$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
529 out of 529
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
conroypi
Business
N/A
Feb 10, 2015

Fabulous night's stay

My daughter and I had a double room for the night. I loved that the room had a/c because I prefer bundling up under warm blankets in a cold room. We both had a great night's sleep. It would have been nice to have coffee/tea in the room, but I think they do not provide it due to size constraints. If I were to make a recommendation, it would be to put lighting near the mirror on the back of the bathroom door. This way when two women have to get ready at the same time, one can use the door mirror and the other the bathroom mirror. There just isn't enough room for two people in front of the bathroom mirror at the same time. The staff was very friendly. We had breakfast in the hotel's restaurant and it was delicious. We thought the friendly valet had a great sense of humor. Great room for the price. My only disappointment is the man with the top hat is no longer there. I was looking forward to that )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

There is an alternative to taking a cab in SF. I cannot list the name here, but you can google it. You don't call in advance and they are there within a couple of minutes, the fare is reasonable, and there is no tipping. Also, the drivers are very friendly. My last stay in SF ended with me calling a particular cab company three times as the cab drivers decided to cancel my cab service and re-start my cab request - twice. This new form of public transportation puts an app on your phone which shows you a picture of the car and a gps view of them driving to your pick-up location. Super simple!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
URSULA C.
Business
LERMA
Feb 4, 2015

Excellent trip

I would stay every time there. Excellent hotel, excellent service and close to everything you need to be close to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Philip C.
Business
N/A
Jan 25, 2015

Always look forward to staying here

I always look forward to staying at this hotel. The rooms have a European feel. Location is tremendous. Great value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lydia L.
Business
N/A
Jan 12, 2015

Great hotel business travel

Had some apprehension re. location but BART station is steps away and I felt safe as solo woman traveler. Free wireless in room was great no time to check out work-out facilities. Décor a little shabby and small room (only reason for 4) but great value. For 102 year-old hotel she's in good shape, plus other amenities (location, good wireless connection) are more important to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Global Lady
Business
Alexandria
Jan 6, 2015

Interesting hotel & history

This was an interesting stay. The room was very small, but clean. The location was great and very convenient to meetings in the area. The Starbucks off the lobby was a good place to work and get coffee. There are a few urban legends about the hotel --which I will not go into here. But suffice it to say - they do lend a certain "aura" to the hotel and its dark hallways. Most of the staff were very friendly -- and the restaurant - also off the lobby - had very good salads and a nice selection of wines. It is scheduled to be fully remodeled --and that is NEEDED. It was a grand old dame in its day ---and you can see that in the elegant lobby, with intricate paneling and incredible chandeliers. But as most aging icons - it will benefit from an update - especially in the rooms and halls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Daniel P.
Business
San Francisco
Jan 5, 2015

Not Bad

Decent experience. Staff were friendly. My hotel room did not really have a window and was rather small. The interior decoration of the entire building has the feel of a once-fancy hotel past its prime. The neighborhood will probably creep out most people. I was not bothered at all, but there are a lot of homeless people around at night, and little else going on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BRadenK
Business
danville
Dec 30, 2014

One night rental

Great location, only con was that the water pressure was terrible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zeyu L.
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

cheap but limited service

The hotel is cheap cmpared with others in the same location so ldeal for the last minute catch. But you get for what you paid. The room is dirty. A lot of dust behind the desk and the bed. The room is very small, only a little larger than two queen beds. The bathoom is smallest I ever seen, not even have a bathtub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cosine_pi
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

great stay

The most important thing about this hotel is that the building is absolutely stunning. Ignore what gripers say about it -- the rooms are nice, the area has some homeless etc but is fine, and the staff are super-friendly. A very good hotel and recommended with no reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Powderpages
Business
denver
Dec 29, 2014

business overnight

Suitable for an overnight without the family. Took a cab right to the front door, so i dint have to mingle with the homeless guys hanging out front with their shopping carts... on the edge of the sketchy part of town. good value for a quick overnight where you don't want breakfast or a super nice room. Old, stinky rooms with pretty decent beds, the TV was on the other side of the room so watching form bed was a challenge. Starbucks in the lobby helped!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top