$190 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Hotel Union Square

3 stars
114 Powell St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
240 reviews
Awesome hotel!!

This hotel gave me a great experience on my visit to SF. Why you might ask? Staff was awesome since... See full review

  • Gx110
  • Jun 7, 2014
Amazing Couples Trip

Upon arrival our first impression was amazing. the hotel was clean and the executive king suite was... See full review

  • Midwest Jennie
  • Apr 30, 2014
Art-Deco whimsy, 1920s-era grandeur and wine hour near Union Square

The Art-Deco era is alive and well at this boutique Hotel Union Square, which was returned to its 1920s grandeur during an exhaustive renovation in 2008. Today, the hotel features signature staircases and opulent moldings, while loft-like guest rooms boast brick walls and mosaic murals. Another benefit: the world's only Dashiell Hammett Suite, named after the author of "The Maltese Falcon." The property is part of the Personality Hotels Collection. It sits mere blocks from the shopping of Union Square.

Highlights
  • Located blocks from Union Square
  • Fun and literary inspired Dashiell Hammett Suite
  • Funky style and 1920s grandeur
Rooms
Accommodations -- 39 rooms and seven suites -- are infused with the colors of San Francisco: crimson, gray and taupe. Designed to give the feel of a sophisticated urban apartment, rooms at the Hotel Union Square are custom-furnished with platform beds and tufted leather headboards, sleek dark-wood desks, velvety chaise lounges and expansive capsule-shaped mirrors. Many offer stunning views of the city skyline as well as complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Pets welcome (fees apply).
Features
Hotel Union Square is best known for its specialty suites. The Dashiell Hammett Suite is the world's only suite dedicated to the author of "The Maltese Falcon." Apparently, the famous scribe loved the hotel so much that he booked his bride-to-be Josephine Dolan in that very suite on the night before their 1921 wedding.

The hotel also features one Kids' Suite. This boasts a cherrywood trundle bed, a computer filled with history-related games, a Nintendo Wii, a writing desk and colorful rugs. The suite also displays a retro-style mixed-media collage of famous kid-friendly San Francisco landmarks.

All guests have access to a modest fitness center off-site; for a more intense workout experience, guests can purchase a pass to the Club One gym located around the corner (fees apply). Visitors also are welcome to join in a complimentary evening wine hour. Dry-cleaning and laundry services are available as well (fees apply).

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/26 km)
  • Cable car stops (1 block)
  • BART (6 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • SoMa
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • Fisherman's Wharf
Business
  • Complimentary 24-hour business center

Hotel Map

37.7859 -122.408
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International Airport
Area description
Overlooks the Powell Street Cable Car Line at Union Square. Just steps to Macy's, Nordstroms, Saks, Neiman Marcus, Theaters and fine dining. Easy access to the financial district, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown, Civic Center, and public transportation.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Union Square Rooms

Standard Rooms
Standard Rooms feature One Queen or two Double beds, Television, Bath, Complimentary Wireless Internet, Coffee Maker, Iron/Iron Board, and Hair Dryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi

Dining

Johnny Foley's Irish House
great place for a cold pint of your favorite brew. Tasty pub food in a lively environment.
Tad's Steakhouse
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner is located adjacent to the entrance of the lobby.
John's Grill
A San Francisco landmark thaat open in 1908 and is home of the "Maltese Falcon." Open daily for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (240)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Union Square

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
240 out of 240
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elize
Salem, OR
Jul 9, 2012

Shopping in the city

We took our family to San Francisco to do college visits and shop in the city. The hotel staff were great, we had an issue when we checked in we had a room with only a king bed and there were 3 of us. They got us a cot for the night and switched us to a room with 2 beds the next two nights, staff even moved our luggage for us, and they didnt charge us an additional fees for bigger room. Very clean and great location!!! I would definetly stay there again. July 2012

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BIG DAN
Springdale, AR, USA
Aug 25, 2011

Just what we were looking for

If your are staying in DOWNTOWN San Fransisco - walking distance to just about everything or just a quick ride on the F BUS - Hotel Union Square is PERFECT. From the location to the staff to the room...it is the perfect priced right small hotel that has it all. Everyone was so DARNED friendly - even the guest - wine time from 5 to 6 every night - NO, there is no bar or resturant - YOU DON'T NEED THAT. Because it's either next door, or across the street, or up the block. My wife & I went to SF for an anniversary trip - didn't want to go crazy on cost - HOTEL UNION SQUARE was absolutely perfect for us. A+

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BIG DAN
Springdale, AR, USA
Aug 25, 2011

Just what we were looking for

If your are staying in DOWNTOWN San Fransisco - walking distance to just about everything or just a quick ride on the F BUS - Hotel Union Square is PERFECT. From the location to the staff to the room...it is the perfect priced right small hotel that has it all. Everyone was so DARNED friendly - even the guest - wine time from 5 to 6 every night - NO, there is no bar or resturant - YOU DON'T NEED THAT. Because it's either next door, or across the street, or up the block. My wife & I went to SF for an anniversary trip - didn't want to go crazy on cost - HOTEL UNION SQUARE was absolutely perfect for us. A+

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TJHill
Los Angeles
Aug 15, 2011

Nice Trip, Perfect Hotel

Hotel Union Square is nothing fancy, but the location is great and the accomodations are comfortable. Ask for a back room for more space and quite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are plenty of places to eat near the hotel that range in price although a short taxi or train ride will open up more diverse options.

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TJHill
Los Angeles
Aug 15, 2011

Nice Trip, Perfect Hotel

Hotel Union Square is nothing fancy, but the location is great and the accomodations are comfortable. Ask for a back room for more space and quite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are plenty of places to eat near the hotel that range in price although a short taxi or train ride will open up more diverse options.

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Aug 8, 2011

Amazing location, friendly staff

The hotel was good for the price and in a great location. Super close to the BART station as well as a bunch of different MUNI lines, which made getting around the city and to and from the airport super easy. The staff was very friendly and even offered me an upgrade room (for only $20!). There is free WiFi, coffee, tea and even a wine reception at 5:30-6:30. My only complaint was that my room was an interior room and didn't have a window. I walked in and it was super dark, but once I got all the lights on and the fans going, the room was bright and the air circulated well. Good stay overall!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Super close to Union Square shop and right next door to H&M (oh my!)

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Aug 8, 2011

Amazing location, friendly staff

The hotel was good for the price and in a great location. Super close to the BART station as well as a bunch of different MUNI lines, which made getting around the city and to and from the airport super easy. The staff was very friendly and even offered me an upgrade room (for only $20!). There is free WiFi, coffee, tea and even a wine reception at 5:30-6:30. My only complaint was that my room was an interior room and didn't have a window. I walked in and it was super dark, but once I got all the lights on and the fans going, the room was bright and the air circulated well. Good stay overall!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Super close to Union Square shop and right next door to H&M (oh my!)

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mexico city
Aug 3, 2011

Best location

Excellent service, location and very clean. The concierge and all the people in the hotel were very helpful and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

John´s Grill just around the corner, best dinner we had in years!!!

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mexico city
Aug 3, 2011

Best location

Excellent service, location and very clean. The concierge and all the people in the hotel were very helpful and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

John´s Grill just around the corner, best dinner we had in years!!!

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Montvale, NJ
Aug 1, 2011

San Francisco

This is a very cool older hotel in the most lively area of the city. There can be some noise on the street at night, but that's what you would expect in this area. It is very close to the BART station and on a cable car line. The ambiance is nice and it has very artistic decor. This was better than previous hotels I've stayed in because of the central location and the fact that it doesn't have the typical chain hotel feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Naan-Ncurry 336 Ofarrell St, San Francisco, CA

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Montvale, NJ
Aug 1, 2011

San Francisco

This is a very cool older hotel in the most lively area of the city. There can be some noise on the street at night, but that's what you would expect in this area. It is very close to the BART station and on a cable car line. The ambiance is nice and it has very artistic decor. This was better than previous hotels I've stayed in because of the central location and the fact that it doesn't have the typical chain hotel feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Naan-Ncurry 336 Ofarrell St, San Francisco, CA

Back to menu Return to top