$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
424 out of 424
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ramezc
Couples
Los Angeles
Nov 11, 2013

Great location

Rooms were very clean and comfortable. As well as the hotel was centrally located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sponti
Business
San Francisco, Hotel Whitcomp
Nov 9, 2013

Old Hotel, wrong place

Needs refurnishing and reconstruction. Really bad location (lot of homeless around, next to property under construction). Everywhere to line up (Lift, reception). Bad price/performance ratio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
framinguy
Couples
fresno, ca
Oct 29, 2013

Nice Stay

The best thing about this hotel is the lobby. Really cool early 1900's archetecture. The rooms are comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vantine8665
Family
TEXAS
Oct 29, 2013

Hotel has character, but sketchy neighborhood

Stayed for 5 days. Nice old hotel, gracious and helpful staff. Close to BART, street cars, and buses. Very comfortable stay, even though our room was a little on the small side (tiny bathroom!). Pretty convenient to get anywhere. And we actually got a very good deal on our room. The downside: You are in an area (although I never felt unsafe) that is a little rough, especially at night. Lots of homeless people hanging out. If that kind of thing makes you uncomfortable, this would not be the place for you. However, personally, I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Affandina
Business
Brecksville, OH
Oct 17, 2013

Comfort

No doubt the location is a bit off , yet once you are inside , it gets very cozy and comfy. Stayed there fro two nights for a conference in the Downtown area. Good location. Great Foyer and lobby. Very friendly staff. Would not hesitate to stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shhai1
Couples
Sydney Australia
Oct 13, 2013

Convenient and comfortable

Lots of comments about not a nice area and yes there were lots of homeless people around the streets during the day. Less prominent and night and always felt safe. Buses and trams leave from just out the front and the Bart stops just downstairs, easy to get around town from here but a couple of stops from the city centre.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aho793
Business
Dallas, TX
Oct 1, 2013

Hotel with character near courthouse

Having read the reviews on this hotel, I was prepared for somewhat indifferent staff and a fairly "meh" stay. I'm happy to say I was wrong--the hotel and its staff pleasantly surprised me. (friendly check-in, concierge, cleaning staff, etc.) I guess if you're looking for a luxury fancy-pants hotel, you might be disappointed. But I think that the location, price, history, and character of this place more than makes up for what it might lack in say, brand-new chairs and bathroom hardware. Wifi was fast, view was good, and the woodwork and historic lighting fixtures everywhere gives a unique feel to the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cammo
Couples
SJ, CA
Sep 23, 2013

Reasonable Rates, Friendly Staff

Definitely 'Historic". Hallways remind one of "The Shining". Located next to the Tenderloin, so watch out for the local homeless hitting people up out front for handouts. Staff was really nice and accommodating. Starbuck's right off the front lobby, nice little restaurant/bar off the lobby too. For the rates in SF, would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Central Financial District location makes it a quick ride to many of SF's attractions. Nice walk to the Embarcadero or a Trolly ride to Union Square/Pier 39 for the more adventurous.

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Mister J
Business
Dallas, Texas
Sep 6, 2013

Middle of the Road and Sliding Down

It's a lot of little things that made this a bad stay for me. I reserved a king-sized bed, but was given two doubles. The WiFi was slow and spotty, the elevators were painfully slow, and I had issues with the bathroom. The toilet paper holder kept falling off and the shower drain was a slow drain leaving me in standing water for my morning routine. Coupling all the minor things with my less than spatular view of window box air conditioners is what made me give this hotel a subpar score.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AnnalTJO
Family
Southfield, MI
Sep 3, 2013

The Staff Made the Difference

I was not happy with my first room but they quickly and politely said they would give me another room. The first room was ok except for the loud air conditioner and not acceptably clean bathroom. However the superviser immediately went to check on the problem. The second room was ok, but due to my error it only had 1 bed and I needed 2 beds. Without any questions or issues they immediately gave me a 2 bed room. This room was very nice, the beds were comfortable, a lot of pillows and a clean bathroom. More than anything I appreciate the staffs' friendliness and willingness to please; special mention to Johnny the Singling Door Man and Olga on the desk at night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top