$174 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2014 Check-out: Jul 13, 2014

Hotel Union Square

3 stars
114 Powell St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
240 reviews
Awesome hotel!!

This hotel gave me a great experience on my visit to SF. Why you might ask? Staff was awesome since... See full review

  • Gx110
  • Jun 7, 2014
Amazing Couples Trip

Upon arrival our first impression was amazing. the hotel was clean and the executive king suite was... See full review

  • Midwest Jennie
  • Apr 30, 2014
Art-Deco whimsy, 1920s-era grandeur and wine hour near Union Square

The Art-Deco era is alive and well at this boutique Hotel Union Square, which was returned to its 1920s grandeur during an exhaustive renovation in 2008. Today, the hotel features signature staircases and opulent moldings, while loft-like guest rooms boast brick walls and mosaic murals. Another benefit: the world's only Dashiell Hammett Suite, named after the author of "The Maltese Falcon." The property is part of the Personality Hotels Collection. It sits mere blocks from the shopping of Union Square.

Highlights
  • Located blocks from Union Square
  • Fun and literary inspired Dashiell Hammett Suite
  • Funky style and 1920s grandeur
Rooms
Accommodations -- 39 rooms and seven suites -- are infused with the colors of San Francisco: crimson, gray and taupe. Designed to give the feel of a sophisticated urban apartment, rooms at the Hotel Union Square are custom-furnished with platform beds and tufted leather headboards, sleek dark-wood desks, velvety chaise lounges and expansive capsule-shaped mirrors. Many offer stunning views of the city skyline as well as complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Pets welcome (fees apply).
Features
Hotel Union Square is best known for its specialty suites. The Dashiell Hammett Suite is the world's only suite dedicated to the author of "The Maltese Falcon." Apparently, the famous scribe loved the hotel so much that he booked his bride-to-be Josephine Dolan in that very suite on the night before their 1921 wedding.

The hotel also features one Kids' Suite. This boasts a cherrywood trundle bed, a computer filled with history-related games, a Nintendo Wii, a writing desk and colorful rugs. The suite also displays a retro-style mixed-media collage of famous kid-friendly San Francisco landmarks.

All guests have access to a modest fitness center off-site; for a more intense workout experience, guests can purchase a pass to the Club One gym located around the corner (fees apply). Visitors also are welcome to join in a complimentary evening wine hour. Dry-cleaning and laundry services are available as well (fees apply).

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/26 km)
  • Cable car stops (1 block)
  • BART (6 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • SoMa
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • Fisherman's Wharf
Business
  • Complimentary 24-hour business center

Hotel Union Square Rooms

Standard Rooms
Standard Rooms feature One Queen or two Double beds, Television, Bath, Complimentary Wireless Internet, Coffee Maker, Iron/Iron Board, and Hair Dryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7859 -122.408
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International Airport
Area description
Overlooks the Powell Street Cable Car Line at Union Square. Just steps to Macy's, Nordstroms, Saks, Neiman Marcus, Theaters and fine dining. Easy access to the financial district, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown, Civic Center, and public transportation.

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi

Dining

Johnny Foley's Irish House
great place for a cold pint of your favorite brew. Tasty pub food in a lively environment.
Tad's Steakhouse
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner is located adjacent to the entrance of the lobby.
John's Grill
A San Francisco landmark thaat open in 1908 and is home of the "Maltese Falcon." Open daily for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (240)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Union Square

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
240 out of 240
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sweet Carolyne
Glendale, California
Aug 5, 2013

Bittersweet Hotel!

Great location! Old hotel that they tried to renovate.. semi-fail! One side of the hotel is WAYYYYY nicer than the other. Small rooms. Major issue I had was that the hotel smelled so bad when you walked in and the rooms smelled too.. yuck! We even saw the housekeeper using febreeze when she was cleaning. Very noisy on the street side, but you are right in the hustle and bustle. Personally, for paying over $200/night you are truly better off staying somewhere else like Wyndham Parc 55, Westin, or honestly anything right near it that is an actual HOTEL so don't be fooled by the pictures because it is nice from far away until you actually stay and experience it yourself!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to go to ChinaTown and see the Golden Gate Fortune Cookie Company. It is supposedly the only place in the United States that still has handmade fortune cookies. They give you samples and it is truly remarkable and delicious!

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SteveJ
London
Jul 20, 2013

Reasonable Hotel

This hotel was in a very good location, however my room was small and had no fridge. The room also had no view which made it rather claustrophobic.For the price I felt they could have offered some sort of breakfast, just continental would have suffice.The staff were very pleasant though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
marianna12345
Business
Lexington KY
Jun 20, 2013

Cozy comfortable hotel in a great location

The location is perfect, the room is clean and comfortable. I had a street view and could see the cable car passing by. The hotel is small but has its charm and I liked modern decor. The staff is very helpful. The lobby is small and it gives a feeling that you stay at the apartment. It is few steps from the mall, 10 min walk to convention center. THere are plenty of restaurants around. The cable car and street car stops are few steps away.I would definitely recommend this place as a reasonably priced comfortable place to stay in the heart of San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Colgate
NYC
Jun 5, 2013

It's the spot for a rendezvous!

You cannot beat the location. The staff is awesome. The rooms provide a setting for romantic encounters. And the price is right. I have stayed at the larger traditional high end hotels. However, this hotel is my spot. I will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Your in the middle of the high end shopping district. Great resturants also.

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kelusin
Business
Lubbock, CA
Jun 4, 2013

Just right

I was in the area for a conference & wanted to save a little money by not staying at the hotel the conference was associated with. This was an awesome choice. I was a little worried about some of the negative reviews but this hotel is exactly what I needed for my stay. It's a little more expensive than I think it should be but I'm also the type that will stay at a Travelodge to save money. Overall, I loved it & would defnitely stay there on my next trip, if the price was right!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pucinni & Pinetti has an awesome happy hour, delicious specialty cocktails, and good bar food. I went there twice. Biscuits & Blues was also a good time! Also went against Yelp reviews & tried out Jazz Bistro At Les Joulins. Food was really good, service was ok/bad. But it's just right around the corner from the hotel & was pretty tasty.

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CT REX
Austin, Texas
Jun 1, 2013

FREE WINE! We dig it!

This is a VERY nice hotel for a very affordable price. You're right on the street with the cable cars (don't bother riding them, though. Just walk down to Market and take the F; it's cheaper, faster, friendlier and easier), you're right next to the shopping district, china town is within walking distance, and you can hop on the F and get to the wharf or jump on the bus and get to the Haight in no time. Also, if you're coming in from the airport, the bart station is 2 blocks from the hotel. So the location is great. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Housekeeping is always on the ball. If you need a fridge just ask for one at no extra charge. The rooms are hip and modern without being trendy. The beds are super comfortable, the shower head is the size of a frizbee, and there's an ipod docking station so you can listen to your own music while you're relaxing in your awesome room. They have delicious coffee in the morning, ice-cold fruit water throughout the day, and FREE WINE daily for a full hour in the evening! That was a major selling point for my wife and I ;) As an added bonus, a pleasant classical guitarist accompanies you during wine hour. The concierge suggested 2 great places for us to eat just around the corner: Foley's is a great Irish pub with delicious beer on tap and amazing prawns, and Honey Honey has an incredible salmon omelet known as "the cable car". The only problem we had with our room was that there was no view. Out our window you could almost touch the windows across from us. So maybe try to request a room with a view. If you're lucky, they may have left the door to the roof open so definitely sneak up there and check out the view. My wife and I very much enjoyed our stay at Union Square. We hope you do, too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

GO CAR! Do this. It is a ridiculous amount of fun. It's like Mario Kart in real life. You get to zoom around the streets of San Francisco in a little go cart with the hustle and bustle of the city all around you. Go down Lombard St., "the crookedest street in America" and have a ball. Be sure to honk at people! :)

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lenny the jumper
Kaohsiung,Taiwan
May 13, 2013

Great location and staff.

Perfect location, very nice and kind staff. Room is comfortable but small for a queen-bed room. Wifi is not very good. A little bit noisy at night because close to cable car.It's a pity that the bathroom is small and water of shower is poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Union Square and market street.Location is perfect.

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
icecoope
Los Angeles ,CA
Apr 25, 2013

Too much contemporary doesn't work for convenient

Staff was very nice and quick service and great smile . but this hotel room was so so . It might nice contemporary room but everything not convenient . The washbasin is very small and water splashes out from it . Toilet paper was very low position and far . and no space for putting glasses on the washbasin area . Shower is uncomfortable , Bathroom's light switch location is not Enter wall , it is another side wall . why ?? just a little bit disappointment . but again , staff were very nice .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Oc1981
Redding, Ca
Apr 8, 2013

Good staff not so great rooms

While the staff was very courteous, friendly, and helpful, unfortunately our room was not what was expected. The decor was fun and funky throughout the hotel but our room itself was dark and quite humid. There was a window,not to the outside but rather to an airshaft that was cleaned who knows when last. We had a portable air conditioner that was attached to a huge hose connected to the window with duct tape and kept coming off. Not to mention we left it on the whole time we weren't in the room and it was still got and humid upon our return. Probably will look elsewhere for our money next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping in surrounding area

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Deedsster
Boston,MA
Mar 12, 2013

Right in Downtown

Great location if you like to be right in the city. I'd compare it to a typical Manhattan small hotel. Room was just okay, very small and dark but bed was comfy and everything worked. This is an old refurbished hotel. Location was great; we were right near where the cable cars turn around and an enormous city shopping mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top