$190 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Hotel Union Square

3 stars
114 Powell St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
240 reviews
Awesome hotel!!

This hotel gave me a great experience on my visit to SF. Why you might ask? Staff was awesome since... See full review

  • Gx110
  • Jun 7, 2014
Amazing Couples Trip

Upon arrival our first impression was amazing. the hotel was clean and the executive king suite was... See full review

  • Midwest Jennie
  • Apr 30, 2014
Art-Deco whimsy, 1920s-era grandeur and wine hour near Union Square

The Art-Deco era is alive and well at this boutique Hotel Union Square, which was returned to its 1920s grandeur during an exhaustive renovation in 2008. Today, the hotel features signature staircases and opulent moldings, while loft-like guest rooms boast brick walls and mosaic murals. Another benefit: the world's only Dashiell Hammett Suite, named after the author of "The Maltese Falcon." The property is part of the Personality Hotels Collection. It sits mere blocks from the shopping of Union Square.

Highlights
  • Located blocks from Union Square
  • Fun and literary inspired Dashiell Hammett Suite
  • Funky style and 1920s grandeur
Rooms
Accommodations -- 39 rooms and seven suites -- are infused with the colors of San Francisco: crimson, gray and taupe. Designed to give the feel of a sophisticated urban apartment, rooms at the Hotel Union Square are custom-furnished with platform beds and tufted leather headboards, sleek dark-wood desks, velvety chaise lounges and expansive capsule-shaped mirrors. Many offer stunning views of the city skyline as well as complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Pets welcome (fees apply).
Features
Hotel Union Square is best known for its specialty suites. The Dashiell Hammett Suite is the world's only suite dedicated to the author of "The Maltese Falcon." Apparently, the famous scribe loved the hotel so much that he booked his bride-to-be Josephine Dolan in that very suite on the night before their 1921 wedding.

The hotel also features one Kids' Suite. This boasts a cherrywood trundle bed, a computer filled with history-related games, a Nintendo Wii, a writing desk and colorful rugs. The suite also displays a retro-style mixed-media collage of famous kid-friendly San Francisco landmarks.

All guests have access to a modest fitness center off-site; for a more intense workout experience, guests can purchase a pass to the Club One gym located around the corner (fees apply). Visitors also are welcome to join in a complimentary evening wine hour. Dry-cleaning and laundry services are available as well (fees apply).

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/26 km)
  • Cable car stops (1 block)
  • BART (6 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • SoMa
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • Fisherman's Wharf
Business
  • Complimentary 24-hour business center

Hotel Union Square Rooms

Standard Rooms
Standard Rooms feature One Queen or two Double beds, Television, Bath, Complimentary Wireless Internet, Coffee Maker, Iron/Iron Board, and Hair Dryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7859 -122.408
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International Airport
Area description
Overlooks the Powell Street Cable Car Line at Union Square. Just steps to Macy's, Nordstroms, Saks, Neiman Marcus, Theaters and fine dining. Easy access to the financial district, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown, Civic Center, and public transportation.

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi

Dining

Johnny Foley's Irish House
great place for a cold pint of your favorite brew. Tasty pub food in a lively environment.
Tad's Steakhouse
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner is located adjacent to the entrance of the lobby.
John's Grill
A San Francisco landmark thaat open in 1908 and is home of the "Maltese Falcon." Open daily for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (240)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Union Square

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
240 out of 240
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
laguna niguel, ca
Nov 28, 2010

expected no surprises

it is a good location for shopping and union square a bit dark and water was brown until run for a while wish there was coffee maker in room but u get comp coffee in lobby though both of us saw room for improvement it was great because it felt like S F one could always stay at a modern hotel but u can do that anywhere overall an above average experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

must see nordstroms

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
laguna niguel, ca
Nov 28, 2010

expected no surprises

it is a good location for shopping and union square a bit dark and water was brown until run for a while wish there was coffee maker in room but u get comp coffee in lobby though both of us saw room for improvement it was great because it felt like S F one could always stay at a modern hotel but u can do that anywhere overall an above average experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

must see nordstroms

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alba newbie traveler
Phoenix, AZ
Nov 24, 2010

weekend getaway!

The location of the hotel was our favorite part! it was our first time to San Francisco and we couldn't have picked a better location, especially since we were brave enought to not rent a car (which we are so glad we did not, who needs a car when you have such great public transportation?!) The staff was friendly and attentive, the hotel was adorable. The only thing that was "wrong" with the room was that the bedframe was a little too big for the bed and it just looked bad when you pulled the sheet back. but it was not an inconvenience and it was nothing that would keep us from going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alba newbie traveler
Phoenix, AZ
Nov 24, 2010

weekend getaway!

The location of the hotel was our favorite part! it was our first time to San Francisco and we couldn't have picked a better location, especially since we were brave enought to not rent a car (which we are so glad we did not, who needs a car when you have such great public transportation?!) The staff was friendly and attentive, the hotel was adorable. The only thing that was "wrong" with the room was that the bedframe was a little too big for the bed and it just looked bad when you pulled the sheet back. but it was not an inconvenience and it was nothing that would keep us from going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The two from Idaho
Hayden, ID
Nov 18, 2010

Noisy

Check in was slow. There were two agents at the front desk but only one appeared to be able to do anything. Another member of our group was assigned a room with a funky smell and the front desk was quick to move them to another more acceptable room. The location was good as it was within walking distance to everything we wanted to do while in the city. The rooms are small but what we exptected for this style of hotel. My biggest complaint was the noise. I'm still not exactly sure what it was perhaps garbage pick up. It was SO loud at first I thought someone was LITERALLY jumping on the fire escape. It practically shook the building. This woke us up every morning around 4:00 AM. We have stayed in the financial district (Galaria Park Hotel) in the past and we will be staying there again on our next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the bus/taxi to Tommy's Tequila Bar. The food is average but they have an amazing selection of tequila.

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The two from Idaho
Hayden, ID
Nov 18, 2010

Noisy

Check in was slow. There were two agents at the front desk but only one appeared to be able to do anything. Another member of our group was assigned a room with a funky smell and the front desk was quick to move them to another more acceptable room. The location was good as it was within walking distance to everything we wanted to do while in the city. The rooms are small but what we exptected for this style of hotel. My biggest complaint was the noise. I'm still not exactly sure what it was perhaps garbage pick up. It was SO loud at first I thought someone was LITERALLY jumping on the fire escape. It practically shook the building. This woke us up every morning around 4:00 AM. We have stayed in the financial district (Galaria Park Hotel) in the past and we will be staying there again on our next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the bus/taxi to Tommy's Tequila Bar. The food is average but they have an amazing selection of tequila.

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oakley, Ca
Oct 29, 2010

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!!!

It was horrible the room was so small it was literally the size of my bathroom! they had NO windows in the room so it felt like a Cell..in the pictures they make it look so nice and modern but in reality it isnt like that at all they must have taken the picture from the hallway to make it look like it was spacious...I will never again stay in this hotel it was supposed to be a relaxing weekend with my husband with out our kids..we planned on maybe staying longer in the hotel but none of that happened and on top of that we had to pay $35.00 for parking!!! WOW! i would have rathered pay the $20 or $30 more for a Better Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oakley, Ca
Oct 29, 2010

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!!!

It was horrible the room was so small it was literally the size of my bathroom! they had NO windows in the room so it felt like a Cell..in the pictures they make it look so nice and modern but in reality it isnt like that at all they must have taken the picture from the hallway to make it look like it was spacious...I will never again stay in this hotel it was supposed to be a relaxing weekend with my husband with out our kids..we planned on maybe staying longer in the hotel but none of that happened and on top of that we had to pay $35.00 for parking!!! WOW! i would have rathered pay the $20 or $30 more for a Better Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Sep 1, 2010

Ist Time Guest

It a nice clean hotel. The location was good in that it was close to my daugther's dorm. But at night it was noisy 2 am in the morning you hear the bar closing. The people from the bar were loud for at least an hr. Along with the homeless street entertainer's that were sometime not very good but loud. I did not like being awaken out of my sleep and not able to get any room service (not even a soda). Room decor could be mor colorful to plain. Staff was pleasant enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping was really easy in this area. Everything is pretty close by. Including dining.

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Sep 1, 2010

Ist Time Guest

It a nice clean hotel. The location was good in that it was close to my daugther's dorm. But at night it was noisy 2 am in the morning you hear the bar closing. The people from the bar were loud for at least an hr. Along with the homeless street entertainer's that were sometime not very good but loud. I did not like being awaken out of my sleep and not able to get any room service (not even a soda). Room decor could be mor colorful to plain. Staff was pleasant enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping was really easy in this area. Everything is pretty close by. Including dining.

Back to menu Return to top