lobby, and very nice staff - valet parking in the back was affordable (for SF) - the only complaint I have is that everytime someone ran water the pipes rattled, which is to be expected in an older building. I would also request next time to be placed further away from the elevators which ding when arriving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Suti
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 4, 2014

Its ok for the price

The hotel has a historic importance. Its a very good deal for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Serap702
Business
California
Dec 1, 2014

Its interesting historical hotel

Rooms are small n average but hotel has an historical interesting ambiance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sams diner across the street

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mike oxore
Business
San Francisco
Nov 24, 2014

ghetto

Location is bad at night time. Don't accidentally walk down the wrong street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KarlaPotterWho
Business
Nashville
Nov 23, 2014

It was a good stay

I got this because it was near the Civic Center, where I was attending an event. I read bad reviews about it so I was a little skeptical. When I got there, all the negativity faded as I saw for myself that it wasn't that bad. The room was clean. Everything was near. It was like 2 miles walkin distance from pier 39, and other attractions. Walked almost everywhere from the hotel, just took a Lyft back to it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use a Lyft instead kf taxi. So much better.

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mmmmtttt
Business
somewhere
Nov 22, 2014

ok stay

the area is full of homeless people but hotel is old and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MammaYoga
Business
Wcykoff, New Jersey
Nov 22, 2014

Great location affordable stay

Was construction at the time so a little loud, and had to wait sometimes a white for the elevators bc of large groups who stay here but a beautiful historic hotel, good price, easy to get to everything and bart right outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hayes Valley

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
polkatulk
Business
san jose, california
Nov 21, 2014

average, ordinary

decent 3 star hotel in a convenient but totally filthy part of town

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

you can jump on the train within seconds

Back to menu Return to top