$190 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Hotel Union Square

3 stars
114 Powell St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
240 reviews
Awesome hotel!!

This hotel gave me a great experience on my visit to SF. Why you might ask? Staff was awesome since... See full review

  • Gx110
  • Jun 7, 2014
Amazing Couples Trip

Upon arrival our first impression was amazing. the hotel was clean and the executive king suite was... See full review

  • Midwest Jennie
  • Apr 30, 2014
Art-Deco whimsy, 1920s-era grandeur and wine hour near Union Square

The Art-Deco era is alive and well at this boutique Hotel Union Square, which was returned to its 1920s grandeur during an exhaustive renovation in 2008. Today, the hotel features signature staircases and opulent moldings, while loft-like guest rooms boast brick walls and mosaic murals. Another benefit: the world's only Dashiell Hammett Suite, named after the author of "The Maltese Falcon." The property is part of the Personality Hotels Collection. It sits mere blocks from the shopping of Union Square.

Highlights
  • Located blocks from Union Square
  • Fun and literary inspired Dashiell Hammett Suite
  • Funky style and 1920s grandeur
Rooms
Accommodations -- 39 rooms and seven suites -- are infused with the colors of San Francisco: crimson, gray and taupe. Designed to give the feel of a sophisticated urban apartment, rooms at the Hotel Union Square are custom-furnished with platform beds and tufted leather headboards, sleek dark-wood desks, velvety chaise lounges and expansive capsule-shaped mirrors. Many offer stunning views of the city skyline as well as complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Pets welcome (fees apply).
Features
Hotel Union Square is best known for its specialty suites. The Dashiell Hammett Suite is the world's only suite dedicated to the author of "The Maltese Falcon." Apparently, the famous scribe loved the hotel so much that he booked his bride-to-be Josephine Dolan in that very suite on the night before their 1921 wedding.

The hotel also features one Kids' Suite. This boasts a cherrywood trundle bed, a computer filled with history-related games, a Nintendo Wii, a writing desk and colorful rugs. The suite also displays a retro-style mixed-media collage of famous kid-friendly San Francisco landmarks.

All guests have access to a modest fitness center off-site; for a more intense workout experience, guests can purchase a pass to the Club One gym located around the corner (fees apply). Visitors also are welcome to join in a complimentary evening wine hour. Dry-cleaning and laundry services are available as well (fees apply).

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/26 km)
  • Cable car stops (1 block)
  • BART (6 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • SoMa
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • Fisherman's Wharf
Business
  • Complimentary 24-hour business center

Hotel Union Square Rooms

Standard Rooms
Standard Rooms feature One Queen or two Double beds, Television, Bath, Complimentary Wireless Internet, Coffee Maker, Iron/Iron Board, and Hair Dryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7859 -122.408
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International Airport
Area description
Overlooks the Powell Street Cable Car Line at Union Square. Just steps to Macy's, Nordstroms, Saks, Neiman Marcus, Theaters and fine dining. Easy access to the financial district, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown, Civic Center, and public transportation.

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi

Dining

Johnny Foley's Irish House
great place for a cold pint of your favorite brew. Tasty pub food in a lively environment.
Tad's Steakhouse
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner is located adjacent to the entrance of the lobby.
John's Grill
A San Francisco landmark thaat open in 1908 and is home of the "Maltese Falcon." Open daily for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (240)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Union Square

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 240
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gx110
Business
Hawthorne CA
Jun 7, 2014

Awesome hotel!!

This hotel gave me a great experience on my visit to SF. Why you might ask? Staff was awesome since the first day I came in welcoming and helpful. Free flavored water free wine! There is a gym in the sister hotel what else can you ask for. Thank you very much when I go back to SF this is my go to spot! Keep it up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sears dine in down on Powell!! Amazing!!

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AGPL
Business
Nyc
Jan 30, 2014

Lost in a drab place

My room felt a little prison like...weird colors, furniture, and rugs. The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable, but I had to iron my shirts on my knees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChristyP
Business
Lexington, KY
Nov 8, 2013

Convenient and cheap-ish

The room was great. Very much like a European hotel... Wish the bathrooms had vent fans, but the air conditioner took care of the humidity...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Norrisman
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 6, 2013

Small

Great location within walking distance of great shopping and dining. Rooms are very, very small and the price is outrageous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RLPC
Business
New York City
Sep 20, 2013

Decent hotel...perfect location!

This hotel is not a bad choice for staying in one of the best areas of San Francisco. You have tons of shopping and transpotation options tight outside the door of the hotel. The BART, trolleys, MUNI, and taxis are steps away from the hotel. I'm a walker myself and I was able to walk to Lombard St and North Beach from here. The hotel itself is decent but no marvel. The staff were great though. Make no mistake, it is a very quaint and decent hotel. This is an older hotelso expect to see the "oldness" when you walk around. I had no issues with my room what so ever. The price was great for the location too. I would stay here again and I would recommend this hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Around the corner to the right and across the street is a fantastic noodle shop called King of Noodles. I think I ate there everyday for at least one meal. And they are open late!

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
marianna12345
Business
Lexington KY
Jun 20, 2013

Cozy comfortable hotel in a great location

The location is perfect, the room is clean and comfortable. I had a street view and could see the cable car passing by. The hotel is small but has its charm and I liked modern decor. The staff is very helpful. The lobby is small and it gives a feeling that you stay at the apartment. It is few steps from the mall, 10 min walk to convention center. THere are plenty of restaurants around. The cable car and street car stops are few steps away.I would definitely recommend this place as a reasonably priced comfortable place to stay in the heart of San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kelusin
Business
Lubbock, CA
Jun 4, 2013

Just right

I was in the area for a conference & wanted to save a little money by not staying at the hotel the conference was associated with. This was an awesome choice. I was a little worried about some of the negative reviews but this hotel is exactly what I needed for my stay. It's a little more expensive than I think it should be but I'm also the type that will stay at a Travelodge to save money. Overall, I loved it & would defnitely stay there on my next trip, if the price was right!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pucinni & Pinetti has an awesome happy hour, delicious specialty cocktails, and good bar food. I went there twice. Biscuits & Blues was also a good time! Also went against Yelp reviews & tried out Jazz Bistro At Les Joulins. Food was really good, service was ok/bad. But it's just right around the corner from the hotel & was pretty tasty.

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
on the road again 42
Business
californi
Feb 22, 2013

good location hotel

the staff was good, parking was expensive $40 and was not clearly visible on my booking site prior to booking! also, no continental breakfast? and the rooms were a little small. The lobby had an antique feeling to it but the location was good and overall not a bad value for SF

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scooter440
Business
Denver, Colorado
Feb 16, 2013

Will always stay here when I am in SF--5 stars if the rating is based on staff

Great location right next to the Powell St exit for BART. Staff was exceptional. Rooms were small, but, what one should expect in the city. The standouts were location, and a great, great, great staff..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Order in room service from the restaurant next door. The food is average, but, the price is great for what you get. Typically in the city you can expect to be nailed every which way they can nail you...not here...this place is great...

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patr9
Business
Durham, NC
Feb 4, 2013

Business Traveler

Stayed at Hotel Unnion Square because of its proximity to a meeting I was attending. I have stayed here previously for similar reasons. The hotel is comfortable and a wonderful mix of heritage architecture and modern decor. there is plenty to do and great places to eat in the immediate area or within a comfortable walk. This makes for very nearly a perfect location. This time, however, noise was real problem - whether from the streets outside or other guests inside. Sleep was only assured between 2 - 6 AM. Maybe a different room in the building would be more peaceful. It pains me think of not going back so hoping for a quieter experience next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top