$195 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2014 Check-out: Jul 11, 2014

Hotel Union Square

3 stars
114 Powell St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
240 reviews
Awesome hotel!!

This hotel gave me a great experience on my visit to SF. Why you might ask? Staff was awesome since... See full review

  • Gx110
  • Jun 7, 2014
Amazing Couples Trip

Upon arrival our first impression was amazing. the hotel was clean and the executive king suite was... See full review

  • Midwest Jennie
  • Apr 30, 2014
Located one block from bustling Union Square and alongside the famous cable car line, Hotel Union Square completed an extensive modern makeover in spring 2008. Remaining faithful to its Art Deco history, guestrooms have been transformed into a new experience, fusing contemporary with classic San Francisco. Highlights include platform beds with custom-made cream tufted headboards, velvety chaise lounges, flat screen televisions, air-conditioning, and custom lighting. This smoke-free hotel offers a complimentary business center, complimentary morning coffee/tea and afternoon wine reception, on-site valet parking for $40 per day plus taxes, valet laundry services, concierge services, and complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel.

Hotel Union Square is a pet friendly hotel. Dogs only, one per room, maximum 40lbs, $25 non-refundable pet cleaning fee charged at check-in.

Hotel Union Square Rooms

Standard Rooms
Standard Rooms feature One Queen or two Double beds, Television, Bath, Complimentary Wireless Internet, Coffee Maker, Iron/Iron Board, and Hair Dryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7859 -122.408
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International Airport
Area description
Overlooks the Powell Street Cable Car Line at Union Square. Just steps to Macy's, Nordstroms, Saks, Neiman Marcus, Theaters and fine dining. Easy access to the financial district, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown, Civic Center, and public transportation.

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi

Dining

Johnny Foley's Irish House
great place for a cold pint of your favorite brew. Tasty pub food in a lively environment.
Tad's Steakhouse
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner is located adjacent to the entrance of the lobby.
John's Grill
A San Francisco landmark thaat open in 1908 and is home of the "Maltese Falcon." Open daily for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (240)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Union Square

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
240 out of 240
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maple 11
Davis California
Nov 24, 2012

Good position, but the room is.....

It has a good position, near the marktet street, for we were there to go shopping. However, the room, we ordered executive room, is small and the air is not fresh. This does not matter a lot for we had been shopping the whole night. But it would be horrible if somebody really sleeps there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lovela
CA
Oct 28, 2012

one night only

Right off of union square, this hotel offers the best of San Francisco in terms of location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

walk out the door and SF union square is at your feet.

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sf visitor 2012
AZ
Oct 15, 2012

great location, okay stay

There was a weird musky smell in our room. Complimentary wine in the evening and coffee in the morning was a nice surprise. Hotel parking was easy and reasonably priced. Great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jazz bar across the street

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DeeGrateful
Business
San Franscisco Califorina
Aug 5, 2012

Conference

The staff at the hotel were extremely pleasant and helpful. However, the first room was totally unacceptabe (very small). The next room was spacious but did not have a closet to hang our clothes and the channels were very limited on the television.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were many places to eat and transportation was certainly not a problem.

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fancy latino
Birmingham
Jul 31, 2012

honeymoon on a budget

I originally chose the hotel based on its awesome location on powell street near union square and a stone's throw away from the bart station...while this choice was spot on, the hotel seemed to lack anything 'special'. The bed and bathroom were run of the mill... this was actually after having to switch from a room at the back of the hotel (off of powell street, facing a creepy alley with no light) to a room almost twice as large. The hotel has a dark, cramped feel to it, and the choice of paints/carpets only worsen the scenario. Water pressure was also not up to par with the Powell Hotel across the street. While it was within my price range, I will definitely opt for a more luxurious option next time I stay in san francisco...and you should to if you value up-frontness by the staff and a more welcoming place at which to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat somewhere at the borders of the tenderloin or within the castro neighborhoods...much more exotic and well-priced foods that will lead to memorable times than any 'unique' restaraunts on the bay or in the financial district.

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ghamm
Utah
Jul 15, 2012

Great location, small rooms a little stuffy..

Staff was great, location was close, but for me, Id rather stay in a newer place with larger rooms.. I will say that the place was cute, and the wife liked it.. I'm always amazed at how expensive staying in downtown sf is.. The place was close to everything, bart, the trolly , shopping.. all within one block.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gflo
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 11, 2012

Perfect Romantic Getaway

The hotel was perfect if you want the San Francisco experience. The staff was very friendly. Plan on parking your car and using the public transit offered. Cable cars and train will get you to the popular spots. Shopping and dining are all within walking distance. Be prepared to pay for parking, it's worth it. You'll pay just as much at all the tourist spots. The room was clean and new. It has a perfect feel, an aged exterior with a refurbished interior. The rooms have a very modern look. The pictures are accurate. I plan on staying here every time I visit the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the Sightseeing Hop on Hop Off buses at Union Square. That is a better option.

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elize
Salem, OR
Jul 9, 2012

Shopping in the city

We took our family to San Francisco to do college visits and shop in the city. The hotel staff were great, we had an issue when we checked in we had a room with only a king bed and there were 3 of us. They got us a cot for the night and switched us to a room with 2 beds the next two nights, staff even moved our luggage for us, and they didnt charge us an additional fees for bigger room. Very clean and great location!!! I would definetly stay there again. July 2012

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First time in San Fran
chicago
Jul 2, 2012

Great Location and Staff, Small rooms

This hotel is properly characterized as a 3 star location. It is small. The rooms are small and its not particularly luxurious. However, the location is fantastic. Mere steps away from the Muni (including the cable cars!), Union Square, shops and restaurants. The staff was friendly and informative. I would stay there again as a single traveler but ask for a larger room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Student Break
Colorado
May 19, 2012

PARKING

This hotel was GREAT! The staff was very nice and helpful. If you are parking a car with them, be careful.....they forgot to mention that it is $41 per day! This is a good rate for the area, but it wasnt mentioned that this service was not included in the original cost of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Jazz bar two doors down was fantastic

Back to menu Return to top