Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
420 out of 420
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Affandina
Business
Brecksville, OH
Oct 17, 2013

Comfort

No doubt the location is a bit off , yet once you are inside , it gets very cozy and comfy. Stayed there fro two nights for a conference in the Downtown area. Good location. Great Foyer and lobby. Very friendly staff. Would not hesitate to stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shhai1
Business
Sydney Australia
Oct 13, 2013

Convenient and comfortable

Lots of comments about not a nice area and yes there were lots of homeless people around the streets during the day. Less prominent and night and always felt safe. Buses and trams leave from just out the front and the Bart stops just downstairs, easy to get around town from here but a couple of stops from the city centre.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aho793
Business
Dallas, TX
Oct 1, 2013

Hotel with character near courthouse

Having read the reviews on this hotel, I was prepared for somewhat indifferent staff and a fairly "meh" stay. I'm happy to say I was wrong--the hotel and its staff pleasantly surprised me. (friendly check-in, concierge, cleaning staff, etc.) I guess if you're looking for a luxury fancy-pants hotel, you might be disappointed. But I think that the location, price, history, and character of this place more than makes up for what it might lack in say, brand-new chairs and bathroom hardware. Wifi was fast, view was good, and the woodwork and historic lighting fixtures everywhere gives a unique feel to the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cammo
Business
SJ, CA
Sep 23, 2013

Reasonable Rates, Friendly Staff

Definitely 'Historic". Hallways remind one of "The Shining". Located next to the Tenderloin, so watch out for the local homeless hitting people up out front for handouts. Staff was really nice and accommodating. Starbuck's right off the front lobby, nice little restaurant/bar off the lobby too. For the rates in SF, would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Central Financial District location makes it a quick ride to many of SF's attractions. Nice walk to the Embarcadero or a Trolly ride to Union Square/Pier 39 for the more adventurous.

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Mister J
Business
Dallas, Texas
Sep 6, 2013

Middle of the Road and Sliding Down

It's a lot of little things that made this a bad stay for me. I reserved a king-sized bed, but was given two doubles. The WiFi was slow and spotty, the elevators were painfully slow, and I had issues with the bathroom. The toilet paper holder kept falling off and the shower drain was a slow drain leaving me in standing water for my morning routine. Coupling all the minor things with my less than spatular view of window box air conditioners is what made me give this hotel a subpar score.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AnnalTJO
Business
Southfield, MI
Sep 3, 2013

The Staff Made the Difference

I was not happy with my first room but they quickly and politely said they would give me another room. The first room was ok except for the loud air conditioner and not acceptably clean bathroom. However the superviser immediately went to check on the problem. The second room was ok, but due to my error it only had 1 bed and I needed 2 beds. Without any questions or issues they immediately gave me a 2 bed room. This room was very nice, the beds were comfortable, a lot of pillows and a clean bathroom. More than anything I appreciate the staffs' friendliness and willingness to please; special mention to Johnny the Singling Door Man and Olga on the desk at night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nancy Novak
Business
Burbank, CA
Aug 25, 2013

Whitcomb Hotel

Perfectly comfortable for business travel. Quiet, despite the Market Street location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Front door of the hotel is 22 steps from the BART station exit. VERY convenient!!!

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Doesn't Matter 00
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 23, 2013

Mold!!!!

There was mold in the bathroom in the ceiling/walls, it was disgusting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AusTexJohn
Business
Austin, Texas
Aug 21, 2013

First timer to SF

You get what you pay for with this hotel. It is cheaper but it isn't in the nicer parts of SF. Tons of bums circling this area. There is easy access to the BART station right in front of the hotel and that was nice. The rooms are small so the extremely noisy AC wakes you up every time it kicks on and ours made this especially wonderful knocking noise as it was cycling off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
webconnoisseur
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 29, 2013

Decent Place in Downtown SF

Has a historic feel to it w/ decent rooms. Only complaint is junky TVs, which I normally don't care about, but would have liked for this stay during the evening after a long day at a conference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top